CHILD CARE CENTER RECORD REQUIREMENTS
Michigan Department of Human Services
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

REQUIRED STAFF AND VOLUNTEER RECORDS

Date

License Number

Record Rule Minimum Retention

[ |Program Director credentials; live scan fingerprinting. 8113(9), (10),

(13), MCL
722.115c
- - Retain until the person

[ |Lead Caregiver credentials. 8122(6) has left employment
[] |Infant/Toddler Leads at least 3 credits/4.5 CEUs 8122(9) with the center.

infant/toddler training.

[] | School-age Site Supervisor credentials. 8119(2)

L] [Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT) results on all [8125(4) An updated (less than
staff before hire. two years old) copy of

L] |DHS central registry check for all staff prior to being present [8125(7), (8) :zeilsct:rHﬁL’acrzggsl
at the center and volunteers before unsupervised contact gistry i i "
with children. and/or self-certifying

statement (for

[] | Criminal history clearance results or self-certifying 8125(6) volunteers only) must
statement for volunteers before unsupervised contact with be on file until the
children. person has left

[] |Updated criminal history check and central registry 8125(10) err;]rzloryrr:(_anth|lthnther
clearance every two years at renewal. center or s no longe

volunteering at the
center.

L] |If staff hired after 1/1/14 resided outside of Michigan as an  [8125(9)
adult within the 10 years immediately preceding hire, a
request to those states for a criminal history check and
central registry clearance.

[] |Written statement signed by all staff and volunteers at the  [8125(12) Retain until the person
time of hiring or before volunteering confirming notification has left employment
of center’s children’s protective services policy and with the center.
requirements of the Child Protection Law.

[] |Blood-borne pathogen training for all staff before 8131(3)
unsupervised contact with children.

L] [Infant, child and adult CPR (annually) and first aid (every 3 |8131(7) The updated cards
years) training for early childhood program directors, lead must be on file. Date of
caregivers and other staff as needed (at least one caregiver CPR certification must
on duty at all times). be less than a year old.

1 | Child and adult CPR (annually) and first aid (every 3 years) |8131(8) Date of first aid

training for school-age program directors, site supervisors
and other staff as needed (at least one caregiver on duty at
all times) in programs only serving school-age children.

certification must be
less than three years
old. Retain until the
person has left
employment with the
center.
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CHILD CARE CENTER RECORD REQUIREMENTS

Michigan Department of Human Services
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

REQUIRED STAFF AND VOLUNTEER RECORDS (cont.)

Record

Date

License Number

Rule

Minimum Retention

O

Documentation of 16 clock hours of annual professional
development.

8131(4)

Training records must
be kept for the past
two full calendar years.
Retain until the person
has left employment
with the center.

Documentation of Infant Safe Sleep and Shaken Baby
Syndrome training for infant/toddler caregivers.

8131(2)

Retain until the person
has left employment
with the center.

TB test on all staff before hire and volunteers with contact at
least 4 hours per week for more than 2 consecutive weeks.

8128

Retain until the person
has left employment or
is no longer volun-
teering at the center.

The name, address, and telephone number of all staff.

8110(11)(a)

Retain for two years
after the person has
left employment with
the center.

Copy of staff driving record and copy of valid operator’s
license with appropriate endorsement for all non-volunteer
drivers.

8750(2)

Retain the most recent
driving record (less
than a year old) and
copy of the valid
operator's license until
the person has left
employment with the
center.

A self-certifying statement confirming compliance with
400.8750(1) for volunteer drivers.

8750(2)(b)

Retain the most recent
statement until the
person is no longer
volunteering at the
center.

REQUIRED CHILD RECORDS

have been in care for 4 months if their immunizations were
not up to date at enroliment.

[0 |Completed Child Information Record (BCAL-3731), updated [8143(1), (2)
annually or when the center becomes aware of changes.*

[ |Certificate of immunizations for children under school-age 8143(3)
or waiver addressed to Department of Community Health at
initial attendance.

[ |Updated immunizations when children under school-age 8143(4)

An updated (less than
a year old) copy must
be on file until the child
no longer attends the
center.

* The name, address,
and telephone number
of enrolled children
must be retained for
two years after the
child has left the
center.
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CHILD CARE CENTER RECORD REQUIREMENTS

Michigan Department of Human Services
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

REQUIRED CHILD RECORDS (cont.)

