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Summary 
A work group comprised of staff from the Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ), Waste Management Division (WMD), and representatives of industry and 
environmental organizations (see attached list), propose a combination of user 
charges to raise approximately $1.6 million each year to administer the state’s 
Hazardous Waste Program.  The work group considered the amount of funds 
necessary to administer the Hazardous Waste Program and the sources 
available to meet that need.  The combination of user charges, which includes 
annual handler charges, a charge for the Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest, 
and a charge to process the Notification of Hazardous Waste Activity form, is the 
most equitable, broad-based, reliable, and easy to pay and collect system of 
user charges among those considered by the work group. 
 
Hazardous Waste Program 
The management of hazardous waste in Michigan is regulated under Part 111, 
Hazardous Waste Management, of the Natural Resources and Environmental 
Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended (Act 451), and the federal Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976, as amended (RCRA).  The Hazardous 
Waste Program is a comprehensive, proactive environmental protection program 
designed to assure that all hazardous waste, from the time that it is generated 
until the time that it is ultimately recycled, treated, or disposed, is managed in a 
manner that is protective of the public and the environment.  The WMD is 
responsible for administering the Hazardous Waste Program, and is assisted 
from time to time by the DEQ’s Criminal Investigations Section, the Department 
of Attorney General, and Michigan’s Environmental Laboratory. 
 
Hazardous Waste Program Costs 
The Hazardous Waste Program costs approximately $5.1 million annually.  This 
amount includes $4,340,000 for staffing, $510,000 for major equipment and 
contractual services, and $250,000 for temporary services from the federal 
Senior Environmental Employee Program (SEEPs).  Sixty-seven full-time 
equivalent (FTE) positions, including SEEPs, are allocated to the program.  
Table 1 shows the allocation and costs of FTEs and SEEPs by activity. 
 
Note that the SEEPs are providing essential services to the Hazardous Waste 
Program.  The SEEPs are employed by the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) on a temporary basis.  When their funding runs 
out, the WMD will still have to perform the tasks done by the SEEPs, at a 
substantially higher cost. 
 
Hazardous Waste Program Funding 
The Hazardous Waste Program costs are borne by $3.6 million in federal funds 
and $1.5 million in state funds.  The federal funds are available through the 
RCRA grant, U.S. EPA contracts, and the Great Lakes Initiative grant.  The state 
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funds are derived from the hazardous and liquid industrial waste transporter 
license fees and general funds. 
 
The reason Michigan must now impose user charges is that the transporter 
license fees will no longer be available for the Hazardous Waste Program.  
Michigan is in the process of implementing the Uniform Hauler Program under 
which license fees are apportioned among the participating states.  License fee 
revenue in Michigan will diminish to about $180,000 to $200,000, and 
approximately $100,000 of that will be dedicated to the Michigan State Police, 
Motor Carrier Division, to conduct audits and safety inspections.  The remaining 
license fee revenues will support one position in the WMD for administering the 
Uniform Hauler Program. 
 

Table 1:  Hazardous Waste Program Costs 
 

 
Activity 

 
FTEs 

FTEs 
Subtotal 

 
FTE Costs 

 
SEEPs 

SEEP 
Costs 

Compliance and Enforcement      

Lansing 4     

Field 21   2 $55,555 

CIS 3     

AG 2     

 -- 30 $2,244,828    

Permits      

Permits/Closures/Certifications/ 
Financial Assurance 

 
6 

    

Corrective Action 8     

Waste Characterization 1     

Comprehensive Monitoring 
Evaluations 

 
2 

   
1 

 
$27,778 

 -- 17 $1,272,069   

Management and Reporting  6 $448,966 4 $111,111 

Rules/Authorization  1 $74,828   

Hauler Licensing  1 $74,828 1 $27,778 

Manifest System  3 $224,483 1 $27,778 

Total  58 $4,340,000 9 $250,000 

 
User Charges 
The work group considered numerous user charges to raise the needed  
$1.6 million.  Users are considered to be those persons and businesses that 
derive a service or benefit (compliance assistance, license, etc.) from the 
Hazardous Waste Program, and those that create the hazards (hazardous 
waste, landfill, etc.) that the Hazardous Waste Program was developed to 
address.  The work group also considered other options that are not true user 
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charges, such as the use of the state’s general fund.  Table 2 is a summary of 
the options considered. 
 
