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Michigan’s Transport 
Regulations & U.S. EPA’s  
NEW e-Manifesting System  

 
Today’s Goals 

• What businesses must know when shipping hazardous waste and liquid industrial by-products in Michigan  
o Michigan specific regulations requiring transporters to be permitted and registered by the DEQ 
o The hazardous waste manifest process, requirements, and common violations 
o The liquid industrial by-products shipping document process, requirements, and common violations 
o The NEW e-Manifest system being launched by U.S. EPA June 30, 2018. 

DEQ Transportation Regulations 
• Act 451, Michigan Natural Resource and Environmental Protection Act 

o  Part 111, Hazardous Waste 
o  Part 121, Liquid Industrial By-Products 

• Act 138, Hazardous Materials Transportation Act 
Federal Transportation Regulations “Hazardous Material” 

• Covers U.S. DOT Hazardous Material which include: 
o Substances (products & wastes) listed in Hazardous Materials Table 49 CFR, 172.101 
o Materials exhibiting a hazard during transport 
o Hazardous waste is a U.S. DOT hazardous material BUT not all hazardous material is a hazardous waste! 

DEQ Transportation Regulation Act 138 “Hazardous Material” 
• Includes only hazardous waste and liquid industrial by-products 

U.S. DOT Hazardous Materials Implementing Authority 
• Michigan State Police (MSP), Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division implements U.S. DOT regulations 
• MSP Permits U.S. DOT hazardous material transporters 

DEQ Hazardous Materials Implementing Authority 
• DEQ implements Act 138 
• DEQ permits and registers Act 138 hazardous materials transporters 

DEQ Act 138 Hazardous Material Transport Contacts & Information 
• Sandra Ray– 586-753-3850 
• Jeanette Noechel – 586-494-5091 
• www.michigan.gov/deqwaste, then select “Transporter” from the tabs on the left 

MSP US DOT Hazardous Material Contacts & Information 
• Michigan State Police, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division –517-284-3250 
• www.phmsa.dot.gov/hazmat/regs  
• www.michigan.gov/ehsguide, Chapter 4, Material Storage and Transportation 

Act 138 Transporter Requirements  
• Permit (3 year) & Registration (1 year) required for: 

o Hazardous waste transport 
o Liquid industrial by-products transport 
o Hazardous and liquid industrial by-products transport 

Act 138 Transporter Requirements 
• Fleet liability coverage must be maintained for accidental occurrences, no less than: 

o $1,000,000 per occurrence for transport of hazardous waste

mailto:noechelj@michigan.gov
mailto:confortir@michigan.gov
mailto:grossmanc@michigan.gov
http://www.phmsa.dot.gov/hazmat/regs
http://www.michigan.gov/ehsguide
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o $750,000 per occurrence for transport of liquid industrial by-products for 
fleets with > 10,000 lbs. gross motor vehicle weight 

o $300,000 per occurrence for transport of liquid industrial by-products for 
fleets with < 10,000 lbs. gross motor vehicle weight 

• Permit & registration result in issuance of “Credential”  
• Credential must be carried during transportation and presented upon 

inspection request (electronic or paper) 
• Credential lists effective period 

Hazardous and Liquid Industrial Waste - Transportation Requirements 
• Employ only Act 138 permitted & registered transporters to transport 

hazardous and/or liquid industrial waste by public roadway 
• Verify Act 138 transporter credential information by going to 

www.Michigan.gov/deqwaste, selecting “Transporters” and following the 
instruction to find “Participating Transporters.” 

Shipping Documents 
• As of 3/16/16 law change, uniform manifests no longer required for shipping liquid industrial by-product 
• Shipping document is required instead of uniform manifest 
• Shipping document can be written or electronic 
• May be a log, invoice, bill of lading, or uniform hazardous waste manifest 
• Must be readable, readily accessible, and have required information 
• Must meet U.S. DOT requirements 
• Required information includes: 

o Name and address of the generator 
o Name of the transporter 
o Type and volume of by-product shipped 
o Date the by-product was shipped 
o Name, address and Site ID number of the designated facility 

Individual Shipping Document Certification - Generator 
• Generator or generator representative signs/certifies shipping document stating: 

o the shipping document fully and accurately describes the shipment 
o the shipment is in proper condition for transport 
o the shipping document information is factual 

 Individual Shipping Document Certification - Transporter 
• Transporter signs/certifies shipping document stating by-product listed on shipping document: 

o was received 
o will be delivered to the designated facility identified on the shipping document 

Individual Shipping Document - Distribution 
• Generator retains copy of shipping documents with generator and transporter signature 
• Transporter obtains copy of shipping document with both signatures which accompanies the shipment during 

transport 
• Designated facility – No certification or shipping document distribution is required 
• Designated facility must: 

o provide confirmation of receipt to the generator or generator representative and  
o only accept delivery where accompanied by shipping document listing the designated facility 

