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DNRE Transport Regulations
e Act 138, Michigan Hazardous Materials Transportation Act
o Act 451, Michigan Natural Resource and Environmental Protection Act
. Part 111, Hazardous Waste Management
« Part 121, Liquid Industrial Waste

Hazardous Material Definition
e US Department of Transportation (US DOT) hazardous
material includes all materials that pose an unreasonable
threat to the public and the environment during transport and
include:
Hazardous Substances
Hazardous Wastes
Marine Pollutants
Elevated Temperature Material
Materials identified in 49 CFR' Part 172.101
Materials meeting the definitions contained in 49 CFR Part 173.
S DOT hazardous materials are broken down into 9 classes that include:
Explosives
Gasses
Flammable liquids
Flammable solids
Oxidizing substances/organic peroxides
Poisonous (toxic)/ infectious substances
Radioactive materials
Corrosive materials
Miscellaneous dangerous goods
o Act 138 hazardous material includes only hazardous waste and liquid industrial waste
US DOT hazardous material regulation is entirely separate and distinct from Act 138
hazardous materials and the regulations are entirely different from one another.
¢ A material that is a US DOT hazardous material and an Act 138 hazardous material must
be managed in compliance with both the US DOT regulations and Act 138
(e.g. off-specification waste fuel [gasoline] or spent pickle liquor/acid bath)
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! CFR is the federal “Code of Federal Regulations”
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Transportation, Hazardous Material, Implementing Authority
¢ Michigan State Police, Traffic Safety Division implements US DOT regulations and
permits US DOT hazardous materialtransporters
o DNRE implements Act 138 and permits and registers Act 7138 hazardous materials
transporters

Act 138 Hazardous Material Information/Contacts
e Barbara Stevens - 586-753-3850
o Jeanette Noechel - 586-753-3846
e EAC-800-662-9278 (800- NO2-WASTE)
e Act 138 Web Information at www.michigan.gov/dnre, select “Waste,” then “Hazardous
and Liquid Industrial Waste Transporters”

US DOT Hazardous Material Information/Contacts

Michigan State Police, Traffic Safety Division - 517-336-6580
Intrastate U.S DOT Number Information - 888-464-8736

Michigan Center from Truck Safety - 800-682-4682

US DOT Web information at http://www.phmsa.dot.gov/hazmat/regs

Act 138 Transporter Requirements

e Permit (3 yr) & Registration (1 yr) required for Ao o o st T
(MCL? 29.473(3) and (4)): o rggar Grecenal e

ALLL

« Hazardous waste transport F—— ANCE
« Liquid industrial waste transport
« Hazardous and liquid industrial waste transport

e Fleet liability coverage must be maintained for
accidental occurrences (no less than $1,000,000 per
occurrence for hazardous waste and $750,000 or
$300,000 per occurrence for liquid industrial waste)
(MCL? 29.473(5))

o Approval of Act 138 permit & registration result in
issuance of “Credential’

e Credential must be carried at all times by transporter &
presented upon inspection (MCL* 29.473(7))

e Credential lists effective period
Permitted and registered hazardous and liquid industrial waste transporters found on-line
at www.michigan.gov/dnre, and selecting “Waste,” “Hazardous & Liquid Industrial Waste
Transporters,” and then “Participating Transporters”

Act 138 Transporter Permit/Registration Exemptions
o Self transportation (MCL 29.473(9))
« Applies only to liquid industrial waste (not hazardous waste)

2 MCL is the “Michigan Compiled Law” reference for the statute, so MCL 324.12103 is Section 12103 of
Part 121.
¥ MCL is the “Michigan Compiled Law” reference for the statute, so MCL 324.12103 is Section 12103 of
Part 121.
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. Applies only to owner/operator transporting liquid industrial waste from
owner/operator site generated from property or equipment in which the generator of
the waste has an ownership interest

. Still requires insurance

o Governmental transportation of liquid industrial waste or hazardous waste in vehicles

owned and operated by government employees (MCL 29.480)

¢ On-site (not on public roadway) transportation (MCL 29.472(f))

Hazardous Waste Pre-Transport Requirements (MAC® R 299.9305)
o Package, label, and mark each hazardous waste package in accordance with US DOT

regulations AND
e Mark each container of <119 gallons with shipping label that
identifies: { HAZARDOUS !
. “HAZARDOUS WASTE - Federal Law Prohibits Improper _WASTE
Disposal. If found, contact the nearest police or public safety Sl s
authority or the US Environmental Protection Agency.” T i