Work Group Consensus 
The work group’s goal was to achieve consensus on a proposal for hazardous 
waste user charges.  A consensus was not reached because some members of 
the work group supported the use of the state’s general fund instead of user 
charges.  This report focuses on user charges because the DEQ is required 
under Section 11126a of Act 451 to submit a report to the Legislature which 
recommends user charges.  Copies of letters from the work group members 
regarding their support for user charges are attached. 
 
Consequences of Failure to Enact User Charges 
If user charges are not enacted, then the DEQ will have to rely upon the 
Legislature each year for appropriations from the general fund for the Hazardous 
Waste Program.  If those general fund appropriations are inadequate to match 
the federal grant and to run an effective program, then the state’s Hazardous 
Waste Program will be in jeopardy.  In the likely event that the U.S. EPA would 
then eliminate the federal grant (over $3 million) and revoke Michigan’s 
authorization to administer the Hazardous Waste Program, the following would 
occur: 
 
1. The DEQ would no longer issue construction permits and operating licenses 

for hazardous waste facilities.  The U.S. EPA would make these decisions 
under federal law.  The federal permitting rules do not address concerns that 
are important to Michigan:  a defensible siting process for new facilities which 
addresses local community impacts; location standards for new facilities; the 
environmental compliance history of hazardous waste facility developers; 
special landfill design standards; environmental monitoring standards; 
coordination of permit decisions with other state environmental protection 
laws; and regulation of commercial hazardous wastewater treatment facilities.  
Michigan would essentially lose control over the siting and licensing of 
hazardous waste management facilities, and over the ability to enforce 
environmental protection standards that are important to Michigan’s citizens. 

2. The DEQ would no longer approve closure plans or corrective action plans 
for the cleanup of hazardous waste management facilities.  The U.S. EPA 
would make these decisions under federal law.  The federal closure and 
corrective action rules and guidance do not integrate Michigan’s cleanup 
standards developed under Part 201, Environmental Remediation, of Act 
451.  In addition, the U.S. EPA would not have the same priorities as the 
DEQ for cleanups and brownfields redevelopment, and would not be as 
sensitive to the impact of its decisions on Michigan’s business climate. 

3. The State of Michigan would no longer have any financial assurance that the 
hazardous waste closures and corrective actions would be done, exposing 
Michigan taxpayers to millions of dollars in additional cleanup costs.  The 
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U.S. EPA would administer its own financial assurance program, but the 
federal financial assurance requirements are less stringent than Michigan’s, 
and the U.S. EPA would be the beneficiary of any financial assurance 
obtained under federal regulations. 

4. The State of Michigan would no longer conduct compliance inspections at 
facilities generating hazardous waste nor would enforcement action be taken 
at facilities violating current regulations.  

5. Michigan taxpayers would be further exposed to cleanup costs because the 
DEQ would not administer the hazardous waste manifest system.  The 
manifest system helps ensure that hazardous waste is properly transported 
and disposed, and identifies responsible parties for cleanups at disposal 
sites. 

6. Michigan would have to compete for the U.S. EPA’s limited resources.  This 
could result in delayed or incomplete implementation of multi-media initiatives 
in the DEQ. 

