If you have questions about paternity or genetic
testing, call the Michigan Department of Health
and Human Services Office of Child Support at:

1-866-540-0008
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What is Paternity or Parentage Testing?

Paternity testing is a series of genetic tests used to
indicate the likelihood that a man is, or is not, the
biological father of a child. The most common method
used today is DNA testing.

What is DNA?

DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid) contains hereditary
information required for the development of every
living thing on earth. It forms genes, which are the
hereditary unit located on a chromosome. Each person
has 46 chromosomes. Twenty-three are contributed
from each parent to form the 46 chromosomes that
become their child.

Are the tests accurate?

The genetic test results from a DNA test are used in
courts throughout the U.S. and abroad and are greater
than 99.9 percent accurate in determining that a man is
not the father. Per Michigan Compiled Law 722.716,
paternity is presumed if the DNA test results performed
by a qualified person are 99 percent or higher.

Will drug use, illness or disease affect the
accuracy of a DNA test result?
No. DNA testing is not affected.

Are there any age requirements for the
parents or the child for a DNA test? Can
minor parents have a DNA test done?

The parent(s) and the child can have a DNA test done at
any age and age does not affect the DNA results.

Do all the individuals have to be present at the
same location and time for specimen collection?

No. Specimens can be collected at different times and
at different locations. Photos and fingerprints are taken
in all cases in which testing is done separately to assist
with final identification. Testing will start when all
samples arrive at the laboratory.

How long does it take to report the test
results?

Most reports are issued within two weeks from the date
when the samples are received at the laboratory.

Will DNA testing hurt?

No. DNA testing is obtained by rubbing a cotton-tipped
swab (buccal swab) on the inside of the cheek. DNA
can also be extracted from blood and other tissues.

What is the cost of genetic testing?

If you receive Medicaid, Family Independence Program
or Food Assistance Program benefits or are a child support
customer, the state will arrange genetic testing at the
contract rate of approximately $111 per case; that includes
a mother, child and alleged father. There is also a $5
sample collection fee per person. A court will decide who
pays for the genetic testing and fees. If you have questions
about paternity or genetic testing, call a Michigan
Department of Health and Human Services child support
specialist at 1-866-540-0008.

The cost for private DNA testing can be much higher.

What is the genetic principle behind DNA
testing?

The genetic markers (or loci) are
identified in the mother, alleged
father and child. The mother
contributes half of the child’s
genetic material. The father must
contribute the other half of the
child’s DNA. The laboratory
performs a series of tests.

The tests compare many different and complex details
of the child’s sample with similar details in the mother’s
and alleged father’s samples. The laboratory identifies
all of the shared markers between the child and the
mother. The child’s marker(s) that are not shared with
the mother must come from the biological father.

What does it mean when a man is “not
excluded” as the father?

In each performed test, the man has the necessary
marker found in the child that was not inherited from the
mother. This statement means that there is a 99 percent
or greater probability that the man is the biological
father of the child.

What does it mean
when a man is
“excluded” as the
father?

Excluded means the man
did not possess three or
more obligatory paternal
genes of the child; therefore
he is not the biological
father.
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Where are samples
collected?
Blood draws and buccal swab collections can be

scheduled at a testing laboratory or arranged at a
location near you.

Can paternity testing be done without both
parents?

Yes. If either parent is deceased, paternity testing can
be done through a blood or tissue sample from the
coroner’s office or through the testing of appropriate
family members.

Are records confidential and secure at the
laboratory?

All records and reports are confidential and maintained
in a secured building with coded entry to all exterior
doors.

Is the laboratory accredited by any
national organization?

Michigan contracts with a laboratory that is accredited
by the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB).
The AABB is an association of blood banks, transfusion
and transplantation services. In addition to other
services, AABB administers the Parentage Testing
Accreditation Program that has established standards for
parentage testing.




