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November 10, 2014

Ms. Pamela Goodrich
844 Dayton SW
Grand Rapids, M1 49504

Re: License DG410266341

Dear Ms. Goodrich:

On or about September 19, 2014 you were mailed a copy of the Department’s
Notice of Intent to Refuse your license to operate a group child care home. In
accordance with that notice, and because you did not exercise your right of appeal,

your license has been revoked effective November 4, 2014.

It is further our understanding that you are not receiving children for care now, or
in the future, and will not do so until such time as you are legally licensed.

Sincerely,

Jerk/y Hendrlck Acting Director
Chlld Care Licensing Division
Bureau of Children & Adult Licensing

JH:kam

cc: Scott Bettys, Area Manager
Vicki Davison, Licensing Consultant

201 N. Washington Square, PO Box 30680, Lansing, Michigan 48909
www.michigan.gov « (517) 284-9740
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September 19, 2014

Pamela Goodrich
844 Dayton SW
Grand Rapids, Mi 49504

License#: DG410266341
SIR# 2014D1014021

Dear Ms. Goodrich:

Enclosed is a copy of a NOTICE OF INTENT TO REVOKE YOUR LICENSE to operate
a group child care home, alieging that you have violated the Child Care Organizations

Act. Your options are as follows:

1} You may appeal the Notice of Intent and attend a pre-hearing compliance
conference. A Notice of Compliance Conference, which provides the date,
time, location, and guidelines of the conference, is enclosed.

2) You may appeal the Notice of Intent, waive the compliance conference, and
proceed directly to an administrative law hearing.

3) You may choose not to appeal the Notice of Intent.

If you choose to appeal the Notice of Intent, the Department must receive your
WRITTEN APPEAL within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice. If the Department
does not receive your written appeal within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice, you
will have WAIVED YOUR RIGHT to an administrative law hearing and the proposed
action will be final.

Sincerely,

!

Y. Hendrick, Director

)} Care Licensing Division

Bureau of Children and Aduit Licensing

Enclosures

Cc: Scott Bettys, Area Manager

QCAL 12/03 P.0. BOX 30650 » LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909-8150
v michigan.gov « (517) 284-9700




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of : License #: DG410266341 .
SIR#: 2014D1014021

Pamela Goodrich

NOTICE OF INTENT TO
REVOKE LICENSE

The Michigan Department of Human Services, by Jerry Hendrick, Director, Child
Care Licensing Division, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, provides notice of the
intent to revoke the license of Licensee, Pamela Goodrich, to operate a group child care
home pursuant to the authority of the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as
amended, MCL 722.111 et seq., for the following reasons:

1. On or about September 24, 2004, Licensee was issued a license to operate a
group child care home, with a current licensed capacity of 12, at 844 Dayton SW,
Grand Rapids, M| 49504.

2. On April 16, 2014, Licensee pled guilty in 17" Circuit Court — Kent County to one
count MCL 400.601-B, Weilfare Fraud over $500.00. Licensee had fraudulently
billed the Department of Human Services (DHS) a total of $85,941.63 for child
care children that were not in attendance at her group chiid care home.
Licensee’s guilty plea was the result of DHS Office of Inspector General (OIG)

investigation No. [-12-10-003987, completed by OIG Agent Lori Hernandez that




compared Licensee’s child care attendance records with the DHS billing invoices
she submitted from January 3, 2010, to November 30, 2013.

3. OnJune 9, 2014, The Honorable James Robert Redford completed the
Judgment of Sentence and Order of Probation (Case #14-02417-FH) and placed
Licensee on probation for 48 months and ordered her to pay the court restitution
and fees totaling $86,839.63. Licensee failed to report her arrest and conviction
to the department within 7 working days, as required.

4. OnJuly 1, 2014, Licensing Consultant Vicki Davison received the Judgment of
Sentence and Order of Probation (Case #14-02417-FH) from Agent Hernandez.

5. On July 3, 2014, Ms. Davison made an unannounced visit to Licensee’s home
and left her buéiness card requesting that Licensee call her. Later that day
Licensee called Ms. Davison and confirmed that the Judgment of Sentence and
Order of Probation (Case #14-02417-FH) Ms. Davison received were accurate.
When asked why she failed to report her arrest and conviction Licensee stated

that she was not aware that she was required to do so.

COUNT |
The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 5 above,

evidences a violation of:

R400.1902(2) Caregiver and child care home family.
(2) An applicant or the caregiver shall be of responsible
character and shall be suitable and able to meet the needs
of children and provide for their care, supervision, and

protection.