Overall, the U.S. EPA could not administer a program that is as effective at 
protecting Michigan’s citizens and environment.  This would lessen incentives to 
reduce the amount of hazardous waste generated, increase the opportunities for 
mismanagement of hazardous waste, and expose Michigan’s citizens to 
unnecessary environmental and economic risks. 
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Table 2:  Summary Analysis of Hazardous Waste User Charge Options 

 
The following table summarizes an analysis of various user charges for the hazardous waste program.  The analysis 
presents information to help determine whether a user charge is equitable (those that benefit the most or cause most of 
the hazard should pay more), broad-based (spread out over a large group with lower chance for fluctuations in revenue 
caused by changes in the economic activity of group members), reliable and enforceable (clear ability to produce revenue 
and not intended to change behavior), and easy to pay and collect.  Example charge amounts and anticipated revenues 
are also shown.  The user charges identified with an asterisk are recommended by the work group. 
 
 Equitable Broad-Based Reliable and Enforceable Easy to Pay and Collect 

* Notification Form 

Processing Charge  
 
Charge $50 to process the 
Notification of Hazardous 
Waste Activity form 
required of all newly-
regulated handlers.  The 
form is used to assign a 
unique identification 
number to the handler. 
 
1,000 x $50 = $50,000 

A one-time charge 
assessed to the recipient 
of the new identification 
number.  Covers a portion 
of the direct costs to assign 
the identification number. 
This charge is not scaled 
to reflect the environmental 
significance of the 
handler’s activity. 

Affects all new handlers 
from a variety of business 
sectors. 

New businesses and 
newly-regulated 
businesses are expected 
to create a continuous 
need for approximately 
1,000 new identification 
numbers each year. 
 
Enforcement of this charge 
is straightforward:  an 
identification number is not 
issued until payment is 
received. 

The charge could be 
collected by requiring that 
the payment accompany 
the notification form when 
submitted. 

Annual ID Number 

Charge 
 
Charge $300 per year for 
the use of a U.S. EPA 
Identification Number. 
 
5,450 x $300 = $1.6M 

This charge would capture 
all handlers of hazardous 
waste.  The charge is not 
scaled to reflect the 
environmental significance 
and degree of regulation of 
the handler’s activity.  
Assessing the same 
charge for a licensed 
landfill as for a small 
quantity generator may 
create equity concerns. 

The universe of all 
handlers is over 5,600.  
The burden is spread out 
over a large group.  
Changes in the economic 
activity of individual sectors 
within the group should not 
significantly affect revenue. 

The revenue should be 
reliable:  the universe of 
handlers should remain 
relatively constant over the 
next five years; and the 
charge is the same, 
regardless of the type of 
activity or the compliance 
of the handler. 
 
This user charge would 
have to be enforced by 

The WMD would have to 
use the federal Resources, 
Conservation, and 
Recovery Information 
System (RCRIS) and state 
manifest system databases 
to identify and bill the 
handlers.  The user charge 
would be easy to pay since 
there would not be a need 
to complete lengthy forms 
or to make calculations;  it 
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fines and penalties for the 
use of an identification 
number for which the 
annual charge was not 
paid. 

is a simple question of 
whether the handler needs 
to continue to use the 
identification number.  
Also, the transporters may 
object to the charge under 
the premise that it is 
preempted by federal 
motor carrier laws. 

* Annual Handler Charge 
 
Charge based upon type(s) 
of hazardous waste activity 
conducted. 
 
VLQG 50 x $1,000 = $50,000 
LQG 1,700 x $400 = $680,000 
SQG 3,400 x $100 = $340,000 
CESQG 3,500 x $0 = $0 
Used Oil 25 x $100 = $2,500 
Univ. Waste 50 x $0 = $0 
TSD 40 x $2,000 = $80,000 
Trans 300 x $0 = $0 
Total = $1,152,500 
 
(For explanation of 
abbreviations, see Table 3, 
Page 13.) 

This charge is assessed to 
those businesses that 
generate and treat, store, 
or dispose of hazardous 
waste, and is scaled to 
reflect the environmental 
significance and degree of 
regulation of the handler’s 
activity. 

