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PART 1: AIR QUALITY REQUIREMENTS
WHY ARE AIR EMISSIONS FROM CRUSHING FACILITIES REGULATED?

Environmental regulations exist to protect our land, air, and
water from absorbing an excessive amount of pollution. Air
pollution that comes in the form of fine dust, smoke, or soot
particles, also known as particulate matter (PM), is just one of six
major pollutants regulated by the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency (U.S. EPA) and the Air Quality Division (AQD) of the
Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy
(EGLE). The other criteria air pollutants are ground-level ozone,
nitrogen dioxide, sulfur dioxide, carbon monoxide, and lead.

The U.S. EPA sets the National Ambient Air Quality Standards

(NAAQS) for the six criteria air pollutants. These standards protect public health, including the health of sensitive
populations such as asthmatics, children, and the elderly, and the public welfare, including protection against
decreased visibility and damage to crops, vegetation, and buildings. The unit of measure for the PM standard are
micrograms per cubic meter of air.

The U.S. EPA classifies and regulates dust, smoke, and soot by particle size. The particle size is measured in
microns. Dust or PM less than or equal to 10 microns in diameter is commonly referred to as PM1o. Most dust
associated with crushing facilities falls into this category. Finer sources of PM equal to or smaller than 2.5 microns
(PM25) are typically a result of photochemical reactions.

Research has shown that inhaling too much dust lowers the body’s natural defenses because dust builds up in our
respiratory system and irritates the sensitive tissues in our lungs. Therefore, breathing a lot of dust over a long
period of time can cause chronic breathing and lung problems. Another consequence of dust generation is reduced
visibility (also known as haze).; Haze can contribute to excessive soiling, discoloration, and damage to personal
property. Fine particles can remain suspended in the air and travel long distances. For example, emissions from a
factory in Gary, Indiana, can end up in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

The crushing of nonmetallic minerals is just one of a number of dust-generating activities regulated by the U.S. EPA
and EGLE. Other industries where dust is controlled by similar federal and state regulations include asphalt and
concrete batch plants.

OVERVIEW OF FEDERAL AND STATE AIR QUALITY REGULATIONS

Dust and fine particulate are measured by opacity. Opacity is a measurement of how light is obscured by the density
of the dust particles in the air. Opacity is measured in percentages from O to 100 percent and measurement is
performed by visible observation. When there is no visible dust, the opacity is zero percent, meaning light around a
crushing facility is not obscured. Therefore, when the statement is made that an activity is operating at a “25 percent
opacity” level, it means the PM in the air is blocking 25 percent of the visual background light, leaving 75 percent of
the background light clearly visible. An example of standard opacity levels is illustrated by Figure 1-1. The more dust
or PM generated, the more difficult it is to see the landscape background.

Figure 1-1: Opacity Levels

X < S

Y S | Ee S

<|3)\ <IN\
0% Opacity 25% Opacity 50% Opacity 75% Opacity 100% Opacity

Michigan Environmental Compliance Guide for Mineral Crushing Facilities 1-2



PART 1: AIR QUALITY REQUIREMENTS

The U.S. EPA regulates the emissions of particulate matter from nonmetallic mineral crushing facilities through the
New Source Performance Standards (NSPS), Subpart 000. 40 CFR 60.670(a) defines, in part, an affected facility in
fixed or portable nonmetallic mineral processing plants as each crusher, grinding mill, screening operation, bucket
elevator, belt conveyor, bagging operation, storage bin, enclosed truck or railcar loading station which commences
construction, reconstruction or modification after August 31, 1983. Based on this definition, the requirements of
Subpart 000 apply to individual pieces of equipment and include, but are not limited to, equipment specific opacity
limits, notification of equipment startup, as well as reporting and recordkeeping provisions. Subpart 00O also
requires an initial performance test for most subject equipment.

There are some exceptions, however. Facilities at the following plants are not subject to Subpart 000:

a) Fixed sand and gravel plants and crushed stone plants with capacities of 25 tons per hour or less.

b) Portable sand and gravel plants and crushed stone plants with capacities of 150 tons per hour or less.

EGLE enforces the Michigan Air Pollution Control Rules, which restrict the level of dust or PM that can be emitted
into the air. The Michigan Air Pollution Control Rules require owners/operators of crushing facilities to obtain a pre-
construction air pollution control permit, which is known as a Permit to Install. This permit contains a set of general
and special conditions for the operation of your crushing facility and incorporates the testing, monitoring, and
recordkeeping requirements from Subpart O00. Together, both the state and federal regulations set the maximum
levels of dust which can be emitted from your crushing facility. If you want to operate a crusher of any size in
Michigan, you must first apply for and receive a Permit to Install. The permit must be issued prior to commencement
of crushing activities at your first job site.

Who Must Comply with the Permit to Install Requirements?

A Permit to Install is required for all crushing facilities, whether the equipment is leased from a second party on a
temporary basis or owned outright. A crushing facility is defined as the crusher(s) and associated equipment, for
the purpose of processing nonmetallic rocks, stone, sand, gravel, concrete or recycled asphalt. Owner/Operators
must comply with the Permit to Install requirements and can be held liable for state and federal air quality rules.

Leased Equipment
Companies that lease their equipment should ask the leasing company the following questions:

e Has a Permit to Install been applied for by the leasing company (i.e., the owner of the equipment)? As an
operator of the crushing equipment, it is important to verify that a valid Permit to Install exists for the
equipment you wish to lease. If not, you will need to apply for an air quality permit in order to use the
equipment. If there is a permit already assigned to this equipment, the leasing company may allow you to
operate under the Permit to Install for that equipment. In this case, ask for a copy of the Permit to Install
for your records because one of the requirements is to post a copy of the Permit to Install at your job site.
You must understand and comply with all of the permit conditions. EGLE will issue a Permit to Install to
either the owner of the equipment or the operator of the equipment. The General Permit for Nonmetallic
Mineral Crushing Facilities currently lists both the owner and operator as viable entities.

e Has the necessary initial performance test has been completed for the equipment? Ask the leasing
company for a copy of the test documentation to demonstrate that the equipment has passed the
necessary initial performance test. Keep a copy of this test documentation for your records. EGLE will hold
the permittee responsible for complying with all of the Permit to Install’'s requirements. If no permit has
been obtained, EGLE may take action against the lessee and/or lessor for failing to obtain the Permit to
Install and failure to conduct performance testing. According to the Permit to Install, both the owner and
operator are liable for violations. It is important to remember that violations can be enforced by either
EGLE or the U.S. EPA depending on what air quality requirements were violated.
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Activities Exempt from Air Pollution Requirements

All nonmetallic mineral crushing facilities must obtain a Permit to Install, but there are some related activities that
are exempt from the Permit to Install requirements. For example, equipment for the mining and screening of
uncrushed native sand and gravel is exempt, but only if it is standalone equipment and not associated with a
crushing operation. Although this equipment is exempt from the permitting requirement, any visible emissions
resulting from that equipment must be at or below 20% opacity, unless it is part of a permit with lower opacity
limits. If you would like to discuss your specific circumstance, or if you have questions regarding the exemption
status of other potential sources of air pollution, contact EGLE’s Office of Environmental Assistance at (800) 662-
9278.

There are also some nonmetallic mineral crushing activities that require a Permit to Install but are not required to
comply with the performance testing, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements found in NSPS Subpart 00O0.
These operations include:

o Fixed sand and gravel plants, and crushed stone plants with capacities of 25 tons per hour or less.

e Portable sand and gravel plants, and crushed stone plants with a capacity of 150 tons per hour or less.
e Common clay and pumice plants with capacities of 10 tons per hour or less.

e Underground mines.

e Stand-alone screening operations NOT attached to a crusher.

Grandfathered Sources of Air Pollution

Not all crushing equipment requires a Permit to Install. If you own equipment that was installed but never
modified, or reconstructed since August 15, 1967 (i.e., the date the Michigan Air Pollution Control Rules became
effective), your equipment would be considered “grandfathered” and would not require a Permit to Install.

It is important to note there are very few sources of air pollution still in operation that would meet these criteria.
Most pre-1967 constructed crushing equipment has been modified or reconstructed over the years and is now
required to have an air quality permit. To learn more about what it means to modify or reconstruct your equipment,
please see pages 1-17 and 1-18.

NEW INSTALLATION OF A CRUSHING FACILITY

According to Rule 201 of the Michigan Air Pollution Control Rules, you must not start construction of a source of air
pollution without first obtaining an approved Permit to Install.

Types of Permits to Install

There are two types of Permits to Install crushing facilities can apply for in Michigan. One is a Site-Specific Permit to
Install and the other is a General Permit to Install. What is the difference between the two permits? Both the Site-
Specific Permit to Install and General Permit to Install can be used by companies crushing and processing
nonmetallic minerals, but the General Permit to Install can only be used by companies meeting the following:

v" Crush no more than 2 million tons per year at any one site.

v' Locate and operate their crusher a minimum of 500 feet from any residential or commercial
establishment or place of public assembly.

v/ Haveestablished andimplemented afugitive dust control program.

AN

Do nothave any unresolved air quality enforcementviolations with the U.S. EPA or EGLE.
v' Haveanoperation notcurrently covered underanothercompany’s Permitto Install.
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General Permit to Install

The General Permit to Install (general permit) is intended for crushing facilities that move from site to site during the
year. This permit is designed to be more flexible than a Site-specific Permit to Install as well as easier to apply for. In
general, an administratively complete general permit application can be issued within 30 days or less. The biggest
benefit of this type of permit is it linked to the crusher and its associated equipment, not a specific location. Once
you are issued this permit, it is very easy for you to move your process and equipment from site to site as long as
you submit the proper notification forms. A general permit allows the owner and/or operator more flexibility in
meeting the needs of their customers.

Site-Specific Permit to Install
If your proposed location does not meet the 500-foot set back requirements, what can you do? You can apply for
a site-specific permit to install. Itis recommended you utilize the existing crusher general permit application forms,
and in addition use the Permit to Install (PTI) form (EQP5615E) as a cover sheet. Since a site-specific permit may
take more time to issue, consider including the following information with your application:

e Asite map indicating you do not meet the 500-foot setback requirement in the general permit,

e How you plan to ensure you minimize dust to comply opacity limits.

e Afugitive dust management plan

e Whether you plan to crush building demolition material. For example, if you will crush concrete from an old
stamping plant, you MUST identify whether you will be crushing contaminated material. This will allow AQD
permit staff to evaluate whether crushing is appropriate at that location.

The General Permit to Install Application
Most crushing facilities can meet the applicability requirements for a General Permit to Install.

Submitting a General Permit to Install application for a new installation involves filling out each of the following
permit forms and providing additional documentation to the AQD so they can begin processing your application.

e One General Information form (EQP5727)
e One or more Process Information forms (EQP5756)
e One or more Additional Information forms (EQP5729)

Where to Get a Permit to Install Applications

You can obtain a hard copy of the General Permit to Install Application for Nonmetallic Mineral Crushing Facilities
by visiting www.michigan.gov/air. Select “Permits,” then “Permits to Install/New Source Review” then “General
Permits — Applications Forms and Instructions” and then scroll down to “General Permit to Install Application for
Nonmetallc Mineral Crushing Facilities.”

The General Permit Application Forms

The General Permit to Install application consists of three primary forms: General Information, , Process Information
and Additional Information forms. You will use these three forms to apply for a new, or modify an existing,
nonmetallic crushing facility. You can find the form number in the lower right-hand corner of the form.

A step-by-step guide on how to properly fill out the permit application forms is available in Appendix A of this
document.
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The General Information Form (EQP5727)

The General Information form is used to gather contact and physical company location information from the
permit applicant. It is also used to track any additional forms or documentation the permit applicant submits
as part of the overall permit application. This is a standard form that is used in each of the other seven types
of General Permit to Install applications the AQD offers.

The Process Information Form (EQP5756)

The Process Information form collects specific information about each component of your crushing facility. It
has dual purposes. Use the form to list all of the process equipment you will in installing under the initial
permit. Use the form to identify equipment that has been added, removed or modified since the initial permit
was issued.

The Additional Information Form (EQP5729)

The Additional Information form is used to indicate you are attaching supplemental information along with
your permit application. The types of supplemental information you can attach include plant set up diagrams,
local area maps, drawings, charts, equipment documentation, or other information you believe is important
to expedite the processing of your permit application request.

Examples of these three forms can be found in Appendix A. Fillable forms are linked above and at Michigan.gov/air,
choose “Permits,” then “Permits to Install (PTl) / New Source Review (NSR),” then “General Permits to Install”.

See “Available Resources” on page 1-22 if you need assistance on completing a Permit to Install application or
have questions on which Permit to Install application to use.

Site-Specific Application Forms

If you cannot meet the applicability requirements for a General Permit to Install, you will need to fill out a Permit to
Install (PTI) Application Form (EQP5615E). You should also fill out the general permit application forms discussed
above and attach them to EQP5615E. Remember to provide additional documentation to the AQD so they can
begin processing your application.

Submitting Your Permit Application Package

Once you have completed the forms, you are ready to submit your application package to the AQD. Make two copies
of the entire General Permit to Install application, including any attachments or other documentation that will be
included with the application, and mail both copies, including the original copy with an original signature, directly to:

Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy
Air Quality Division - Permit Section

P.0. Box 30260

Lansing, Ml 48909

What Happens After | Submit My Permit Application?

The Permit Section of the AQD receives, reviews, and issues all permit applications. Each application is date
stamped and then screened to ensure the application form and its attachments have been filled out correctly, and
that it contains all of the information that the AQD requires in order to consider the application is administratively
complete. If any information is missing or unclear, the application will be sent back with a letter explaining what
information is needed for the application to be administratively complete.

The AQD assigns each permit a unique number. The permit number consists of two humber fields separated by a
dash (NNN-XX). The AQD also determines whether there is a state registration number (SRN) associated with the
equipment. If not, one will be assigned. A permit engineer will review your application and determine if all necessary
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information has been submitted. Once approved, you will receive an e-mail from the permit engineer indicating your
permit has been issued. After you receive this e-mail, your permit is valid and you may begin construction/operation
of your equipment.

How Long Will It Take to Get my Permit?

General Permit to Install applications are typically processed in 30 days or less, depending on the work load of the
AQD. Site-specific permits may take longer because the review process is more complication and involved. You will know
your permit is approved once the AQD sends a copy to your company with a letter acknowledging the AQD is aware
your company intends to install and operate a crushing facility in accordance with the terms and conditions of the
General Permit to Install. Your permit engineer will communicate regularly with you on the status of your project. It is
important to remember that the AQD is obligated to maintain and make available to the public, upon request, a copy
of your General Permit to Install.

Complying with Permit Conditions

The compliance requirements of your permit are a combination of federal and state regulations. It is important that,
upon receiving your permit, you become very familiar with all the general and special conditions of the permit
because it is your responsibility to operate the equipment according to the conditions or face possible fines and
penalties. The following is a short description of each requirement and tips on how to comply. For a listing of all the
general and special conditions, follow the instructions under “Available Resources” on page 1-22.

Controls

It is important to implement your control equipment to minimize dust from your process equipment. Some ways to
do this are as follows:

e Install water sprays or bag house on each crusher and screen and make sure they are fully operational.

e Review, maintain, and implement a fugitive dust plan as specified in Appendix A of the General Permit to
Install.

e If using a baghouse collector to control particulate emissions, remove collected air contaminants and
dispose of them properly and frequently to minimize the amount of dust released to the air.

Labeling

Label all crushing equipment within 45 days of the facility’s start up. Equipment labels should be placed in an easy-
to-see location on the equipment and should be the same as the Device IDs indicated on the permit application’s
Process Information form (EQP5756). Inspectors will cross reference these IDs as well as any serial numbers
associated with the equipment.

Local Permitting Requirements

Permits issued by the AQD does not absolve you from having to obtain other permits and approvals from other
governmental agencies. For example, a Soil Erosion and Sedimentation Control Permit may be required before you
begin preparing your site. See page 2-6 for more information.

Maintenance

Ensure all process equipment has properly operating water sprays. Additionally, any baghouse dust collector or wet
scrubber controlling emissions from crushers and/or screens should be operated to minimize emissions. One of
the best ways to ensure equipment is operating properly is to establish what parameters constitute proper
operation. For instance, at what pressure range is your baghouse achieving optimum control. It is prudent to
document parameters such as this and check them on a schedule documenting any inconsistencies and any
maintenance done to correct issues.
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Material Specifications
The allowed materials detailed in your permit are important and ensuring you are only processing those materials
is a key to compliance. You should consider the following:

e Verify the material you are to crush is not contaminated with asbestos tailings or other asbestos waste
material.

e Any material processing change at your plant (e.g., a move from crushing concrete to crushing asphalt)
requires that you complete and submit a new Process Information Form (EQP5756) to the AQD.

Monitoring

If you are using a wet scrubber to control dust, it must be equipped with a continuous monitoring device measuring
the pressure drop across the scrubber and measures the liquid flow rate. These devices must be calibrated annually.
If the change in pressure and liquid flow rate readings varies +/- 30 percent from the values recorded during the
most recent initial performance test, you are required to submit a semiannual report to the AQD within 30 days of
the second and fourth calendar quarters.

Processing Limitation

The General Permit to Install will not allow you to process more than 2 million tons of crushed material per year at
one location. If you exceed this amount, you will need to apply for a Permit to Install prior to beginning operations
causing you to exceed this limit.

