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WHAT IS PATERNITY ESTABLISHMENT?

> Paternity establishment is needed when a child is born to an unmarried mother and a legal father
has not been determined.
> Paternity means legal fatherhood.

» Establishing paternity provides the child with a legal father.

Acknowledgment of paternity is the voluntary process of both
| parents signing a notarized Affidavit of Parentage (AOP), legally
- | declaring the paternity of a child. The AOP is the Michigan

| Department of Community Health (MDCH) form DCH-0682 (see
Appendix A). A completed AOP sample form is also attached (see
Appendix B).

Establishment of paternity is the legal process of determining fatherhood by court order, or
acknowledgment or other method provided for under state law.

WHY SHOULD HOSPITAL STAFF HELP WITH PATERNITY ESTABLISHMENT?

State law (Michigan Compiled Law [MCL] 333.21532, see Appendix C) requires hospitals to participate
in the acknowledgment of paternity, which involves the completion of the AOP form. This guide is to
assist hospital staff in complying with this law.

HOW DOES ESTABLISHING PATERNITY BENEFIT CHILDREN?

Children may be eligible for the following benefits when paternity is established:

Child support

Father’s medical insurance
Inheritance rights

Life insurance

Medical history

Pensions

Social Security benefits
Veterans benefits
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Other benefits:

e  Children have a need to know both parents and their family history for a sense of identity
and family belonging.

o Establishing paternity means that a child born to an unmarried mother will have the same
legal rights as a child born to married parents.

e  Each parent can contribute to his/her child’s financial and emotional security because both
parents are legally and financially responsible for a child. This reduces the likelihood that
either parent will have to apply for public, financial or medical assistance.

o It helps the parents gain self-sufficiency by expediting the child support process for families
who may need this service. Child support is a financial resource. The income from child
support may keep a child from living in poverty.
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WHAT IS THE PATERNITY ESTABLISHMENT PERCENTAGE (PEP)?

e PEP is a child support performance factor for which the Michigan child support program earns
incentive money from the federal government; Michigan receives approximately $26.5 million
in performance incentives from the federal government each fiscal year.

e The data to measure the PEP is obtained from many agencies participating in the paternity
establishment process, including hospitals and the courts. The hospital’s role in PEP is to
promptly submit the notarized Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) to the Michigan Department of
Community Health.

e Establishing paternity in at least 90 percent of non-marital births allows Michigan to earn 100
percent of incentive money for this factor and avoid federal penalties.

e The statewide PEP is the number of children born to unmarried parents in Michigan who have
paternity established, divided by the number of children born to unmarried parents in the
previous year.

e Michigan’s Statewide PEP for fiscal year 2011 was 91.5 percent. Statewide PEP includes
hospital paternity acknowledgments, court orders establishing paternity (child support and
adoptions) and individual Affidavits of Parentage (AOP) submitted by parents.

e The hospital PEP, which is different than the statewide PEP, is measured by calculating
current unwed births with current paternity acknowledgments for these births.

ARE THERE PENALTIES ASSOCIATED WITH PEP?

A penalty can be assessed against the state’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF) grant if the child support program does not maintain the required 90 percent PEP rate.
If Michigan fails to meet the 90 percent PEP rate, the penalty can be millions of dollars.

WHAT'S THE CURRENT STATUS OF PEP?

Michigan’s statewide PEP for 2011 was 91.5 percent. The average PEP for all Michigan
hospitals was 63.8 percent. The goal for hospital PEP is for each hospital to improve to 75
percent or better. This, combined with court determinations, will help keep the state PEP rate
at 90 percent or above!

HOW CAN HOSPITAL STAFF HELP FAMILIES WITH THE AOP PROCESS?

