APPLICATION TO CORRECT A MICHIGAN DEATH RECORD



Michigan Department of Health & Human Service	es and nealth statistics	 ✓ A photocopy of valid identification is required. ✓ Incomplete applications will be returned for completion.
PART 1 - APPLICANT IN	FORMATION	
Name:	(Middle)	(Loot)
(First)	(Middle)	(Last)
Address:	City/State:	Zip:
Phone:	E	E-mail:
PART 2 - ELIGIBILITY		
□Funeral director		
\square Informant listed on the d	leath certificate	
If you are not listed on the	death certificate, we require	e of death. Specify your relationship: proof that you are next of kin. If next of kin can not be e date of death a court order is required.
PART 3 - REQUIRED DO	CUMENTATION	
Most changes need 1-2 d cause of death or date/pla may be required. Driver's	lated records that clearly match ice of death) can ONLY be corre	rrect information. See the next page for acceptable documents. In the person on the death certificate. Medical details (including sected by the certifying doctor or medical examiner. A court order eptable as documentary evidence. The correction requested:
1.		4.
2.		5.
3.		6.
PART 4 - CHANGES REC	QUESTED	
	rently appears on the record	Information as you would like it to appear on the record
1.		1.
2.		2.
3.		3.
4.		4.
PART 5 - DECEDENT IN	FORMATION	
Full Name of Decedent:	TORMATION	Date of Death:
Place Death:		
(City and County)	EQUIRED TO PROCESS AP	Gender: □Male □Female □X
Signature of Person Requi		Date:

MAILING ADDRESS **PREPAID SELF-ADDRESSED ENVELOPES WILL NOT BE USED BY OUR OFFICE**

For Regular Processing Mail Application, ID, Documents and Fee to: Vital Records Changes P.O. Box 30721

Lansing, MI 48909

For RUSH Processing (Rush fee must be included) Mail Application, ID, Documents and Fee to: Vital Records Changes RUSH

P.O. Box 30721 Lansing, MI 48909

PAYMENT CHECK OR MONEY O	RDER MADE OUT TO THE "STATE C	F MICHIGAN'		
Application Fee is Non-Refundable				
Application Fee:	\$50.00 (Includes one copy)	\$		
Additional Certified Copies:	\$16.00 each	\$		
RUSH Processing Fee:	\$25.00	\$		
TOTAL ENCLOSED:		\$		
REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION	**ORIGINAL DOCUM	ENTS WILL NOT BE RETURNED TO YOU**		

Corrections to death records that can be made by this office are limited by law and are subject to very specific supporting documentation. Documents must clearly indicate that they pertain to the registrant on record.

- In general, we require at least 1-2 dated documents proving the correct information.
- Date of death, place of death and all medical information must be corrected by the certifying physician or medical examiner on a separate form.
- Changes to the marital status or name of the surviving spouse on a registered death record require a court
 order naming the surviving spouse, except to make minor spelling corrections or where there is a
 demonstrated error by the funeral home.
- Examples of acceptable documents include marriage records, birth certificates, school records, social security records, passports or visas, military records, census records, government agency records and medical records.
- Driver's License and State Identification cards are NOT acceptable as documentary evidence.

For detailed information on required documents, view our **FAQs for amending death certificates** on our website at: www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords, call our Changes Unit at **517-335-8660** or email: MDHHS-VR-Changes@Michigan.gov

ELIGIBILITY

Next of Kin – Next of kin is the closest living relative of the deceased, in the following order: surviving spouse, children, grandchildren, parents, grandparents and siblings. If you are not listed on the death certificate, you must provide documentation that you are next of kin. Acceptable documents are birth certificates, marriage licenses, death certificates or a court order determination of heirs of the deceased.

IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS WILL NOT BE RETURNED

To change a Michigan death record, a copy of a current valid, government-issued identification is required to establish eligibility.

Please send a copy of one of the following unexpired identifications:

- ✓ U.S. or U.S. Territories Driver's License or Identification Card
- ✓ U.S. or Foreign Passport
- ✓ U.S. Passport Card
- ✓ U.S. Military Identification Card with both picture and signature
- ✓ Other U.S. or U.S. Territories issued document that meets the following criteria: Document must be unexpired. The document must contain a photograph and at least the following information: name, date of birth, date of expiration, signature, and address.

If you do not have identification as listed above, we will accept other documents to prove your identity. For a list of alternative documents please visit our website at **www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords** or call our office at **517-335-8666**.

PROCESSING TIME

Normal processing time to correct a Michigan death certificate is 5-6 weeks if all required documents are received. If we must contact you for additional documentation, the processing time starts when we receive all documentation needed. If you pay for RUSH service, processing time is 2-3 weeks from when all required documentation is received in our office. Processing time is not guaranteed. There could be situations out of our control that cause processing times to be longer. **Note:** Applications sent to the Vital Records post office box with overnight delivery are not received in the Vital Records office for three (3) days.

PENALTIES

Any person who willfully and knowingly makes false application to change a Michigan birth record may be fined and/or imprisoned pursuant to MCL 333.2894(1)(b) and (c).

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political beliefs, or disability.

DCH-0856-CHGDX Rev 04/30/2025 MCL 333.2871(1) and 333.2891(9) and (10)