Recordkeeping

Recordkeeping is part of your permit and helps your facility inspector determine your compliance status. Some
required notifications are listed below:

e Monitor and keep daily and annual records of the amount of material processed for each job site. Records
must be kept for at least five years and made available to the AQD upon request.

e Keep accurate and complete records of all replacements, reconstructions, and modifications made to
equipment at your crushing facility. This includes documentation such as:

o Purchase orders.
o Manufacturers’ equipment manuals (equipment descriptions) and specifications.

e Record the maximum rated capacities of existing and replacement crushers, bucket elevators, bagging
operations, or enclosed trucks, including:

o The total surface areas of the top screen of existing and replacement screening operations.

o The width of the existing and replacement conveyor belt. The rated capacities (in tons) of existing
and replacement storage bins.

o The date the equipment was installed, developed, and made operational.

Posting
Clearly post or keep on file a copy of your permit and associated application forms at the site.

Opacity or Visible Emissions Standards

Opacity is degree of which the emissions obscure the view of the observer. Opacity limits are an important part of
assuring compliance with your permit and ensuring your process equipment is operation properly.

e The opacity of PM leaving the various pieces of equipment from your crushing facility shall not exceed the
limits contained in Table 1-1.

e Maintain an opacity level of under 20 percent for all diesel-fueled stationary and portable on-site
generators.
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Table 1-1: Monitoring Equipment Opacity Limits During Operation

Equipment Opacity Limit (%)
Any equipment enclosed within a building No visible emissions
All crushers 15
Screens 10
Rock drills 5
Conveyors/Transfer points 10

Wash screens and all subsequent equipment downstream up to

. No visible emissions
the next crusher or storage bin

All equipment controlled by a baghouse dust collector 7
Wheel loaders and truck traffic 5
Material storage piles 5

Any other process equipment which is part of the nonmetallic

. . L 10
mineral crushing facility or related processes

Performance Testing
Within 60 days of achieving the maximum production rate but no later than 180 days after you initially start up the
crusher and its associated equipment, conduct the required visible emission performance test (see Figure 1-2).

e The performance test must be conducted by a person certified to evaluate visible emissions in accordance
with U.S. EPA Reference Method 9. See page 1-11 for more information about this U.S. EPA test method.

e Complete the performance test demonstrating that the crushing facility meets the opacity limits stated in
Table 1-1 and in the Special Conditions portion of the permit.

e Submit a copy of the completed opacity observations report to the AQD District Office within 30 days of
the test date.

e Ifa baghouse collector or wet scrubber is installed in lieu of a water spray, conduct a performance test to
verify compliance with the PM emission rate of 0.05 grams per dry standard cubic meter of exhaust gas.

For more information regarding performance testing, see page 1-11 EQUIPMENT RENTALS

Complying with Initial Performance Test Requirements If you are renting any type of
e Crushers e Belt conveyors/transfer points crusher and associated

e Grinding mills e Baghouse dust collectors equipment, you must verify

e Screens e Storage bins/piles that an initial performance

8 P test has been performed on

e Bucket elevators e Wheel loaders and truck loading stations+ that equipment. If not, as

An initial performance test is required in order to determine if the opacity of the dust the operator of the
or particulate matter emitted from the components of a crushing facility stay at or equipment, you will be
below the established limits. The following components of a crushing facility subject responsible for conducting
to NSPS Subpart 000 must undergo an initial performance test: an initial performance test

to verify compliance with
The following components of the crushing facility do not have to undergo an initial  gpacity limits.

performance test:

e Wetscreens and associated bucket elevators and belt conveyors that lead up to the next crusher, grinding
mill, or storage bin.

e Screens and associated bucket elevators and belt conveyors that are downstream of a wet mining
operation and lead up to the first crusher, grinding mill, or storage bin.
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The initial performance test requires the use of an established U.S. EPA protocol or method in order to accurately
complete the test and comply with the General Permit to Install requirements. The most common protocol or method
used today for performance testing is U.S. EPA Test Method 9, also known as the “Visible Determination of Opacity
of Emissions from Stationary Sources.” The initial performance test must be completed by a visible emissions reader
who is certified in the U.S. EPA Test Method 9 performance test method. During a performance test, the certified
visible emissions reader records the level of dust that comes off various parts of the crushing facility. The levels of
dust are measured as percentages of opacity. The initial performance test is completed over a specified period, and
the visible emissions reader determines whether the crusher’'s components emit dust within the acceptable opacity
limits (as specified in Table 1-1).

Where Do | Find a Certified U.S. EPA Test Method 9 Visible Emissions Reader?
As the owner/operator of a crushing facility, you have two options when it comes to conducting the initial
performance test:

1. Hire an environmental consultant who is certified to conduct the U.S. EPA Test Method 9 visible emissions
test.

2. Have someone from your company become certified.

Most environmental consultants have at least one person on staff who is certified to evaluate visible emissions in
accordance with U.S. EPA Test Method 9. The Michigan Clean Air Consultant Directory is available on EGLE web
site at Michigan.gov/air hover over the “Compliance” tab, click on the “Compliance Assistance Resources” button,”
then select “Environmental Consultant Assistance.”

If you chose to have an employee from your company certified in the U.S. EPA Test Method 9 protocol, you may send
that employee to Michigan’s Smoke School. Twice a year, the AQD partners with a private training company to certify
opacity readers in the state. Smoke School is generally offered spring (April) and fall (October) of each year in the
Detroit, Grand Rapids and Gaylord metro areas. Information about registering for the bi-annual smoke school can
be found on the AQD Web site at Michigan.gov/air.

What are the Benefits of Having a Certified U.S. EPA Test Method 9 Visible Emissions Reader on Staff?
The benefits are two-fold:

1. The employee who is certified in a test protocol can accurately
document the opacity levels of your crushing equipment as it operates
at each job site. This provides the AQD with strong documentation of Those who are certified in
your operating opacity levels and demonstrates your commitment to be US. EPA Test Method 9
a good environmental steward. protocol must renew and

Maintaining Certification

2. The up-front costs associated with training an employee may be the maintain their certifications
most economical option for your company if your company has an every six months in order to
ongoing replacement schedule for its equipment. New, modified, or remain up-to-date.
reconstructed equipment may need to have additional performance
tests conducted.

Conducting Visible Emission Observations

When using U.S. EPA Test Method 9 to conduct an initial performance test for each component of a crushing facility,
the observer must:

e Be a minimum of 15 feet away from the dust source.

e Select an observation position that minimizes the interference from other dust sources at the job site (i.e.,
road dust).

o Where a water spray mist is used, take readings at the point in a crushing process where the mist is no
longer visible in the observation.
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U.S. EPA Test Method 9 requires that readings be taken every 15 seconds, averaging 24 consecutive readings over
a 6-minute averaging period. During the observation for dust generation of the various components of a crushing
facility, a certified U.S. EPA Test Method 9 reader can reduce the observation time from 3 hours to 1 hour (ten, 6-
minute averages) in the following situations:

Where baghouses are attached to an individually enclosed storage bin.

If no individual opacity readings are greater than 10 percent for any crusher component, and there are no
more than three recorded opacity readings of 10 percent in a one-hour period.

If no individual opacity readings are greater than 15 percent for a crusher without a capture system, and
there are no more than three recorded opacity readings of 15 percent in a one- hour period.

U.S. EPA Test Method 22 is used to determine the level of dust that might escape a building from equipment that
is housed within. The performance test protocol for this method requires that the test last 75 minutes and that each
side of the building and roof is observed for escaping dust over a period of 15 minutes.

Notifications to EGLE

Notifications are part of your permit and helps your facility inspector determine your compliance status. Some
required notifications are listed below:

Notify the AQD of the start-up date of your crushing facility within 15 days after the start up begins.

If moving from a wet operation (i.e., saturated materials from a wet screening or wet mining operation)
to a dry operation (and vice-versa), you must notify the AQD within 30 days following this change in
material handling and adhere to the respective opacity limits as stated in Table 1-1.

Notifications pertaining to performance testing:

o Fourteen days prior to the performance test, have the AQD district supervisor approve your test
procedures.

o Seven days prior to the performance test, notify the AQD district supervisor of the performance test
date.

o If the performance test is delayed, notify the AQD of the new test date at least three days before the
test is scheduled to be performed.

If there is a problem with any component of your crushing facility where excessive amounts of dust are
generated for more than two hours, you are required to notify the AQD of this abnormal condition or
equipment malfunction within two business days of discovery of the occurrence. Notification is made to
the appropriate AQD district office. If the AQD requires a written report, that report must be submitted
within 10 days after the abnormal condition or equipment malfunction has been corrected or within 30
days of discovery, whichever is first.

Notify the AQD of the start-up date of any replacement or additional equipment.
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What Equipment in a Fixed or Portable Crushing Operation
Requires a Performance Test?
Affected Facilities 8/31/83 — 4/22/03
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Figure 1-2: Determining What Equipment in a Fixed or Portable Crushing Facility Requires a
Performance Test — Affected Facilities 8/31/1983 — 4/22/2003
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What Equipment in a Fixed or Portable Crushing Operation
Requires a Performance Test?
Affected Facilities 4/23/03 - Present
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Figure 1-2:  Determining What Equipment in a Fixed or Portable Crushing Facility Requires a
Performance Test — Affected Facilities 4/22/2003 - Present
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Figure 1-4: Complying with the Dust or Opacity Limits in the Nonmetallic Mineral Crushing General Air Permit
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Relocating Your Crushing Equipment

If you have a General Permit to Install and you are planning to move to a new location, the information in this
section will be important.

Once you have been issued a permit for your first location of operation there may be need to move to a new location
to continue operations at a new job site. A relocation means moving all or a part of the crushing facility to a new job
site. In order to continue to operate the crusher, a Relocation Notice Form (EQP5757) must be filled out and
submitted to the appropriate AQD district office.

To relocate your equipment, your company must first comply with all the applicable requirements of the General
Permit to Install (i.e., no outstanding or unresolved violations). Filling out and submitting a Relocation Notice Form
(EQP5757) is important because no two job sites are the same. There may be different products crushed, the
crusher may be in a different jurisdiction, or your crushing equipment may impact the surrounding community or the
environment differently.

It is also important to remember the General Permit to Install’s conditions for operation continue to be applicable
at your new job site. If you are changing the type of equipment you will use at your next location, you will need to
modify your General Permit to Install by submitting a new Process Information Form (EQP5756) to identify existing
and new equipment. This is especially important when utilizing rented or leased equipment. By filling out and filing
these two forms, you are letting the AQD know your crushing facility will be moving to a different location and whether
there will be any significant change in your process since your last job.

The Relocation Notice Form (EQP5757)

Whether you rent or own the crushing equipment, a Relocation Notice Form (EQP5757) must be filed with the AQD
prior to the scheduled relocation to your next job site. This requirement is contained in the Natural Resources and
Environmental Protection Act 451, which codifies and classifies laws relating to the environment and natural
resources of the state.

To relocate a nonmetallic mineral crushing plant that is covered by a general permit to install

e Complete a Relocation Notice form (EQP5757) to request authority to relocate a nonmetallic mineral
crushing plant under the terms and conditions of a general permit to install pursuant to Rule 201a.

e Attach a copy of the original general permit forms (EQP5727, EQP5729, and EQP5756) and any additional
Process Information forms previously submitted for modifications to the plant.

e Attach a detailed site map for the new location, which shows all site characteristics including the location
of any residential and/or commercial establishments and places of public assembly which are located
within 1,000 feet of the proposed site.

o Certify and submit the Relocation Notice form along with the attachments listed above to both the Permit
Section and the appropriate District Supervisor for the new location. A state map identifying all district
office locations and addresses is available on the General Permit to Install website.

o Notification timeline: estimated dates of operation at the new site shall be provided to the appropriate
district office and the Permit Section not less than 10 days prior to the scheduled relocation. However:

o If electronic notification is used, the notification may be given at least 5 business days prior to
relocation.

o If the owner/operator provided the AQD a list of anticipated operating locations for the current
calendar year at least 10 days before the change of location, and the change of location is on that
list, then notification within 2 business days is acceptable.
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Include:

O

Relocation Submittal Checklist

O

Attach a copy of any new information for:

O
O

A completed, original copy of the Relocation Notice form (EQP5757) or a copy of the
original Relocation Notice with updated dates if the department was previously notified
about the proposed location.

A copy of the original General Permit application forms. Include copies of the General
Information form (EQP5727), a copy of the original Process Information form (EQP5756),
and a copy of the original Additional Information form(s) (EQP 5729). If the plant has been
modified since the original submittal, attach copies of all Process Information forms
(EQP5756) submitted for each modification.

A site plan for the proposed new location, identifying all residential or commercial

establishments and places of public assembly within 1,000 feet of the proposed plant
site.

Plant/building layouts or changes to process flow (i.e. plat maps, diagrams, etc.)

Documentation from the equipment operator’'s manual or specification that states
maximum rated capacity.

Design parameters or descriptions of equipment.
Mail original copies of the paperwork to your AQD district office for your next job site_and

the AQD Permit Section in Lansing, Michigan. See Appendix E for the district office mailing
addresses.

Figure 1-4: Relocation Checklist
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Making Changes to Your Crushing Facility

Changes to your facility set up may require some additional actions on your part to stay in compliance with the
General Permit to Install. In order to understand what steps need to be taken by your company, it is important that
you become familiar with certain key terms and definitions.

Definitions

e Equipment: Any crusher, grinding mill, screening operation, bucket elevator, belt conveyor, bagging
operation, storage bin, enclosed truck, or railcar loading station.

o Existing Equipment: Any equipment that was manufactured prior to August 31, 1983, and was never
modified or reconstructed on or after that date.

o New Equipment: Any equipment that was manufactured, modified, or reconstructed on or after
August 31, 1983.

e Production Line: All equipment which is directly connected or connected together by a conveying system.

e Reconstruction means the replacement of components of a piece of equipment to such an extent that the
fixed capital cost of the new components exceeds 50 percent of the fixed capital cost required to construct
a comparable, entirely new piece of equipment. The cost of replacement of surfaces which come in direct
contact with the nonmetallic mineral (i.e., crushing surfaces, screen meshes, bars and plates, conveyor
belts, and elevator buckets) should not be considered in calculating either the fixed capital cost of the new
components or the fixed capital cost required to construct a comparable new piece of equipment. The
AQD considers reconstructed equipment to be new equipment.

e Size means:

o Maximum rated capacity in tons per hour for a crusher, grinding mill, bucket elevator, bagging
operation, enclosed truck, or railcar loading station.

o Total surface area of the top screen for a screening operation.
o Width for a conveyor belt.
o Rated capacity in tons for a storage bin.

Equipment Changes to Crushing Operations
For all equipment changes, the following actions are required before operation begins:

e Ten days before the equipment is installed, submit a new Process Information Form (EQP5756) for all
equipment to be added to production.

e Send copies to both the AQD district office and the AQD Permit Section.
e Notify the AQD district Office within 15 days of the equipment’s actual date of startup.
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Actions to be taken during operations after equipment changes are summarized below:

Equipment Change Testing Monitoring Recordkeeping
Replacement of Conduct a performance test Monitor the opacity of = Keep accurate
equipment with new within 60-180 days after all equipment to records of the amount
equipment that is equipment startup. ensure it is within the of material processed
LARGER in size. acceptable levels and the date of
14 days prior to test, have AQD  gpecified in Table 1-1  manufacture,
or District Supervisor approve test  f this document. installation date, and
procedures. description of each
Addition of new piece of equipment.

7 days prior to test, notify AQD

equipment. District Supervisor of test date.
or If delayed, notify AQD District

_ Supervisor of the delay at least
Equipment 3 days before test is scheduled.

reconstruction
Submit a copy of completed

opacity observations report to
the AQD within 30 days of the
test date. Submit reports to
your AQD district office (see
Appendix E.)
Replace equipment on Since this is a one-for-one
the production line (on a replacement, no performance
one-for- one basis) with testing is required until all

new equipment that is equipment in the production line
EQUAL or SMALLER in is replaced. Atthat point,
size. testing is required of all

components within the
production line.
Replace equipment on The equipment is not subject to the NSPS Subpart 000 standards; however, you
production line (onaone- @ still need to submit new a Process Information Form(s) (EQP5756)
for-one basis) with
equipment that is of
equal or smaller size.

Table 1-2 Required Actions During Operations as a Result of Changes to a Crushing Facility

Non-Equipment Changes to Crushing Operations

If you are not making equipment changes but are increasing your production rates or hours of operation, please be
aware that:

If you increase your production to a level greater than 2 million tons per year at a single site, you are no longer
eligible for the General Permit to Install. Apply for a Permit to Install.
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The Michigan Air Emission Reporting System (MAERS)

The federal Clean Air Act requires each state to maintain an inventory of air pollution emissions and update this
inventory every year. The AQD gathers this information and compiles it in the Michigan Air Emissions Reporting
System (MAERS). MAERS contains emission data for commercial, industrial, and governmental sources of air
pollution in Michigan. This information is submitted to the U.S. EPA and added to the national data bank to:

e Track air pollution trends.

o Determine the effectiveness of current air pollution control programs in each state.
e Serve as a basis for future year projections of air quality.

e Trackacompany’'s compliance and provide information for permit review.

e (Calculate the emissions portion of the air quality fee.

