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State of Michigan V@ ‘
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES %Aﬁeg
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING
RICK SNYDER MAURA D. CORRIGAN
GOVERNOR 7 DIRECTOR

October 28, 2014

Ms. Dominique King
20176 Mark Twain
Detroit, Mi 48235

Re: License DF 820312697
Dear Ms. King:
On or about September 16, 2014, you were mailed a copy of the Department’s Notice of
Intent to Revoke your Certificate of Registration to operate a family child care home. In
accordance with that notice, and because you did not exercise your right of appeal, your
certificate has been revoked effective October 24, 2014. It is further understood that you will

not receive children for care now, or in the future, unless you are properly licensed.

Sincerely,

™, .
)mmi__»ﬁf

‘ JerryHendrlchk Actmg Director
'-,Chllcg Care Licensing Division
Buréau of Children & Adult Licensing
JH:kam

cc:  Rose A Rafferty-Aquirre, Area Manager

BCAL 4/05 P.0. BOX 30850 ¢ LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909-8150
v michigan.gov » {517) 335.6124




State of Michigan g%%
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES il %
= BUREAU QOF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING o S8
RICK SNYDER MAURA D. CORRIGAN

GOVERNOR DIRECTOR

September 16, 2014

Dominique King
20176 Mark Twain
Detroit, M| 48235

License #: DF820312697
SIR#: 2014D0932014

Dear Ms. King:

Enclosed is a copy of a NOTICE OF INTENT TO REVOKE YOUR
CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION to operate a family child care home, alleging that
you have violated the Child Care Organizations Act. Your options are as follows:

1) You may appeal the Notice of Intent and attend a pre-hearing compliance
conference. A Notice of Compliance Conference, which provides the date,
time, location, and guidelines of the conference, is enclosed.

2) You may appeal the Notice of Intent, waive the compliance conference, and
proceed directly to an administrative law hearing.

3) You may choose not to appeal the Notice of Intent.

If you choose to appeal the Notice of Intent, the Department must receive your
WRITTEN APPEAL within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice. If the Department
does not receive your written appeal within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice, you

will have WAIVED YOUR RIGHT to an administrative law hearing and the proposed
action will be final.

Sincerely,

Jérry e%{}:&tor

Chil *Cére Licensing Division
Bureau of Children and Adulit Licensing

Enclosures

Cc: Rose A. Rafferty-Aguirre, Area Manager

OCAL 12/03 P.0. BOX 30850 » LANS!NG, MICHIGAN 48809-8150
wvav.michigan.gov « {617) 284-9700




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #. DF820312697
: SIR# 2014D0932014

Dominique King

NOTICE OF INTENT TO
REVOKE CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION

The Michigan Department of Human Services, by Jerry Hendrick, Director, Child
Care Licensing Division, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, provides notice of the
intent to revoke the certificate of registration of Registrant, Dominique King, to operate a
family child care home pursuant fo the authority of the Child Care Organizations Act,
1973 PA 116, as amended, MCL 722.111 et seq., for the following reasons:

1. On or about Octobér 7, 2011, Registrant was issued a certificate of registration to
operate a family child care home, with a current registered capacity of 6, at
20176 Mark Twain, Detroit, Ml 48235.

2. Registrant was previously issued license #DG630293009 to operate a group
child care home from Jatjuary 24, 2008, to September 20, 2011.

3. On or about June 6, 2008, Licensing Consultant Darlene Sandel compieted

Special Investigation Report (SIR) #2008D0426020 and cited Licensee for

violating licensing rule R 400.1903(1)(h)(ii}.
e #% On June 6, 2008,




Licensee submitted an acceptable Coirective Action Plan (CAP) to show
. compliance with the cited licensing rule violation. ‘

4. On or about July 1, 2008, Ms. Sandel completed a Licensing Study Report (LSR)
and cited Licensee with nine licensing rule Qiotations, including the following:

a. R 400.1907(1)(a); Eight child information cards were incomplete and four
child care children did not have child information cards on file;

b. R 400.1907(3); Licensee was not keeping attendance records;

¢. R 400.1924(2)(b); Caregiving staff failed to assure that child care children
ware washing their hands after toileting or diapering.

5. On July 15, 2008, Licensee completed a CAP to show compliance with the
licensing rule violations cited In the July 1, 2008, LSR.

6. On or about October 19, 2009, Licensing Consultant Doris Hayes completed SIR
#2009D0428022 and cited Licensee with the following two licensing rule -
violations: | _

a. R 400.1908(1); On September 3, 2009, Ms. Hayes obsetved 11 unrelated
child care children in the child care home. Licensee was licensed for 10
child care children;

b. R 400.1907({1)(a); Required child information cards and child in care
statements were not on file in the home for two school age child care
children.

