FPITMEy,
State of Michigan %ﬁ%
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

5301‘ w3
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING "
RICK SNYDER MAURA D. CORRIGAN
GOVERNOR DIRECTOR

December 3, 2014

Ms. Nathalie Johnson
5356 Interlochen
Coloma, M1 49038

Re: License DG110080455

Dear Ms. Johnson:

On or about October 24, 2014 you were mailed a copy of the Department’s Notice of Intent to
refuse to renew your license to operate a group child care home. In accordance with that
notice, and because you did not exercise your right of appeal, your license will not be renewed

and is now revoked, effective December 2, 2014. It is further understood that you will not
receive children for care, now or in the future, without being legally licensed.

Sincerely,

Pa Jer%g“ﬁeﬁafié](, Acting Director
"~ Chitd-CareLicensing Division

Bureau of Children & Adult Licensing
JH:kam

cc: Yolanda Sims, Area Manager
Tiara McKay, Licensing Consultant

CERTIFIED MAIL- Return Receipt Requested

BCAL 4/05 P.O. BOX 30650 » LANSING, MICHIGAN 48309-8150
wyav.michigan.gov « (517) 335-6124
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-' 7 3
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES Yok X3
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RICK SNYDER MAURA D. CORRIGAN
DIRECTOR
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October 24, 2014

Nathalie Johnson
5356 Interlochen
Coloma, Ml 49038

License #: DG110080455

Dear Ms. Johnson:

Enclosed is a copy of a NOTICE OF INTENT TO REFUSE TO RENEW YOUR
LICENSE to operate a group cthild care home, alleging that you have violated the Child
Care Organizations Act. Your options are as follows:

1} You may appeal the Notice of [ntent and attend a pre-hearing compliance
conference. A Notice of Compliance Conference, which provides the date,
time, location, and guidelines of the conference, is enclosed.

2) You may appeal the Notice of Intent, waive the compliance conference, and
proceed directly to an administrative law hearing.

3) You may choose not to appeal the Notice of Intent.

If you choose to appeal the Notice of Intent, the Department must receive your
WRITTEN APPEAL within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice. If the Department
does not receive your written appeal within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice, you
will have WAIVED YOUR RIGHT to an administrative law hearing and the proposed

action will be final.

Sincerely,

; ydrick, Director
tl Care Licensing Division
- Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

Enclosures

Cc: Yolanda Sims, Area Manager - z wme .t Mo W me 2T b

QOCAL 12/03 P.O. BOX 30650 « LANSING, MICHIGAN 438909-8150
vaay,michigan.gov » (517) 284-9700




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #: DG110080455

Nathalie Johnson

NOTICE OF INTENT TO
REFUSE TO RENEW LICENSE

The Michigan Department of Human Services, by Jerry Hendrick, Director, Child
Care Licensing Division, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, provides notice of the
inrtent to revoke the license of Licensee, Nathalie Johnson, to operate a group child care
home pursuant to the authority'of the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as
amended, MCL 722.111 et seq., for the following reasons:
1. On or about April 7, 1998, Licensee was issued a license to operate a group child
care home, with a current licensed capacity of 12, at 5356 Interlochen, Coloma,

MI 49038.

Licensing Background

2. In March 2009, an onsite renewal inspection was completed, and Licensee was
cited, in part, for not having verification of blood-bourne pathogen training for an
assistant caregiver, a violation of R 400.1904(1)((:). On April 16, 2009, Licensee

submitted a corrective action plan that addressed this violation.




3. InMay 2011, an onsite renewal inspection was completed, and Licensee was

cited, in part, for not having verification of blood-bourne pathogen training for an

assistant caregiver, a violation of R 400.1804(1){c). On June'12, 2009, Licensee

submitted a corrective action plan that addressed this violation.

In June 2013, Licensing Consultant Garrie Harris completed an onsite renewal

inspection and cited Licensee, in part, with the following violations:

a.

Licensee did not have verification of blood-borne pathogen training for an
assistant caregiver, a violation of R 400.1904(1}(c).

Licensee did not have certification of completing annual CPR training, as
required by R 400.1905(7).

Licensee did not maintain employee files for any of the assistant
caregivers, as- required by R 400.1906(1)(a) through (g).

Licensee failed to maintain the premises.in a clean, safe and comfortable
condition, as required by R 400.1932(1).

There were two firearms on a bedroom floor without trigger locks, and an
antique revolver was in a chair. A wooden box contain_ing more guns was
un!oéked and accessible to children, a violation of R 400.1935(1).
Licensee failed to ensure that children could not access the swimming
pool, as required by R 400.1921(1). A cement block, the poot pump, a
Rubbermaid tub, a kiddie pool, and a ladder were all located next to the )

pool, giving children a climbing structure in which to access the pool.

On June 4, 2013, Licensee submitted a corrective action plan that addressed

these violations. Licensee was issued a six-month, first provisional license.




5. In November 2013, Ms. Harris conducted an onsite renewal inspection at

Licensee’s home and cited, in part, the following violations:

a.