Companies are sent a MAERS email in mid-January. The completed MAERS forms must be submitted to the AQD
by March 15 of each year. You can access the MAERS website at Michigan.gov/MAERS. This page offers both a
workbook and a series of annual workshops for first-time submitters of the MAERS report. For help in completing
the MAERS forms or for more information on this reporting program, call the Office of Environmental Assistance at
800-662-9278.

Air Quality Fees

The Clean Air Act requires each state to develop a Title V, Renewable Operating Permit (ROP) Program supported
by air quality fees. An annual air quality fee program for Michigan, including the specific fee structure, was
established by the legislature in 1993. The fee program was reauthorized by Governor Whitmer on
November 14, 2019.

The Michigan legislation establishes the following formula for calculating the annual air quality fee for each fee-
subject facility:

ANNUAL FEE = FACILITY CHARGE + EMISSIONS CHARGE

The facility charge used in the fee formula is based on the classification or category of a company. There are six
different category schedules for fees. Category D is the category applicable to any company with operations subject
to a federal NSPS regulation such as nonmetallic mineral processing facilities. The current facility charge and
emission fee for Category D facilities is as follows:

Emissions Range

Category Type g

Facility Charge Emissions Charge/Ton

>=60 tons $2,500.00 $53.00
>=6 $2,000.00 $53.00
>=0 $1,795.00 $53.00
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Example of a Fee Calculation for a Typical Crushing Operation Subject to NSPS

ABC Aggregates of southeast Michigan is a Category D facility that has a crusher capacity of 155 tons per hour
and processed 600 tons of material in 2019.

PM10 /Year =
(Tons processed/ Year) x (Emission factor)* x (1 Ton/ 2000 Pounds) x (80% Control Efficiency)**

PM10 /Year =
[600,000 Tons of Product/Year] x [0.05 Pound PM10/Ton Product] x [0.0005 Ton/Pound] x [(100 - 80) / 100]

PM10Q/Year = 3 tons
* This emission factor comes from the U.S. EPA’s AP-42 for plant-wide processes. The source classification code is

3-05-025-01 for a typical plant-wide sand and gravel operation.
**Assume an 80% control efficiency for properly installed and operating water sprays.

Billable Emissions under MAERS are rounded to the nearest whole number.

Emission Charge: 3 x $53/ton $ 159.00
Facility Charge (tons of emissions >=0): +$1,795.00
TOTAL ANNUAL AIR QUALITY FEE =$1,954.00

Who is Responsible for MAERS Reporting and Fees?
The entity issued a permit for the equipment is responsible for reporting emissions generated by this equipment

and any fees associated with those emissions.

Why Should | Comply?

When air pollution interferes with the comfortable enjoyment of a community’s life and property, it is usually
reported directly to the AQD district offices. When a complaint is lodged, an air quality inspector is sent out to the
site where the complaint is believed to originate. If an inspector is sent to your job site, he/she may talk with you
about the problem in order to substantiate the merits of the complaint. The most common violations cited about
crushing operations are:

° Not having an air quality permit.

° Not completing the initial performance test on the equipment.

° Making a change to the equipment and not updating the AQD on the change.

° Excessive dust generation with no ongoing monitoring and implementation of a fugitive dust plan.
° Failure to submit a complete Relocation Notice on time.

° Failure to label equipment

° Failure to keep records required by the permit.

° Failure to post or have a copy of the permit at the site.

These violations often occur because an owner/operator of a crushing facility is not aware of the compliance
requirements (i.e., monitoring opacity levels, implementing a fugitive dust plan, etc.).
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EGLE can issue a Violation Notice (VN) if you are violating any of the air pollution control requirements. If the
violation is not corrected, the inspector can escalate it for further enforcement action. The following are some
typical actions companies take in order to achieve compliance after a VN has been issued:

e Establish a tree berm.

e |Install a truck wheel wash system.

o Keep records of water usage.

e Pave access roads to a job site.

e Submittal of records to demonstrate dust minimization efforts.

e Develop a site or company-specific fugitive dust plan.

e Install additional water sprays at transfer points along the process.

The goal of AQD inspectors is to help you achieve and maintain compliance with the air quality regulations. This
involves working with you and your company to address the reasons behind any issued VN.

Available Resources

There are many resources available to help you stay in compliance with air quality rules and regulations. The AQD
has a web page containing the General Permit to Install application forms, instructions, and listing of general and
special conditions. Go to www.michigan.gov/air, select “Permits,” then “Permits to Install/New Source Review” then
“General Permits - Applications Forms and Instructions” and then scroll down to “General Permit to Install
Application for Nonmetallic Mineral Crushing Facilities.”

Call EGLE’s Office of Environmental Assistance at 800-662-9278 for assistance on any environmental-related
question, including those related to air quality.

The AQD district office staff are available for consultation and advice. Staff from these offices conduct the
inspections of your facilities. See Appendix E for a listing of the district offices.

EGLE maintains a directory of environmental consultants. Go to www.michigan.gov/air, select “Compliance” then
“Compliance Assistance Resources” and “Environmental Consultant Assistance.”
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PART 2: WATER QUALITY AND WATER WITHDRAWAL
REQUIREMENTS

When properly operated, a crushing facility is a dry operation; and water is
only used as a mist for dust suppression. This mist is generally evaporated
into the air surrounding the equipment and absorbed by the material before
it is conveyed to the screening operation. If there is no release (discharge)
from this process to the ground or a water body, water discharge permits
are not needed by your facility for this specific activity. However, there are
other activities closely associated with the crushing

facility that may require wastewater discharge permits. The wastewater
discharge permit program may apply to the wastewater generated from:

e \Wash screen operations.
e Vehicle wash stations such as truck wheel washes.
e Mining activities where groundwater and storm water are dewatered.

e Storm water that comes in contact with industrial materials at the site.

In addition, water withdrawal permits and reporting requirements may apply to mining operations.

AN OVERVIEW OF EGLE’S WATER QUALITY PERMIT PROGRAMS

There are three water quality operational permit programs that may apply to a crushing facility:

o The Groundwater Discharge Permit Program.
e The National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit Program.
e The Industrial Storm Water Program (which is included in the NPDES Program).

Each program is administered through the Water Resources Division (WRD) and
is designed to protect against wastewater pollutants getting into the groundwater
or surface water (such as rivers, lakes, and streams) of the state.

What permit is required
for ponds?

For water quality permitting

To determine which of these water programs applies to your crushing facility, you purposes, if a discharge is
must first know the discharge destination of the wastewaters that are generated made into a pond from the
. . ) mining of sand and gravel
at your site. If all of the waste and/or dewatering water will enter the ground or sl T (2oral dos
groundwater, the Groundwater Discharge Permit Program applies. If the have an outlet to a surface
wastewater and/or dewatering water has the possibility of entering a surface water body, a groundwater
water (rivers, lakes, and streams) of the state, the NPDES Permit programs apply. discharge permit would

. . ) ) likely be required.
Finally, a construction storm water NPDES Permit-by-Rule would likely apply to

the job site during the initial development phase (to control runoff of soil and
sediment into water bodies and neighboring properties.)

Each of these wastewater discharge permit programs protects the waters of the state pursuant to Section 3109 of
Part 31, Water Resources Protection, of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as
amended (Act 451), so the state’s water can be used for activities such as irrigation; recreation; industry; drinking;
and the health of plants, animals, and people. For example, dewatering groundwater often contains high levels of
total dissolved solids (it may look like milk) or hydrogen sulfide (it may have a significant “rotten egg” odor). In some
cases, discharging water with these characteristics can severely impact the uses of the state’s water.
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The Groundwater Discharge Permit Program

The Groundwater Discharge Permit Program applies to sites where the wastewater or wash water is directed to and
discharged back into the ground or, as mentioned earlier, a pond with no surface water outlet that may have been
created as a result of the sand and/or gravel mining activity. The discharge authorizations in the Groundwater
Discharge Permit Program Rules (Part 22 Rules, Groundwater Quality, R 323.2201 et seq.) are established in order
of relative threat to the environment, and the program’s annual fees are set in the same manner. There is an annual
fee for groundwater permit coverage. The annual fee can be $200, $1,500 or $3,650, depending on the type of
permit appropriate for your company.

Certain activities are exempt from having to obtain a permit. These activities are listed in Michigan Rule
323.2210(a-x) while other types of discharges require prior authorization and are issued under the following rules:

Rule 323.2210(y) (site specific discharge)

Rule 323.2211 (notification only)

Rule 323.2213 (notification with certification)

Rule 323.2215 (general permit)

Rule 323.2216 (permit with specific treatment system requirements)
Rule 323.2218 (full permit)

Exemptions to the Groundwater Discharge Permit Program (Rule 2210)

Certain discharges to the ground are exempt from needing prior authorization from EGLE’'s Water Resources
Division. Examples of exempt discharges to the ground include controlled application of certain dust suppressants,
domestic equivalent uses, and development water from groundwater monitoring wells. A more complete list of these
discharges can be found in the Part 22 Permit Application Instructions. These instructions are available online at
michigan.gov/EGLEwater. Select “Groundwater Discharge” from the Quicklinks on the right. Under “Permits and
Fees select “Groundwater Permit Application Forms and Technical Information.”

While the law and rules provide that a person does not need a permit to discharge a material that is exempt, the
law also does not waive liability for causing injury (i.e., contamination) to the waters of the state. A discharge cannot
cause the waters of the state to lose their usefulness for drinking, agriculture, recreation, industry, or other protected
uses. Even though these activities do not require a permit, there are certain conditions that must be met according
to the law; and the following activities are prohibited:

e Causing physical damage to neighboring properties or creating nuisance conditions (i.e., runoff onto
adjacent properties, ponding or flooding of adjacent properties, odors, etc.).

e Creating a site of environmental contamination which would need to be cleaned up.

Discharges to the ground falling into this category do not have to submit a permit application form. Yet other
discharges to the ground or groundwater, which are not specifically listed as exempt activities under Rule 2210(a-
X) or elsewhere in the rules, may be authorized on a case-by-case basis by EGLE’s Water Resources Division. If your
company demonstrates the discharge will not have a significant potential to be injurious based on volume or
content, the Water Resources Division may grant an authorization to discharge to the ground under Rule 2210(y).
To request this authorization, you must submit an application form that includes a narrative description justifying
the request for the Rule 2210(y) authorization with the permit application form.
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The Groundwater Discharge General Permit

An authorization for certain classes of discharges can be granted by the Water Resources Division under a general
permit. Often this is used for operations where wash water is associated with gravel, sand, limestone, or dolomite
mining that contains no additives.

To apply for the general permit, submit a Groundwater Discharge Permit Application to the Water Resources Division
with information that characterizes the discharge. The specific General Permit for sand and gravel wash water can
be found at www.michigan.gov/EGLEwater. Select “Groundwater Discharge.” Under “Permits and Fees” select
“Groundwater Permit Application Forms and Technical Information.” From here, select GW154000 - Gravel Mining.
A company is authorized to discharge to the ground or to groundwater when it receives a Certificate of Coverage
(COC) from the Water Resource Division that verifies the discharge is authorized under this rule. The annual permit
fee for this authorization is $1,500.

To submit a Groundwater Discharge Permit Application for a General Permit access miwaters.EGLE.state.mi.us.
This is the site of the web based program launched in August 2015. This program introduces online submission
of permit applications and schedules of compliance, as well as monitoring data. You can also gain access to this
site through www.michigan.gov/EGLEwater. Choose “MiWaters is now online” from the Quicklinks column on the
right. Link to MiWaters is in the middle of the page. Near the bottom are links to training videos. All applications
must be submitted through the MiWaters site. The Part 22 application instructions, the current General Permit
documents, guidesheets, and technical information can still be found at www.michigan.gov/EGLEwater.

All applicants new to the groundwater program and MiWaters must create an account. Those seeking reissuance
of a previous permit should have received instructions from us about becoming associated with your existing
account; now in MiWaters. If you did not receive the letter, please contact your district office for assistance in
completing this part. Creating an account is a two-step process. Upon accessing the site choose “Create an
Account” located in the upper-right section of the page. Complete the information requested on the page and
download the Certifier Agreement Form you will need for step two. Once you create an account you will receive an
emailed acknowledgement with further instructions for logging in. With this access you can view and begin filling
out an application. In step two, complete the downloaded Certifier Agreement Form and mail it as instructed. Once
the certifier status has been approved your e-mail address will identify your security status, enabling you to submit
the application.

Having created an account, you can sign-in to MiWaters. Choose “Apps, requests and reports.” Choose the
groundwater discharge general permit application Rule 323.2215 and begin submission. This is an interactive
form to be completed and submitted online. The application is divided into several sections. The first few sections
require the type of information that is general to all applicants. Questions specific to sand and gravel wash water
are found beginning in the section “Rule 323.2215 Specific Information”. Here you will choose “Gravel, sand,
limestone, or dolomite mining” from the list. From this point you will continue filling in only the information
requested for gravel, sand, limestone, or dolomite mining. Finish by submitting the competed form.

For additional information you can call the Groundwater Permit Unit in Lansing at 517-373-8148; or your local
district office.

SURFACE WATER DISCHARGES AND THE NATIONAL POLLUTION DISCHARGE ELIMINATION
SYSTEM (NPDES) PERMIT

NPDES Individual Permits

An individual NPDES permit is site specific. Companies engaged in limestone, sand/silica mining, and other
associated processes with a direct discharge into surface waters of the state often need permits from this program.
The limitations and requirements in an individual permit are based on the perlite’s discharge type, the amount of
discharge, company operations (if applicable), and the receiving water body’s characteristics. Applications for
discharge permits shall be completed using the WRD’s MiWaters system. Get help filling out your application by
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contacting the Water Resource Division at 517- 241-1300 or your local WRD district office. Additional information
is also available on the Web at www.michigan.gov/EGLEwater.

It is suggested that those needing this type of permit seek the assistance of an environmental consultant for
assistance in completing the NPDES individual permit application.

NPDES General Permits

A general permit is available to permitees with certain similar operations and/or types of discharges. Coverage
underan NPDES general permit will only be granted when the general permit provides the needed level of protection
for the water receiving the discharge. Wastewater discharges at certain locations may require an individual permit
based upon site-specific concerns. Companies that are eligible for coverage under a general permit receive a
Certificate of Coverage (COC) from the Water Resources Division-Resources. Two of the general permits most
relevant to crushing facilities include Storm Water from Industrial Activities (discussed below) and Sand, Gravel,
and Clay Mining (for process wastewater and pit dewatering water).

Storm Water from Industrial Activities General Permit

If a site has a site-specific individual NPDES permit, industrial storm water permit conditions and requirements will
be included within the individual permit (general storm water permit coverage will not be necessary).

Companies with coverage under a general NPDES permit for sand, gravel, and clay mining may need to apply for
coverage under a general storm water permit if storm water is separate from other waters at the site (such as
dewatering or other wastewater). If all of the storm water at the site is intermingled with the dewatering or process
wastewater, the storm water is no longer considered storm water and should be covered accordingly (e.g., by an
individual NPDES permit or a general NPDES permit for sand, gravel, and clay mining). Industrial storm water permit
coverage may be necessary for companies that:

e Do not have other wastewater requiring an NPDES permit at the site, and the storm water associated with
the facility’s industrial activity is discharged to a separate storm sewer system or to nearby surface waters
of the state (e.g., river, lake, stream); or

e Have wastewater or dewatering water which requires other NPDES coverage, but the storm water is
separated from the other wastewaters that are directed to surface waters of the state.

The industrial storm water program applies to industrial sectors identified in the federal storm water regulations.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes, prepared by the federal Office of Management and Budget or
narrative descriptions, are used to identify regulated companies. SIC codes describe the primary nature of business
in which a facility is engaged. The following industrial categories applicable to sand, gravel, and clay mining are
regulated:

e Transportation (SIC 40 - 45, including SIC 41)
e Mining (SIC 10 - 14)

It is likely that crushing facilities fall under one of these SIC codes. You can find your four-digit SIC code, for
comparison, in your corporate tax returns under Schedule K listed as either “Business Activity Code” or
“Manufacturers Identity Code.” You may also call Michigan’s Unemployment Insurance Agency at 800-638-3994
and provide your federal identification number to get your official SIC code.

Next, you must identify areas where storm water could come into contact with industrial materials or activities at
your site. These are areas where you store or transport materials related to your industrial activity outside without
some type of permanent covering such as a storage yard (final products manufactured for use outside are exempt).
Upon contact with these areas, the quality of the storm water that runs off from these materials could be altered.
The term “exposure” is used in the storm water program to indicate the potential for contact between storm water
and your industrial materials. This includes outside storage of raw materials, intermediate products, waste
materials, and material handling activities associated with your industrial activity.
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If your company falls under one of the regulated SIC codes and you have a discharge of storm water to surface
waters of the state from areas associated with your industrial activity, you will likely need a storm water permit.
There is a no-exposure exemption for the storm water permit program, but most crushing and associated operations
are conducted outside so the no-exposure exemption will probably not apply. However, for guidance on the “no-
exposure exemption” go to the industrial storm water program Web site at www.michigan.gov/EGLEwater. Select
“Permits” from the left-hand menu, then “Storm Water” from the drop-down menu under “Surface Water”. Then
select “Industrial Program” under “Information” in the middle of the page and pick the document entitled “No
Exposure Certification Guidance.”