Hospital staff should assist unmarried parents to complete the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP)
when a child is born to an unmarried mother so the child can have all the same legal and
financial rights as a child born to married parents. The following chart provides typical
scenarios and information to help determine when to complete (or NOT to complete) an AOP.
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Questions to

Essential Questions Regarding Completion of an AOP

ask the Mother Yes No When to Complete or NOT to Complete an AOP

Is the mother Yes Do NOT complete the AOP. The mother’s husband is the child’s legal

married to the father, no AOP is needed.

b'O|Og'Ca.I father No If the mother is unmarried, the parents should complete the AOP.

of the child?

Is the mother Yes Do NOT complete the AOP. The mother's husband is the legal father of

married to any child born during the marriage. The mother must obtain a final court

someone other order stating the husband is not the father of the child before the mother

than the and the biological father should complete the AOP.

biological

father? No | If the mother is unmarried, the parents should complete the AOP.

Is the mother Yes If the mother was divorced more than 10 months before the child’s birth,

divorced? then the child is NOT considered a child of the marriage. If the mother is
currently unmarried, the parents should complete the AOP.

No | If the mother is married, the mother’'s husband is the legal father of any
child born during the marriage. Prior to the biological parents completing
the AOP, the mother must obtain a final court order stating her husband
is not the father of the child.

Has the mother | Yes If the mother was divorced within 10 months prior to the child’s birth, the

been divorced child is considered a child of that marriage. The mother's ex-husband is

within the last the legal father until the couple obtains a final court order stating the ex-

10 months? husband is not the father of the child. The parents should NOT
complete the AOP.

No If the mother is married, the mother’s husband is the legal father of any
child born during their marriage. Prior to the biological parents
completing the AOP, the mother must obtain a final court order stating
the husband is not the father of the child.

Has the mother | Yes If the mother is unmarried and was divorced more than 10 months prior

been divorced
for more than
10 months?

to the child’s birth, then the child is NOT considered a child of her
previous marriage. The parents should complete the AOP.
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GUIDELINES TO KEEP YOUR HOSPITAL IN COMPLIANCE:

Provide parents with the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) form and the following Department of
Human Services (DHS) publications (see Appendix D for the publication order list):

> What Every Parent Should Know About Establishing Paternity - DHS Pub-780,
» Fatherhood — Taking Responsibility for Your Child - DHS Pub-806; and
» DNA Paternity Testing - DHS Pub-865.
Show parents the paternity DVD, “The Power of Two” (see Appendix D to order this DVD).

Ensure parents understand the consequences, rights, and responsibilities appearing on the
AOP form.

Offer the use of hospital notary public services. Have a notary available in the evening
hours, or have other hospital staff become notaries.

Hold the AOP until both parents provide identification.

Fill out the AOP form electronically at the hospital, and file the hard-copy version of the
AOP with the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) as quickly as possible.

Provide one copy of the completed AOP form to each parent (if parents return, after the
child has left the hospital, and request additional copies of the AOP refer them to the
MDCH Vital Records Office at 517-335-8666 or suggest they complete the Application for a
certified copy Michigan Affidavit of Parentage record from the MDCH website.)

If parents do not complete the AOP, print the AOP form and give it to the parents and
also provide the sample AOP form (Appendix B).

Parents may opt to take a blank AOP form home, but MDCH will charge a fee to amend
the birth certificate (ADD A FATHER ON A MICHIGAN BIRTH RECORD) later. If the parents
decide to take the AOP form home, the parents are responsible for sending the completed
AOP form to the MDCH.

For additional child support assistance, or, for questions about genetic/DNA tests, or questions
about the Child Support Services Application/Referral form (Appendix F) provide parents with
the Office of Child Support toll-free phone number 1-866-540-0008.

Hospitals may follow the sample script (Appendix H) for acknowledgments or schedule an
appointment with the parents for a later time (Appendix ).

Post paternity establishment informational flyers in birthing areas or OB/GYN offices to
help parents learn the process prior to the birth of their child (see appendices K and L).
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Important Information Regarding the AOP Form

e The AOP must not contain corrections.

