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Housekeeping

• All lines are muted

• Questions can be sent to us via 
the question/chat box

• We will record webinar and post 
online

• Notes page

 Questions will be covered last
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Transporter
Regulations
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DEQ 
Transportation 
Regulations

Act 451, Michigan Natural Resource and 
Environmental Protection Act

 Part 111, Hazardous Waste
 Part 121, Liquid Industrial 

By‐Products

Act 138, Hazardous  
Materials Transportation
Act
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DEQ 
Transportation 
Regulation

U.S. DOT Hazardous Material

 Substances (products & wastes) listed in
Hazardous Materials Table 49 CFR, 
172.101

 Materials exhibiting a hazard during 
transport

 Hazardous waste is a U.S. DOT 
hazardous material BUT not all 
hazardous material is a hazardous waste!
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DEQ 
Transportation 
Regulation

Act 138 Hazardous Material

 Includes only hazardous waste 
and liquid industrial by‐products
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Hazardous 
Materials 
Implementing 
Authority

Michigan State Police, 
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement 
Division implements U.S. DOT 

regulations, permitting U.S. DOT 
hazardous material transporters
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Hazardous 
Materials 
Implementing 
Authority

DEQ implements Act 138, permitting 
and registering Act 138 hazardous 

materials transporters
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Act 138 
Transporter 
Information
Act 138 
Contacts

Act 138 Contacts

Sandra Ray– 586‐753‐3850
Jeanette Noechel – 586‐494‐5091

Act 138 Web Information

Go to www.michigan.gov/deqwaste, 
then select “Transporter” from the 
tabs on the left
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US DOT 
Hazardous 
Material 
Information

US DOT Contacts

Michigan State Police, Commercial 
Vehicle Enforcement Division –
517‐284‐3250

US DOT Web Information

www.phmsa.dot.gov/hazmat/regs
www.michigan.gov/ehsguide

Chapter 4, Material Storage and       
Transportation
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Act 138 
Transporter 
Requirements

Permit (3 year) & Registration (1 year) 
required for:

 Hazardous waste transport

 Liquid industrial by‐products transport

 Hazardous and liquid industrial by‐
products transport
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Act 138 
Transporter 
Requirements

Fleet liability coverage must be 
maintained for accidental 
occurrences, no less than:

 $1,000,000 per occurrence for transport of 
hazardous waste

 $750,000 per occurrence for transport of 
liquid industrial by‐products for fleets with 
> 10,000 lbs. gross motor vehicle weight

 $300,000 per occurrence for transport of 
liquid industrial by‐products for fleets with 
< 10,000 lbs. gross motor vehicle weight
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Act 138 
Transporter 
Requirements

 Approval of Act 138
permit & registration
result in issuance of
“Credential” seen left

 Credential must be
carried during 
transportation & 
presented upon 
inspection request 
(electronic or paper)

 Credential lists 
effective period
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Hazardous 
and Liquid 
Industrial 
Waste 
Transportation 
Requirements

Employ onlyAct 138 permitted & 
registered transporters to 
transport hazardous and/or liquid 
industrial waste by public 
roadway

Verify Act 138 transporter 
credential information by going 
to www.Michigan.gov/deqwaste, 
selecting “Transporters” and 
following the  instruction to find 
“Participating Transporters.”
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Shipping 
Documents
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As of 3/16/16 law 
change, uniform 
manifests no longer 
required for shipping 
liquid industrial 
by‐product

Shipping document 
required instead ‐
can be written or 
electronic

Shipping 
Documents
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Shipping 
Documents

May be a log, invoice, bill of lading, 
or uniform hazardous waste 
manifest

Must be readable, readily 
accessible, and have required 
information

May be written or electronic

Must meet U.S. DOT requirements
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Shipping 
Documents

Required information:

 Name and address of the 
generator

 Name of the transporter

 Type and volume of by‐product 
shipped

 Date the by‐product was shipped

 Name, address and Site ID 
number of the designated facility
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Individual 
Shipping 
Document 
Certification

Generator or generator representative 
signs/certifies shipping document 
stating:

 the shipping document fully and 
accurately describes the shipment

 the shipment is in proper condition 
for transport

 the shipping document information 
is factual
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Individual 
Shipping 
Document 
Certification

Transporter signs/certifies shipping 
document stating by‐product listed on 
shipping document:

 was received

 will be delivered to the designated 
facility identified on the shipping 
document
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Individual 
Shipping 
Document 
Distribution