The universe of all 
regulated handlers is over 
5,400.  The burden is 
spread out over a large 
group.  Changes in the 
economic activity of 
individual sectors within the 
group should not 
significantly affect revenue. 

The revenue should be 
reliable:  the universe of 
handlers should remain 
relatively constant over the 
next five years; and no 
major shifts from one 
sector to another (e.g., 
from large quantity 
generator to small quantity 
generator) are anticipated 
as a result of this user 
charge or of market 
conditions. 
 
This user charge would 
have to be enforced with 
fines and penalties for 
failure to submit the annual 
form with accurate 
information and payment. 

The WMD could use the 
federal RCRIS and state 
manifest system databases 
to identify and bill the 
handlers.  The user charge 
would be easy to pay since 
there would not be a need 
to complete lengthy forms;  
it is a simple matter of 
checking off the applicable 
regulated activities (TSD, 
SQG, used oil burner, 
etc.), adding up associated 
costs, and then sending in 
the payment.  Also, the 
WMD would have to 
develop a system to audit 
and verify the responses to 
ensure that operating 
handlers are paying the 
charges. 

Annual Generation 

Charge 
 
Charge $100 plus $3 per 
ton of waste generated, 
with a total cap of $5,100. 

This charge is assessed to 
generators and is based 
upon the regulated quantity 
of hazardous waste 
generated each year.  The 
more waste generated, the 

The universe of generators 
(excluding conditionally-
exempt small quantity 
generators) is 
approximately 5,150.  The 
burden is spread out over 

The amount of hazardous 
waste generated each year 
has declined substantially, 
and the trend is expected 
to continue.  Changes in 
the definition and listing of 

Generators would likely 
have to keep detailed 
records on waste 
generation.  The WMD 
would have to develop a 
new system to identify and 
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$1.6 million 

higher the charge.  Without 
a maximum, the charge 
could fall disproportionately 
on a few very large quantity 
generators; and without a 
minimum, the charge to 
small quantity generators 
may not be commensurate 
with their environmental 
significance and degree of 
regulation. 

a large group, but may fall 
disproportionately on a 
minority in that group.  
Changes in the economic 
activity of individual sectors 
within the group should not 
significantly affect revenue. 

hazardous waste also 
could have a major impact 
upon generation data.  The 
generation charge itself 
would be another incentive 
to reduce the amount of 
hazardous waste 
generated. 
 
The WMD does not have a 
system in place to report 
and verify all generation 
data.  The manifest system 
captures much of the data, 
but waste that is managed 
in on-site systems and 
some exported wastes are 
not reported in such a way 
that the data is readily 
verified. 

notify generators that the 
user charge is due, and to 
track their payments.  To 
verify that the user charges 
are calculated and paid 
correctly, random audits of 
the system, at a minimum, 
would be needed. 
 
The costs to develop and 
implement a collection 
system would be 
substantial.  For 
comparison, the WMD is 
assessed $150,000 by the 
U.S. EPA to just collect 
biennial report data.  The 
WMDs costs would greatly 
exceed that amount 
because similar generation 
data would have to be 
verified and entered into a 
database, and the 
generators would have to 
be invoiced for the 
applicable user charge. 

* Manifest Charge 
 
Charge $4 plus postage for 
each manifest ordered. 
 
150,000 x $4 = $600,000 
 
The manifests should be 
offered in single-sheet and 
tractor-feed formats, and 

This charge would be 
assessed directly to the 
users of Michigan’s 
Uniform Hazardous Waste 
Manifest.  This user charge 
does not capture the 
hazardous waste that is 
managed in on-site 
systems, or all shipments 
to out-of-state facilities. 