To begin the process to get a COC, a document that demonstrates coverage under the Storm Water from Industrial
Activity General Permit, you first have to submit a Notice of Intent (NOI). To complete the NOI, go to the MiWaters
website at https://miwaters.EGLE.state.mi.us/, create an account, submit a Certifier Agreement, and complete the
appropriate nForm for the NOI. If your NOI is appropriate and complete, then a COC will be issued by the Water
Resources Division-Resources Division. Once the COC is issued, your company can begin its operation. There is an
annual permit fee of $260 for storm water discharges associated with industrial activity or from a commercial site
that is assessed at the end of each calendar year. Invoices usually are mailed in February of the following year. It is
important to note that before a COC is granted, you must have:

o Acertified operator who has supervision over the control structures at the company.

e Eliminated any unauthorized non-storm water discharges to the storm sewer system and waters of the
state.

e A Storm Water Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP) developed and implemented (for existing facilities),
and new facilities must have a SWPPP developed and ready for implementation.

How do you know if you need an Industrial Storm Water General Permit?
Answer: If you can answer yes to the following questions, you will need general permit coverage.

e Does the SIC code for my company fall under the categories that are regulated?

e Are there any areas on my job site where storm water is exposed to my industrial activities (i.e.,
storage or process equipment) and then discharged into surface waters of the state (e.g., any storm
water that is not co-mingled with another wastewater stream, dewatering water, or otherwise
covered under a different NPDES permit)?

Notice of Coverage for NPDES Storm Water Discharges from Construction Activity or Permit-By-Rule

A Notice of Coverage for NPDES Storm Water Discharges from Construction Activity (NOC) or Permit-by-Rule would
in all probability apply to your site at the initial development phase or ground breaking. A NOC or Permit-by-Rule is
used to control run-off of soil and sediment into water bodies and neighboring properties if the construction activity
will result in a discharge of storm water to surface waters of the state at any point during the construction process.
The NOC and Permit-by-Rule controls storm water runoff from the site in the initial development period. This usually
lasts until the initial earth change activity has been stabilized. Discharges associated with operation of the facility may
then be covered by one of various types of permits depending on the process.

Construction sites of one acre or greater of earth disturbance are covered by a “permit-by-rule.” “Permit-by-rule”
means that permit requirements are stated in a formally promulgated administrative rule by the Water Resources
Division. A facility requiring coverage under a “permit-by-rule” must abide by the provisions written in the rule. The
rule requires that an application (Notice of Coverage) be submitted for construction sites five acres or greater in
earth disturbance; construction sites between one and five acres have no application requirement and are
automatically covered under Permit-by-Rule provided they comply with the provisions outlined in Permit-by-Rule.
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Owners or recorded easement holders of earth change sites of five acres or more must submit a form called a
Notice of Coverage (NOC) to apply for NPDES permit coverage. In order to submit an NOC, the applicant must first
obtain a Soil Erosion and Sedimentation Control (SESC) permit. The SESC permitting programs are administered
by local jurisdictions and counties in your area. SESC agencies can be identified online at
www.michigan.gov/soilerosion  or by calling the Environmental Assistance Center at 800-662-9278.
Authorization to discharge water from your job site is automatically granted upon submittal of a completed NOC
and paying a one-time fee of $400 to the Water Resources Division through the MiWaters web-based permitting
and compliance database. Access to MiWaters can be found at miwaters.EGLE.state.mi.us.

Earth change sites that disturb one to five acres are provided automatic coverage under the NPDES Storm Water
Construction Permit (Permit-by-Rule) as long as the earth changg is first covered under a local or county Soil Erosion
and Sedimentation Control (SESC) Program. Even though there is no application requirement or permit fee for
one to five acre sites, construction site owners/operators must comply with the Permit-by-Rule requirements.
Sites disturbing less than one acre could be required to have Permit-by Rule coverage if the earth change is part
of a larger common plan of site development.

The Permit-by-Rule requires an owner/operator of a construction site to provide for weekly inspections of the soil
erosion and sedimentation control practices identified in their SESC Permit. In addition, the site must be
inspected within 24 hours of a rain event that causes run off from the site. These inspections must be conducted
by, and recorded in, inspection logs by a Certified Storm Water Operator. The certification materials and testing to
become a Storm Water Certified Operator are available in each of the, EGLE district offices.

To find out more about training go to www.michigan.gov/soilerosion and follow the links for Training.

For more information on the Permit-by-Rule, including certified operator exam training materials and exam
schedules, or storm water program contact information, contact any Water Resources Division district office or
go to www.michigan.gov/EGLEwater (select “Permits” then “Surface Water” then “Storm Water”, then
“Construction Site Program”).

Large Quantity Water Withdrawal Regulations

Mining operations that have large quantity water withdrawal capacity (combined capacity of all pumps) of over 100,000
gallons per day must be registered with EGLE Water Use Program. New withdrawals, or increases of additional
withdrawal capacity greater than 100,000 gallons per day must be authorized by EGLE Water Use Program via
the online Michigan Water Withdrawal Assessment Tool (www.EGLE.state.mi.us/wwat) prior to making the withdrawal.
New or increased withdrawal capacity greater than two million gallons per day bypass the Water Withdrawal
Assessment Tool and must obtain a water withdrawal permit under Part 327.

This regulation was passed into law to comply with the interstate Great Lakes Compact, and to prohibit a new or
increased large quantity withdrawal from causing an “adverse resource impact.” An adverse resource impact is
defined as decreasing the flow of nearby rivers or streams, or decreasing the level of a natural lake if the withdrawal is
made directly from a lake, by an amount that would impair the characteristic fish populations. Removing too much
groundwater near a river or stream will change the flow and temperature of the stream, and hence the types and
number of fish expected to be found there. The Water Withdrawal Assessment Tool and Part 327 permit review
processes analyze the proposed withdrawal, and assess the likelihood of the groundwater or surface water
withdrawal causing an adverse resource impact.

In addition, the owner of property with the capacity to make a large quantity water withdrawal must annually report the
volume of that withdrawal to EGLE by April 1 on a form provided by EGLE. There is also an annual $200.00 fee for
all withdrawals in excess of 1,500,000 gallons for the given year. Annual water use reports require the withdrawal
volume, source and location, capacity, purpose of use, and discharge volume and location.

For a permit application or to learn more about this program, please call the Water Resources Division, Water Use
Program, at 517-284-5563 or go to www.michigan.gov/EGLEwateruse.
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PART 3 - MATERIALS MANAGEMENT REQUIREMENTS

The waste requirements that a crushing facility must follow depend on
what kind and how much waste is generated from a facility’s activities.
The three most common types of waste are hazardous waste, liquid
industrial waste, and solid waste. Some materials may also exhibit
radioactivity. When evaluating what kind of waste you have, you need to
“characterize” the waste by evaluating the character and composition
following prescriptive steps found under the waste regulations. These
steps are required to ensure that human health and environment are
protected from the hazards posed by the waste. Once waste is
characterized and determined to be a hazardous waste, liquid industrial waste, solid waste or radioactive waste,
you can identify the management requirements that must be met when handling the waste. To encourage waste
minimization, the hazardous waste regulations have less rigorous regulatory requirements for a site that generates
smaller volumes of hazardous waste. Waste characterization and the specific management requirements that
apply are discussed in greater detail later in this part.

Several state agencies oversee the following regulations including the EGLE’s Materials Management Division
(MMD), Air Quality Division (AQD), and Water Resource Division (WRD); the Michigan Department of Licensing and
Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Michigan Occupational, Safety and Health Act Program (MIOSHA); and the Michigan State
Police, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division.

By using the steps outlined below, you can determine which of the state and federal regulations apply to the waste
at your crushing facility to ensure you are properly managing your waste.

AN OVERVIEW OF EGLE’S MATERIALS MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS

First, it is important to understand that different types of waste have different regulations. The following is a short
description of each.

e Hazardous waste - Part 111 of Act 451 and the Part 111 rules. Includes characteristic waste (ignitable,
corrosive, reactive, and toxic) or listed waste which includes chemicals and processes that create the
waste; overseen by EGLE MMD.

e Universal waste - Specified wastes (e.g., electric lamps, electronics, antifreeze, batteries, etc.) that a
facility may choose to handle under the alternative hazardous waste rule R 299.9228; overseen by EGLE
MMD.

e Liquid industrial by-product - Part 121 of Act 451. Includes non-hazardous liquid wastes that fail the
paint filter test and used oil being recycled; overseen by EGLE MMD. If waste oil is burned, there are
additional requirements under Part 55 of Act 451; overseen by EGLE AQD.

e Solid waste - Part 115 of Act 451 and the Part 115 rules. Includes non-hazardous solid waste; overseen
by EGLE MMD.

e Radiological waste — Part 135 lonizing Radiation Rules of Act 368 and the Part 135 rules; overseen
by EGLE MMD.

e Scrap tires — Part 169 of Act 451; overseen by EGLE MMD.
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There are also other regulations that may be applicable to the types of waste coming from your facility. These
include:

e Flammable and combustible liquids regulations and Fire Protection Code - Overseen by the Michigan
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Fire Services Bureau, Storage Tank Division when waste
has a flashpoint below 200 degrees Fahrenheit. The local fire department and MIOSHA also have
requirements.

o US Department of Transportation hazardous materials regulations - Overseen by Michigan State Police
when transporting hazardous waste.

o Worker health and safety standards for aboveground operations - Overseen by MIOSHA.

e Discharges of wastewater on site - Overseen by EGLE WRD.

To find more information about waste requirements and the regulations, go contact the Environmental Assistance
Center at 800-662-9278 or go to www.michigan.gov/EGLEwaste.

A STEP-BY-STEP APPROACH TO IDENTIFYING, CHARACTERIZING, AND DISPOSING OF YOUR
WASTE MATERIALS

Step 1: Identify

Identify all the different wastes you have on site and determine what types of waste your
facility generates, including how much hazardous waste is generated in a calendar month.

Waste streams at your site may include those from:
y y F002 Description in Rule R 299.9220

e the office :
The following spent halogenated
e equipment and building maintenance solvents:

e any area where you are receiving or handling material to crush. tetrachloroethylene, methylene

chloride, trichloroethylene, 1,1,1-
trichloroethane, chlorobenzene, 1,1,2-
trichloro-1,2,2-trifluoroethane, ortho-
dichlorobenzene,
trichlorofluoromethane and 1,1,2-
trichloroethane; all spent solvent
mixtures and blends containing, before
use, a total of 10% or more by volume
of one or more of the above
halogenated solvents or those solvents
listed in FOO4, FO04, and FOO05; and
still bottoms from the recovery of these
spent solvents and spent solvent
mixtures.

Common examples of wastes and applicable waste codes from
crushing companies are listed in Tables 3-1a through 1d. The waste
codes are used for labeling hazardous waste containers and for
manifesting the waste when shipping it off-site. Waste codes also
apply to manifesting liquid industrial waste. Sometimes additional
information is needed to determine which hazardous waste codes
apply if you have used solvents. It may be necessary to read the waste
description in the rules to determine which code applies. The table
does not include waste codes that may apply if you have some
specialty operation or if other chemicals or wastes were mixed with
the waste. For example, cross contamination may occur in the
maintenance area if overspray from an aerosol brake cleaner was
used near some used antifreeze. Review the Table 3-1 waste details
and view the 1-hour recorded Waste Characterization and Generator
Status webinar available at www.michigan.gov/EGLEwaste to verify the regulatory status of your waste and the
management requirements that apply for handling, transport, and disposal. Discuss any questions you have with
the MMD District Office, your waste disposal company, waste consultant, or contact the Environmental Assistance
Center.
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Tables 3-1a-d: Common Wastes at Crusher Facilities

Table 3-1a. Oils and Fuels

Waste
Stream

Usual Type of Waste

Used Oil Liquid industrial waste when
recycled
Used Oil Solid waste when recycled
Filters and drained
Liquid industrial waste when
led includi :
Waste Fuel recycled including being used

in fuel blending, or hazardous
waste

Disposal or Recycle
Recommendations
Waste Codes for Shipment

Recycle
0417L for crankcase oil, 021L
for other oils,
019L for coolants and water
soluble oils

Recycle
Code not applicable when oils
properly drained

Recycle (e.g., used as fuel):
029L

If unusable as is and being

disposed, DOO1 and D035

Amount
generated
at your
site?

Additional
information
available

Used Oil Overview
with links to related
guidance and Used

Oil Common
Violations Checklist

Used Qil and
Spent Filters

No

If the total amount of ALL oils (both waste and products including fuels) on site meets or exceeds1,320 gallons.
Refer to Chapter 4 on Product Storage and Emergency Planning Requirements.

Table 3-1b. Maintenance Related Waste

Waste
Stream

Usual Type of Waste

Usually liquid industrial
waste but may be
hazardous waste. If
hazardous, it can be

Antifreeze managed as universal
waste.

Note: There is a 2007
proposed rule to include
this as universal waste.

. Hazardous waste with
Batteries- exemption when recycled
Lead Acid }

or universal waste

Batteries- Recommend handling as
Dry cell universal waste or
(e.g.,AA,C, D determine if hazardous
sizes) waste

Varies, may be hazardous
Laboratory due to flashpoint or type of
Wastes

solvent used.

Disposal or Recycle
Recommendations Waste
Codes for Shipment

Recycle
030L, unless hazardous due to
metal concentrations or
cross contamination

Code not applicable when being
recycled

Code not applicable when
handled as universal waste; code
varies with type of battery if
handled as hazardous waste

DOO1 or F listing depending on
solvents used for quality control
testing
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Antifreeze

Universal Waste

Universal Waste


http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-usedoil_320882_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-UsedOilChecklistwithEmergencyPosting_493577_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-UsedOilChecklistwithEmergencyPosting_493577_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-UsedOilChecklistwithEmergencyPosting_493577_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-p2tas-oilfilters_190429_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-p2tas-oilfilters_190429_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-antifrez_320830_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-univwaste_320878_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-univwaste_320878_7.pdf
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Waste
Stream

Light Bulbs

Painting
Wastes

Part Washer
Solvents

Shop Rags

Usual Type of Waste

Recommend handling as
universal waste, if not
hazardous waste

Paints and painting
equipment cleaning
solvents may be hazardous
or liquid industrial waste
depending on product
formulation

May be hazardous or liquid
industrial waste depending
on type of solvent and
flashpoint

May be hazardous waste
due to spontaneous
combustion.

If not hazardous and no
liquids present in
container, then solid waste

Table 3-1c. Crusher By-products

Waste
Stream

Grinding
Slurry

Wash
Waters
from Stone
and Sand
Processing

Fines and

Usual Type of Waste

Solid waste when handled
under exemption or liquid
industrial waste

Liquid industrial waste if not
discharged on site under
requirements as
described in Chapter 1 on
Water Quality Requirements

Solid waste (handle under

Disposal or Recycle
Recommendations Waste
Codes for Shipment

Code not applicable when
handled as universal waste; code
varies with type of bulb if
handled as hazardous waste

Varies: Some solvents used to
clean painting equipment: FOO3-
FOO5
Paints: if oil based, may be
D001, other codes vary
depending on formulation. If non-
hazardous: 029L

Recommend recycling. Codes
vary depending on used solvent
and concentration. If solvent-
based product has flashpoint
below 140 degrees Fahrenheit:
DO0O01; Listed waste codes (FOO3,
FOO05, FO041, FO02, D039, D040)
may apply depending on type of
solvent used.
Water-based cleaning solutions
(034L) or may have additional
hazardous waste codes if cross
contaminated.

Recommend laundering for reuse
to meet hazardous waste
recycling exemption. If disposed,
codes vary: DOO1 if
spontaneously combustible or
possible listed waste depending
on what solvent used with the

rag.

Disposal or Recycle
Recommendations
Waste Codes for Shipment

029L when handled as liquid
industrial waste

029L

Codes not applicable
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Electric Lamp and
Spent Ballast
Universal Waste

Chapter 2, of the
Michigan Guide to
Environmental
Health and Safety

Regulations

Chapter 2, of the

Michigan Guide to
Environmental

Health and Safety
Regulations

Chapter 2, of the
Michigan Guide to

Environmental
Health and Safety

Regulations

Additional
information
available

Part 115 concrete

grinding slurry

exemption

Beneficial Use 1, 2

3.0r4

No

No

Amount
generated
at your
site?

Amount
generated at
your site?



http://www.deq.state.mi.us/documents/deq-ead-tas-eleclamp.pdf
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/documents/deq-ead-tas-eleclamp.pdf
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/documents/deq-ead-tas-univwaste.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-caap-manufguide-chap2_313406_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whmd-swp-Exemption-ConcreteGrindingSlurry_247537_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whmd-swp-Exemption-ConcreteGrindingSlurry_247537_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whmd-swp-Exemption-ConcreteGrindingSlurry_247537_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/0,4561,7-135-3312_4123-336759--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/0,4561,7-135-3312_4123-336759--,00.html
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Disposal or Recycle Additional Amount
Waste ! . .
Stream Usual Type of Waste Recommendations information generated at
Waste Codes for Shipment available your site?
Organics site-specific designation that
from allows the materials to be left
Operations on site with clean cover and
possible deed restriction)
Tree, Handled on site as inert Solid W
Stumps, material under conditions . Solid Waste
other Land ) . Codes not applicable Common
. listed in Part 115 rule o
Clearing Violations
Debris 299.4114(2)(b)
Codes not applicable. If
bringing materials on site
for .rec'yclmg, mgke sure it Solid Waste
isn't contaminated. BPSUR
) Common
Do you know where it came Violations
from?
Solid waste when meets B HIEEES A SoE 1 If you accept
Concrete o : ) ensure it is not hazardous material for
conditions listed in Part 115 n : :
and Asphalt le R 299 4114(2)(d waste? recycling, consider
ruie : (2)(d) Do you receive copies of listing your
waste determinations/test services in the
results? Recycled Materials
Have you done visual Market Directory
inspections of loads?
Is it stained, have an odor, or
have paint on it?