Generator retains copy of shipping 
documents with generator and 
transporter signature

Transporter obtains copy of shipping 
document with both signatures which 
accompanies the shipment during 
transport
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Individual 
Shipping 
Document 
Certification & 
Distribution

Designated facility – No certification or shipping 
document distribution is required

Designated facility must:

 provide confirmation of receipt to the 
generator or generator representative and 

 only accept delivery where accompanied by 
shipping document listing the designated 
facility

Designated facility confirmation  may be written 
or electronic (documented phone call, email, 
receipt, shipping document or manifest copy) 
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For a CONSOLIDATED shipping 
document, transporter fulfills generator 
duties in completing the shipping 
document transporter AND provides 
receipt to generator with: 

 Transporter name 
 Driver’s signature 
 Date of pickup 
 Type and quantity of by product 

accepted/shipped
 Consolidated shipping document 

number, and 
 Designated facility 

Consolidated 
Shipping 
Document 
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Consolidated 
Shipping 
Document 

Generator of brine may complete a 
single shipping document per 

transporter of brine per disposal 
well per month
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Manifests 
and Site ID
Liquid Industrial 
By-products

All Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifests 
submitted to the U.S. EPA e‐Manifest 
system require a Site ID

Generators using the e‐manifest system 
as shipping document must obtain and 
use a Site ID



Michigan | Waste Webinar | May 2018

Manifests 
and Site ID
Liquid Industrial 
By-products

Generators using the Uniform Hazardous 
Waste Manifest as PAPER shipping 
document can enter the following for the 
Site ID field:

 MICESQG for CESQG waste only
 MILIB for liquid industrial by‐product 

only
 MICESQGLIB for CESQG and liquid 

industrial by‐product 
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Shipping 
Documents
Generators

Generators must provide a copy of the 
shipping document to transporters to 
accompany the by product to the 
designated facility

Generators must obtain confirmation of 
by‐product receipt by the designated 
facility

If not received timely, generator must 
contact designated facility, and if receipt 
is not verified, report to the DEQ
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Individual 
Shipping 
Documents
Transporters

Transporter must provide 
certification of acceptance of by 
product to generator, and deliver 

the by product only to the 
designated facility specified by the 

shipping document
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Consolidated 
Shipping 
Documents
Transporters

Consolidated shipping documents are 
permitted for a single shipment of 
uniform types of liquid industrial 
by‐product collected from multiple 
pickups for a single transport event

Transporter fulfills generator duties in 
completing the shipping document 
AND provides receipt to generator 
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Consolidated 
Shipping 
Documents
Transporters

Transporter receipt for generator 
must include:

 Transporter company name
 Driver’s signature
 Date of pickup
 Type and quantity of by‐product 

accepted 
 The consolidated shipping 

document number
 The designated facility 
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Designated facilities:

 Can only accept delivery of by‐product 
if the facility is the destination 
indicated on the shipping document

 Must provide the generator or 
authorized representative confirmation 
of receipt of 
by‐product

 Must maintain records of 
characterization

Liquid 
Industrial 
By-product 
Shipments
Designated 
Facility
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Manifests
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Hazardous 
Waste 
Pre-Transport 
Requirements
(Rule 305)

Package, label, & mark each hazardous waste 
package to meet U.S. DOT  regulations

Mark each container of ≤119 gallons with: 
 “HAZARDOUS WASTE – Federal Law 

Prohibits  Improper Disposal.  If found, 
contact the nearest police or public safety 
authority or the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency.”

 Generator name and address
 Generator Site Identification Number
 Manifest Tracking Number 
 Hazardous waste codes for the waste 
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Placards

SQG shipping > 1000 lbs. & 
LQG must have US DOT   
placards available for   
transporters  

Call Michigan State Police, 
Commercial Vehicle 
Enforcement Division for     
more info about placards 
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Manifests

Uniform Manifest must be used when 
hiring permitted and registered 
transporter to ship hazardous waste 
from a small quantity or large quantity 
generator

Shipping documents can be used for 
shipping liquid industrial by‐product, 
including conditionally exempt small 
quantity generator hazardous waste
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Manifests 

Uniform Manifest exceptions:

 SQGs shipping hazardous waste 
off‐site for reclamation and 
regenerated material is brought 
back to generator under a tolling 
agreement

 Bill of lading still required if U.S. 
DOT hazardous material
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Manifests