« Generator name and address —
« Generator Site Identification Number L
« Manifest Tracking Number

. Hazardous waste codes identifying the waste

Placards (MAC R 299.9305)

e Small quantity generator (SQG) shipping > 1000 Ibs & large quantity generator (LQG)
must have US DOT placards available for transporters

¢ Call Michigan State Police, Traffic Safety Division at 517-336-6580 for more info about
placards

Hazardous and Liquid Industrial Waste Transportation Requirements (MAC R 299.9403 & MCL
324.12103)

e Employ only Act 138 permitted & registered transporters to transport hazardous and/or
liquid industrial waste by public roadway

o Verify Act 138 transporter credential information by going to www.michigan.gov/dnre,
“Waste,” “Hazardous and Liquid Industrial Waste Transporters,” and “Participating
Transporters”

Self Transportation

e Self transportation of hazardous waste requires Act 138 permit, registration, & fleet
liability coverage unless exempt government employee transporting government waste
in vehicles owned and operated by government

o Self transportation of liquid industrial waste may be exempt from Act 138 permit &
registration, but is subject to having fleet liability coverage

e Self transport of Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generator waste to household
hazardous waste collection is exempt from Act 138 permit & registration if transported in
volumes < 55 gallons in accordance Operational Memo 121-2

o Self transport < 55 gallons without a manifest requires explicit records and transport of
volumes = 55 gallons requires a manifest

> MAC is the “Michigan Administrative Code” reference for the rule, so MAC R 299.9303 is Rule 303 of the
Part 111 Rules.
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Self Transportation (MCL 324.12103(4))

Generators transporting own liquid industrial waste in volumes < 55 gallons does not

require manifest if:

. Waste is accompanied by record showing the source & quantity of the waste and the
designated facility where the waste is being shipped

. Generator obtains signature from the designated facility acknowledging receipt of the
waste and provides a copy of the record of shipment to the designated facility

« Generator retains a copy of the shipment record for 3 years from the date of
shipment

Land Disposal Restrictions (LDR) Overview (MAC R 299.9311 and 40 CFR 268)

Applies to listed & characteristic hazardous waste from SQGs & LQGs

Requires generator characterize, provide LDR notice to treatment, storage, and/or
disposal (TSD) facility, and maintain records 3 years

Requires treatment before land disposal for most waste

Determine if treatment required by reviewing if waste codes for each waste stream
meets the standards in 40 CFR 268.40, 268.45 (debris), or 268.49 (soil)

Land disposal includes any disposal on land (landfill, land treatment, injection well, salt
caverns, etc)

Notification required even for shipment to non-land based TSDs (e.g. incinerator)

New LDR notification must be sent when there is a waste or facility change

Also referred to as “land ban” requirements

LDR notice is required when generators performing on-site treatment prior to shipment
and when using tolling agreement to ship hazardous waste for recycling
Characterization to meet LDRs must evaluate underlying hazardous constituents and
can be done using knowledge and/or testing

Discuss LDR requirements with your TSD as many have preprinted forms that can be
used to assist generators in meeting the LDRs

LDR Applicability Tables (40 CFR 268.40, 268.45, or 268.49)

LDR Evaluation

Compare all hazardous waste codes for each waste stream to 40 CFR 268.40, 268.45,
or 268.49 to determine if treatment required prior to land disposal

If waste code is in referenced table, compare concentration of hazardous constituent(s)
in waste to limit(s) in table (wastewater or non-wastewater)

If hazardous constituent concentration in waste exceeds concentration in table OR a
treatment technology is listed in table, treatment is required prior to land disposal
Waste subiject to the LDRs must be treated to below the maximum concentration limits
listed in 40 CFR 268.48 to be land disposed

LDR Treatment Table (40 CFR 268.48)

LDR Generator Recordkeeping

40 CFR 268.7(a) contains the LDR recordkeeping requirements for generators

If the waste does not meet the land disposal standards OR chooses to assume it does
not meet the treatment standards, with the initial shipment of each waste stream to each
TSD, the generator must send a one-time written notice and place a copy in the file
stating the waste does not meet the LDR standards.
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If the waste meets the treatment standard at the original point of generation, with the
initial shipment of each waste stream to each TSD, the generator must send a one-time
written notice and certification stating he/she has reviewed the waste characterization
data, is familiar with it and the characterization supports the certification stating the
waste complies with the treatment standards in 40 CFR 268 and place a copy in the file
Generators treating a prohibited waste to meet the standards in 40 CFR 268.48 must
have a written waste analysis plan describing the activities they perform to meet the
treatment standards