Date

License Number

Record Rule Minimum Retention

[] | within 30 days of attendance, a physical done within last 3 [8143(6), (9)
months for infants, within last 6 months for toddlers, and
within last year for preschoolers or statement of good health
if religious objector:

- An updated (less than
] |Updated yearly for infants/toddlers. 8143(7) a year old) copy must
[] |Updated every two years for preschoolers. be on file until the child
] |Annually for religious objector statement. 8143(9) gce)r]li)enrger attends the

[ | Parent signed statement that school-age child is in good 8143(8)
health and immunizations are up-to-date and that the
immunization record or waiver on file at school, updated
annually.

[] |Written parental permission for field trip participation at time |[8143(11) If obtained at
of enrollment or before each field trip. enrollment, it must be

retained until the child
no longer attends the
center. If obtained
before each field trip, it
must be retained for
two years or until the
child no longer attends
the center.

[ | Annual written permission for routine transportation. 8149(1) An updated (less than
a year old) copy must
be on file until the child
no longer attends the
center.

[] [Written parental permission for all transportation not 8149(2)

considered routine before each trip.

[] | Prior written permission for prescription medication and non- 8152(2), (9) Retain for two years or
topical, non-prescription medication and the record as to the until the child no longer
time and the amount of medication given or applied attends the center.
including the signature of the caregiver administering the
medication.

[ | Annual written parent permission for topical, non- 8152(8) An updated (less than

prescription medications (sunscreens, insect repellents,
diaper ointment).

a year old) copy must
be on file until the child
no longer attends the
center.
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CHILD CARE CENTER RECORD REQUIREMENTS

Michigan Department of Human Services
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

REQUIRED CHILD RECORDS (cont.)

Date

License Number

Record Rule Minimum Retention
[] |Signed parental permission for a child 33-36 months old to  [8182(5)
be enrolled in 3 year old classroom when developmentally
appropriate.
[ |Signed parental permission for a child 45-48 months old to  [8182(6)
be enro[letd in 4 year old classroom when developmentally Retain for two years or
appropnate. until the child no longer
[] |Signed parental permission for a child 57 months old until a [8182(7) attends the center.
school-ager to be enrolled in school-age classroom when
developmentally appropriate.
[] [Written permission from infant’s physician when an 8188(7)
alternate sleeping position is necessary.
] |Written documentation that the parent received the written  [8146(2) Retain the most recent
information packet. documentation until the
child no longer attends
the center.
[ |Daily record for infants, toddlers, and child with special 8146(3), (4)
needs when requested that includes:
[ [Food intake info.
Ll | Sleeping patterns. Retain for the day the
[] | Elimination patterns. child is in care.
[0 |Developmental milestones.
L] |Changes in child’s usual behavior.
[] [ Written parental permission to swim, if applicable. 8810(1)
[] [Parental waiver for use of school playground not inspected |8170(19) Retain the most recent
as required by 400.8170(11) for school-age children. documentation until the
: : : child no longer attends
] | Written parental agreement if parent has agreed to provide |8330(2) the center.
food, milk or formula.
REQUIRED CENTER RECORDS
] | Written staff/volunteer screening policy. 8125(3)(a)
[ | Written policy regarding supervision of volunteers. 8125(3)(b)
[] | written plan to assure compliance with the Child Protection [8125(11) Retain the most up-to-
Law. date version.
[] | written ongoing professional development plan. 8131(5)
] | Written discipline policy. 8140(4)
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CHILD CARE CENTER RECORD REQUIREMENTS

Michigan Department of Human Services
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

REQUIRED CENTER RECORDS (cont.)

Record

Date

License Number

Rule

Minimum Retention

H

Updated equipment inventory at renewal.

8173(7)

H

A written plan for when and how parents will be notified
when changes in child's health, a child experiences
accidents, injuries or incidents, or when the child is too ill to
remain in the group.

8155(1)

A written policy detailing when child, staff and volunteers
will be excluded due to illness.

8155(5)

Written information packet to parents including:

Admission/withdrawal criteria.

Schedule of operation.

Fees.

Discipline policy.

Food service policy.

Program philosophy.

Typical daily routine.

Parent notification plan for accidents, injuries, incidents,
illnesses.

Exclusion policy for child illnesses.

OO OO 000 O oo

Notice regarding the licensing notebook.

8146(1)

Floor plan of child use areas.

8167(3)

Retain the most up-to-
date version.

