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October 9, 2014
Faith Gaubauit

120 White Pine Drive
St. Ignace, M| 49781

Re: License DG490314434

Dear Ms. Gaubault:

On or about August 26, 2014, you were mailed a copy of the Department’s Notice
of Intent to Refuse your license to operate a group child care home. In accordance
with that notice, and because you did not exercise your right of appeal, your license
has been revoked effective October 3, 2014. It is further understood that you are
not receiving children for care now, or in the future, until such time as you are
legally licensed.

Sincerely,

drick, Acting Director
are Licensing Division
Bureau of Children & Adult Licensing

JH:kam

cc: Jackie Horton, Area Manager, BCAL
Jeannie Ellis, Licensing Consultant, BCAL

201 N. Washington Square, PO Box 30650, Lansing, Michigan 48909
www.michigan.gov » (617) 284-9740
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August 26, 2014 e

Faith Gaubault
120 White Pine Drive
Saint Ignace, Ml 49781

License #: DG490314434
SIR #: Licensing Study Report

Dear Ms. Gaubauit:

Enclosed is a copy of a NOTICE OF INTENT TO REFUSE TO RENEW YOUR
LICENSE to operate a group child care home, alleging that you have violated the Child
Care Organizations Act. Your options are as follows:

1) You may appeal the Notice of Intent and attend a pre-hearing compliance
conference. A Notice of Compliance Conference, which provides the date,
time, location, and guidelines of the conference, is enclosed.

2) You may appeal the Notice of Intent, waive the compliance conference, and
proceed directly to an administrative law hearing.

3) You may choose not to appeal the Notice of Intent.

If you choose to appeal the Notice of intent, the Department must receive your
WRITTEN APPEAL within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice. If the Department
does not receive your written appeal within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice, you
will have WAIVED YOUR RIGHT tc an administrative law hearing and the proposed

action will be final.

Sincerely,

8
Jerry Hendrick, Director

Child Care Licensing Division
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

Enclosures

Cc: Jackie Horton, Area Manager

OCAL 12/03 £.0. BOX 30850 « LANSING, MICHIGAN 48908-8150
v michigan.gov » (517) 284-9700




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #. DGA490314434
SIR#: Licensing Study Report

Faith Gaubault

NOTICE OF INTENT TO
REFUSE TO RENEW LICENSE

The Michigan Department of Human Services, by Jerry Hendrick, Director, Child
Care Licensing Division, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, provides notice of the
intent to refuse to renew the license of Licensee, Faith Gaubault, to operate a group
child care home pursuant to the authority of the Chiid Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA
116, as amended, MCL 722.111 et seq., for the following reasons:

1. On or about September 2, 2011, Licensee was issued a license to operate a
group child care home, with a current licensed capacity of 12, at 120 White Pine
Drive, Saint Ignace, Ml 49781.

2. On February 29, 2012, Licensing Consultant Anne O’Neill completed a Licensing
Study Report and cited Licensee with three licensing rule violations, including R
400.1905(7)(a). Licensee did not renew her CPR training in the past year.
Licensee completed a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) to show compliance with the

cited licensing rule violations.




3. OnJuly 10, 2014, Licensing Consultant Jeannie Ellis completed a Licensing
Study Report and cited Licensee with the following licensing rule violations:

a. R 400.1905(7)(a); Licensee has not completed CPR training since March
26, 2012;

b. R 400.1907(2); None of the child records reviewed by Ms. Ellis had been
updatéd annually since 2011,

c. R 400.1915(4); A posted list of unsafe children’s products had not been
updated since the summer of 2013;

d. R 400.1945(3); Licensee did not have complete fire drill logs since March,
2012,

e. R 400.1945(4); Licensee did not have complete tornado drill logs since

March, 2012.

COUNT |

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 3(a) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1905(7) Training.
(7) Infant, child, and adult CPR and first aid training shall be

maintained in the following manner:
(a) Each year for CPR.

[Note: By this reference paragraph 2 is incorporated into this count for the purpose of
demonstrating a willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]




COUNT I

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 3(b) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1907(2) Children’s records.
(2) Records in subrule (1) of this rule shall be reviewed and

updated annually or when information changes.

COUNT Ili

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 3(0) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1915(4) Indoor space; play equipment and materials.
~ (4) The caregiver shall not use any equipment, materials,

and furnishing recalled or identified by the U.S. Consumer
Product Safety Commission (http://www.cpsc.gov/) as being
hazardous. As required by 2000 PA 219, MCL 722.1065, the
caregiver shall conspicuously post in the child care home an
updated copy of the list of unsafe children’s products that is
provided by the department.

