FLOW CHART - LAND DIVISION ACT
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Department of
Licensing and
Regulatory Affairs
approve or reject
within 15 days
[Sec. 171]
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County Plat Boards
approve or reject
within 15 days

[Sec. 168-169]
forwards final plat &
true copies




FINAL PLAT APPROVALS

SUBDIVISION NAME

PROPRIETOR’S NAME

Final Preliminary Plat Approval

By Governing Body is prerequisite.
Section 120. Automatically expires
In two years.

Section 131(3)

Surveyor’s Certificate
Sections 142(a) and 143

Proprietor’s Certificate (all)
Sections 142(b) and 144

County Treasurer’s Certificate
Sections 142(c) and 145
Expires in one year, Section 131(4)

Treasurer of the Municipality Certificate,
if applicable.

Section 142(d)

Required only if delinquent taxes are not
returned to State Treasurer per Section 135
of Act 206 P.A. 1893

Proprietor simultaneously submits one
*true certified copy to each of the approval
agencies in Sections 142(e, f, g, and i).

*Note: true certified copy may be paper copy

County Drain Commissioner’s Certificate
Sections 142(e), 146, 162, and 163

If no drain commissioner. Governing Body
Certifies compliance with Section 192
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County Road Commission Certificate
Sections 142(f), 147, 164, and 165.

Municipal Certificate
Sections 142(qg), 148, 166, and 167

Michigan Department of Transportation
Certificate

Sections 142(i), 150, and 167a.
Required only when subdivision affects
a State Trunkline Highway.

Proprietor obtains signatures on 1
original final Plat Mylar.
Sections 145-148

County Plat Board Certificate
Sections 142(h), 149, 168, and 169
Forwards the final plat and each
of the approved certified true
copies to LARA

Michigan Department of Labor and
Economic Growth (LARA)
Approval

Sections 142(j), 151, and 171.

County Register of Deeds

Recording Certificate
Section 172
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