7. On October 19, 2009, Licensee completed a CAP to show compliance with the
licensing rule violations cited in SIR #2009D0428022, Additionally, Licensee’s

license was modified to provisional status for a period of six months,




8. On April 14, 2010, Licensing Consultant Cheryl Amare completed an on-site
inspection of Licensee’s child care home and cited Licensee with nine licensing
rule violations including R 400.1916(11) and R 400.1932(8). Ms, Amare’
observed a young toddler sleeping in a car seat when she arrived for the on-site
inspection. Addiﬁonal[y, Ms. Amare observed a burning candle in Licensee’s
home during child care hours. Licensee completed a GAP fo address the nine
licensing rule violations.

9. On October 19, 2011, Licensing Consultant Essence Hickman completed a 90-
day inspection of Registrant’s home and cited Registrant with four licensing rule
violations, including R 400.1807(1)(a). Four of five child information cards were |
missing date of admission information and one of five cards was missing the
parent's empfoyer contact information. Registrant completed a CAP to show
compliance with the cited licensing rule violations.

10.0n May 22, 2014, Licensing Consuitant Janeiro Byrd conducted an

unannounced inspection of Registrant's child care home due to complaint

allegations i
EEE® During this

inspection Ms. Byrd discovered the following:

a. Registrant stated that on May 15, 2014, she was supervising eleven
children, age six months to six years, without additional authorized
assistant caregivers, and that she did not observe Child A get bumed,

b. Registrant admitted that herfiancé, Donald Cook, lives in her child care

home and moved into the home in January, 2013, Registrant failed to




report this household composition change to the department within 7
working days, as required,

. Registrant failed to submit a licensing record clearance request for Mr.
Cook to the department, as required,

. Registrant was unabie to locate her CPR/First Ald card upon Ms. Byrd's
request. The CPR/First Aid card on file for Registrant expired November,
2013;

. Registrant was unable to provide a child information cérd for seven of the
eleven children enrolled in the child care home;

Registrant admitted that she does not take attendance for her private pay
families; she only takes aftendance for child care children whose care is
paid for by the State of Michigan. When Ms. Byrd reviewed the
attendance records for the child care chi!dren whose care is paid for by
the State she noticed that the attendance records were two weeks behind;
. Registrant had 11 child care children in attendance, age six months tp six
years of age. Two of the child care children were under 18 months of age
and five child care children were und.er 30 months of ‘age. Registrant
admitted that she is aware that her registered capacity is six child care
children;

. Child E (age 8 months) was sleeping in a baby rocker, which is
unapproved sleeping equipment, and Child C (age one year) and Child D

(age one year) were asleep on the floor with blankets. Registrant was




required to provide Child G and Child D, based on their age, with an '
approved crib, porta-crib, cot or mat;

i. Ms. Byrd obseived Registrant change diapers on her lap on a step near -
the front door entrance. There was no designated changing area in the
home, she did not observe Registrant wash her hands after diapering and
she did not observe Registrant wash the child care children's hands after

diapering.
11.0n June 6, 2014, Ms. Byrd interviewed Child A's Mother who stated that on May

15, 2014, Child A's Father picked up Child A from Registrant’s home at 4:00 p.m.

COUNT I

The conduct of Registrant, as set forth in paragraphs 10(b) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400,1803{1)(h) Caregiver responsibilities.
(1) A caregiver shall be responsible for aif of the following

provisions:
(h) Report to the department, within 7 working days, any

changes in the household compaosition..

[Note: By this reference paragraph 3 is incorporated into this count for the purpose of
demonstrating a willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]




COUNT I
The conduct of Registrant, as set forth in paragraph 10(e) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1907(1)(a) Children’s records.
(1) Prior to initial attendance, the caregiver shall obtain the
following documents:
(a) A completed child information card on a form provide by
the department or a comparable substitute approved by
the department.

[Note: By this reference paragraphs 4(a), 6(b) & 9 are incorporated into this count for
the purpose of demonstrating willful and substantial violations of the above rule.]

COUNT Il

The conduct of Registrant, as set forth in paragraphs 10(f) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1807(3) Children’s records.
(3) Dated daily attendance records of children in care shall be
maintained and shall include the child's first and last name

and the time of arrival and departure.

[Note: By this reference paragraph 4(b) is incorporated into this count for the purpose
of demonstrating a willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]

COUNT IV
The conduct of Régistrant, as set forth in paragraphs 10(a) & 10(g) above,

evidences a violation of:

R400.1908(1) Capacity.
(1) The family child care registrant shall assure that the actual

number of unrelated children in care at any 1 time does not
exceed the number of children for which the home is
registered, not to exceed a total of 6.

[Note: By this reference paragraph 6(a) is incorporated into this count for the purpose
of demonstrating a willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]




COUNT V
The conduct of Registrant, as set forth in paragraphs 10(h} above, evidences a

violation of;

R400.1916(11) Bedding and sleeping equipment.”

(11) Children 24 months or younger who fall sleep in a space
that is not approved for sleeping shall be moved to
approved sleeping equipment appropriate for their size and
age.

[Note: By this reference paragraph 8 is incorporated into this count for the purpose of
demonstrating a willful and substantial violation of the above rule.]