The charge would affect 
the thousands of both in-
state and out-of-state 
generators that manifest 
hazardous waste to 
Michigan facilities, and that 
use Michigan’s manifest for 
shipments to other states 
that do not have a 
manifest.  Shipments of 

Approximately 450,000 
manifests are ordered 
each year.  Only about 60 
percent of those manifests 
are used.  The rest are 
wasted or used for other 
states.  Manifests orders 
will decrease in response 
to a significant user 
charge;  there would be 

The WMD currently 
charges $0.05 per manifest 
plus postage.  A user 
charge could be assessed 
under the existing 
collection system. 
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the charge for tractor-feed 
format could be slightly 
higher. 

liquid industrial waste in 
Michigan would also be 
affected. 

fewer wasted manifests 
and multiple-manifest 
shipments.  Manifest 
usage should stabilize in 
the long term at about 
150,000 per year for both 
hazardous and liquid 
industrial waste shipments. 
 
Enforcement of this user 
charge is straightforward:  
the manifest (or manifest 
number) must be 
purchased. 

Treatment and Disposal 

Charge 
 
Expand the current 
solidification and land 
disposal charge to include 
treatment and incineration. 
 
Treat 173,000 x $5 = $865,000 
Incin 27,000 x $8 = $216,000 
Total Additional = $1 million 
Less 25% for rebates - $250,000 

Total = $750,000  

Solidification and land 
disposal are already 
subject to a user charge.  
The revenue from that user 
charge supports the waste 
reduction programs and 
refunds (incentive 
payments for reductions in 
waste generation).  
Expanding the user charge 
to treatment and 
incineration would capture 
the remaining wastes 
(except those that are 
recycled) that are not 
solidified and land 
disposed.  The user charge 
could be scaled to reflect 
the waste management 
hierarchy (reduce, reuse, 
recycle, treat, incinerate, 
land fill). 

About one-half of the 
waste generated in 
Michigan is treated or 
incinerated.  This waste 
comes from thousands of 
generators.  Changes in 
the economic activity of 
sectors within this group of 
generators should not 
significantly affect revenue.  
Also, this user charge, if 
assessed at the treatment 
or incineration facility, 
would capture waste 
imported from other states, 
which represents over 25 
percent of the hazardous 
waste managed in 
Michigan. 

Generators can choose 
where to send their waste.  
The expansion of the 
solidification and land 
disposal charge to treated 
and incinerated waste 
could be an incentive to 
export the waste to other 
states that do not have 
similar charges or to 
manage it in exempt on-
site systems (e.g., waste 
water treatment plants).  
Overall, at the pricing 
levels proposed, the 
charge should not 
significantly alter the waste 
management decisions of 
Michigan’s generators. 
 
To enforce this user 
charge, the WMD would 

If implemented similar to 
the current solidification 
and land disposal charge, 
the treatment and 
incineration charge would 
be collected from the 
generators by the 
treatment and incineration 
facilities and then paid to 
the state.  This would meet 
with considerable 
resistance from the 
commercial treatment 
facilities. 
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Revenue from the 
solidification and land 
disposal charge is 
dedicated to waste 
reduction programs, raising 
equity concerns since the 
costs of the hazardous 
waste program would 
burden only those that treat 
or incinerate their waste. 
 
A charge on treated (other 
than solidified) waste could 
put Michigan’s commercial 
wastewater treatment 
facilities at a competitive 
disadvantage with other 
states, forcing closures. 
 
A treatment charge would 
not capture revenue from 
generators that treat their 
own waste in exempt, on-
site systems (i.e., tanks or 
containers) 

have to develop a system 
to verify the movement of 
waste at treatment and 
incineration facilities. 

Inspection and 

Monitoring Charge 
 
Charge for inspections and 
environmental monitoring 
evaluations. 
 
TSDs 40 x $700 = $28,000 
LQGs 200 x $260 = $52,000 
SQGs 200 x $175 = $35,000 
Env Mon 15 x $6,000 = $90,000 

Total = $205,000 

These charges would be 
assessed to the facilities 
that are inspected.  
Facilities that must be 
inspected on a more 
frequent basis would pay 
more. 
 
This would meet with 
considerable resistance 
from most handlers. 