COUNT IV

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 3(d) above, evidences a

violation of;

R400.1845(3) Fire; tornado; serious accident and injury plans.
(3) Fire drills shall be practiced at least once a month and a
written record that includes the date and time it takes to

evacuate shall be maintained.




COUNT V
The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 3(e) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1945(4) Fire; tornado; serious accident and injury plans.
(4) Tornado drills shall be practiced once a month, April to
October, and a written record that includes the date shall be
maintained.

NOTICE IS GIVEN that, Licensee is offered the opportunity to show compliance
with all lawful requirements for retention of the license. If Licensee appeals the Notice
of Intent and compliance is not shown, formal proceedings will be commenced pursuant
to the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as amended, MCL 722.111 et seq,
rules promulgated thereunder, and the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 308, as
amended; MCL 24.201 et seq. Should formal proceedings commence, you have the
right to attorney representation at your own expense.

LICENSEE IS NOTIFIED that pursuant to MCL 722.121(2) of the Child Care
Organizations Act, Licensee has 30 days from the date of receipt of the Notice of Intent
to file a written appeal of the proposed action. The appeal shall be addressed to
Joshua Hargrove, Departmental Analyst, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing,
Michigan Department of Human Services. Your written appeal must include your name

and license number, and must be submitted using one of the following methods:




¢ Mail your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, P.O.
Box 30650, Lansing, MI 48909. You should obtain some type of delivery
confirmation to verify delivery;

* Fax your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing at
(517) 284-9709. You should keep-a copy of your fax confirmation as proof of

submittal; or

o Email your written appeal to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov. You should keep a

copy of the sent email as proof of submittal.

LICENSEE IS FURTHER NOTIFIED that failure to file a written appeal of this

action within 30 days will result in refusal to renew the license.

DATED: 8127 210 N \Ao\@

Jetffy Heéndrick, Director

C\ﬂd re Licensing Division
Bureaurof Children and Adult Licensing

This is the last and final page of a NOTICE OF INTENT in the matter of Faith Gaubauit, DG490314434,
consisting of 5 pages, this page included.

JNH




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #: DG490314434
SIR #: Licensing Study Report

Faith Gaubault

NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE CONFERENCE

Date: October 7, 2014 Time: 11 am.to1pm.
Location: 711 West Chisholm Street, Alpena, Ml 49707

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, MCL 24.292(1), you are afforded the
opportunity to attend an informal compliance conference. The purpose of the
compliance conference is to allow you to show that you were in compliance with the
Child Care Organizations Act and the licensing rules promulgated thereunder. You
have the right, at your expense, to have an attorney represent you at the compliance
conference. You may also bring one support person to the compliance conference.

To enable a thorough discussion of the Notice of intent at the compliance conference,
please bring any documents, pictures, etc. that you would like the Department to
consider. You may also submit documents to the Department prior to the compliance
conference by emailing them to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov.

If you are unable to attend the compliance conference at the scheduled date and time,
you may request, in writing, that the Department change the date and/or time. The
Department will make all reasonable attempts to accommodate your request, but will
not reschedule the compliance conference to a date more than 10 days after the
scheduled date. If you promptly notify the Department of your inability to attend the
compliance conference as scheduled, the Department may be able to schedule the
compliance conference to a date earlier than originally scheduled.

If you are unable to show that you were in compliance with the Child Care
Organizations Act and licensing rules, and a resolution cannot be reached, the
Department will forward the matter to the Michigan Administrative Hearing System for
the scheduling of a formal administrative hearing. The Michigan Administrative Hearing
System will subsequently notify you of the date, time, and location of the administrative

hearing.




All Department meetings and hearings are conducted in compliance with the Americans
with Disabilities Act in buildings that accommodate mobility-impaired individuals and
have accessible parking. If you require additional accommodations to participate in the
compliance conference, please notify the Depariment at least one week in advance to

make the necessary arrangements.

Please direct all written communications regarding the compliance conference or
administrative hearing, including your license number, to the individual listed below:

Joshua Hargrove, Departmental Analyst
Disciplinary Action Unit

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing
Michigan Department of Human Services
Victor Office Center

201 North Washington Square, 4" Floor
P.O. Box 30650

Lansing, Ml 48909-8150




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #: DG490314434
SIR #: Licensing Study Report

Faith Gaubault

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of a Notice of Intent to refuse to renew the license
in the above matter was served upon the following persons by mailing the same to them
at their address of record by certified mail on August 29, 2014.

Faith Gaubauit
Pine Drive
e, MI 49781

anion, Executive Secretary
hildfen and Adult Licensing