¢ Please provide hospital contact information and a return address in case MDCH needs to
contact hospital staff members about the AOP form for any reason.

e The man the mother is married to is legally the father of a child unless a final court order
(specifically naming the child) states the husband is not the child’s father. When MDCH
receives an AOP listing someone other than the husband as the father, and the mother
is not divorced, MDCH will send the mother a letter citing Michigan Compiled Law
333.2824.

e Make sure the AOP form is complete. MDCH will reject the AOP if the form is missing
information. This is one reason for lower Paternity Establishment Percentages (PEP) rates.

e Parents can sign the AOP at separate times and in front of different notaries. This may be
particularly useful if one of the parents is:

» Working;

» Away from the home;
» Is in the military; or
> In jail.

e There is no time limitation for using the AOP — the parents can complete the AOP to
establish paternity even when their child is an adult.

e The AOP requires the parents’ signatures be notarized, rather than witnessed.

Notary Public Information

Hospital staff members who have questions about the notary rules should contact the Department of
State, Office of the Great Seal. See page 11 of this document for additional notary information.
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Questions About Completing the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) Form

1. What happens if either the father or mother does not have
appropriate identification (ID)?

Answer — Appropriate identification is a valid photo ID that is
recognized by the State of Michigan. Explain to both parents that they
must have a current, valid picture ID. (Driver’s License, State ID,
Passport, high school id card, valid or expired for less than one year)

2. What if there are concerns about fees regarding the Affidavit of
Parentage (AOP) form?

. . ree/s.
Answer — Emphasize that there are no fees for completing the AOP or \/“/\/
adding the father’'s name to the birth record when the AOP is // F
completed at the hospital at the time of birth.

3. Can hospital staff help parents complete an AOP if the father is in prison?

Answer — The Michigan Prison Wardens and Sheriffs approved a
procedure for processing the AOP forms received from Michigan
birthing hospitals. Hospital staff will determine the prison or jail
location for the alleged father and send a letter (see Appendix G)
to that prison or jail, along with:

The AOP.
What Every Parent Should Know About Establishing Paternity - DHS Pub-780.

A letter of explanation (See Appendix G).

A self-addressed stamped envelope to the attention of the Warden’s Administrative
Assistant/Jail Administrator at that prison or jail.

YV VY

When the Warden’s Administrative Assistant/Jail Administrator receives these materials,
(s)he will:

> Present the incarcerated alleged father with the AOP form and the pamphlet What Every
Parent Should Know About Establishing Paternity - DHS Pub-780.

Review the AOP form and pamphlet with the incarcerated alleged father, if requested.
Have a notary witness the incarcerated father’s signature, if he decides to sign the AOP.
Send the AOP back to the hospital in the envelope provided; or

Send the unsigned AOP back to the hospital indicating the prisoner declined to sign the
form, when the incarcerated alleged father refuses to acknowledge the child.

VVVYY

When hospital staff receive the AOP from the prison, file the completed AOP with MDCH.
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Questions About Completing the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) Form

4. Will prison/jail staff return the AOP form quickly?

Answer — Yes, prison/jail staff recognize the necessity of getting the AOP returned promptly.
Hospital staff may contact the prison if they have not received a response — telephone
numbers and addresses for the prisons are available on the Offender Tracking Information
System (OTIS) website. The Michigan Department of Corrections (MDOC) maintains the
OTIS website with information about offenders previously or currently under the jurisdiction
or supervision of the MDOC. The information in this database is strictly about people in
Michigan prisons (not Michigan jails).

5. What information should medical records staff request from the mother about the
incarcerated father to use the OTIS website?