Only a portion of the 
universe of handlers are 
inspected each year, and 
some are not inspected for 
several years.  The burden 
will not be spread among 
all handlers. 

A certain number of 
inspections will be done 
each year, whether they 
are at the same or different 
facilities from year to year.  
If inspections lead to 
enforcement actions and 
fines or penalties, the 
inspection charges may be 
difficult to collect. 

There is arguably no good 
time to charge a business 
for an inspection, 
especially when the 
inspection reveals 
violations.   
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Corrective Action Charge 
 
Charge for the submittal 
and review of corrective 
action work plans and 
reports that require review 
and/or approval. 
 
20 x $750 = $15,000 

The charge would be 
assessed to the facilities 
that submit corrective 
action work plans. 
 
It is difficult to assess a 
uniform charge to all 
corrective action work 
plans and reports because 
they vary in complexity 
from simple, 30-page soil 
sampling plans to complex, 
multi-volume remediation 
plans.  The actual costs to 
review some of these plans 
could easily exceed 
$10,000, especially when 
extensive public 
participation is needed. 

This user charge would 
capture only a small 
portion of handlers.  
Approximately 240 facilities 
are subject to corrective 
action.  Once corrective 
action is underway, the 
facilities are required to 
submit numerous work 
plans and reports.  The 
WMD may review 20 work 
plans and reports each 
year. 

Corrective action has not 
yet been implemented at 
many of the facilities, so 
work plans and reports will 
be submitted on a regular 
basis for at least the next 
five years.  In the long run, 
the number of work plans 
and reports submitted will 
decrease because the 
number of affected 
facilities is finite and 
because the WMD is 
promoting voluntary 
corrective actions in which 
the number of reports and 
work plans are minimized.   

The user charge could be 
collected at the time the 
work plan or report is 
submitted to the WMD. 

General Fund 
 
Use General Fund money 
to match the federal 
Hazardous Waste Program 
grant. 
 
$1.6 million 
 

All citizens and businesses 
benefit from a clean 
environment.  Individual 
contributions to the general 
fund are not based on the 
relative benefit derived 
from the hazardous waste 
program or on the 
environmental significance 
and degree of regulation of 
hazardous waste activity 
conducted by a business. 

The burden of funding the 
hazardous waste program 
would be spread out over 
all taxpayers. 

Fiscal restraint during 
economic downturns could 
result in fewer general fund 
dollars for the hazardous 
waste program.  Because 
75 percent of the costs for 
the program are supported 
by a federal grant, each 
General Fund dollar lost 
represents four dollars lost 
to the program.  In 
addition, if budget cuts 
compromise the state’s 
ability to administer the 
hazardous waste program, 
the state’s federal 
authorization and entire 

Existing collection systems 
are in place. 
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grant could be jeopardized. 

Enforcement Fines 
 
Deposit all fines collected 
from hazardous waste 
enforcement cases into a 
fund for the hazardous 
waste program. 
 

Fines are paid by those 
handlers that are found to 
be in violation of hazardous 
waste management 
regulations. 

Only a limited number of 
handlers pay substantial 
fines. 

The amount of 
enforcement fines 
collected can vary 
dramatically from year to 
year and depends upon the 
enforcement priorities of 
the WMD and the 
compliance of the 
regulated community. 

Fines are paid upon 
settlement of enforcement 
cases. 

Container Label Charge 
 
Charge for labels that must 
be placed on every 
container of hazardous 
waste managed in 
Michigan. 
 
Different labels and 
charges would be needed 
for different size containers 
and bulk shipments. 
 
 
Examples 
$1 for up to 55 gal 
$2 for 55 < 200 gal 
$30 for roll-off box 
$80 for bulk shipment 
 
(Difficult to predict number 
of various containers.  The 
above charges were 
approximated by 
calculating the total 
number of a given size 

This user charge would 
apply to all containers of 
hazardous waste.  The 
total amount paid by a 
handler would depend 
upon the number of 
containers of waste 
generated or managed. 