Generators must keep track of 
shipments and submittal of manifests

Manifest copies signed by the disposal 
facility should be sent back to the 
generator after date of shipment by:

SQG ‐ 60 days: file exception report
LQG ‐ 45 days: file exception report
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Manifests

Generators are 
responsible for all 
information on 
manifests

“Two signature” copy 
called “generator copy”

“Three  signature” copy 
called “TSD copy” – Has 
3 signatures verifying 
delivery to disposal 
facility
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Manifests 
Common 
Violations

Using wrong Site ID 
number

Using wrong or incorrect 
waste codes

Failing to keep signed 
manifests for three years

Failing to have records of 
used oil shipped on 
consolidated manifest
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Current Manifest Procedure

Generator completes 
manifest 

Generator calls for 
pick‐up

Generator

# = page of manifest retained

Page

6
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Current Manifest Procedure

 Generator & transporter 
certify manifest 
information meets 
hazardous waste & U.S. 
DOT requirements

 Generator certifies to 
having pollution 
prevention plan/waste 
minimization plan

Generator Transporter
Page

6
Page

5

# = page of manifest retained
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Current Manifest Procedure

If transporter certifies for 
generator because they 
prepared shipment for 
transport, transporter must:

 Be familiar with 
generator’s pollution 
prevention plan/waste 
minimization plan and

 Add the words “ON BEHALF
OF”where they sign in 
Item 15

Generator Transporter
Page

6
Page

5

# = page of manifest retained
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Current Manifest Procedure

Designated facility and 
transporter certify to 
manifest information 
accuracy and waste 
delivery via signature of 
manifest

Transporter
Designated

Facility
Page

5
Page

4

# = page of manifest retained
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Current Manifest Procedure
Michigan TSDs electronically 
transmit hazardous waste 
manifests for shipments 
received to the DEQ each 
month 

 Generators are responsible 
for submitting hazardous 
waste manifests signed by 
the receiving out‐of‐state 
hazardous waste TSDs to the 
DEQ

Page

2

Page

4

DEQ

Out of State
Designated Facility

# = page of manifest retained
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Current Manifest Procedure

TSD sends generator 
signed copy

Page

6

Generator Designated Facility

#

= page of manifest retained

Page

3
Page

4

= page of manifest retained
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Current Manifest Procedure
Small Quantity Generator

If generator does not receive TSD signed copy within 
60 days of shipment, generator must send a copy of the 
manifest with an explanation of the issue to the DEQ.

Page

6

Generator Designated 
Facility

#

= page of manifest retained

Page

3
Page

4

= page of manifest retained
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Current Manifest Procedure
Large Quantity Generator

If generator does not receive TSD signed copy within 
35 days of shipment, generator must send a copy of the 
manifest with an explanation of the issue to the DEQ.

Page

6

Generator Designated 
Facility

#

= page of manifest retained

Page

3
Page

4

= page of manifest retained
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Current Manifest Procedure

Following generator receipt 
of Page 3 of the manifest with 
the TSD signature, Generator 
can recycle Page 6 if desired

Generator keeps 
Page 3 for at least 3 
years from date of 
off‐site shipment

Page

3
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Current Manifest Procedure

Page 2 only required 
for out‐of‐state 
hazardous waste 
shipments

Page

6

Generator Designated Facility

= page of manifest retained

Page

3
Page

4

Page

2

Page

1 Destination State  
(if required)

Transporter
Page

5

DEQ
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Manifest 
Sections

52

Generator

International

Transporter

Destination 
Facility
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Generator Manifest Section

Trans Site  IDs
Trans Names

Destination 
Facility Site IDDestination 

Facility Name

Gen Emergency Contact
Gen Name & Mailing Address

Gen Site ID



Michigan | Waste Webinar | May 2018

US DOT Description (inc, Proper 
Shipping Name, Hazard Class, ID 
Number and Packing Group

Container 
Number

Container 
Type

Hazardous Material column
Enter “X” if material in this 
row is a hazardous material

Total Quantity

Weight or 
Volume

Waste 
Code

Generator Manifest Section
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Special Handling (e.g. note if 
universal waste in Michigan)

Generator 
Certification
Printed Name

Generator 
Certification
Signature

Transporter
SignatureTransporter

Printed Name

Destination Facility
Printed Name

Destination Facility
Signature
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Common 
Manifest 
Errors