Answer — To perform an accurate search on OTIS, especially if the father has a common
name (e.g., Thomas Jones, Robert Williams, etc.) staff should ask the mother for the following

information:
Father's name Father’s date of birth Father’s race
Name of the prison Father’s prisoner number

6. What to do if the father is in the military?

Answer — If the father is in the military, contact the appropriate agency
listed below. Send correspondence to the father's commanding officer
requesting assistance with completion of the AOP form. The
commanding officer can help the father to sign the AOP form, or the
mother can call 1-866-540-0008 to apply for child support, and a child
support worker will assist in locating the father.

Military Contacts

Army Office of the Judge Advocate General, Attn: DAJA- LA, 2200 Army Pentagon,
Washington, DC 20310; Phone: (703) 588-6708.

Navy Office of the Judge Advocate General (Code 16), 1322 Patterson Avenue, SE, Suite
3000, Washington Navy Yard, DC 20374-5066; Phone: (202) 685-4637.

Marine Corps Headquarters, USMC, Code MMSB-17, 2008 Elliot Road, Room 201,
Quantico, VA 22134-5030; Phone: (703) 784-3942.

U.S. Air Force Office of the Judge Advocate General, AFLSA/JACA, 1420 Air Force
Pentagon, Washington, DC 20330-1420; Phone: (703) 697-0413.

Coast Guard Office of the Judge Advocate General, United States Coast Guard,
Personnel Service Center, 444 SE Quincy Street, Topeka, KS 66683;

7. Is sending the AOP to the prison warden or to the father’'s commanding officer in the
military a Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) violation?

Answer — The mother’s signature on the AOP is considered as consent to release the
information to the father or the father’'s agent. If HIPAA is a concern, the HIPAA Disclosure
Authorization Form (Appendix J) can be used.
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Questions About Completing the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) Form

8. What if the father did not come to the hospital for the child’s birth?

Answer — Ask the mother if she is willing to provide a phone number where the father

can be reached. If the mother is willing to allow you to make this connection, contact the

father and ask him to come to the hospital. Be sure to ask that he bring a picture ID. If
the mother does not want to see him at the birth, ask him to come at a different
time, or the mother can call 1-866-540-0008 to apply for child support, and a child
support worker will assist in locating the father.

9. What are the parents’ rights and responsibilities?

Answer — The parents’ rights and responsibilities are listed on the Affidavit of Parentage

(AOP) form and also in MCL 722.1007 of the Acknowledgment of Parentage Act:

The acknowledgment of parentage form shall include at least all of the following written

notices to the parties:

(a) The acknowledgment of parentage is a legal document.

(b) Completion of the acknowledgment is voluntary.

(c) The mother has initial custody of the child, without prejudice to the determination of
either parent's custodial rights, until otherwise determined by the court or agreed by
the parties in writing and acknowledged by the court. This grant of initial custody to
the mother shall not, by itself, affect the rights of either parent in a proceeding to seek
a court order for custody or parenting time.

(d) Either parent may assert a claim in court for parenting time or custody.

(e) The parents have a right to notice and a hearing regarding the adoption of the child.

() Both parents have the responsibility to support the child and to comply with a court or
administrative order for the child's support.

(g) Notice that signing the acknowledgment waives the following:

(i) Blood or genetic tests to determine if the man is the biological father of the child.

(i) Any right to an attorney, including the prosecuting attorney or an attorney
appointed by the court in the case of indigency, to represent either party in a court
action to determine if the man is the biological father of the child.

(iii) A trial to determine if the man is the biological father of the child.

(h) That in order to revoke an acknowledgement of parentage, an individual must file a

claim as provided under Michigan Compiled Law 722.1011.

10. How quickly is the AOP filed with the Michigan Department of Community Health

(MDCH)?

Answer - Explain that the hospital electronic filing is nearly instantaneous. However, the
AOQORP filing is a pending AOP record in the Central Paternity Registry until the hard copy of
the AOP with the notarized signatures is received by MDCH.
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Questions About Completing the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) Form

11.

What if the father doesn’t think it’s important to sign the form?

Answer — Explain that by signing the AOP, the child will have two legal parents, and rights
to benefits (e.g., Medical Insurance and Social Security). The father will also have the
same rights as a married father, including the right to make medical care decisions for the
child.