Individual Shipping Document - Designated Facility Confirmation  
• Designated facility confirmation may be written or electronic (documented phone call, email, receipt, shipping 

document or manifest copy)  
Consolidated Shipping Document  

• For a CONSOLIDATED shipping document, transporter fulfills generator duties in completing the shipping 
document transporter AND provides receipt to generator with:  
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o Transporter name  
o Driver’s signature  
o Date of pickup  
o Type and quantity of by product accepted/shipped 
o Consolidated shipping document number, and  
o Designated facility  

• Generator of brine may complete a single shipping document per transporter of brine per disposal well per 
month 

Manifests and Site ID - Liquid Industrial By-products 
• All uniform hazardous waste manifests submitted to the U.S. EPA e-Manifest system require a Site ID  
• Generators using the e-Manifest system as shipping document must obtain and use a Site ID 
• Generators using the uniform hazardous waste manifest as PAPER shipping document can enter the following 

for the Site ID field: 
o MICESQG for CESQG waste only 
o MILIB for liquid industrial by-product only 
o MICESQGLIB for CESQG and liquid industrial by-product  

Shipping Documents - Generators 
• Generators must provide a copy of the shipping document to transporters to accompany the by product to the 

designated facility 
• Generators must obtain confirmation of by-product receipt by the designated facility  
• If not received timely, generator must: 

o Contact designated facility, and  
o If receipt is not verified, report to the DEQ 

Individual Shipping Documents - Transporters 
• Transporter must provide certification of acceptance of by product to generator, and deliver the by-product only 

to the designated facility specified by the shipping document 
Consolidated Shipping Documents - Transporters 

• Consolidated shipping documents are permitted for a single shipment of uniform types of liquid industrial  
by-product collected from multiple pickups for a single transport event 

• Transporter fulfills generator duties in completing the shipping document AND provides receipt to generator  
• Transporter receipt for generator must include: 

o Transporter company name 
o Driver’s signature 
o Date of pickup 
o Type and quantity of by-product accepted  
o The consolidated shipping document number 
o The designated facility  

Shipping Documents - Designated facilities: 
• Can only accept delivery of by-product if the facility is the destination indicated on the shipping document 
• Must provide the generator or authorized representative confirmation of receipt of  

by-product 
• Must maintain records of characterization 

Hazardous Waste - Pre-Transport Requirements (Rule 305) 
• Package, label, & mark each hazardous waste package to meet U.S. DOT regulations 
• Mark each container of ≤119 gallons with:  

o “HAZARDOUS WASTE – Federal Law Prohibits Improper Disposal.  If found, contact the nearest police or 
public safety authority or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.” 

o Generator name and address 
o Generator Site Identification Number 
o Manifest Tracking Number  

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq_oea_waste-BillofLading_Example_529328_7.docx
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o Hazardous waste codes for the waste  
Placards 

• Small quantity generators shipping > 1000 lbs. and large quantity generators must have U.S. 
DOT placards available for the transporters   

• Call Michigan State Police, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division for more info about 
placards  

Manifests 
• Uniform Manifest must be used when hiring permitted and registered transporter to ship hazardous waste from 

a small quantity or large quantity generator 
• Shipping documents can be used for shipping liquid industrial by-product, including conditionally exempt small 

quantity generator hazardous waste 
Manifest exceptions: 

• Small quantity generators shipping hazardous waste off-site for reclamation and regenerated material is brought 
back to generator under a tolling agreement 

• Bill of lading still required if US DOT hazardous material 
Manifests 

• Generators must keep track of shipments and submittal of manifests 
• Manifest copies signed by the disposal facility should be sent back to the generator after date of shipment by: 

o Small quantity generators - 60 days: file exception report 
o Large quantity generators - 45 days: file exception report 

• Generators are responsible for all information on manifests 
• “Two signature” copy called “generator copy” 
• “Three signature” copy called “TSD copy” – Has 3 signatures verifying delivery to disposal facility 

Manifests Common Violations 
• Using wrong Site ID number 
• Using wrong or incorrect waste codes 
• Failing to keep signed manifests for three years 
• Failing to have records of used oil shipped on consolidated manifest 

Manifest Procedure 
• Generator completes manifest  
•  Generator calls for pick-up 
• Generator & transporter certify manifest information meets hazardous waste & U.S. DOT requirements  
• Generator certifies to having pollution prevention plan/waste minimization plan 
• If transporter certifies for generator because they prepared shipment for transport, transporter must: 

o Be familiar with generator’s pollution prevention plan/waste minimization plan and 
o Add the words “on behalf of” where they sign in Item 15 

• Designated facility and transporter certify to 
manifest information accuracy and waste delivery via 
signature of manifest 

• Michigan TSDs electronically transmit hazardous 
waste manifests for shipments received to the DEQ 
each month  

• Generators are responsible for submitting hazardous 
waste manifests signed by the receiving out-of-state 
hazardous waste TSDs to the DEQ (changing with e-
Manifest launch for shipments requiring a manifest) 

• TSD sends generator signed copy (changing with e-
Manifest launch for shipments requiring a manifest) 