COUNT I
The conduct of Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 3 & 5 above, evidences a
violation of;
R400.1903(1)(h) Caregiver responsibilities.

(1) A caregiver shall be responsible for all of the following
provisions: '
(h) Report to the department, within 7 working days, any
changes in the household composition or when any new
or existing member of the household has any of the

following:
(i) Arrests or convictions.

NOTICE IS GIVEN that, Licensee is offered the opportunity to show compliance
with all lawful requirements for retention of the license. If Licensee appeals the Notice
of Intent and compliance is not shown, formal proceedings will be commenced pursuant
to the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as amended, MCL 722.111 et seq,,
rules promulgated thereunder, and the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 306, as
amended; MCL 24.201 et seq. Should formal proceedings commence, you have the
right to attorney representation at your own expense.

LICENSEE IS NOTIFIED that pursuant to MCL 722.121(2) of the Child Care
Organizations Act, Licensee has 30 days from the date of receipt of the Notice of Intent
to file a written appeal of the proposed action. The appeal shall be addressed to
Joshua Hargrove, Departmental Analyst, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing,
Michigan Department of Human Services. Your written appeal must include your name

and license number, and must be submitted using one of the following methods:



« Mail your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, P.O.
Box 30650, Lansing, Mi 48909. You should obtain some type of delivery
confirmation to verify delivery; '

» Fax your written appeal to the Bureau of Children ahd Adult Licensing at
(5617) 284-9709. You should keep a copy of your fax confirmation as proof of
submittal; or

» Email your written appeal to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov. You should keep a

copy of the sent email as proof of submittal.

LICENSEE IS FURTHER NOTIFIED tﬁat failure to file a written appeal of this

action within 30 days will result in revocation of the license.

DATED: 7/23/ 20 |4~

Jerm\Hehdrick, Director
#d Care Licensing Division
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

This is the last and final page of a NOTICE OF INTENT in the matter of Pamela Goodrich, DG410266341,
consisting of 4 pages, this page included.

JNH -




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #: DG410266341
: SIR#: 2014D1014021

Pamela Goodrich

NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE CONFERENCE

Date: Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Time: 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Location: DHS Kent Co. office, 350 Ottawa NW, Unit 13, conference roonﬁ, Grand

Rapids, Mi

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, MCL 24.292(1), you are afforded the
opportunity to attend an informal compliance conference. The purpose of the
compliance conference is to allow you to show that you were in compliance with the
Child Care Organizations Act and the licensing rules promulgated thereunder. You
have the right, at your expense, to have an attorney represent you at the compliance
conference. You may also bring one support person to the compliance conference.

To enable a thorough discussion of the Notice of intent at the compliance conference,
please bring any documents, pictures, etc. that you would like the Department to
consider. You may aiso submit documents to the Department prior to the compliance
conference by emailing them to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov.

If you are unable to attend the compliance conference at the scheduled date and time,
you may request, in writing, that the Department change the date and/or time. The
Department will make all reasonable attempts to accommodate your request, but will
not reschedule the compliance conference to a date more than 10 days after the
scheduled date. If you promptly notify the Department of your inability to attend the
compliance conference as scheduled, the Department may be able to schedule the
compliance conference to a date earlier than originally scheduled.

If you are unable to show that you were in compliance with the Chiid Care
Organizations Act and licensing rules, and a resolution cannot be reached, the



Department will forward the matter to the Michigan Administrative Hearing System for
the scheduling of a formal administrative hearing. The Michigan Administrative Hearing
System will subsequently notify you of the date, time, and location of the administrative

hearing.

All Department meetings and hearings are conducted in compliance with the Americans
with Disabilities Act in buildings that accommodate mobility-impaired individuals and
have accessible parking. If you require additional accommodations to participate in the
compliance conference, please notify the Depariment at least one week in advance to
make the necessary arrangements.

Please direct all written communications regarding the compliance conference or
administrative hearing, including your license number, to the individual listed below:

Joshua Hargrove, Departmental Analyst
Disciplinary Action Unit

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing
Michigan Department of Human Services
Victor Office Center

201 North Washington Square, 4" Floor
P.O. Box 30650 :

Lansing, MI 48909-8150




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

License #: DG410266341

in the matter of
SIR# 2014D1014021

Pamela Goodrich

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of a Notice of Intent to revoke the license in the
above matter was served upon the following persons by mailing the same to them at
their address of record by certified mail on September 25, 2014.

Pamela Goodrich






