
Fee Schedule 
Community Water Supplies 

 
 
The Michigan Safe Drinking Water Act, 1976, PA 399, as amended, requires an annual 
fee for each community water supply based on the following classifications: 
 

 
Fee Schedule 2017 

Community Water Supply Program 
 

Population 
Served 

2017 
Full Fee 

Credit 
Adjustment 

Adjusted  
2017 Fee 

More than 500,000 $134,624.25 $673.12 $133,951.13 
100,001-500,000 $27,953.01 $139.77 $27,813.24 
50,001-100,000 $17,671.46 $88.36 $17,583.10 
25,001-50,000 $10,442.24 $52.21 $10,390.03 
10,001-25,000 $5,622.31 $28.11 $5,594.20 
5,001-10,000 $3,052.35 $15.26 $3,037.09 
1,001-5,000 $1,285.21 $6.43 $1,278.78 
401-1,000 $803.26 $4.02 $799.24 
101-400 $642.60 $3.21 $639.39 
25-100 $401.63 $2.01 $399.62 

 
 
PENALTY:  After November 30, 2016, a penalty of nine percent per annum on the 
unpaid balance is applied to the amount due.  This invoice does not reflect any prior 
outstanding balances and/or late fees. 
 
ANNUAL FEE ADJUSTMENT:  The fee is adjusted annually based on the Detroit  
Consumer Price Index (CPI).  Last year’s rate was 2.3 percent. 

CREDIT ADJUSTMENT:  At the end of the fiscal year, 75 percent of unspent fee 
revenue from previous annual fee payments is applied as a credit on a pro rata basis to 
the fee the following year. 
 
NOTE:  
 Payment can be made via credit or debit card as well as e-check.   

Visit our website at:  https://www.thepayplace.com/mi/deq/comm  
 If paying by check, please return the portion of the invoice indicated to receive 

proper credit.   
 A written explanation is required to effect any change in the amount due. 
 All changes to the amount due are subject to verification. 
 
Please call 517-284-6511 with questions regarding community water supply invoices. 
  



QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS TO EXPLAIN 
MICHIGAN PUBLIC WATER SUPPLY ANNUAL FEES 

  
 
What is the authorization for this fee? 
 
Public Act 165 was signed into law on September 16, 1993, and took immediate effect. 
The bill amended Michigan's Safe Drinking Water Act, 1976 PA 399, as amended. 
 
Who is required to pay this annual fee? 
 
There are nearly 11,000 community and noncommunity public water supplies serving an 
estimated 50 million visitors and residents each year. Community public water supplies 
are those serving cities, towns, villages, mobile home parks, apartments, etc. with at 
least 15 service connections or 25 or more year-round residents. Noncommunity public 
water supplies include facilities such as schools, campgrounds, restaurants, 
businesses, parks, motels, highway rest stops, etc. with their own well, serving an 
average of 25 or more persons per day, at least 60 days per year. 
 
How much is the 2017 fee? 
 
The fees for community water supplies are based on population served, and range from 
$399.62 to $133,951.13. Noncommunity fees are divided into two categories. Facilities 
with wells serving primarily a transient population such as campgrounds, rest stops, 
motels, and restaurants are classified as transient noncommunity water supplies. Their 
annual fee is $135.87. Nontransient noncommunity water supplies (schools and 
businesses) routinely serve the same 25 or more persons (students/employees) for at 
least six months per year. The nontransient annual fee is $575.44 per year. 
Requirements for nontransient water supplies are much more complex than for transient 
water supplies demanding a higher level of regulatory support to attain compliance. 
Note: The annual fee DOES NOT include the costs for water sample analysis. 
 
Why a fee? 
 
Amendments to the Federal Safe Drinking Water Act have significantly increased 
inspection and sampling requirements for public water supplies nationwide. The State of 
Michigan maintains a primacy agreement with the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency (USEPA). This means the State retains authority to implement the 
public water supply program in lieu of the federal government as long as it enacts rules 
that are at least as stringent as the federal rules. The public water supply program 
includes periodic inspection of water supplies, monitoring the quality of drinking water 
served to the public, certification of laboratories for drinking water analysis, 
maintenance of a state drinking water laboratory, certification of water treatment plant 
operators, technical consultation, permitting and construction plan review, and training. 
The fees are required to enable the State to implement these regulations for public 
water supplies. 



Why is it better for the State of Michigan to manage the public water program as 
opposed to the USEPA? 
 
Retaining state and local control of the program is advantageous for several reasons. 
The federal rules allow states to reduce or waive a significant number of requirements 
based on inspections, historical data, and assessments of a water supply’s vulnerability 
to contamination. A federally administered program would not be structured toward 
reduced monitoring and would require all water supplies to routinely sample for all 
regulated contaminants. In addition, the state program focuses on public health services 
including technical assistance, education, and training to ensure a safe and reliable 
public water supply and to prevent waterborne disease outbreaks. The state program 
strives to help water supply owners/operators comply with the complex new federal 
regulations. A federally administered program typically would use a strict enforcement 
oriented approach to gain compliance. 
 
What if there are mistakes on the invoice? 
 
If information is incorrect, you should correct it, and return the corrected invoice with the 
proper payment. If the error involves a change in the invoice amount, the information 
necessary to recalculate the fee is provided. A written explanation for the correction 
must be provided, signed by an authorized representative, and submitted with the 
appropriate payment. Always retain a copy of the invoice for your records. 
 
What happens if the fee is not paid? 
 
The Michigan Safe Drinking Water Act contains penalties for late payment (after 
November 30 of each year) calculated as nine percent per annum for community water 
supplies and $25.00 per month or portion thereof for noncommunity water supplies. The 
Michigan Department of Treasury collects all penalties. 
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