This user charge would be 
shared by all generators 
and handlers of hazardous 
waste, but may not capture 
all movements of 
hazardous waste, 
especially those that are 
done on-site.  This charge 
would also capture out-of-
state generators. 

The number of containers 
of hazardous waste should 
stay relatively constant or 
decrease with decreasing 
waste generation. 
 
Every container of 
hazardous waste that is 
stored or transported in 
Michigan would require the 
label.  It could be difficult to 
enforce this requirement 
for all generators, 
especially those that move 
waste on-site. 

The WMD would have to 
produce unique labels that 
can be affixed to 
containers.  Generators 
and handlers would have 
to purchase the labels.  
Different labels and 
charges would be used for 
different size containers, 
and bulk shipments would 
require a special label.   



 

September 1, 1998 12 

 Equitable Broad-Based Reliable and Enforceable Easy to Pay and Collect 

container needed to hold 
most of the waste shipped 
in Michigan, 700,000 tons, 
and then deriving a charge 
per container to get $1.6 
million.)  

Annual Vehicle 

Registration Surcharge 
 
Assess a $0.18 surcharge 
on the annual vehicle 
registration fee charged by 
the Secretary of State. 
 
9 M x $0.18 = $1.6 M 

All drivers benefit from a 
clean environment. A 
vehicle surcharge is not 
based on the relative 
benefit each driver obtains 
from the Hazardous Waste 
Program or on a business’ 
environmental significance 
and degree of regulation. 

This user charge would be 
spread among a very large 
group:  all registered 
vehicles in Michigan.  
Significant fluctuations in 
revenue would not be 
expected, regardless of the 
state of the economy. 

The number of registered 
vehicles is not expected to 
change dramatically over 
the next five years, and the 
charge would be readily 
enforced through annual 
vehicle registration fees. 

The user charge would be 
collected with the annual 
vehicle registration fee 
using the existing collection 
system. 
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Recommendation 
The work group recommends that Michigan impose annual handler charges, 
charge for the Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest, and charge to process the 
Notification of Hazardous Waste Activity form.  This combination of user charges 
meets the criteria of being the most equitable, broad-based, reliable and 
enforceable, and easy to pay and collect, and should generate the $1.6 million 
each year to support the Hazardous Waste Program.  Table 3 shows the amount 
of each user charge and expected revenue.  The expected revenue estimate is 
greater than $1.6 million because the work group recognizes that the amounts 
are just estimates, and that they could fall short in the first year. 
 

Table 3:  Recommended User Charges 
 

User Charge Number 
Affected 

Charge, $ Subtotal, $ Total, $ 

Annual Handler Charge     

Very Large Quantify Generators 
(VLQG) (over 1,000 tons/year) 

 
50 

 
1,000 

 
50,000 

 

Large Quantity Generators 
(LQG) 

 
1,700 

 
400 

 
680,000 

 

Small Quantity Generators 
(SQG) 

 
3,400 

 
100 

 
340,000 

 

Conditionally-Exempt Small 
Quantity Generators (CESQG) 

 
+3,500 

 
0 

 
0 

 

Used Oil Burners, etc. 25 100 2,500  

Universal Waste Large Quantity 
Handlers 

 
25 

 
0 

 
0 

 

Universal Waste Destination 
Facilities 

 
2 

 
0 

 
0 

 

Treatment, Storage, and 
Disposal Facilities (TSD) 

 
40 

 
2,000 

 
80,000 

 

Transporters 300 0 0  

Subtotal Annual Handler 

Charge 

    
1,152,500 

Manifest Charge 150,000 4 600,000 600,000 

Notification Form Processing 

Charge 

 
1,000 

 
50 

 
50,000 

 
50,000 

Total    $1,802,500 

 
Legislation 
To implement the recommended user charges, Part 111 of Act 451 and 
Part 121, Liquid Industrial Waste, of Act 451 must be amended.  Part 111 of 
Act 451 must be amended to require the annual handler charge, manifest 
charge, and notification form charge.  Part 121 of Act 451 must be amended to 
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require the manifest charge.  Draft Legislation is attached.  The Legislation 
should reflect the work group’s intent on the following points: 
 
1. The effective date for the charges should be October 1, 1999 to enable the 

WMD to collect the charges for one year before the revenue would be 
needed. 