Table 3-1d. Other

Amount

Disposal or Recycle Additional generated
Waste Stream Usual Type of Waste Recommendations information at vour
Waste Codes for Shipment available si¥e°
Whole tires are banned from Scrap Tire
Scrap Tires Scrap tires/solid waste landfill disposal Common
Codes not applicable Violations
;aai:?iillgg _ Recyclerg can be
(Cardboard Solid waste Recycling recomr_nended found in the'
Wood Palle,ts Codes not applicable Recycled Materials
’ Market Directory
etc.)
Break Room
Waste (Food, Solid waste Codes not applicable No
Paper, etc.)
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http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tasect-wv-inert_320842_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tasect-wv-inert_320842_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tasect-wv-inert_320842_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tasect-wv-inert_320842_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tasect-wv-inert_320842_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tasect-wv-inert_320842_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/0,4561,7-135-3312_4123_4122-60866--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/0,4561,7-135-3312_4123_4122-60866--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/0,4561,7-135-3312_4123_4122-60866--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/deqrmmd
http://www.michigan.gov/deqrmmd
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Step 2: Notify EGLE about your regulated waste activities.

Use the information you gathered during Step 1 and notify the MMD about your current regulated waste activities
if a site identification number is required for transport of hazardous waste or liquid industrial waste. This number
is site specific and does not move with the facility to new locations. Do this before it is time to have the waste
shipped off-site. If you know you have already notified and the information is current, skip to Step 3.

If you are unsure if your facility previously notified the MMD or whether the waste information on file for your facility
is current, go to the Waste Data System on EGLE Web site (EGLE.state.mi.us/wdspi/). After selecting “Advance
Search” on the top bar, enter your street number and zip (postal) code in those fields and hit “Run Query.” For
assistance searching, call the Environmental Assistance Center at 800-662-9278.

If you need to notify EGLE of your of your liquid industrial waste or ~ Helpful Hint

hazardous waste activities to and obtain a site identification number

or update information on file, submit the Site Identification Form EQP ~ For first time applications, select initial
5150. Follow the instructions and links to the form EQP5150 and  notification in Box I. For update of
online. When applying for a new number, or if you have had information, select subsequent

an owner/operator change or moved locations, there is an  Notification in Box I. You can request a
application fee. If you need help applying for a site identification ~ Pre-populated form for updating your
number or updating your notification, contact the information by calling the Environmental
Environmental Assistance Center at 800-662-9278. Assistance Center at 800-662-9278.

Potential Problems

The following fields are commonly not filled out correctly on the EQP 5150 form. The application will not be
processed without all the required information.

Box IV - Inappropriate or missing NAICS code. More detailed descriptions of NAICS codes can be found at
www.naics.com. Some common aggregate industry NAICS codes include:

212312  Crushed and Broken Limestone Mining and Quarrying
212313  Crushed and Broken Granite Mining and Quarrying
212319  Other Crushed and Broken Stone Mining and Quarrying
212321  Construction Sand and Gravel Mining

212322  Industrial Sand Mining

Box V - Missing or wrong Federal Identification Number (e.g., your federal tax number) and missing Number of
Employees information.

Box IX - Failing to list information for both the site owner and operator along with missing or incomplete
month/date/year information for when they became the site owner and operator.

Box X - Failing to select ALL types of regulated waste activities that are applicable to the work site and facility.

Liquid industrial waste is often generated from rock crushing and maintenance activities and some facilities may
generate hazardous waste from equipment or building maintenance activities. Used oil generators would select
“Box E Liquid Industrial Waste Generator” in addition to any other waste activities.

When hazardous waste is generated, the crushing facility needs to determine the facility’s generator status based
on how much hazardous waste is generated in a calendar month.
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http://www.deq.state.mi.us/wdspi/
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/0,1607,7-135-3312_4118_4240-9198--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/0,1607,7-135-3312_4118_4240-9198--,00.html
http://www.naics.com/
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Crushing operations normally notify as:

e Liquid industrial waste generators because their operations normally have generated used oils they recycle,
and other non-hazardous liquid wastes like stone and sand wash waters they recycle or dispose of off-site.

e Conditionally exempt small quantity generator (CESQG) which means that less than 220 pounds of all
hazardous waste is generated on site in a calendar month, and they never store more than 2,200 pounds
of hazardous waste.

e Small quantity generator (SQG) which means between 200 and less than 2,200 pounds of all hazardous
waste is generated on site in a calendar month, and they never store more than 13,200 pounds of
hazardous waste.

Step 3: Determine if wastes are being properly managed, recycled, or disposed on-site.

The environmental requirements for waste depend on the type of waste you have and where it ultimately will be
disposed or recycled. To help you make a thorough assessment of how waste is managed at your job sites, go
through the checklist in Table 3-2 and indicate “yes” or “no” to these basic questions. If you find yourself answering
“no” to the question, it could be an indication your facility could use a better method or management plan to
properly handle your waste.

Table 3-2: Audit Checklist on Current Facility Waste Handling Methods

Problem
Corrected?

QUESTION

Waste Type: Wastewater or wash water, septage

If disposing of waste or wash water on site, is the facility meeting the Water
Resource Division requirements in Chapter 2 of this guide?

If waste or wash water is being shipped off-site for recycling or disposal, are
containers kept closed and protected from weather, fire, physical damage,
vandals? Are containers labeled so workers and emergency responders know
what is in them? Are containers compatible with waste and in good condition?

If porta-johns are used on site or if septic tanks are installed at permanent
locations, is the pumping company licensed by the Water Resources Division
Septage Program?

Waste Type: Used Oil

Are used oils being burned at the site for space heating, service water
heating, or indirect heating, and are you meeting the following conditions?

* Does the used oil burner have a rated heat input capacity 500,000 or
less BTU per hour? If not, does the facility have an AQD permit for it?

* [s the oil you use only generated at the same geographical site where the
burner is located? If not, does the facility have an AQD permit for the
burner?

* Are you burning anything else besides used oil?

¢ Has the facility obtained any local permits required by fire officials,
zoning, etc. for the oil burner?

¢ Are you required to meet any insurance company restrictions?

If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, you may need to discuss
your used oil burning activities with your AQD district office. See the Used Qil
Burning guidance for more details.
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http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-p2tas-liwgenerator_207980_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-wmd-cesq0997_320886_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-wmd-smallqgr_320912_7.pdf
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/shr/
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/shr/
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-p2tas-burningusedoil_190423_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-p2tas-burningusedoil_190423_7.pdf

PART 3: MATERIALS MANAGEMENT REQUIREMENTS

Problem
QUESTION Ve N e

If the facility is bringing used oil from its other sites to a central location for
either burning or to consolidate it for shipping it to a recycler, has the facility
notified the MMD that it is operating a used oil collection or aggregation

point? See the Used Qil Collection Centers and Aggregation Points guidance
for more details.

Are waste oil storage containers labeled “Used Qil;” kept closed; and
protected from weather, fire, physical damage, and vandals? See the Used Oil
guidance for more details on storage.

If the oil flashpoint is below 200 degrees Fahrenheit, does it meet the storage
conditions listed in Chapter 4 of this guide on storage tanks? If there are
more than 1,320 gallons of all oils on site, is the facility in compliance with
the federal Spill Prevention Control and Countermeasures (SPCC)
Requirements? See Chapter 4 on Product Storage and Emergency Planning.

Open Burning or Burying Waste

Are any other wastes being burned without an AQD permit? It is illegal to
open burn waste from a business.

Is land clearing debris being buried on-site or at another location approved by
the landowner? Does it meet the following conditions?

* Amount buried is no more than 1 acre in size and not more than 20 feet
in depth.

* Burial is not in a floodplain or wetland without the Water Resource
Division approval.

» Buried land clearing debris is placed at least 3 feet above groundwater
table as observed at the time of placement.

e Burial does not create a nuisance.

* Burial does not violate other laws including local ordinances.

Is any concrete or asphalt being reprocessed or disposed on site?

* [s it materially contaminated by staining, covered in part with lead paint,
or is it a hazardous waste? If so, you cannot accept it from others, use it
as fill, or bury it.

e [f used on-site as fill, does it have exposed rebar? If so, burial is not
allowed.

* Does it contain other construction and demolition waste? If so,
acceptance and burial are not allowed.

* Have you received a permit from the Water Resource Division if you
want to put it in a floodplain or wetland area?

Are all liquid industrial waste containers kept closed and labeled so you can
tell what is in the container? Are containers compatible with waste and in
good condition? Are the containers protected from weather, fire, physical
damage, and vandals?

Are all hazardous waste containers properly labeled and managed on site?
Specific requirements will depend on your hazardous waste generator status.
For more information, see EGLE’s CESQG and SQG guidance documents.

If your crushing activity is aboveground, are waste rags used with solvents
put in metal waste baskets and properly disposed at least once a day at the
end of shift? If so, discuss this requirement with MIOSHA Consultation
Education and Training Division at 517-322-1809.
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http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ess-p2tas-oilcollection_190428_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-wmd-cesq0997_320886_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-wmd-smallqgr_320912_7.pdf
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Problem

QUESTION Ve N e

Are there any scrap tires stored on site in compliance with any local
restrictions? If 500 or more scrap tires are on site, is the site registered with
the MMD and meeting the scrap tire storage requirements? Questions can be
directed to the MMD scrap tire inspector for your district.

Is solid waste stored in containers and not on the ground? Are you meeting
W28 your solid waste hauler and disposal company’s requirements? Are any local
requirements being met including privacy fencing?

Step 4: Determine if off-site shipments of hazardous and liquid industrial by-products are
being properly managed for recycling or disposal.

Specific requirements for your facility will depend on who is doing the waste hauling and what materials are slated
to be disposed. These options will be discussed in the following sections. The specific shipping labels and other
management requirements to prepare materials for shipment will depend on whether the waste is hazardous waste
or not and the hazardous waste generator status of the facility. To learn more about the CESQG and SQG
requirements, see the MMD'’s guidance documents on the Web.

Helpful Hint

Check with your recycling and disposal company to see what services they offer for exempted hazardous
waste. If you are a CESQG and have hazardous wastes that do not contain liquids, check to see if your solid
waste disposal company and waste hauler will accept the waste for recycling or disposal. Often, they have
special waste programs to service your needs. Even if the waste regulations allow for landfill disposal, often
landfills will divert the waste to environmentally preferred management methods reducing liabilities for
landfills owners and operators and the waste generators they serve.

Hiring Commercial Transporters to Haul Liquid Industrial Waste or Hazardous Waste

All liquid industrial waste and hazardous waste transport companies must be permitted and registered with the
MMD. Select a transport company with the appropriate waste permit and registration based on the type of waste
hauled. If the waste is:

e Non-hazardous liquid — hire a permitted and registered liquid industrial waste transporter.

e Hazardous waste generated at a CESQG — hire a permitted and registered liquid industrial waste or
hazardous waste transporter.

e Hazardous and you generate more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste in a calendar month — hire a
permitted and registered hazardous waste transporter.

Use the Waste Data System (WDS) to locate permitted and registered transporters in your area. The MMD uses
the WDS to track program activities at facilities related to solid waste, scrap tire, hazardous waste, and liquid
industrial waste. WDS can provide you with:

e |nformation on ownership and operation of a company.

e The status of any required permits, licenses, or registrations.
e The compliance history of a company.

e Alist of permitted and registered transporters.

e Manifest records for shipments of hazardous waste.
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http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whmd-stp-InfoSht_251267_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-ead-tas-wmd-cesq0997_320886_7.pdf
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For instructions to locate a permitted and registered transporter, go to www.michigan.gov/deqwaste, select the
“Transporters” tab on the left side of the page, then select “Participating Transporters.”

As a waste generator, you are also required to meet the manifest requirements
when shipping hazardous waste from a small quantity or large quantity generators
of hazardous waste. There are similar shipping documentation requirements for
shipping liquid industrial by-product. Most commercial transporters and disposal
companies can assist with completion of the required national “Uniform
Hazardous Waste Manifest” or “shipping document” required for the transport of
these materials. Generators must retain records of the pick-up documentation.
Generators must also track getting copies of the manifest back from the receiving
hazardous waste treatment, storage, or disposal facility and the confirmation of
delivery received back from any designated facilities accepting liquid industrial by-
product. Consider using the optional EGLE Manifest Tracking Log to track
shipments of hazardous waste and by-product. For additional details on liquid
industrial by-product shipping documents, see the Part 121 Liquid Industrial By-
product Frequently Asked Questions (www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deg-
oea-fag-Waste-Part121Changes_515763_7.pdf) . For additional details on use of the manifest, please see the
manifest instructions.

Hauling Your Own Generated Liquid Industrial Waste (includes used oil) and Hazardous Waste
When the Facility is a CESQG

Generators can transport their own liquid industrial by-product and CESQG hazardous waste liquids if desired,
The shipping document requirements of amended Part 121 must be met and spill insurance is maintained. No
permit and registration to transport is required if the waste was generated from equipment in the generator
has an ownership interest, If self-transporting, the generator also has to notify as a transporter of liquid
industrial by-product using the Site Identification Form. There are no specific documentation requirements for
transporting solid waste or CESQG hazardous wastes that are solid.

Shipping document for the transport of liquid industrial by-product and/or CESQG hazardous waste liquids,
generators may be a manifest, bill of lading, invoice, log or other document that includes all of the following
information and the required generator certification:

e The name and address of the generator

e The name of the transporter

e The type and volume of liquid industrial by-product in the shipment

e The date the liquid industrial by-product was shipped off-site from the generator

e The name, address, and Site Identification (Site ID) number of the designated facility

The March 2016 amendment of Part 121 eliminated the requirement to use a manifest for shipping liquid industrial
by-product and the eliminated the use of liquid industrial waste codes that accompanied the manifest process. For
more information about the shipping document certification and distribution process, please see the Part 121
Liquid Industrial By-product Frequently Asked Questions.

When using a manifest as the shipping document for a site that does not have a Site ID, enter the following in Item
1 for the generator Site ID:

e Enter “MICESQG” if the shipment includes only CESQG liquid hazardous waste.
e Enter “MILIB” if the shipment include only liquid industrial by-product.

e Enter “MICESQGLIB” if the shipment includes both CESQG liquid hazardous waste and liquid industrial by-
product.
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Determine if solid waste is properly handled and shipped off site for disposal or recycling.

Local ordinances may require fencing around the waste dumpsters. Do not store solid waste directly on the
ground. Use closed containers to control blowing of waste, and to prevent odors and the presence of rodents.

NOTE: Do not put banned waste in the trash that might be headed for a landfill. Banned waste includes
certain types of beverage containers, yard clippings, liquid waste, lead acid batteries, whole scrap tires,
etc. Contact the commercial solid waste hauler, landfill, transfer facility, or incinerator operator for their

requirements.

Your facility has two options for hauling trash (solid waste) off site:

1. Haul your own waste to a permitted transfer station, licensed landfill, or incinerator. As you transport your
trash, use a cover to prevent waste from blowing out of your transport vehicle. Additionally, you should not
have any liquids dripping out of bags or containers.

2. Hire a waste hauler. The MMD does not license solid waste haulers. Check the yellow pages or contact a
landfill or incinerator for waste hauling companies that service your area.

Determine if scrap tires are properly handled and shipped off site for disposal or recycling.

Contact your local fire department or local health department about local storage requirements. Ideally, avoid
collecting 500 or more used tires on your property. Those with 500 or more used tires must register with the WHMD
as a collection site. Whole scrap tires are prohibited from disposal in landfills.

There are several disposal options available depending on the number of scrap tires you have. You can:

e Haul 7 or less of your own scrap tires at a time to a registered collection site or disposal area licensed
under Part 115. Lists of registered companies are available online at www.michigan.gov/scraptires.

e Ask if your solid waste hauler will accept them.

e Hire a registered scrap tire hauler. The registered scrap hauler must give you a Scrap Tire Transportation
Record form (EQP 5128). You are required to keep that at least three years from the shipment date. Lists
of scrap tire haulers are on the above Web site
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PART 4 - PRODUCT STORAGE AND EMERGENCY PLANNING
REQUIREMENTS

CHEMICAL STORAGE

You must meet certain requirements if you have any of the chemicals
listed in the Part 5 rules of Part 31 of Act 451 (e.g., solvents, ethylene
glycol used in antifreeze, sulfuric acid in lead acid batteries, etc.).
These requirements apply if you store these chemicals outside in an
amount equal to or greater than 220 pounds, or inside a building in
amounts equal to or greater than 2,200 pounds. The requirements
include preparing a Pollution Prevention Incident Plan (PIPP) along
with surveillance, storage requirements, secondary containment,
release reporting, and notifications to local agencies and EGLE when a company falls under these chemical storage
criteria. A PIPP documents information such as what chemicals are on site and how the company will respond to
releases of these chemicals. Go to the Web at Michigan.gov/Partb for a checklist of what is in a PIPP, a list of
regulated chemicals, and other information along with a list of Water Res staff contacts.