Licensee did not have verification of infant and adult CPR training, first aid
tfraining, and blood-borne pafhogen training for three assistant caregivers,
as required by R 400.1904(1){(c).

Licensee did not have décumentation of safe sieep and shaken baby
training for one assistant caregiver, as required by R 400.1905(3).
Licensee did not have.a signed statement acknowledging mandatory
reporting laws for one assistant caregiver, as required by R
400.1906(1}(g).

Licensee failed to ensure that children could not access the swimming
pool, as required by R 400.1921(1). There were several items surrounding

the above ground pool that allowed children to gain access to the pool.

On January 9, 2014, Licensee submitted a corrective action plan that addressed

these violations. Licensee was issued a six-month, second provisional license.

Current Allegations

6. On August 11, 2014, Licensing Consultant Tiara McKay conducted an onsite

renewal inspection at Licensee’s home. Ms. McKay observed excessive clutter

on the kitchen countertops and island, leaving no surface area available for use.

The table and shelving unit in the dining room, an area used for child activities

and reading, were also filled with excessive clutter. There were two extension

cords lying loose on the dining room table and accessible to children.




7. On August 11, 2014, Ms. McKay observed an unlocked firearm on the fioor of a
bedroom on the second floor of the home.

8. On August 11, 2014, there was a lattice coﬁer over the ahove-ground pool pump
that served as a climbing structure, allowing children access to the pool. The
ladder was taken out of the pool and placed next to the pool, still allowing

children access to the pool.

9. On August 11, 2014, Ms. McKay reviewed Licensee’s records. Licensee did not
have verification of blood-borne pathogen training for her assistant caregiver.

10.0n August 11, 2014, Licensee did not have verification that the assistant
caregiver received training in safe sleep practices and shaken baby syndrome.

11.0n August 11, 2014, Licensee did not have a signed statement from the
assistant caregiver affirming knowledge of child abuse and neglect law and
receipt of Licensee’s discipline policy.

12.0n August 11, 2014, Licensee did not have documentation from the Department
of Human Services confirming that the assistant caregiver has not been involved
in substantiated child abuse or neglect. V

13.0n August 11, 2014, Licénsee did not have verification of annual completion of

CPR training. Licensee last completed CPR training in June 2013.

COUNT |

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 6 above, evidences a violation

of:




R 400.1932 Home maintenance and safety.

'(1) The structure, premises, and furnishings of a child care
home shall be in good repair and maintained in a clean,
safe, and comfortable condition.

[NOTE: By this reference, paragraph 4(d) ié incorporated into this Count for the
purpose of demonstrating willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]

COUNT Il

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 8 above, evidences a violation

of:
R 400.1921 Water hazards and water activities.

(1) The caregiver shall ensure that barriers exist to prevent
children from gaining access to any swimming pool, drainage
ditch, well, natural or constructed pond or other body of open
water located on or adjacent to the property where the child car
home is located. Such barriers shall be of a minimum of 4 feet
in height and appropriately secured to prevent children from
gaining access to such areas.

[NOTE: By this reference, paragraphs 4(f) and 5(d) are incorporated into this Count for
the purpose of demonstrating willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]

COUNT Il

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 7 above, evidences a violation

of:
R 400.1935 Firearms.

(1) All firearms shall be unloaded and properly stored in
a secure, safe, locked environment inaccessible to children. A
secure locked environment shall include a commercially
available locked firearms cabinet, gun safe, trigger lock that
prevents discharge, or other locking firearm device.

INOTE: By this reference, paragraphs 4(e) is incorporated into this Count for the
purpose of demonstrating willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]




COUNT IV
The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 9 above, evidences a violation
of:
R 400.1904 . Assistant caregivers.
(1 )_ An gssistant caregiver shall meet ali of the following
requirements:

(c) Have proof of valid infant/child/adult CPR, first aid, and
blood-borne pathogen training within 90 days of hire.

[NOTE: By this reference, paragraphs 2, 3, 4(a), and 5(a) are incorporated into this
Count for the purpose of demonstrating willful and substantial violation of the above
ruie.]
COUNT YV
The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 10 above, evidences a
violation of:
R 400.1905 Training.

(3) The caregiver shall assure that assistant caregivers have
training that includes information regarding safe sleep
practices (sudden infant death syndrome) and shaken baby
syndrome prior to caring for children.

[NOTE: By this reference, paragraph 5(b) is incorporated into this Count for the
purpose of demonstrating willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]

COUNT VI

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 13 above, evidences a

violation of:




R 400.1905

Training.

(7) Infant, child, and adult CPR and first aid training shall be
maintained in the following manner:
(a) Each year for CPR.

COUNT VI

The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 11 and 12 above, evidences

a violation of:

R 400.1906

Records of caregiving staff and child care home family;
record maintenance.

(1) The caregiver shall maintain a file for the caregiver and each
assistant caregiver including all of the following:

(e) A statement signed by each assistant caregiver that he or
she has not been convicted of either of the following:

{i) Child abuse or child neglect.

(iHA felony involving harm or threatened harm to an
individual within the 10 years immediately preceding the date of
hire.

