For Cashier's Use Only

of

Operator ID:

Certificates Held:

CECs

Reissue Date:

Expiration Date:

EGLE

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENT,

Accounting Template

GREAT LAKES, AND ENERGY

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF DRINKING WATER TREATMENT AND DISTRIBUTION OPERATOR CERTIFICATION

This information is required by authority of the Safe Drinking Water Act, 1976 PA 399, as amended.

GENERAL INFORMATION – A certificate that is not renewed within one year of expiration cannot be renewed. The individual will need to retest for certification. Applicants must thoroughly complete and sign this application.

There is a **RENEWAL FEE of \$95.00**.

 \Box Check box if new address.

Name (First)	(Middle Initial)	(Last)	Operator ID Number (If Known)	
Street or P.O. Box	x Mailing Address	City	State	Zip Code
Email Address			Home Telephone	
Title of Current Job Position			Work Telephone	
Employer			Water S	Supply Serial Number

Expiration Date of Current Certificate Current Drinking Water Certification(s)

□ I have included certificate(s) of completion for training not currently credited to my account. Please apply any applicable continuing education credits (CECs) towards my CEC requirement for renewal.

CHECK THE RENEWAL CERTIFICATION STATUS YOU ARE APPLYING FOR:

- □ **Renew Now:** I currently hold a drinking water certificate and have met the continuing education requirement.
- □ Allow to Expire: Please allow my certification to expire. I understand this means I will no longer hold drinking water certification and will not be able to serve as the Operator in Charge or back-up operator of a distribution system, a treatment system, or as a shift operator at a water treatment plant.

Certification of Applicant: I certify that all information provided in this application and any accompanying pages is true.

Date:

Signature:

APPLICATION and PAYMENT INFORMATION

Application Due Date

Applications must be submitted to the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) on or before the certificate's expiration date.

Renewal Fee for Water Treatment and Distribution Operator Certification

There is a **\$95 renewal fee**, payable by credit card, check, or money order at the time of the application submission.

Credit Card Payments

- Credit card payments will only be accepted through the online payment portal: <u>www.thepayplace.com/mi/deq/trainandcertify</u>. Payments cannot be accepted by telephone or in person.
- The payment portal will ask for a Payment Verification Code. The code is: DWOpCert23
- Please include a copy of the receipt for the online payment with the examination application.

Check/Money Order Payments

- Make the check/money order payable to: State of Michigan
- Please mail the check/money order to the Cashier's Office (address below) along with a hard copy of the renewal application.

Application Submission

At this time, EGLE allows renewal applications to be submitted via email and hard copy. Faxed copies will not be accepted.

Via Email

- Email the completed renewal application to: <u>EGLE-OTCP-Renewals@Michigan.gov</u>
- The completed application should be attached as a PDF file to the email along with a copy of the payment receipt. Make sure to include the applicant's name and Operator ID number (if applicable) in the body of the email.

Via U.S. Mail

The United States Postal Service postmark or a postmark from an independent delivery service such as UPS or Federal Express will be used to verify the application has met the deadline for submission. Postmarks by private meter stamps (such as Pitney Bowes) cannot be used as proof of meeting the deadline. *DO NOT* wait until the deadline date to submit your application.

Applications must be submitted via U.S. Mail when the renewal fee is being paid by

check/money order. The completed application and renewal fee payment/credit card receipt must be mailed to one of the following addresses depending on the payment type.

When Submitting the Renewal Fee by Check/Money Order

- Make the check/money order payable to: State of Michigan
- Mail the check/money order, application, and any additional documentation (if any) to:

EGLE Office of Financial Management Revenue Control/Cashier's Office P.O. Box 30657 Lansing, Michigan 48909-8157

- DO NOT send applications to this address if payment was made by CREDIT CARD, it may result in a processing delay.
- Mailed applications must be postmarked by the expiration date listed on the certificate to be considered submitted on time.

For Overnight or Express Delivery with A Check/Money Order Payment

- Make the check/money order payable to: State of Michigan
- Mail the check/money order, application, and any additional documentation (if any) to:

MDOT Accounting Services Center 425 West Ottawa Street Lansing, Michigan 48933

- DO NOT send applications to this address if payment was made by CREDIT CARD, it may result in a processing delay.
- Mailed applications must be postmarked by the expiration date listed on the certificate to be considered submitted on time.

When Paying the Examination Fee by Credit Card (If the Application Cannot be Emailed)

• Mail proof of payment, application, and any additional documentation (if any) to:

Operator Training and Certification Unit EGLE-DWEHD-CWSS P.O. Box 30817 Lansing, Michigan 48909-8311

- DO NOT send overnight or express delivery mail to this address IF PAYING BY CHECK.
- DO NOT MAIL CHECKS TO THIS ADDRESS.
- Mailed applications must be postmarked by the expiration date listed on the certificate to be considered submitted on time.

STATE OF MICHIGAN REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION

Under Act 399, P.A. 1976 and Administrative Rules (Excerpts from the Rules as Amended 12/4/2009)

R 325.11915 Renewal requirements.

Rule 1915. (1) The department shall renew a certificate on a 3-year cycle. To renew a certificate, a certificate holder shall submit, to the department, an application for renewal on a form provided by the department.

(2) To have a certificate renewed, a holder of a drinking water certificate shall satisfy the minimum criteria for continuing education requirements as required in the following table:

Highest certification	Minimum number of continuing	Minimum number of continuing education	
level held	education training hours required to renew	training hours categorized as "technical", "managerial," or both	
1 or 2	24	18	
3	24	12	
4	12	6	
5	9	no minimum	

Table 1. Minimum requirements for continuing education

(3) Attain all necessary continuing education credits (CECs) for renewal by taking approved courses from a variety of providers.

(4) A holder of a certificate shall be responsible for renewal of a certificate regardless of notification.

(5) A certificate holder shall keep his or her own record of approved training, education, and work experience and be prepared to present proof of that training, education, and experience if required by the department.

(6) The failure of an applicant for renewal to meet the requirements of this subrule and subrules (1) to (5) of this rule shall constitute grounds for refusing to renew a certificate.

Under Act 148, P.A. 2011 (Excerpts from the Law as amended 9/21/2011)

Sec. 3110 (MCL 324.3110)

(d) For certification renewals under subsection (1), the following fees apply:

(f) For certification renewals under section 9 of the safe drinking water act, 1976 PA 399, MCL 325.1009, for all drinking water certification levels as described under R 325.11901 or R 325.11902 and issued on a single certificate, \$95.00.

If you need this information in an alternate format, contact <u>EGLE-Accessibility@Michigan.gov</u> or call 800-662-9278.

EGLE does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability, political beliefs, height, weight, genetic information, or sexual orientation in the administration of any of its programs or activities, and prohibits intimidation and retaliation, as required by applicable laws and regulations.

This form and its contents are subject to the Freedom of Information Act and may be released to the public.