2. The handler charge is based upon a prior year’s activity because that 
information is verifiable.  In addition, it should be based on a calendar year to 
coincide with other waste generation reporting cycles.  Since the first handler 
charge becomes effective on October 1, 1999, and would be charged in 
January 2000, it would be based upon activity conducted from January 1999 
through December 1999.  Therefore, the first handler charge is arguably 
retroactive to a period before the effective date of the charges in the 
Legislation.  This should not be a significant issue since the handler charge is 
paid only by those handlers that want to continue the regulated activity in the 
subsequent year. 

3. The handler charges are additive.  For example, a generator of less than 
1,000 kg of hazardous waste per month and that is also a treatment facility 
would pay a total of $2,100 under the handler charge. 

4. The handler charge is based upon the largest amount of hazardous waste 
generated in any month during the calendar year.  Therefore, if a handler 
generates less than 1,000 kg per month for 11 months out of the year, but 
then goes over that amount during one month, he or she would be assessed 
a handler charge for generators of over 1,000 kg per month. 

5. To avoid generators ordering large supplies of manifests prior to the effective 
date of the $4 per manifest charge, the Legislation must require generators to 
pay the $4 charge for all manifests used after the effective date. 

6. The notification form processing charge should be a charge to obtain an 
identification number.  The regulations do not currently require subsequent 
notifications (i.e., revisions once an initial notification is submitted and an 
identification number is issued).  A charge to process subsequent 
notifications would be a disincentive for handlers filing subsequent 
notifications that help keep the handler database accurate.  Also, many 
notifications are submitted in error so the DEQ should process those and 
return the charge.  The real incentive for handlers to submit the notification 
form is to obtain an identification number.  Tying the charge to the issuance 
of the identification number will assure that the charge is paid by the essential 
users of the form. 

7. The user charges must be deposited into a restricted fund or account, and 
any appropriation from the fund or account which is not utilized must be 
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returned to the fund or account at the end of the fiscal year and not to the 
general fund. 

8. The amount of excess that is allowed to accumulate in the restricted fund or 
account should be limited to $3.2 million.  If more than $3.2 million remains 
after appropriations, then the DEQ must not send out invoices for the handler 
charge.  The DEQ would continue to collect manifest and notification form 
processing charges since those are more difficult to stop and start again. 

9. The report to the legislature should be based on a calendar year to coincide 
with the basis for collection of the handler charge. 

Implementation 
Beginning on the effective date of the user charges, the WMD will begin to 
collect the charges for manifests (or manifest numbers) ordered and for 
notification forms submitted.  Collection of both of these user charges should be 
straightforward, and, in the case of manifest charges, use an existing collection 
system. 
 
The more difficult charge to collect will be the annual handler charge.  The WMD 
will need to develop a very simple, one-page form that shows each handler 
activity (e.g., small quantity generator) and associated charge.  The federal 
RCRIS database can generate these forms from existing notification data.  The 
forms would be sent to the handlers who would then either confirm the 
information or make corrections and then return them along with the applicable 
user charge.  An invoice would also be sent to the handlers for accounting 
purposes. 
 
Approximately two FTEs will be needed in the long-term to administer the hander 
charge.  In the short term, additional resources will be needed due to the poor 
quality of data in RCRIS.  Administration of the manifest and notification form 
charges will not require additional resources. 
 
Every other year, the WMD will prepare a report for the Legislature, which 
summarizes revenues to and expenditures from the restricted fund or account 
that would be established for the user charges. 
 