(9) A written statement signed and dated by the assistant
caregiver at the time of hiring indicating all of the following
information:

() The individual is aware that abuse and neglect of
children is unlawful.

(i) The individual knows that he or she is mandated by
law to report child abuse and neglect.

(iii) The individual has received a copy of the discipline

policy.

[INOTE: By this reference, paragraphs 4(c) and 5(c) are incorporated into this Count for
the purpose of demonstrating willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]




COUNT VHI
The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 12 above, evidences a

violation of;

R 400.1906 Records of caregiving staff and child care home family;
record maintenance.

(1) The caregiver shall maintain a file for the caregiver and each
assistant caregiver including all of the following:
(f) Documentation from the department of human services
that the assistant caregiver has not been involved in
substantiated child abuse or negiect.

[INOTE: By this reference, paragraph 4(c) is incorporated into this Count for the
purpose of demonstrating willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]

NOTICE IS GIVEN that, Licensee is offered the opportunity to show compliance
with all lawful requirements for retention of the license. If Licensee appeals the Notice
of Intent and cdmpliance is not shown, formal proceedings will be commenced pursuant
to the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as amended, MCL 722.111 ¢t seq.,
rules promulgated thereunder, and the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 306, as
amended; MCL 24.201 et seq. Should formal proceedings commence, you have the
right to attorney representation at your own expense.

LICENSEE IS NOTIFIED that pursuant to MCL 722.121(2) of the Child Care
Organizations Act, Licensee has 30 days from the date of receipt of the Notice of Intent
| to file a written appeal of the proposed aétion. The appeal shall be addressed to

Jennifer Kerr, Departmental Analyst, Bureau of Children and Aduit Licensing, Michigan




Department of Human Services. Your written appeal must include your name and
license number, and must be submitted using one of the following methods:
¢ Mail your written app_éal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, P.O.
.Box 30650, Lansing, Mi 48909. You should obtain some type of delivery
confirmation to verify delivery;
» Fax your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing at
(517) 284;9709. You should keep a copy of your fax confirmation as proof of
submittal; or

« Email your written appeal to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov. You should keep a

copy of the sent email as proof of submittal.

LICENSEE IS FURTHER NOTIFIED that failure to file a written appeal of this

action within 30 days will result in revocation of the license.

DATED: (6/27 /2014

e
J chdrick, Dir r
censing Division

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

This is the last and final page of a NOTICE OF INTENT in the matter of Nathalie Johnson,
DG110080455, consisting of nine pages, this page included.

JEK




STATE OF MICHIGAN
. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of | License # DG110080455

Nathalie Johnson

NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE CONFERENCE

Date: Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Time: 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Location: Kalamazoo Co. DHS- BCAL, 322 E. Stockbridge Avenue, conference room

G, Kalamazoo, M|l 49001

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, MCL 24.292(1), you are afforded the
opportunity to attend an informal compliance conference. The purpose of the
compliance conference is to allow you to show that you were in compliance with the
Child Care Organizations Act and the licensing rules promulgated thereunder. You
have the right, at your expense, to have an attorney represent you at the compliance
conference. You may also bring one support person to the compliance conference.

To enable a thorough discussion of the Notice of Intent at the compliance conference,
please bring any documents, pictures, etc. that you would like the Department to
consider. You may also submit documents to the Department prior to the compliance
conference by emailing them to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov.

If you-are unable to attend the compliance conference at the scheduled date and time,
you may request, in writing, that the Department change the date and/or time. The
Department will make all reasonable attempts to accommodate your request, but will
not reschedule the compliance conference to a date more than 10 days after the
scheduled date. If you promptly notify the Department of your inability to attend the
compliance conference as scheduled, the Department may be able to schedule the
compliance conference to a date earlier than originally scheduled.

If you are unable fo show that you were in compliance with the Child Care
Organizations Act and licensing rules, and a resolution cannot be reached, the




Department will forward the matter to the Michigan Administrative Hearing System for
the scheduling of a formal administrative hearing. The Michigan Administrative Hearing
System will subsequently notify you of the date, time, and location of the administrative

hearing.

All Department meetings and hearings are conducted in compliance with the Americans
with Disabilities Act in buildings that accommodate mobility-impaired individuals and
have accessible parking. If you require additional accommodations to participate in the
compliance conference, please notify the Department at least one week in advance to

make the necessary arrangements.

Please direct all written communications regarding the compliance conference or
administrative hearing, including your license number, to the individual listed below:

Jennifer Kerr, Deparimental Analyst
Disciplinary Action Unit

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing
Michigan Department of Human Services
Victor Office Center

201 North Washington Square, 4" Fioor
P.O. Box 30650

Lansing, Ml 48909-8150




- STATE OF MICHIGAN _
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of C License#: DG110080455

Nathalie Johnson

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of a Notice of Intent to revoke the license in the
above matter was served upon the following persons by mailing the same to them at
their address of record by certified mail on October 27, 2014.

Néthalie Johnson
5356 Inﬁarlochen
loma/-Mi 49038

Kristine-fviani n;é;egy

-

Bureau ofChildren and Adult Licensing