#1 –Failure to keep 
reliable filing 

Wrong waste 
codes

Wrong volumes

Failure to track 
manifest time 
limits

system



Michigan | Waste Webinar | May 2018

Manifest &
Shipping 
Document 
Tracking Log
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Additional Resources for Manifests and 
Shipping Documents:

www.michigan.gov/ehsguide, Chapter 2

http://www.deq.state.mi.us/pubcenter/

 Liquid Industrial By‐products FAQ

 Hazardous Waste, Liquid Industrial 
Waste, and PCB Manifest Requirements 
(aka Michigan Manifest Instructions)

Additional 
Resources
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New e‐Manifesting 
Regulations

Rich Conforti
Management and Tracking Unit Supervisor
Hazardous Waste Section, Lansing
Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
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On April 5, 2017, Michigan rules adopting 
e‐Manifests  became effective providing for:

 e‐Manifests initiated, completed, and 
transmitted in accordance with 40 CFR 
262.20a(3), including those using secure 
e‐signatures for generator, transporter and 
TSD to be the legal equivalent of paper 
manifests with handwritten signatures

 Requiring access to the e‐Manifest system 
via desktop or portable electronic devices

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 
608)
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TSD receiving shipments required to be 
manifested must:

 If receiving a paper manifest, submit 
manifest electronically to EPA per 
40 CFR 264.71(j)

 Pay a per‐manifest fee to EPA for 
processing the e‐manifest

Electronic Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 608)

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 
608)
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TSDs have four different e‐manifest 
system submittal options: 

 paper manifest (via mail) ‐ $20

 scanned, adobe (pdf) image of each paper 
manifest ‐ $13 

 data file of all manifests ‐ $7

 e‐manifest, originated in the e‐manifest 
system, electronically signed by the 
generator, transporter and receiving TSD 
(paperless manifest) ‐ $4

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 
608)
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System launch is on June 30, 2018

First e‐Manifests will be accepted by EPA on 
July 1, 2018

On and after July 1, 2018 all manifests must 
be submitted to EPA for processing

No more DEQ manifest handler fees for 
manifests initiated after July 1, 2018

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 
608)
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EPA is coordinating with DOT 

E‐manifest system will allow users to 
print a manifest that satisfies the U.S. 
DOT shipping paper requirements

U.S. DOT regulations still require hard 
copy PAPER MANIFESTS be in the 
power unit during transportation! 

Print all e‐manifest for transport!!!

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 
608)
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Manifest process (distribution) and 
instructions for completing a paper 
manifest are the same for the 
electronic manifest 

Data elements will remain the same

Only differences involve completing 
an electronic form and signing the 
form electronically and only 5 pages 
for new paper manifest copies

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 
608)
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TSDs accepting waste from states 
other than Michigan originating on a 
manifest due to the out of state 
regulations must register and submit 
manifests to the e‐manifest system

For example, if the material is 
hazardous in OH and non‐hazardous in 
Michigan, the receiving facility must 
submit the e‐manifest and pay the fee

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 
409, 608)
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e‐Manifest system will collect manifests for 
all wastes shipped on a manifest, including 
those regulated as hazardous waste by EPA 
and by states

e‐Manifest system can be used for liquid 
industrial by‐products documented on a 
uniform manifest 

e‐Manifests submitted to EPA will all be 
charged relevant fees

Electronic Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 608)

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 
608)
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Generators are encouraged to:

 review TSD literature on e‐Manifest transition

 View EPA system walkthrough at 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0H5ctnJEcfg  

 See EPA web resources: www.epa.gov/e‐manifest 

 Register and test drive e‐manifest system 

 When shipping liquid industrial by‐product using the 
e‐Manifest system, use the Liquid Industrial 
By‐product Waste Codes for completing the 
manifest

Electronic Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 608)

Electronic 
Manifests
(Rules 103, 304, 409, 
608)
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Additional Resources for e‐Manifests:

 See e‐Manifest FAQs and Fact Sheets at 
www.epa.gov/e‐manifest

 View Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest 
(e‐Manifest) System Walkthrough on YouTube

 Register at https://rcrainfo.epa.gov/rcrainfoprod 
to view your e‐manifests 

 Contact your receiving TSD

Additional 
Resources
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Additional Resources for Manifests and 
Shipping Documents:

www.michigan.gov/ehsguide, Chapter 2

http://www.deq.state.mi.us/pubcenter/

 Liquid Industrial By‐products FAQ

 Hazardous Waste, Liquid Industrial Waste, 
and PCB Manifest Requirements (aka 
Michigan Manifest Instructions)

Additional 
Resources
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Questions?