All generator LDR records are required to be maintained for 3 years from the last date of
shipment or on-site treatment and/or disposal, whichever is later

Universal Waste Standards (R 299.9228)

Universal waste standards are a set of streamlined standards for managing hazardous
waste that are intended to help facilitate easier, less expensive disposal and/or
development of recycling markets

Universal Waste Types:

« Electric Lamps

. Batteries

. Pesticides

« Consumer Electronics

« Mercury Containing Devices

. Pharmaceuticals

« Antifreeze

See DNRE Publication Center Universal Waste, Electric Lamp, Bulb Crusher, and
Electronic Equipment Guidance Documents

Bulb Crushing

On-site bulb crushers are NOT RECOMMENDED due to possible mercury emissions
Discuss requirements with DNRE waste and air program staff and MIOSHA prior to
installing or operating

An air use permit to install is required

Crushed bulbs must be counted toward generator status

See DNRE Publication Center Electric Lamp Guidance

Universal Waste Mercury Devices

Thermostats, automotive mercury switches, sphygmomanometers, and thermometers

Sale ban on mercury thermostats and thermometers

Use and sale ban on sphygmomanometers

Collection options include

« Michigan Department of Agriculture Clean Sweep collections

« Local household hazardous waste collection events

« Auto switch collections through the end of life vehicle solutions (ELVS) programs that
have on-line information on the program at elvsolutions.org

« Michigan Energy Options local collection assistance who has information on their
assistance options at www.mec.org

Additional information on mercury initiatives, legislation and more is also available on-

line at www.michigan.gov/degmercuryp2
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Universal Waste Consumer Electronics (MAC R 299.9102(q))

o Consumer Electronics Devices with circuit boards or liquid crystal/plasma displays
common to homes and offices and the same devices found in other settings (e.g.
computers, cell phones, televisions, stereos, PDAs, DVD players, etc.)

o See DNRE Publication Center Universal Waste and Electronic Equipment Guidance

Pharmaceuticals (MAC R 299.9106(n))

e Drugs only

e Does not include medical waste

¢ Medical waste is infectious or potentially infectious (e.g. sharps/needles, vaccines with
live viruses, body tissue, etc.)

¢ Do not mix medical waste with pharmaceuticals unless disposing of the waste at a
permitted & licensed hazardous waste incinerator authorized to incinerate mixed medical
waste

o See DNRE Publication Center Universal Waste and Mixed Medical Waste Guidance

Universal Waste Standard Advantages

e Universal waste volume is not included when determining hazardous waste generator
status which may allow some sites to reduce their generator status level and regulatory
requirements.

¢ Universal waste can be accumulated up to one year. much longer than that allowed for
SQG and LQG hazardous waste

e Less labeling
No hazardous waste manifest required; but if liquid, a liquid industrial waste manifest is
required

e Act 138 credentialed hazardous waste transporter not required; but if liquid, a liquid
industrial waste Act 138 credentialed transporter is required

Universal Waste Requirements for All Handlers
e Cannot dispose of universal waste
e Cannot treat universal waste except when:
« Responding to a release
« Performing treatment exempt from hazardous waste permitting/licensing or
authorized under universal waste handler regulations
e Manage waste in a way to avoid releases
Can accumulate universal waste for up to one year, much longer than that allowed for
SQG and LQGs
e Send or take universal waste to another handler, destination facility, or foreign
destination.
Inform employees about proper handling and emergency procedure for the waste
¢ If mixing universal waste with other non-hazardous wastes, managing mixture according
to the universal waste standards
e Make prior arrangement for shipment to another universal waste handler
e Label each item or container holding items:
« Universal waste “item name” OR
« Waste “item name” OR
. Used “item name” (e.g. “Universal Waste Pharmaceutical” OR
“Waste Pharmaceutical” OR
. “Used Pharmaceuticals”)
e Meet liquid industrial waste manifesting requirements if liquid
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Meet US DOT regulations for all shipments