12.

What if the father doesn’t want to take financial responsibility for the child?

Answer — Explain that even if the father decides not to sign the AOP at this time, the
mother can complete a Child Support Services Application/Referral form (Appendix F),
and a child support case will be opened if appropriate. Either parent may call 1-866-540-
0008 to request an application for child support.

13.

Is there a fee to complete the AOP form in locations other than the hospital?

Answer — There is no fee to complete the AOP at the time of birth in the hospital and no
fee to complete the form at other locations, but there is a cost of $50 to Add a Father on a
Michigan Birth Record at a later date. Parents must send the AOP form to the Michigan
Department of Community Health (MDCH) for the AOP to be registered in the Central
Paternity Registry.

14.

How do parents request a certified copy of the AOP form, and is there a fee?

Answer — Yes, parents may complete the Application for a certified copy Michigan
Affidavit of Parentage record, a certified copy is $34; additional copies ordered at the
same time are $16.

15.

Can the $50 fee for adding the father’'s name be waived for low-income DHS clients?

Answer — No.

16.

What is considered “valid identification” ?

Answer — According to the Department of State, Office of the Great Seal, the notary
public must identify the individual either from personal knowledge or satisfactory
evidence. If the notary does not personally know the individual who is requesting a
notarial act, (s)he must ask to see a driver’s license, passport, state-issued personal
identification card or high school id. The notary can also identify an individual upon the
oath or affirmation of a credible witness if the notary personally knows the witness and the
witness personally knows the individual.

17.

Can a married woman complete an AOP with a biological father (not her husband)?

Answer — Only after the mother provides a final court order specifically stating her
husband is not the father of the child in question, otherwise, the husband must be
listed as the father of the child. Court statements such as there being no children of the
marriage or being silent about the newborn are not sufficient to avoid naming the
mother’s husband as the father for the child on the birth certificate.
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Questions About Completing the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) Form

18.

Can parents complete the AOP later, after the newborn leaves the hospital?

Answer — Yes, the AOP is available on the Michigan Department of Community Health
(MDCH) website (see Appendix A). Parents must have the form notarized before filing the
AOP with MDCH. In addition, the father’s name will not appear on the initial birth
certificate when the form is completed after the hospital files the initial birth record. After
the hospital files the initial birth record, the parents must pay a $50 fee to correct the birth
certificate and complete the application to Add a Father on a Michigan Birth Record (DCH-
0848) to have the name of the father added to the birth record.

19.

What if the alleged father wants a DNA test?

Answer — Provide a copy of the DHS-865, DNA-Paternity Testing
Questions and Answers (see Appendix D). This publication
explains how paternity testing is completed, including how samples
are collected, the approximate cost of the procedure, the legal
meaning of a DNA blood test, and how confidentiality is handled.
This publication is also available in Spanish. DHS-780, What
Every Parent Should Know About Establishing Paternity is
helpful in explaining paternity establishment and is also available in
Spanish. Parents with any paternity or child support questions may
call the Office of Child Support at 1-866-540-0008.

20.

Is there a fee for the DNA genetic test?

Answer — Yes, through the Prosecuting Attorney’s (PA’s) office, the DNA test is $21.90
per person tested (father, mother and baby) and a $5 per person sample collection fee. If
the alleged father is not excluded (meaning he is the father), then the father is usually
court ordered to repay the state for the genetic test(s). A court will determine who pays for
the genetic testing and fees as part of the child support order. Parents may go to a
laboratory (rather than the PA office) to get a DNA test done, but the genetic testing
cost(s) may be higher and the test results may not be admissible in a court proceeding.

21.

When does the AOP form become a “legal document”?