Handling Oil Products Including Vehicle and Heating Fuel Storage

There are several agencies that oversee the environmental regulations pertaining to the storage of oil products and
heating fuel storage. A federal Spill Pollution Control and Countermeasure (SPCC) Plan that addresses storage
requirements including secondary containment and emergency response measures, is required when a company’s
site has 1,320 gallons or more of storage capacity for all oil products and wastes. The definition of oil products
includes lubricating oils, motor oils, hydraulic oils, diesel fuel, and gasoline. If you would like more information on
the proposed changes to the SPCC, go to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (U.S. EPA’s) Web site at
www.epa.gov/oilspill or contact a U.S. EPA Region 5 staff person at 312 886-0185.

Storage Tanks

Many crushers utilize aboveground storage tanks (ASTs), liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) tanks, LPG containers, and
other storage containers in their day-to-day operations. The storage and handling of products such as gasoline,
diesel fuel, fuel oils, and other liquid chemicals can have environmental and safety consequences if the tanks are
not properly installed and maintained. Also, the product transfer operations must be properly managed to minimize
the possibility of spillage, releases, and possible fire hazards. Storage tank regulations were designed to promote
the safe storage and handling of flammable and combustible liquids such as petroleum products and other
hazardous substances. The following requirements are designed to promote safer storage and handling practices
at a company, and result in overall economic benefits to crushing operations and consumers.

AN OVERVIEW OF THE STORAGE TANK PROGRAM

The Storage Tank Division of the Bureau of Fire Services in the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
oversees the storage and use of the flammable and combustible liquids (FL/CL) and regulates ASTs. It also
oversees the regulations for LPG systems in Michigan. Proper certifications for these tank units must be in place
prior to conducting a fueling or storage activity. Companies that supply flammable or combustible liquids with flash
points less than 200 degrees Fahrenheit and that have an individual tank storage capacity of more than 1,100
gallons must obtain a permit from the Storage Tank Program.

The tank systems, storage tanks, portable tanks, generator tanks, or containers must have their engineering and
layout plan reviewed and certified and the tanks inspected. In order for the permit to be granted, a fee must also
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be paid. Additionally, any FL/CL AST system greater than 660 gallons and containers 60 gallons or more in capacity
must meet secondary containment requirements.

Basic Requirements for FL/CL Aboveground Storage Tank Systems

e Have spill containment of 110 percent for the largest container at the company (which is the volume of
the container plus 10 percent in case of precipitation).

e Meet isolation distances from property lines and buildings based on the size of the storage system.
e Protect storage area from trespassers.

e Keep area free from weeds, combustible materials, and other debris.

Liquid Petroleum Gas (LPG) Tanks
Companies with any of the following are also regulated by the WHMD STU program:

e Anyflammable compressed gas or LPG container filling location.

e A company that supplies flammable compressed gas or any LPG that has a tank with a water capacity of
more than 2,000 gallons or two or more tanks with an aggregate water capacity of more than 4,000
gallons.

The LPG systems listed above require an installation application, must pay annual fees, have field inspections, and
be certified. Any LPG tank in connection with a building heating system or its equipment is also regulated by the
Mechanical Division of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) under the State
Construction Code Act. For more information about these separate requirements, visit LARA’s Web site at
www.Michigan.gov/lara.

Basic Requirements for LPG Tank System or Containers

LPG storage is defined as any vessel containing a material having a vapor pressure not exceeding that allowed for
commercial propane, which is composed predominately of the following hydrocarbons, either by themselves or as
mixtures, and is used to store or transport this mixture:

e Propane
e Propylene
e Butane (normal butane or isobutane)
e Butylene
In addition, LPG tank systems or containers must:
e Meetisolation distances from property lines and buildings based on the size of the storage system.
e Have a protected storage area from trespassers.
e Have an area free from weeds, combustible materials, and other debris.

Transportation of LPG, Similar Hydrocarbons, and Mixtures

The Michigan State Police Traffic Safety Division oversees the transportation of LPG and other similar
hydrocarbons in Michigan. To learn more about the transportation regulations, please visit the Michigan State
Police Web site at www.michigan.gov/msp. Mobile fueling tanks are not regulated by EGLE if the tank meets the
transportation requirements, is insured, and has a current vehicle license (i.e., sticker).

Finally, in association with the transportation requirements for fuel sources, it is also important to contact your
local fire authority and LARA’s Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration (MIOSHA) program at
517-322-1809 regarding their requirements for flammable and combustible liquids used above ground. MIOSHA's
web site is www.Michigan.gov/MIOSHA.
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PART 5 - LAND DEVELOPMENT AND LAKE/POND CREATION
REQUIREMENTS

Significant changes to the landscape, and the creation of lakes and
ponds are a common result of rock crushing facilities and their
associated mining operations.

Frequently, regulated impacts to natural features such as wetlands,
floodplains, lakes, and streams, occur with the development of land for
mining or rock crushingfacilities. Except for designated sand dune areas
along the Lake Michigan shoreline, non-metallic mining is not
specifically regulated as an activity. Yet the creation of water bodies,
and impacts to wetlands, floodplains, lakes, streams, and sand dunes
that occur as a result of rock crushing and mining operations may
require authorization from EGLE.

OVERVIEW OF PERMIT PROGRAMS

EGLE, Water Resources Division (WRD) administers several parts of the Natural Resources and Environmental
Protection Act, Public Act 451 of 1994, as amended (Act 451), that regulate activities that occur on, within, or
involve any of the following land/water features:

e A 100-year floodplain or floodway

e A stream, river, ditch, drain, channel, or canal

e Aninland lake

e Land change activities that result in the creation or alteration of a canal, ditch, lagoon, pond, or lake

within 500 feet of an existing inland lake or stream

e Awetland

e Adam

e A Great Lake

e High-risk erosion areas, critical dune areas, andin Great Lakes coastal counties, the EGLE also regulates
activities in designated high- risk erosion areas, critical dune areas, and coastal wetland areas.

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) regulates some of the above activities at the federal level that occur
within Great Lakes coastal counties, as well. To simplify the permit process for Michigan’s residents, EGLE has
developed a “EGLE/USACE - Joint Permit Application” process with the USACE to jointly regulate activities at or near
the land/water interface.

Part 301 of Act 451.: Inland Lakes and Streams

Open pit mining that occurs below the groundwater table frequently results in the creation of a lake or pond.
Creation of water bodies are regulated under Part 301, Inland Lakes and Streams, of Act 451. Other land
development activities in lakes or streams that may be associated with rock crushing operations may also be
regulated under Part 301. For example, road crossings of streams, stormwater outfalls, stream relocations or
enclosures, and ditches connected to a lake or stream created as part of rock processing facilities may also require
a Part 301 permit.

Under Part 301, a permit is required for the following activities below the ordinary high-water mark of inland lakes
and streams:
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e Dredge or fill bottomlands.

e Construct, enlarge, extend, remove, or place a structure on bottomland.
e Erect, maintain, or operate a marina.

o Create, enlarge, or diminish an inland lake or stream.

e Structurally interfere with the natural flow of an inland lake or stream.

e Construct, dredge, commence, extend, or enlarge an artificial canal, ditch, lagoon, pond, lake, or similar
waterway through which the purpose is ultimate connection with an existing inland lake or stream, or where
any part of the artificial waterway is located within 500 feet of the ordinary high- water mark of an existing
inland lake or stream.

e Connectany natural or artificially constructed waterway, canal, channel, ditch, lagoon, pond, lake, or wetland
with an existing inland lake or stream for navigation or any other purpose.

Under Part 301, a lake is defined as a body of surface water greater than 5 acres in size, and a pond any water body
smaller than 5 acres. If dewatering of the mining pit occurs during operations, a permit is still required for creation
or alteration of a lake or pond even if it is completed in dry conditions.

As indicated in Part 2, a National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit may also be required for
a wastewater discharge from a dewatering operation. Construction of an outfall pipe in a lake or stream for the
dewatering operation may require a permit under Part 301, in addition to a NPDES permit.

Part 303 of Act 451: Wetlands Protection

Part 303 defines a wetland as “land characterized by the presence of
water at a frequency and duration sufficient to support, and that under
normal circumstances does support, wetland vegetation or aquatic life,
and is commonly referred to as a bog, swamp, or marsh.” The definition
applies to public and private lands regardless of zoning or ownership. The
following activities are prohibited in wetlands unless a Part 303 permit
has been obtained from EGLE:

Iﬂ“‘: .
g

¥

|

e Deposit or permit the placing of fill material in a wetland.

e Dredge, remove, or permit the removal of soil or minerals from a
wetland.

e Construct, operate, or maintain any use or development in a wetland.
e Drain water from a wetland.

Development of a property for mining or rock crushing operations that may involve wetland filling, draining, or
excavating may require a permit under Part 303.

The drainage of surface or sub-surface water from wetlands is often associated with dewatering of open pit
mines. Dewatering operations frequently result in a drawdown of local groundwater tables. Wetlands located
within the area of influence of a groundwater drawdown could be incidentally drained by the dewatering
operations. This influence of wetland hydrology by sub- surface drawdown of groundwater may require a permit
under Part 303.

Wetlands Identifications

While wetland inventory maps and other online tools are helpful in determining the potential for wetlands, an on-
site investigation is required to actually identify wetlands on a property. EGLE’s Wetland Identification Program
(WIP), is a fee-based program that offers two levels of service to identify wetland and upland areas on a property.
For a Level 2 Identification, a Wetlands Specialist conducts an on-site review to determine the presence or absence
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of wetlands, and physically marks the wetland boundaries in the field. A Wetlands Specialist can also provide a
Level 3 ldentification, which is an on-site review to confirm specific wetland boundaries marked by a wetland
consultant. Both levels of service include a letter and map from EGLE summarizing the findings, which is
guaranteed for a period of three years. Individuals interested in WIP services must submit a WIP application to the
WRD, Wetlands, Lakes and Streams Unit. The WIP application and a fee calculator can be downloaded at
Michigan.gov/Wetlands or you may call 517-284-5543.

Part 31 of Act 451: Water Resources Protection, Floodplain Regulatory Authority

A Part 31 permit is required for any occupation, construction, filling, or grade change that occurs within the 100-
year floodplain of a river, stream, drain, or lake. Bridges, culverts, access roads, and stockpiles are considered an
occupation of the floodplain. Stockpiling material, whether temporarily or permanently, within the floodplain is
regulated under Part 31.

These activities are regulated under Part 31 with the purpose of E= \ L]
3 S500:Yegr Floodplain

ensuring that the channels and floodways are kept clear and
uninhabited, and that filling and grade changes do not result in
harmful increases in flood stages or stage characteristics of the water :
body. The floodway includes the stream channel and that portion of 100-Year |
the floodplain that is required to convey the flow of floodwater. Any F'°°d°'a"ﬁ
grade changes, filling, or stockpiling of material within the floodway
must be placed so that it will not result in harmful increases in flood
stages to obtain a permit under Part 31. Permanent grade changes,
filling, or stockpiles of material that are placed outside of the floodway
portion of the floodplain must be properly compensated by removing - ; :
material from the site to prevent harmful changes in flood stages. This can be accompllshed by excavating an
equivalent volume of material from the floodplain at similar elevations to the fill that has been placed on the site.

Under Part 31, the 100-year floodplain is defined by the 100-year flood elevation. A 100-year flood has a one (1)
percent chance of occurring or being exceeded in any given year. The 100-year floodplain elevation for a given
location can be obtained from Flood Rate Insurance Maps produced by the Federal Emergency Management
Agency at www.msc.fema.gov.

Section 404 of the Federal Clean Water Act of 1977 and Section 10 of the Rivers and
Harbors Act of 1899

Section 404 of the Clean Water Act (CWA) prohibits the discharge of dredged or fill material into waters of the
United States, including inland lakes and streams, the Great Lakes, and wetlands, without a permit. Michigan was
the first of only two states currently authorized to administer the permit program for the federal government through
state law. In most areas of the state, issuance of a permit by EGLE’s WRD in accordance with the CWA requirements
also authorizes a project under Section 404, and no separate federal permit is required. However, since Section
10 does not provide for similar transfer to states, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) retains Section 404
jurisdiction within those waters that are navigable waters of the U.S. and their adjacent wetlands. Therefore,
authorization is also required from the USACE for projects in traditionally navigable waters including the Great
Lakes, connecting channels, other waters connected to the Great Lakes where navigational conditions are
maintained, and wetlands directly adjacent to these waters. Submittal of a single, completed EGLE/USACE - Joint
Permit Application to the WRD ensures that Section 404 permit applications will be processed by all appropriate
agencies, including projects that require both EGLE and USACE authorization.

Information on the EGLE/USACE - Joint Permit Application may be found at www.Michigan.gov/JointPermit.
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APPENDIX A - The Air Quality General Permit to Install Application

The “General Permit to Install Application for Nonmetallic Mineral Crushing Facilities” consists of three forms: the
General Information form (EQP5727), the Process Information form (EQP5756), and the Relocation Notice form
(EQP5757). These can be downloaded from the Air Quality Division (AQD) Web page at Michigan.gov/air, select
“Permits” then select “General Permits - Application Forms and Instructions” or contact the Environmental
Assistance Center at 800-662-9278.

The General Information Form (EQP 5727)

Michigan Department Of Environment, Great Lakes and Energy
Air Quality Division
EGi_E GENERAL PERMIT TO INSTALL APPLICATION GENERAL
INFORMATION

Authorized under 1924 PA 451, as amended. Completion of form s requined.  Applicant may be subject bo chil andior criminal penaiiias for providing faise Information.

Permit Number

Instructions: Use this form to request authority to install and operate a source, process or process equipment under the terms and
conditions of a general permit to install pursuant to Rule 201a. Prepare this form, the appropriate Process Information formis) and the
Additional Information form (if needed). Submit all information, including forms. in duplicate. MOTE: A general permit cannot apply to a
SOUrCE, Process, of process eguipment, that is covered by a Permit to Imstall purswant to Rule 201 and is further referenced in an
outstanding consent order or consent judgment.

1. FACILITY CODES

State Registration Number (SRN): Horth Amesican Industry ClassHication System (MAICS)

2. APPLICANT MAME {Business ficense name of the corporation. partnership, individual or government agency that owns the facility

3. APPLICANT MAILING ADDRESE (Street Address or P.0. Box Mumber)

CITY STATE ZIP CODE
4. AUTHORIZED EMPLOYEE TITLE PHONE NO. (inciude Area Gode)

5. CONTACT: (If different than Authonzed Emplovee - for guesiions reganding this soofication) ‘ PHOME MO (include Area Code)

6. EQUIPMENT OR PROCESS LOCATION (Number and sfreet. if diffevent than mailing address)

CITY AP CODE | COUNTY

7. THE EQUIPMENT IDENTIFIED IN THE APFLICATION IS I:‘ NEW l:‘ EXISTING - DATE INSTALLED:

8. IS THERE AN EXISTING PERMIT TO INSTALL FOR ANY EQUIPMENT IDENTIFIED IN THIS APPLICATION?
IF YES. INCLUDE PERMIT TO INSTALL NUMBER(S) [Jves [wo
9. DOES THIS SOURCE HAVE AN EXISTING RENEWABLE OPERATING PERMIT? [1ves [ |mo [ ] moTarrLcasLE
IF YES, INCLUDE RENEWABLE OPERATING PERMIT NUMBER:
1. IS ANY OF THE EQUIPMENT INCLUDED IN AN OUTSTANDING CONSENT ORDER OR CONSENT JUDGMENT? [Ives [Ino
11. THE FOLLOWING FORMS ARE ATTACHED AS PART OF THIS PERMIT APPLICATION {check af that appiy)
[] PrROCESS INFORMATION (EQF ]

{Complefe the approprate form for the process or equipment fo be installed and inserf the form number in the space provided )
[] ADDmIGNAL INFORMATION (EQPST20)

Applicant Certification: | certify, under penalty of law, that this permit application and any attachments were prepared by me, or under
my direction or supervision in accordance with a system to ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the information
submitied. Based om my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, or those persons direcly responsible for gathering
information, the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. In addition, the
equipment described in this application meets the necessary crtena for applicability for a General Pemit to Install.  Furthermore, |
certify that | can and will comply with all conditions outlined in the General Permit to Install. | am aware that there are significant
penalties for submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for known violations.

ZIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED EMPLOYEE (Person idenfified in fem 4) DATE E-MAIL ADDRESS

Submit original completed application and all attachments to:

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, GREAT LAKES AND ENERGY
AIR GUALITY DIVISION - PERMIT SECTION

P.O. BOX 30280

LANSING, MI 48909-TTeD

EGLE USE ONLY - DO NOT WRITE BELOW
DATE APPLICATION COMPLETE
DATE GENERAL PERMIT TO INSTALL GRANTED SIGMNATURE
DATE GENERAL PERMIT TO INSTALL VOIDED SIGMNATURE

EQPST2T (Revised 1/2020)
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Facility Codes - Two Facility Codes are required. The State Registration Number (SRN) is an alphanumeric identifier
assigned to a stationary source by the AQD. The SRN is unique to the physical location of a source (except for
portable equipment) and is comprised of a letter followed by four digits (i.e., A1497). The SRN for a facility can be
found on the Michigan Air Emissions Reporting (MAERS) forms that are submitted annually to the AQD or on a
previously issued PTI. If the application is for a new facility or one that has not had previous business with the AQD
an SRN may not exist. The AQD will assign an SRN during the review of the permit application. If you are a new
owner of an existing company, it is likely the source already has an SRN. To verify the existence of an SRN for your
company, contact your local AQD district office (see Appendix E).