Accurate daily attendance record with child’s first and last
names, arrival and departure times.

8143(10)

Written incident report within 72 hours of the occurrences
outlined in 400.8158(1)-(2).

8158(3), (4)

Written log of fire drills practiced quarterly and two tornado
drills practiced Apr-Oct.

8161(5), (6), (7)

Retain for two years.

Alternative outdoor play area specified to department in
writing, if applicable.

8170(5)(c)

Retain for two years, if
applicable.

O 0O 0O 0O 0O O

Documentation that outdoor play equipment, use zones and
surfacing have been inspected by a certified playground
safety inspector.

8170(11)

Retain the most up-to-
date inspection.

Documentation of primary caregiving assignments.

8185(5)

O O

Documentation of weekly site visits by School-age Multi-site
Program Director.

8116(2)

Retain for two years.

BCAL-5041 (Rev. 6-14) Previous edition obsolete. MS Word 5




CHILD CARE CENTER RECORD REQUIREMENTS

Michigan Department of Human Services
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

REQUIRED CENTER RECORDS (cont.)

Date

License Number

special investigation reports and related corrective action
plans.

Record Rule Minimum Retention

[] | Annual motor vehicle inspection. 8720(2), (3) An updated copy (less

[1 |Certification that vehicle is in compliance with Michigan 8720(4) than a year old) must
vehicle code safety requirements. be on file.

[1 | Vehicle insurance and registration. 8750(1)(d) Retain the most up-to-

date copy.

[1 |Fire Inspection before original issuance and every 4 years |8510(4) Not required to be on
thereafter at renewal. file at the center.

Licensing maintains a
copy.

[] | Inspection of fuel-fired furnace and/or fuel-fired water heater |8510(5)-(7)
every 2 years at renewal and/or current boiler inspection. Retain the most up-to-

L] | Documentation of inspection or service of fire extinguishers. |8545(3) date copy.

[] [Lead hazard risk assessment for newly licensed centers 8380(8) . ) .
located in buildings built before 1978 and centers licensed Retain until the license
prior to 12/7/06 by 1/2/17. is closed.

[1 |Integrated pest management program and notices to 8380(9) Retain the most up-to-
parent, if applicable. date version, if

applicable. Retain
written notices to
parents for two years.

[] | Crisis management plan in a place known and easily 8161(1)(e), Retain the most up-to-
accessible to staff. 4) date version.

[ 1 |Environmental health inspection for all centers at original 8305(2) Retain inspections
issuance, for programs with food service and private well done for renewals,
and/or septic at renewal, prior to adding a food service modifications, or when
program or an infant/toddler program, and when requested requested by the
by the Department. department for two

years.

[ | Licensing notebook, including all licensing inspection and 8110(4) Retain until the license

is closed.
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CHILD CARE CENTER RECORD REQUIREMENTS

Michigan Department of Human Services
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

REQUIRED POSTINGS

Date

License Number

Record Rule Minimum Retention
L1 [Current license and if applicable, the letter extending the 8110(3)(a) Post the most recent
license beyond the expiration date. license and extension
letter, if applicable.
L1 [Copy of current rules and a copy of any variances granted. |8110(3)(b) Post the Center
Licensing Rules with
the 1/2/14 effective
date and any variances
that are in effect.
[] | Statement that criminal history checks are completed on 8110(3)(c)
e_mployees and whether the center requires a criminal Post the most up-to-
history check on volunteers. date version
L1 |A typical daily routine. 8179(6)
[] | Dated menus with substitutions noted the day they occur. 8330(10) Retain for two years.
[] |Emergency procedures and evacuation plans for fire, 8161(1)
tornado, other natural or man-made disasters, serious
accident/illness/injury.
[] |Emergency numbers, the center address and two main 8164(3) Post the most up-to-
cross streets by each telephone. date version
[] | Guidelines for diapering posted in diapering area. 8137(7)
[] |Guidelines for hand washing posted in food preparation 8134(4)
areas, in toilet rooms, and by all hand washing sinks.
[] | Exit signs posted at all exterior exits. 8525(13) N/A
[] |List of CPSC recalled products provided by the department. |8173(2) Post the most recent

list from the most
recent issue of
Michigan Child Care
Matters.

Department of Human Services (DHS) will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight,
marital status, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political beliefs or disability. If you need help with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the
Americans with Disabilities Act, you are invited to make your needs known to a DHS office in your area.
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