Answer — The AOP is considered a “legal document” in Michigan once both parents and a
notary public have completed and signed the AOP. Even if the parents never file the AOP
with the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH), it is considered a “legal
document.” The DHS Office of Child Support recommends filing the AOP with MDCH as
soon as possible. This will ensure there is a record of the AOP in the MDCH Central
Paternity Registry.

22.

Are there legal penalties for misstatements or false information on the AOP?

Answer — There is usually no legal penalty, but a charge of fraud could be filed.

23.

What if there is incorrect information on the AOP?

Answer — If the AOP was completed fraudulently or in error, a court can nullify the form.
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Questions About Completing the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) Form

24. Will MDCH accept incomplete or partially completed AOP forms?
Answer — No.

25. Who can parents call with questions about the AOP, child support, or legal rights?
Answer — Parents can call the toll-free telephone number for the Office of Child Support:
1-866-540-0008.

26. What if one or both parents changed their mind or think the man is not the father of

the child at a later date?

Answer — Disestablishment of paternity is a complex legal action requiring an attorney
and court action. Disestablishment is only possible when a claim for revocation is
supported by an affidavit signed by the claimant setting forth one of the following facts:

Mistake of fact;

Newly discovered evidence that by due diligence could not have been found
before the AOP was signed;

Fraud;

Misrepresentation or misconduct; or

Duress in signing the AOP.

The claimant (father or mother) must comply with Michigan Compiled Law 722.1011.

3oy,
{‘"”f"? /

W 5%

Help families by providing paternity information and sending

newborn children home with two legal parents!

Remember: Follow-up, follow-up, follow-up is the key to increasing your
hospital’'s Paternity Establishment Percentage.
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Paternity Establishment Percentage Contact Information

Ellen Wood - PEP Outreach Liaison
235 S. Grand Ave., Suite 801
Lansing, MI 48909

(517) 373-0275 or
DHS-OCS-PEP@michigan.gov

For Parents:

» Establishing child support or child support applications: Contact child support specialists
at the following toll-free number: 1-866-540-0008.

» Voluntary acknowledgment of paternity: Contact the local Department of Human Services
(DHS) county office. DHS Local Office Information

» Establishing paternity, obtaining genetic testing or court orders: Contact child support
specialists at this toll-free number: 1-866-540-0008.

» Enforcement of a court order or custody and visitation concerns: Contact the county
Friend of the Court office.

Websites for Further Information

Michigan Department of Community Health website:
http://www.michigan.gov/mdch

Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) form:
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/Parentage 10872 7.pdf

Michigan Department of Human Services website:
http://www.mi.gov/dhs

Link to statistics of birthing hospitals statewide:
http://www.mi.gov/documents/dhs/Hospital_Stats CY 2010 354232 7.pdf

Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement:
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cse/
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STATE OF MICHIGAN

:\' DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH
et Division for Vital Records and Health Statistics
State Fie Number
AFFIDAVIT OF PARENTAGE
We affirm under penalty of perjury that we are the natural parents of:
(First) (Miodie) Last)
who was born in _ on
[Hospital Name, City, County, State} (Date of Birth)

and that we sign this affidavit to establish the patemity for this child. We hereby consent that the name of the natural

father may be included on the certificate of birth for the child.

We wish the child's name to be recorded as:

(First) (Midde)
In signing this form, we understand that:

(a) Thisis alegal document.

(b) Completion of the affidavit is

voluntary.
(¢) The mother has initial custody of the child, without prejudice to the determination of either parent’s custodial rights, until otherwise determined by the
court or agreed upon by the parties in writing and acknowledged by the court. This grant of initial custody to the mother shall not, by itself, affect the
nﬁtsofuhetpmnaproceedmgwmkamudeﬂwwﬂndyormmm

(d) Either parent may assert a claim in court for parenting time or custody.

(e) Mmmﬁwanﬂummﬂahmmﬂmha&pﬂmd&ndﬂd

(f) Both parents have the
(g) By signing this affidavit. we wane the §

to support the child and to comply with a court or administrative order for the child’s support.