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) provides a numeric code that identifies an industry. The
NAICS, which has replaced the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system, was developed jointly by the USA,
Canada and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America.
Information about NAICS and links to the NAICS codes are available at the following sites:

° www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

° rcrapublic.epa.gov/rcrainfoweb/action/modules/br/naics/view

A six digit code is preferred for a more exact description, however five digits are acceptable. Table A-1 lists some
common NAICS codes used for the crushing industry:

Table A-1: Common NAICS Codes for the Crushing Industry

NAICS Code INDUSTRY DESCRIPTION

212311 Dimension Stone Mining and Quarrying

212312 Crushed and Broken Limestone Mining and Quarrying
212313 Crushed and Broken Granite Mining and Quarrying
212319 Other Crushed and Broken Stone Mining and Quarrying
212321 Construction Sand and Gravel Mining

212322 Industrial Sand Mining

212391 Potash, Soda, and Borate Mineral Mining

212392 Phosphate Rock Mining

212393 Other Chemical and Fertilizer Mineral Mining

212399 All Other Nonmetallic Mineral Mining

Applicant Name - The applicant should be the entity (e.g., corporation, partnership, individual owner, or government
agency) that owns and/or is responsible for the operation of the process or process equipment. If the crushing
equipment is leased from another company, you must first establish who has the legal responsibility to complete
this application to meet the state of Michigan’s air permitting requirement. In most cases, the operator of the
equipment bears the responsibility for applying for state environmental permits; however, the leasing agent of the
equipment may already have applied for and received an air quality permit for the equipment.

If the leasing agent already has a permit, the operator may operate the equipment under the existing permit;
however, the permit must be updated to reflect the new job site where the equipment will be used. Either you or
the leasing agent must provide this update by using the Relocation Notice form (EQP5757). For more information
on how to relocate your equipment, see page 1-15.

Michigan Environmental Compliance Guide for Mineral Crushing Facilities 5-2


http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html
https://rcrapublic.epa.gov/rcrainfoweb/action/modules/br/naics/view
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-aqd-pti-crusher_relocation_356465_7.pdf

PART 5: LAND DEVELOPMENT AND LAKE/POND CREATION REQUIREMENTS

Applicant Mailing Address - This is the mailing address to receive correspondence regarding the application. Include
the actual street address, post office box (if applicable), city, state, and zip code.

Authorized Employee - The application must be signed by an authorized employee of the applicant. This signature
certifies the truth of the information provided in the application. Provide the name, title, telephone number (extension
if applicable) and e-mail address for the individual signing the application.

Contact - Complete this if someone other than the authorized employee should be contacted with questions
regarding this application. Provide the name, title, telephone number (extension if applicable) and e-mail address
for the contact. A contact person not employed directly by the applicant, such as an attorney or a consultant, may
file an application as an agent of the applicant; however, an agent may not sign the application. If the contactis an
agent, include the name of the company the agent is affiliated with (e.g., consulting firm, law firm).

Equipment or Process Location - This is the site where the crushing facility will be located. This item need only be
completed if the process location is different from the mailing address or if the mailing address is a P.O. Box.

Equipment New/Existing - Check the appropriate box. If the equipment is existing, either purchased from a
previous owner or already owned by your company, please include the installation date (approximate month and
year) when the equipment was first put into use.

Existing Permits - If any or all the equipment in the application has been covered by a previously issued Permit to
Install, either obtained by your company or another company if the equipment was purchased from a previous
owner, include the permit number. If you are unsure whether the equipment may have been covered under a
previous permit, contact the local AQD district office (see Appendix E).

Renewable Operating Permit (ROP) - Facilities that meet the definition of a major source are required to obtain an
ROP. A source that has the potential to emit 10 tons/year of a single hazardous air pollutant (HAP), 25 tons/year
of all HAPs combined, or 100 tons/year of any regulated air pollutant like particulate matter (PM) is considered a
major source. Guidance on how to calculate potential to emit is available at Michigan.gov/air. Select “Clean Air
Assistance,” and then “Potential to Emit.” However, most nonmetallic mineral processing facilities are not large
enough to meet the definition of a major source.

Consent Orders - If your company has an outstanding consent order or judgment, or is currently involved in an
environmental enforcement case, you cannot use the General Permit to Install. A consent order or judgment may
be issued against your company or against you as a subcontractor of another company. An outstanding consent
order or consent judgment means your equipment is not in compliance with the environmental regulations. You
must apply for a regular Permit to Install.

Forms Submitted - You are required to fill out the Process Information form (EQP5756). Check the box and write
the form number in the space provided. Check the box for Additional Information for all additional information
submitted such as a detailed site map (required), process layout drawings or equipment specifications.

Signature of Authorized Employee - The application must be signed by an authorized employee of the applicant.
This signature certifies the truth of the information provided in the application. A missing signature will resultin an
application being returned and a delay in processing.
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The Process Information Form (EQP5756)

The Process Information form must be completed for each crushing facility (production line). A production line
means all the equipment (crushers, grinding mills, screening operations, elevators, conveyors, bagging operations,
storage bins, and enclosed truck and railcar loading stations) which are directly connected or connected by a
conveying system.

FOR EGLE USE ONLY

[T ] E Michigan Department OF Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy - Air Quality Division

eV GENERAL PERMIT TO INSTALL APPLICATION FERMIT NUMEER

PROCESS INFORMATION - NONMETALLIC MIMERAL CRUSHING (PAGE 1 OF 2)
Aumorized under 1294 PA 451, 35 amended. Completion of form i requined. Appicant may be subject to el and for criminl penaitias for providing faise ITformation.

Instructions: Use this form to request authority to install and operate & nonmetallic mineral crushing facility, under the terms and
conditions of a general permit to install pursuant to Rule 201a. If two or more primary crushers operate in parallel, each constitutes a
separate facility. Complete a separate copy of this form for each facility. Prepare and submit this form with the General Information
form (EQPST2T). For a Modification: Complete ltems 1- 8. |dentify all existing and new or additional process equipment. Certify and
submit pages 1 and 2 of this form to the Permit Section and the appropriate district office. See map for district office locations.

1. FACILITY CODE 2. MINE/QUARRY NAME
STATE REGISTRATION MUMEER (SRM)
SECTICON TOWMSHIP RANGE 3. AMOUNT PROCESSED AT THIS SITE
(tons per year)
4. DESCRIPTION (Brief descnption of this facility or proposed modifieafion. Affach a defailed site map showing all sie charactenistics including the

locadion of any residential and'or commercial establishments and places of publc assembly located within 1,000 feet of the proposed site)

5. DOES THIS FACILITY HAVE ANY OUTSTANDING UNRESOLVED AIR VIOLATIONS ? Oves Owno
. ARE THE CRUSHER(S) LOGATED A MINIMUM OF 500 FEET FROM ALL RESIDENTIAL OR COMMERGIAL
ESTABLISHMENTS OR PLACES OF PUBLIC ASSEMELY? Oves [Owo

7. WAS THIS FACILITY PREVIOUSLY PERMITTED PURSUANT TO RULE 201?  IF YES, PERMIT NO. Cyes [ wo

& APPLICATION IS FOR [ NEW GENERAL PERMIT [ MODIFICATION TO EXISTING GENERAL PERMIT - PERMIT NO.

2. FOR A MODIFICATION: IE THE FACILITY CURRENTLY IN COMPLIANCE WITH ALL CONDITIONS OF THE EXISTIMNG O ves [ no
GENERAL PERMIT, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE TESTING OF ALL NSP3 SUBJECT EQUIFMENT?

Instructions for completing the following ltems: Each piece of equipment must have a unigue |dentification number (ID). The D
may be any combination of up to 10 letters, numbers or keyboard characters with no spaces between characters. Provide an ID and
complete all items for each piece of process equipment at the facility. If equipment is shop built, the manufactured date may be
estimated. This data is mandatory. Use as many copies of page 2 as needed to list all process equipment. Use Additional Information
formn EQPS5T 28 if needed to describe why a device is not subject to NSP35.

DEVICE DESCRIPTION [crusherfipe, screen. conveyor. dm. eic. | TEVICE IT {Assian an idenalication number for this devce]

MAFE AND MODEL SERIAL HUMBER MANUFACTURED DATE
(yean)

MAXIMUM RATED CAPACITY conTROL? O vE: [ NO

{fons per hour) CONTROL TYPE

15 DEVICE SUBJECT TO MSPS?

[ vES. HAS DEVICE BEEM TESTED? [ YES. DATE TEST PASSED [C] MO DATE TEST SCHEDULED

[C] WO, REASON NOT SUBJECT

DEVICE DESCRIPTION /crusherfvpe, screen, conveyor, dnll, sl ) DEWVICE IO {A=sign an idendifcation number for this device)

MAFE AND WMODEL SERIAL HUMEER MANUFACTURED DATE
(year)

FAXKIMUM FATED CAFALITY COMTROL? I_I YES I_I NO

(fons per hour) CONTROL TYPE

IS5 DEVICE SUBJECT TO MSP5?

[7] ¥ES. HAS DEVICE BEEN TESTED?  [m] YES, DATE TEST PASSED [] MO, DATE TEST SCHEDULED

[C] MO, REASON NOT SUBJECT

This page must be certified by an authorized employee

Applicant Certification: | certify, under penalty of law, that this permit application and any attachments were prepared by me, or under my direction or
supenvision in accordance with a system to ensure that qualified personnel propery gather and evaluate the nformation submitted. Based on my inguiry
of the person or persons who manage the system. or hose persons direcfy responsible for gathering infiormation, the information submitted is, to the
best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate. and complete. In addition, the equipment described in this application meets the necessary criteria for
apphicability for a General Permit to Install. Furthermore, | cerify that | can and will comply with all conditions ouffined in the General Pemmit to Install. |
am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and impriscnment for know n viclations.
SIGMATURE OF AUTHORIZED EMPLOYEE DATE

EQPST5E (Revised 152020)
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PART 5: LAND DEVELOPMENT AND LAKE/POND CREATION REQUIREMENTS

Michigan Department Of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy - Air Quality Division  |ros ecLe use owwy
EG LE GENERAL PERMIT TO INSTALL APPLICATION MONMETALLIC MINERAL | perMmT NUMBER

Authorized under 1994 PA 451, 35 amended. Completion of form Is requined. Appileant may be subject to civil and jor ciminal panalties for providing e Bloraion.

Instructions: Page 1 of this form must be completed and certified by an authorized employee. Provide an ID and complete all items
for each piece of process equipment at the facility. If the equipment is shop built, the manufactured date may be estimated. This data
is mandatory. Use as many copies of this page as needed to list all process equipment. Us Additional Information form EQPST20 if

CRUSHING- (PAGE 2 OF 2}

needed to describe why a device is not subject to NSPS.

Permit Section and the appropriate district office. See map for district office locations.

For a Modification: Provide the information for all existing and new or additional process equipment. Submit pages 1 and 2 o the

DEVICE DESCRIPTION /crushertvpe. screen, conveyvor, danl. ef.|

DEVICE ID (Azsion an idendfication number for this device)

MARE AND MODEL SERIAL NUMBER

MANUFACTURED DATE

(year)

MAZINMIUM FATED CTAPALCTTY
(fons per hour)

cowTROL? LI vez [
CONTROL TYFE

NG

1S DEVICE SUBJECT TOD MZPS?
[[] ¥ES. HAS DEVICE BEEM TESTED? [ YES, DATE TEST PASSED

[C] ND, REASON NOT SUBJECT

[] Mo, DATE TEST SCHEDULED

DEVICE OESCRIPTION [crusherivoe, screen. conveyor. i, efc.]

DEVICE ID [Assion an idenbfication nUmber for tis device]

MAKE AND MODEL

SERIAL NUMBER MANUFACTURED DATE

(year)

MAXIMUWM FATED CAFACITY
(fons per hour)

cowTROL? []¥Es [
CONTROL TYPE

MO

15 DEVICE SUBJECT TO NSPS?
[ ¥ES. HAS DEVICE BEEM TESTED? [ YES. DATE TEST PASSED

[ MO, REASON NOT SUBJECT

[] MO, DATE TEST SCHEDULED

DEVICE CESCRIFTION [crusherivoe. saeen, comveyor. dmil. eic.|

CEVICE IT (Assion an idendficaton number for this device]

MARE AND MODEL

SERIAL NUMBER MANUFACTURED DATE

(y=an)

MAXIMURM RATED TAFRCITY
(fons per hour)

cowTROL? [Tves L[
CONTROL TYPE

MO

1S DEVICE SUBJECT TO MZPS?
[] ¥E5.HAS DEVICE BEEN TESTED?  [] YES. DATE TEST FASSED

[Z] MO, REASON NOT SUBJECT

[ MO, DATE TEST SCHEDULED

DEVICE DESCRIPTION /crusherivioe. screen, conveyor, drill. efc.)

DEVICE ID (Assion an identification number for this deviee]

MAKE AND MODEL

SERIAL NUMBER MANUFACTURED DATE

(year)

MAXIMUWM FATED CAFACITY
(fons per hour)

cowtROL? [ ¥es LI
CONTROL TYPE

MO

15 DEVICE SUBJECT TO MSP5?
[[] ¥E5. HAS DEVICE BEEN TESTED? [ YES. DATE TEST FASSED
[ MO, REASON NOT SUBJECT

[ MO, DATE TEST SCHEDULED

OEVICE DESCRIFTION [crusherfvipe. screen, conveyor, drl. eic.]

CEVICE IT (Assion an idendficaton number for this device]

MARE AND MODEL

SERIAL NUMBER MANUFACTURED DATE

(rear)

MAXMUM RATED CAPACITY
(fons per hour)

cowtroL? (I ves [
CONTROL TYPE

MO

15 DEWICE SUBJECT TO MSP5?
[[] vE=. HAS DEVICE BEEN TESTED? [ YES. DATE TEST FASSED

(] O, REASON NOT SUBJECT

[ Mo, DATE TEST SCHEDULED

EQP5TSE (Revised 152020)

Facility Code - This is the SRN from the General Information form. See detailed explanation on page A-1.

Mine/Quarry Name and Location - Enter the mine/quarry site name. This may be the same as the parent company
name or may have a unique identifying name that denotes the physical location of the site. If the mine/quarry does
not have a street address, provide the section, township, and range where the crushing facility will be located. These
coordinates can be determined from a plat map. Plat maps are coordinate-based maps, with all distances and
location bearings based on the directions of north-south and east-west. Plat maps are considered legal records

showing real estate divisions in Michigan’s cities, townships, and villages.

e Asection comprises one mile square (640 acres).

e Atownship is defined as land that is divided into 6-mile-squares and runs north to south.

e Arange is defined as the east or west position of a land site.
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PART 5: LAND DEVELOPMENT AND LAKE/POND CREATION REQUIREMENTS

Plat maps can be obtained from your local city, township, village, or county clerk office.

New General Permit or Modification - Identify if this application is for a new General Permit to Install or if you are
making a significant change to an existing General Permit to Install. A modification to an existing General Permit is
required if equipment is being added or removed. Refer to the section of this guide that discusses modifications
beginning on page 1-17. Include the existing General Permit number for a modification.

Process Description - Provide a brief description of the crushing operation and accurately describe the type of
product being crushed (i.e., concrete building debris, limestone, rocks, sand and gravel, etc.). A site map is also
required to identify where equipment will be located on the property and to document any residential homes,
commercial establishments, and places of public assembly located within 1,000 feet of the site.

Amount of Material Processed at the Site - The General Permit limits production to 2 million tons per year of
nonmetallic mineral products at any one site. If the facility will process more than this amount, a regular Permit to
Install is required.

Outstanding or Unresolved Violations - A Violation Notice (VN) is issued if a company is not in compliance with the
state air pollution control rules and/or federal regulations. AVN is notthe same as an environmental consent order
or judgment. It is a tool used to initiate enforcement action to bring a company into compliance. If you have a
pending VN, you do not qualify for the General Permit to Install.

Distance of Crusher to Other Area Residents/Establishments - The General Permit requires your crushing operation
be a minimum of 500 feet from residential or commercial establishments, and places of public assembly such as a
government building, church, or school. This distance is needed to limit the adverse health effects or damage to
personal property from the dust. Include a standard map that clearly identifies the distances from your crushing
process to the nearest property line in all directions.

Compliance Verification with an Existing Permit - If this application is to modify a current General Permit, verify
whether the facility is in compliance with the current permit. If your company has received a VN or is referenced in
an ongoing VN through your contractual services with another company, you must check NO.

Process/Equipment Information - Each piece of equipment must be identified and described. For each crusher,
screen, conveyor, elevator, grinder, etc. provide the following:

Device Description and Device ID - Describe the type of equipment using the technical name (i.e., jaw crusher, cone
crusher, impact crusher, etc.), as well as the role it plays in the crushing operation (i.e., primary jaw crusher,
secondary cone crusher, etc.). The Device ID is a unique equipment identifier. A Device ID may be any combination
of up to 10 letters, numbers, or keyboard characters (i.e., SCREENO1, Conveyor #3, PRICRUSHER).