Meet other state’s requirements if shipping waste out-of-state

If other state does not recognize the waste stream as a universal waste type (and waste
must be manifested as a hazardous waste), note in Box 14 of the out-of-state hazardous
waste manifest that waste was managed as a universal waste in Michigan

Meet exportation requirements if shipping universal waste out to other countries

Universal Waste Handler Handler Types:

Small Quantity Universal Waste Handler

« No Site Identification Form required

« Handles < 11,000 pounds (total all universal waste types combined) during entire
calendar year

Large Quantity Universal Waste Handler

. Site ldentification Form required

« Handles = 11,000 pounds (total all universal waste types combined) at any time
during calendar year

Used Oil (R 299.9203, R 299.9205, Part 8 rules of Part 111, Part 167, and MCL 324.12103)

Used oil is subject to regulation under Parts 111, 121, and 167 of the Michigan Natural
Resource and Environmental Protection Act

Part 111 and 121 establish hazardous waste and liquid industrial management standards
for the used oll

Part 167 requires that the used oil be recycled

Used oil generally does not include used oil containing >1000 PPM halogens

Used oil with > 1000 PPM halogens is a presumed listed hazardous waste unless
sufficient characterization data can be presented to “rebut the presumption” that the
halogens are present from mixing used oil with a listed hazardous waste (chlorinated
solvents)

“Rebutting the presumption” is complicated for transporters & processors accepting used
oil from multiple sources and most will not accept used oil > 1000 PPM halogens

Total halogens are usually tested using SW 846 or using on-site testing equipment like
“Chlor-D-Tect”

If > 1000 PPM halogens present, additional, costly testing is required to “rebut” whether
used oil was mixed with hazardous waste:

« Analyze for all halogenated Appendix VIII constituent

« If>100 PPM used oil fails and must be managed as a hazardous waste

Liquid Industrial Waste (MCL 324.12102 and MCL 324.12103)

Obtain and utilize Site Identification Number if manifesting liquid industrial waste for
disposal

Container or tank accumulation only

Label containers/tanks with words “Used Oil” or their contents (MAC R 299.9810(3))
Containers/tanks must be compatible with the wastes, closed, and in good condition
Protect waste from weather, physical damage, fire, and vandals

Accumulation conducted to prevent escape of wastes to air, water, sewers or the ground
Report releases that could threaten health, safety, welfare, or environment

Respond to releases to stop, contain, and clean up the spill

Manifest off-site shipments unless consolidated manifesting or self transporting with a
trip log

Use Act 138 permitted & registered liquid industrial waste transporter


http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/Op_Memo_121-03_247935_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/deq/deq-whm-hwp-Michigan-LIW-Transporters_222600_7.pdf

Dos

Ship waste only to a designated facility with a Site Identification Number unless treating
and/or disposing of the waste on-site

If disposing of liquid industrial waste on-site to the POTW, maintain record of POTW
authorization for the discharge

Manage in accordance with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Spill Control and
Countermeasures requirements; Part 31 Water Resources Pollution Incident Prevention
Plan requirements, and any tank installation/registration requirements

Follow exemption requirements

Maintain required records (characterization, manifests, land disposal restriction, monthly
generator status, etc.)

Minimize waste to minimize regulatory burden

Notify DNRE of reportable releases

Train staff to handle hazardous waste and respond to emergencies

Confirm questionable exemptions with DNRE staff

Utilize universal waste standard where possible

Institute measures to prevent releases

Document correction of observed violations to DNRE ASAP

Review waste characterization at the time of each process or material change
Routinely dispose of wastes

Ship hazardous waste using manifest & via credentialed transporter
Preventing repeat violations during subsequent inspections

Keeping waste characterizations on- site

Ensure you have staff that understand the regulations

Do Nots

Store greater than 90/180 days (SQG/LQGQG)

Overlook re-characterizing and/or illegally dispose

Install hazardous waste tanks without certification

Operate as a SQG or LQG without required secondary containment, training, and
emergency planning

Rely solely on your vendor to ensure compliance

Transport hazardous waste and/or liquid industrial waste without the required permit and
registration

Need Help?

Go to www.michigan.gov/dnre and select “Waste”

Contact the DNRE Environmental Assistance Center at 800-662-9278
(800-NO2-WASTE)

Search the DNRE Publication Center

Contact DNRE district waste inspection staff

Contact hazardous waste vendors

Contact waste consultants
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