
ADULT MEDICAL PROGRAM (AMP)

	 Adults between the ages of 21 and 64 who are 
not eligible for Medicaid or other DHS medical 
aid programs may be eligible to get help with 
medical expenses from AMP.
	 People eligible for AMP are those who have 
no minor children (their own) living in their home 
and are receiving State Disability Assistance 
(SDA), or those who are not disabled and meet 
the income and asset requirements for SDA and 
do not receive cash grants. Basic services pro-
vided include, among others: physician services 
with a $5 or $10 copay, prescribed medications 
with a $5 or $10 copay per prescription, labora-
tory services, limited outpatient hospital services, 
medical supplies, and ambulance transportation 
to an outpatient hospital or emergency room.

LOW-INCOME HOME ENERGY
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (LIHEAP)

	 Low-income households may be eligible 
for energy crisis assistance through the SER 
program. To be eligible, you must have a heat or 
electric shutoff notice, be out of deliverable fuel 
(oil, propane, coal, etc.), or need a furnace repair/ 
replacement.
	 There are annual limits based on available 
funding. For more information you may visit our 
Web site at:

www.michigan.gov/heatingassistance
	
	 All low-income households may apply for the 
Home Heating Credit. The Michigan Department 
of Treasury determines eligibility and issues 
payment. You do not need to file a tax return 
to apply. Applications are available at public 
libraries, post offices and other places tax forms 
are available. The application period is January to 
September 30.

	
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE (MA/MEDICAID)

	 The Medical Assistance program, also called 
Medicaid, provides necessary medical care for 
people receiving FIP or Supplemental Security 
Income and for other low-income people who 
are pregnant, have minor dependent children, are 
disables, blind, under age 21, or age 65 or older.
	 Services covered by Medicaid include, among 
others: hospital, nursing home, home health, and 
physician services; limited chiropractic, podiatric, 
vision, hearing, and dental services; x-ray and lab 
tests; occupational, physical, and speech therapy; 
maternity and family planning services; prenatal 
care and delivery services; medical supplies and 
equipment; pharmacy and medical supplies; 
allergy testing and treatment; mental health care; 
limited ambulance services; substance abuse 
services; and diabetes education.
	 If you are eligible for Medicaid and have 
hospital insurance, that insurance must be used 
before Medicaid will pay.

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE SERVICES

	 Throughout Michigan, victims and their 
dependent children can get help from one of the 
44 agencies funded by the Michigan Domestic 
Violence Prevention and Treatment Board. Many 
crisis and support services are available. Call 
the National Domestic Violence Hotline at (800) 
799-7233 to locate the nearest agency or visit our 
Web site at:    www.mich.gov/domesticviolence

Department of Human Services (DHS) will not discriminate 
against any individual or group because of race, religion, 
age, national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, sex, 
sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political 
beliefs or disability. If you need help with reading, writing, 
hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you 
are invited to make your needs known to a DHS office in 
your area.
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The Michigan 
Department of 
Human Services 
may be able to help 
you with temporary 
assistance!

Contact your local Michigan Department of 
Human Services office—listed in the tele-
phone directory—for details about these 
programs.
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FAMILY INDEPENDENCE PROGRAM
(FIP)

	 Families with children may be eligible  
for financial assistance from the Family 
Independence Program until they are able to 
help themselves.
	 The children must be under the age of 18, or 
18 or 19 and attending high school full time, and 
expected to graduate before reaching age 20.
	 The family must be considered needy, 
based upon department standards.
	 A family can have $3,000 worth of assets 
(only cash, checking accounts, savings accounts, 
investments, retirement plans and trust are 
counted) and still be eligible for FIP.
	 Families with income may be eligible, 
depending upon the amount of the income 
received.

FOOD ASSISTANCE BENEFITS (FAP)

	 Food Assistance benefits help low-income 
individuals or families purchase food.
	 The amount of food assistance benefits 
is determined by the household’s size and 
income. In determining income, the household’s 
expenses are taken into consideration, such as 
dependent care, shelter, medical and child 
support payments.
	 Food Assistance and cash (FIP/SDA) 
benefits are issued electronically with the 
use of debit card technology. The debit card, 
known as the “Michigan Bridge card,” and a 
personal identification number (PIN) are used 
to access the food account at participating 
retailers.

STATE DISABILITY ASSISTANCE
(SDA)

	 SDA is a cash assistance program for 
individuals who are disabled, or the caretaker 
of a person with a disability.
	 You are considered to be needy if:

Your assets are not worth more than 
$3,000 (only cash, checking accounts, 
savings accounts, investments, retire-
ment plans and trusts are counted).
Your monthly countable income is 
less than the payment standard. For 
single people living independently, the 
payment standard is $264 per month.

	 In addition, you must be unable to work 
for at least 90 days, as certified by a DHS 
medical examiner, or:

Receiving SSI, Social Security, or 
Medicaid based on a disability or 
blindness.
Receiving special education services.
Receiving services form the Michigan 
Rehabilitation Service.
Diagnosed as having AIDS, as certified 
by a DHS medical examiner.
Living in an adult foster care home, a 
home for the aged, a county infirmary, 
or a substance abuse treatment center.
Receiving substance abuse services 
for 30 days after leaving a residential 
treatment center.
Taking care of a disabled person who 
lives with you.
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STATE EMERGENCY RELIEF
(SER)

	 This program provides limited assistance 
to individuals and families facing emergencies 
that threaten their health or safety.
	 Anyone can apply for SER, not just those 
who receive other assistance from DHS.
	 In order for a person or a family to be 
eligible for SER, the emergency must threaten 
health or safety and must not have been 
caused by the individual or family seeking 
assistance. The emergency must be one that 
the payment can resolve and one which is not 
likely to happen again.
	 Services are available to:

Prevent homelessness or provide shelter 
for the homeless.
Prevent the loss of a safe, affordable 
home.
Correct unsafe conditions and restore 
essential services in a safe, affordable 
home.
Provide food if the individual or family 
is not eligible for food assistance (FAP).
Prevent shutoff of water and cooking 
gas or restore those services when 
necessary to prevent serious harm to a 
family.
Pay for burial or cremation, within 
certain limitations, when the deceased 
person’s estate, together with 
contributions from family and friends, 
will not cover the cost.
Provide emergency shelter for homeless 
people through a contract with the 
Salvation Army (for more information 
call 1-800-274-3583).
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