• If a small quantity generator does not receive TSD 
signed copy within 60 days of shipment, generator 
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must send a copy of the manifest with an explanation of the issue to the DEQ. 
• If a large quantity generator does not receive TSD signed copy within 35 days of shipment, generator must send 

a copy of the manifest with an explanation of the issue to the DEQ. 
• Following generator receipt of Page 3 of the manifest with the TSD signature, generator can recycle Page 6 if 

desired 
• Page 2 is only required for out-of-state hazardous waste shipments 

Additional Resources for Manifests and Shipping Documents: 
• www.michigan.gov/ehsguide, Chapter 2 
• http://www.deq.state.mi.us/pubcenter/  

o Liquid Industrial By-products FAQ 
o Hazardous Waste, Liquid Industrial Waste, and PCB 

Manifest Requirements (aka Michigan Manifest 
Instructions) 

New Electronic Manifests (e-Manifesting) Regulations 
Rules 103, 304, 409, 608) 

• On April 5, 2017, Michigan rules adopting  
e-Manifests became effective providing for: 
o e-Manifests initiated, completed, and transmitted in 

accordance with 40 CFR 262.20a(3), including those 
using secure e-signatures for generator, transporter  
and TSD to be the legal equivalent of paper manifests  
with handwritten signatures 

o Requiring access to the e-Manifest system via desktop or portable electronic devices 
• TSD receiving shipments required to be manifested must: 
• If receiving a paper manifest, submit manifest electronically to EPA per  

40 CFR 264.71(j) 
• Pay a per-manifest fee to EPA for processing the e-manifest 
• TSDs have four different e-manifest system submittal options:  

o paper manifest (via mail) - $20 
o scanned, adobe (pdf) image of each paper manifest - $13   
o data file of all manifests - $7 
o e-manifest, originated in the e-manifest system, electronically signed by the generator, transporter and 

receiving TSD (paperless manifest) - $4 
• System launch is on June 30, 2018 
• First e-Manifests will be accepted by EPA on July 1, 2018 
• On and after July 1, 2018 all manifests must be submitted to EPA for processing 
• No more DEQ manifest handler fees for manifests initiated after July 1, 2018 
• EPA is coordinating with DOT  
• E-manifest system will allow users to print a manifest that satisfies the U.S. DOT shipping paper requirements 
• U.S. DOT regulations still require hard copy PAPER MANIFESTS be in the power unit during transportation!  
• Continue to print all e-manifest for transport to meet US DOT regulations!!! 
• Manifest process (distribution) and instructions for completing a paper manifest are the same for the electronic 

manifest  
• Data elements will remain the same 
• Only differences involve completing an electronic form and signing the form electronically and only 5 pages for 

new paper manifest copies 
• TSDs accepting waste from states other than Michigan originating on a manifest due to the out of state 

regulations must register and submit manifests to the e-manifest system 
• For example, if the material is hazardous in OH and non-hazardous in Michigan, the receiving facility must 

submit the e-manifest and pay the fee 

Manifest & Shipping Document Tracking Log 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/ehsguide
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/pubcenter/
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• e-Manifest system will collect manifests for all wastes shipped on a manifest, including those regulated as 
hazardous waste by EPA and by states 

• e-Manifest system can be used for liquid industrial by-products documented on a uniform manifest  
• e-Manifests submitted to EPA will all be charged relevant fees 
• Generators are encouraged to: 

o review TSD literature on e-Manifest transition 
o View EPA system walkthrough at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0H5ctnJEcfg   
o See EPA web resources: www.epa.gov/e-manifest  
o Register and test drive e-manifest system  
o When shipping liquid industrial by-product using the e-Manifest system, use the Liquid Industrial By-product 

Waste Codes for completing the manifest 
Additional Resources for e-Manifests: 

• See U.S. EPA’s e-Manifest web page at www.epa.gov/e-manifest  
• View U.S. EPAs Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest (e-Manifest) System Walkthrough  
• Register in RCRA Info to view e-manifest information  
• See www.michigan.gov/ehsguide, Chapter 2  
• Find the following resources at www.deq.state.mi.us/pubcenter  

o Liquid Industrial By-products FAQ 
o Hazardous Waste, Liquid Industrial Waste, and PCB Manifest Requirements (aka Michigan Manifest 

Instructions) 
• Contact your receiving TSDF 
Additional Resources for Manifests and Shipping Documents: 

• Got to http://www.michigan.gov/ehsguide, Chapter 2 
• Got to http://www.deq.state.mi.us/pubcenter/ to find 

o Liquid Industrial By-products FAQ 
o Hazardous Waste, Liquid Industrial Waste, and PCB Manifest Requirements (aka Michigan Manifest 

Instructions) 
 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whm-hwp-Liquid-Industrial-Waste-Codes_265090_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whm-hwp-Liquid-Industrial-Waste-Codes_265090_7.pdf
http://www.epa.gov/e-manifest
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0H5ctnJEcfg
https://rcrainfo.epa.gov/rcrainfoprod/action/secured/login
http://www.michigan.gov/ehsguide
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/pubcenter
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-oea-faq-Waste-Part121Changes_515763_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whm-hwp-uniform-manifest-requirements_213003_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/ehsguide
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/pubcenter/
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-oea-faq-Waste-Part121Changes_515763_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whm-hwp-uniform-manifest-requirements_213003_7.pdf