COUNT VI

The conduct of Registrant, as set forth in paragraphs 10(i) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1924(2)(b) Hand washing.
(2) Caregiving staff shall assure that children wash their

hands at the following times:
(b) After toileting or diapering.

[Note: By this reference paragraph 4(c) is incorporated into this count for the purpose
of demonstrating a wiliful and substantial violation of the above rule.]

COUNT Vil

The conduct of Registrant, as set forth in paragraphs 10(g) above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1910(2) Ratio of caregiving staff to children
(2) For each caregiving staff person, not more than 4 children
shall be under the age of 30 months, with not more than 2
of the 4 children under the age of 18 months.




COUNT Vil
The conduct of Registrant, as set forth in paragraphs 10 & 11 above, evidences a

violation of:

R400.1911(1) Supervision.
(1) The caregiver shall assure appropriate care and supervision

of children at all times.

NOTICE [S GIVEN that, Registrant is offered the opportunity to show compliance
with all lawful requirements for retention of the certificate of registration. If
Registrant appeals the Notice of Intent and compliance is not shown, formal
proceedings will be commenced pursuant tc; the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA
116, as amended, MCL 722.111 et seq., rules promulgated thereunder, and the
Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 308, as amehded; MCL. 24.201 et seq. Should
formal proceedings commence, you have the right to attorney representation at your
own expense.

REGISTRANT IS NOTIFIED that pursuant to MCL 722.121(2) of the Child Care
Organizations Act, Registrant has 30 days from the date of receipt of the Notice of
Intent to file a written appeal of the proposed action. The appeal shall be addressed to
Joshua Hargrove, Departmental Analyst, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing,
Michigan Department of Human Services. Your written appeal must include your name

and license number, and must be submitted using one of the following methods:




o Mail your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adutlt Licensing, P.O.
Box 30650, Lansing, Ml 48908. You should obtain some type of delivery
éonfirmation to verify delivery,

e Fax your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Aduit Licensing at
(517) 284-9709. You should keep a copy of your fax confirmation as proof of

submittal; or

o Email your written appeal to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov. You should keep a

copy of the sent email as proof of submittal.

REGISTRANT IS FURTHER NOTIFIED that failure to file a written appeal of this

action within 30 days will result in revocation of the certificate of registration.

DATED: ___ & [15 [7e 14

shild CareLicensing Division
Buredu of Children and Adult Licensing

This is the last and final page of a NOTICE OF INTENT in the matter of Dominique King, DF820312697,
consisting of 9 pages, this page included.

JNH




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #: DF820312697
SIR#: 2014D0932014

Dominigue King

NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE CONFERENCE

Date: Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Time: 11 a.m.to 1 p.m.

Location: Cadillac Place, 3026 West Grand Bivd., Ste. 11-350, conference room,

Detroit, Ml

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, MCL 24.292(1), you are afforded the
opportunity to attend an informal compliance conference. The purpose of the
compliance conference is to allow you to show that you were in compliance with the
Child Care Organizations Act and the licensing rules promulgated thereunder. You
have the right, at your expense, to have an attorney represent you at the compliance
conference. You may also hring one support person to the compliance conference.

To enable a thorough discussion of the Notice of Intent at the compliance conference,
please bring any documents, pictures, etc. that you would like the Depariment to
consider. You may also submit documents to the Department prior to the compliance

conference by emailing them to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov.

if you are unable to attend the compliance conference at the scheduled date and time,
you may request, in writing, that the Department change the date and/or time. The
Department will make all reasonable attempts to accommodate your request, but will
not reschedule the compliance conference to a date more than 10 days after the
scheduled date. If you promptly notify the Department of your inability to attend the
compliance conference as scheduled, the Department may be able to schedule the
compliance conference to a date earlier than originally scheduled.

[f you are unable to show that you were in compliance with the Child Care
Organizations Act and licensing rules, and a resolution cannot be reached, the




Department will forward the matter to the Michigan Administrative Hearing System for
the scheduling of a formal administrative hearing. The Michigan Administrative Hearing
System will subsequently notify you of the date, time, and location of the administrative

hearing.

All Department meetings and hearings are conducted in compliance with the Americans
with Disabilities Act in buildings that accommodate mobility-impaired individuals and
have accessible parking. If you require additional accommodations to participate in the
compliance conference, please notify the Department at least one week in advance to

make the necessary arrangements.

Please direct all written communications regarding the compliance conference or
administrative hearing, including your license number, to the individual listed below:

Joshua Hargrove, Departmental Analyst
Disciplinary Action Unit

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing
Michigan Department of Human Services
Victor Office Center

201 North Washington Square, 4™ Floor
P.0O. Box 30650

Lansing, Ml 48909-8150




3026 W Grand Blwl., Suite 11-350
Detroit, M1 48202

iz




- . STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #: DF820312697
SIR# 2014D0932014
Dominique King

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of a Notice of Intent to revoke the certificate of
registration in the above matter was served upon the following persons by mailing the
same to them at their address of record by certified mail on September 18, 2014.

Dominigque King
20176 Mark Twain

anion,-Secretary
Children and Adult Licensing