Make and Model, Serial Number, and Manufactured Date - Identify the manufacturer of the equipment, model
number, and a serial number. You may need to contact the manufacturer of the equipment to obtain the make and
model information. A manufactured date is required. This date can be obtained from the equipment name plate.
Do not confuse the manufactured date with the installation date. If the equipment was shop built (i.e., from
miscellaneous parts), indicate that the equipment is shop-built in the Make and Model field and write NA in the
Serial Number field. Try to approximate the date (month and year) when the equipment was built and added to the
crushing operation. The AQD will not process your application without this information.

Maximum Rated Capacity or Dimensions - The maximum rated capacity can be found in an equipment manual or
specification book. The maximum rated capacity for crushers is measured in tons/hour. For screening operations
or conveyor belts, give the dimensions for the total surface area of the top screen or the width of the conveyor belt.
Storage bin capacity is measured in tons.
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PART 5: LAND DEVELOPMENT AND LAKE/POND CREATION REQUIREMENTS

Device Control - Each crusher and screening operation must have water sprays installed prior to operation. A
baghouse dust collector or wet scrubber may be used in place of the water sprays. Conveyors, material storage
piles, and other process equipment related to the crushing operation are required to have dust control on an as-
needed basis.

Federal New Source Performance Standard (NSPS) - Indicate whether the equipment is subject to the NSPS for
nonmetallic mineral processing facilities (Subpart 000). If the equipment is not subject, you must include a reason.
Equipment that is not subject to the NSPS includes:

e Equipment at fixed sand and gravel plants and crushed stone plants with capacities of 25 tons per hour or
less.

e Equipmentat portable sand and gravel plants and crushed stone plants with capacities of 150 tons per hour
or less.

e Equipmentthat replaces existing equipment and is of equal or smaller size and has the same function as the
existing equipment, unless all existing equipment in a production line is being replaced.

e Equipment listed in the Table A-2 that was manufactured prior to August 31, 1983, and was never modified
or reconstructed after that date. See page 1-17 for definitions of modification and reconstruction.

e Equipment not listed in the Table A-2.

Table A-2: Crusher Equipment Subject to NSPS Subpart 000

Crushers Belt conveyors

Grinding mills Bagging operations

Screening operations Storage bins

Bucket elevators Enclosed truck or railcar loading station

If the equipment is subject to the NSPS Subpart 000, it may be subject to an initial performance test. Performance
testing is discussed on page 1-13. If the equipment requires a performance test, include the date the equipment
passed the performance test, or if a performance test has not yet been done, the date that the test is scheduled. If
the equipment does not require a performance test, you must explain why. Equipment that is not subject to a
performance test under the NSPS includes:

e Equipment in Table A-2 that was manufactured prior to August 31, 1983, and never modified or
reconstructed on or after August 31, 1983.

e Equipmentin Table A-2 that was manufactured, modified, or reconstructed on or after August 31, 1983, and
replaces equipment that was larger in size. Testing will not have to occur until all existing equipment has
been replaced with new equipment.

e Wet screening operations and subsequent wet screening operations, bucket elevators, and belt conveyors
that process saturated material in the production line up to, but not including the next crusher, grinding mill,
or storage bin.

e Screening operations, bucket elevators, and belt conveyors in the production line downstream of wet mining
operations, that process saturated materials up to the first crusher, grinding mill, or storage bin the in the
production line.

Signature - Include a signature by an authorized employee of the applicant as on the General Information form. This
signature certifies the truth of the information provided in the application. A missing signature will result in an
application being returned and a delay in processing.

Make additional copies of Page 2 of the Process Information form (EQP5727) to include all equipment associated
with your crushing process.
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PART 5: LAND DEVELOPMENT AND LAKE/POND CREATION REQUIREMENTS

The Additional Information Form (EQP5729)

An Additional Information form should be filled out for any piece of equipment for which you plan to submit
additional documentation. Failure to complete this form and include the attachments can result in delay of
processing the application.

. Michigan Department Of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy For EGLE Use Only
EvVikE Air Quality Division Permit Humber
GENERAL PERMIT TO INSTALL APPLICATION ADDITIONAL
INFORMATION

AUNOMZED UNger 1904 PA 451, 35 amended. Comgistion of S ks requined It adational Ifommation i Necded to Make an apolCaton cOMpSte. APDICaNt May b2 SUDJSCt o
vl andior criminal panaities for providing false Infammation,

Instructions: Use this form te include additional information or attachments. Prepare and submit this form with General Information form (EQPST2T).
1. FACILITY CODE 2 IO (Prowide the idenffication number of the dewvice, emission umi or
stackAvent for which sdditions! informafion is being submiffed )

STATE REGISTRATION NUMSER [SRM)

3. WHAT TYPE OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ARE YOU SUBMITTING WITH THIS APPLICATION? (check all thaf appiy)
|:| ATTACHMENT (i checked, deseribe and st what is affached  May include drawings, charts, cafoulsfions, assumpfions, ete )

D TECHMICAL [Specialized information regarding the insfailation, construction, or use of 3 process or sfackdqent)

D GEMERAL [Any supplemental infovmafion that is nof fechnical information)

4. ADDITIOMNAL INFORMATION MARRATIVE (A bnef descrphion of the information or atfachment. May include calculshons, design paramefers, small
efc)

The Facility Code - This is the SRN from the General Information form.
Device ID - This is the ID created on the Process Information form.

Type of Additional Information - Check one or more of the boxes as applicable. Attachments include:
e Asite map, a building layout map, or information such as a plat map. Site drawings or building layout maps
should be properly marked showing;:

- The spot where the crusher operation, equipment, storage piles, etc. are located.

- Ascale showing the distance in feet, yards, or meters to surrounding population areas and places of
public assembly.

- A north pointing directional arrow.

e Process diagrams or drawings showing equipment type and layout.
Examples of a site or building layout map and a process diagram/drawing are available in Appendix C.
Technical information includes documentation which pertains to the installation, construction, or use of your
company’s equipment such as:

e Flow charts and production rates

e Flow rate calculations

e Design parameters or descriptions

e Documentation from an operator manual (i.e., maximum rated capacity of the equipment) An example of a

flow chart showing production rates is available in Appendix D.

General information includes any supplemental information that is not technical in nature such as written
descriptions of the process layout and production schedule.

Additional Information Narrative - Use this space to describe or explain any of the additional information rather
than providing it as an attachment.
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APPENDIX B - Completing the Relocation Notice Form

Facility Codes, Applicant Name, Applicant Mailing Address, Authorized Employee, and Contact — See

detailed instructions for these fields in Appendix A.

MICHIGAM DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, GREAT LAKES, AND ENERGY

| el ol B - AIR QUALITY DIVISION %’i
i el B2 GENERAL AIR PERMIT TO INSTALL APPLICATION

ReLocaTioN NoTICE

Authorized under 13534 PA 451, as amended. Comyletion of form is required.
Applicant may be subject to chal and for ciminal penaiies for providing false informabon.

Instructions: LUise this form fo request authorty to relocate a8 nonmetallic mineral processing facility under the terms and conditions of a
general permit to instsll pursuant to Rule 201a. A copy of the orginal general pemit forms (EQPS72T, EQPST28, and EQPSTSE) and any
additional Process Information forms for modifications to this plant must be submitted with this form. Attach a detailed site map for the new
location which shows all site characteristics including the location of any residential andfor commercial establishments and places of
public assembly which are located within 1.000 feet of the proposed site. Certify and submit this form and any attachments to the Pemit
Section and the appropriate district office for the new location. See map for district office locations.

1. FACILITY CODES
STATE REGIETRATION NUMBER (SRNJ STANDARD INDUSTRIAL CLASEIFICATION [SIC) CODE:

2. APPLICANT MAME (Business brense name of the corporafion, parinership, individual or government agency that owns the fSeilify)

3. APPLICANT MAILING ADDRESS [Street Address or P.O. Box Number)

4 Ty 5. STATE: 8. ZIP CODE:

7. NAME OF AUTHORIZED EMPLOYEE:

8. TIILE (person identied in fiem 1) E. TELEPHONE NO. [person identibed in fiem 7]
T0_ CONTACT PERGON [fechnical point of contact, & Gfferent than name in fem 7] T1_ TELEPHONE NO. contact person]

12 Is any equipment (e.g. crusher, screens, etc.) associated with this permit rented? | | YES [ [ NO  1f Yes, provide the name of the company
renting the equipment as well as the rental company. Be sure to include any rented equipment on form EQP 5758

RENTER: RENTAL COMPANY:
CURRENT PLANT LOGATION
13. MINE/QUARRY MAME: ‘14. GEMERAL PERMIT NUMEER:
15. STREET ADDRESS:
16. CITY: 17. ZIF CODE: ‘19. COUNTY:
10. SECTION: 20. TOWNSHIF: |21_ RANGE:

NEW PLANT LOCATION

22 MINEFQUARRY MAME:

23. STREET ADDRESS:

24, CITY: 25. AP CODE: 26, COUNTY:

27 SECTION: 28. TOWMNSHIP: 0. RANGE:

30. DATES PLANT |5 TO BE LOCATED AT THIS SITE . AMOUNT TO BE PROCESSED AT THIS SITE (fons per year)
TO

32. DIRECTIONS FROM NEAREST TOWN

Applicant Certification: | cerify, under penalty of law, that this permit application and any attachments were prepared by me, or under my direction or
supenvision in accordance with 3 systemn to ensure that qualified personnel properfy gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on iy indguiry
of the person or persons who manage the system, or those persons directly responsible for gathering information, the information submitted is, to the
best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. In addition, the equipment descnibed in this application meets the necessary critenia for
applicability for a General Pemmit to Install. Furthemmere, | certify that | can and will comply with all conditions outlined in the General Pemit to Install. | am
aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing viclations.

SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED EMPLOYEE DATE
BOO-662-9278 Michigan.gov/EGLE EQP5757
Pagelofl Rev. 12020

Michigan Environmental Compliance Guide for Mineral Crushing Facilities

B-1



CURRENT PLANT LOCATION

Facility/Site Name and General Permit Number - Provide the facility/site name at the current location. Include
the General Permit Number issued by the AQD for this facility.

Address - Provide the current location of the facility. This item need only be completed if the process location is
different from the mailing address or if the mailing address is a P.O. Box. If a street address is not available,
provide the section, township, and range for the facility.

NEW PLANT LOCATION

Facility/Site Name - Provide the proposed facility/site name.

Address - Provide the proposed location for the facility. Include the street address, city, zip code, and county. If a
street address is not available, provide the section, township, and range of the proposed site.

Location Dates and Process Amounts - Include the dates the facility will be located at the proposed site and the
amount of material to be processed at the site. Note that the General Permit limits the amount of material
processed at any one site to 2 million tons per year.

Directions from the Nearest Town - Include brief driving directions to locate the plant.

Attach Additional Information - Attach a copy of the original General Permit forms (EQP5727, EQP5729, and
EQP5756) plus any Process forms for modifications that have been approved. A detailed site map showing any
residential and/or commercial establishments and places of public assembly within 1,000 feet of the proposed
site is also required.

Signature of Authorized Employee - The application must be signed by an authorized employee of the applicant.
This signature certifies the truth of the information provided in the application. A missing signature will result in
an application being returned and a delay in processing.

Submit the completed form and attachments to both the AQD Permit and the AQD district office for the proposed
plant location. To locate the appropriate district office, see Appendix E.

B-2
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APPENDIX C - Sample Site/Plan Layout Map
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APPENDIX D - Sample Flow Chart

1 b 2 » "3 | 4 6 » 7 —»
13 12 . " *5 M 8 » 9 —r
e
b 4
10
Equipment List

__1- Eagle feeder hopper (Feed1), 500 tph

8- Peerless conveyor (Con5), 400 tph

__2- Superior conveyor (Con1), 500 tph

3- "V8I crusher (Crusher1), 300 tph

9- Superior conveyor (Con6), 500 tph

10- Superior conveyor (Con7), 500 tph

4 Superior conveyor (Con2), 500 tph

11- Superior conveyor (Con8), 500 tph

9- *Kolberg wash plant (Screen1), 300 tph

12- Superior conveyor (Con8), 500 tph

6- Superior conveyor (Con3), 500 tph

13- Hartman conveyor (Con10), 500 tph

7- Superior conveyor (Cond), 500 tph

"ltems 3 and 5 are equipped with water spray
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£GLE  District Offices

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENT, GREAT LAKES, AND ENERGY

Wi

EGLE MAIN OFFICE *
Phone: 800-662-9278

Constitution Hall
525 West Allegan Street e
P.O. Box 30457, Lansing, Ml 48909

CADILLAC DISTRICT OFFICE
Phone: 231-775-3960 | Fax: 231-775-4050
120 West Chapin Street, Cadillac, M1 49601

GRAND RAPIDS DISTRICT OFFICE
Phone: 616-356-0500 | Fax: 616-356-0202
350 Ottawa Avenue, NW, Unit 10, Grand Rapids, Ml 49503

JACKSON DISTRICT OFFICE
Phone: 517-780-7690 | Fax: 517-780-7855
301 East Louis Glick Highway, Jackson, M1 49201

KALAMAZOO DISTRICT OFFICE
Phone: 269-567-3500 | Fax: 269-567-9440
7953 Adobe Road, Kalamazoo, MI 49009

LANSING DISTRICT OFFICE

Phone: 517-284-6651 | Fax: 517-241-3571
Constitution Hall, 1st Floor, South Tower
525 West Allegan Street, Lansing, Ml 48933

©O "0 =0 O

BAY CITY DISTRICT OFFICE MARQUETTE DISTRICT OFFICE

Phone: 989-894-6200 | Fax: 989-891-9237 Phone: 906-228-4853 | Fax: 906-228-4940

401 Ketchum Street, Suite B, Bay City, M| 48708 1504 West Washington Street, Marquette, Ml 49855
° WARREN DISTRICT OFFICE GAYLORD DISTRICT OFFICE

Phone: 586-753-3700 | Fax: 586-753-3831 Phone: 989-701-9920 | Fax: 989-731-6181

27700 Donald Court, Warren, Ml 48092 2100 West M-32, Gaylord, MI, 49735

Map includes 9 district offices, 1 field office, and Lansing lab

A Field office in Detroit Michigan.gov/EGLE | 800-662-9278

03/2020
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	WHY ARE AIR EMISSIONS FROM CRUSHING FACILITIES REGULATED? 
	Environmental regulations exist to protect our land, air, and water from absorbing an excessive amount of pollution. Air pollution that comes in the form of fine dust, smoke, or soot particles, also known as particulate matter (PM), is just one of six major pollutants regulated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) and the Air Quality Division (AQD) of the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE). The other criteria air pollutants are ground-level ozone, nitrogen d
	Dust and fine particulate are measured by opacity. Opacity is a measurement of how light is obscured by the density of the dust particles in the air. Opacity is measured in percentages from 0 to 100 percent and measurement is performed by visible observation. When there is no visible dust, the opacity is zero percent, meaning light around a crushing facility is not obscured. Therefore, when the statement is made that an activity is operating at a “25 percent opacity” level, it means the PM in the air is blo
	A Permit to Install is required for all crushing facilities, whether the equipment is leased from a second party on a temporary basis or owned outright. A crushing facility is defined as the crusher(s) and associated equipment, for the purpose of processing nonmetallic rocks, stone, sand, gravel, concrete or recycled asphalt. Owner/Operators must comply with the Permit to Install requirements and can be held liable for state and federal air quality rules. 
	According to Rule 201 of the 
	There are two types of Permits to Install crushing facilities can apply for in Michigan. One is a Site-Specific Permit to Install and the other is a General Permit to Install. What is the difference between the two permits? Both the Site-Specific Permit to Install and General Permit to Install can be used by companies crushing and processing nonmetallic minerals, but the General Permit to Install can only be used by companies meeting the following: 
	Performance Testing 
	Notifications are part of your permit and helps your facility inspector determine your compliance status. Some required notifications are listed below: 
	To relocate your equipment, your company must first comply with all the applicable requirements of the General Permit to Install (i.e., no outstanding or unresolved violations). Filling out and submitting a Relocation Notice Form (
	PM10 /Year =  
	 
	NPDES General Permits 
	For more information on the Permit-by-Rule, including certified operator exam training materials and exam schedules, or storm water program contact information, contact any Water Resources Division district office or go to  (select “Permits” then “Surface Water” then “Storm Water”, then “Construction Site Program”). 
	Step 1: Identify 
	 
	Tables 3-1a-d: Common Wastes at Crusher Facilities 
	 
	 
	Market Directory 
	The environmental requirements for waste depend on the type of waste you have and where it ultimately will be disposed or recycled. To help you make a thorough assessment of how waste is managed at your job sites, go through the checklist in Table 3-2 and indicate “yes” or “no” to these basic questions. If you find yourself answering “no” to the question, it could be an indication your facility could use a better method or management plan to properly handle your waste. 
	Hiring Commercial Transporters to Haul Liquid Industrial Waste or Hazardous Waste 
	Facility Codes, Applicant Name, Applicant Mailing Address, Authorized Employee, and Contact – See detailed instructions for these fields in Appendix A. 