(i) mmbwwmumbMQfﬂwmsmbmuthmm
{ii.) Anynmtbaownappomudm inciuding the Prosecuting Attomey. to represent either party in a court action to determine if the man

father of the chid.

{i.) mngnwamalmdetmufmemmnsmmdogndhwdﬂwdﬂd
(h) In order to revoke the Affidavit of Parentage, an indwidual must file 3 claim as provided under the Revocation of Patemity Act (Michigan Compiled

Law [MCL] 722.1437).

Further, the mother states that she was not married when this child was bomn or conceived; or that this child, though born
or conceived during a marriage, is not an issue of that mamiage as determined by a court of law.

FATHER MOTHER
Name Name 5
(Fathers Name — Printed) (Mothers Name — Prnted)
Current Address Number and Street Name Current Adaress Number and Street Name
cny State 2P Code cry Stase ZIP Code
Date of Birth Date of Birth

State or Country of Birth

Social Security Number

To the best of my knowiedge, the above information is true

State or Country of Birth

Social Security Number

To the best of my knowledge, the above information is true

(Signature of Father) (Signature of Mother)
Swscroed and SWOM D DEfOre Me s dayof - I Subscribed anA SWOM o DeforE MR tis _  deyof . 20
Notary Public In and for County, Michigan. Notary Pubiic in and for County, Michigan.
Acting in the County of Acting In the County of
Notary Public's Signature Notary Public’s Signature
Notary Pubiic’s Name — Printed or Typed Notary Pudiic's Name — Printed or Typed
My commission expires My commission expires

DCH-0682 [Rev 10/2013) By authority of Act 305 of 1996 az amended.
Appendix A
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AFFIDAVIT OF PARENTAGE
Instructions

This form can be used to establish the parentage of a child and may be used to have information on the father of a child added
to the certificate of birth for the child. This affidavit may be completed at the time of the child’s birth or at any other time after the
birth.

It is intended for use by couples who were not married at the time the child was conceived nor at the time of birth. In instances
where the mother was married to someone other than the father when the child was conceived or delivered, a court ruling of her
husband’s nonpaternity is necessary in order to first establish that the child is not the husband’s child.

Completion of this affidavit is voluntary. It indicates the parents wish to acknowledge parentage of a child. The form may be used
by parents who were not married when the child was born or when the child was conceived to legally establish their parentage of
a child.

Proper completion of the form is very important. Forms that are not properly completed will not be accepted for ﬂlind: The form
must be legible, must be typed or printed in ink, must be signed by both parents, and must be properly notarized. Ata minimum,
the following items must be provided: the full names of the child, the mother and the father, the date and place of the child’'s
birth, the address of each parent, and the birth places of each parent.

There is no fee for filing the affidavit with the Central Paternity Registry. Once filed, copies of the affidavit can be obtained by
either parent, by the child, or a guardian or legal representative of a parent or the child. Certified copies of the affidavit are
available from the central registry for $34.00 (additional copies are $16.00 each) and can be requested at the time of filing.

Adding a Father to the Birth Certificate --

Establishing Patemity at the Hospital — If this affidavit is completed at the time of birth and provided to hospital staff before the
birth certificate is prepared and filed, the birth certificate will be completed to include the father with no need for a separate
application or fee. When completed at the time of birth and used as the basis for recording the father on the original certificate of
birth, hospital staff must forward the original affidavit, along with the original birth certificate, to the local registrar. The local
registrar will forward the affidavit to the Central Patemity Registry for final filing.

Establishing Patemity After Leaving the Hospital — Birth certificates are not automatically changed when an affidavit is filed
except when completed in the hospital at the time of the birth and before the birth has been registered. Changes to registered
birth records can be requested based upon a properly completed affidavit and an Application to Add a Father on a Michigan
Birth Record (form DCH-0848). If the affidavit is going to be used to add the father's name to a Michigan birth record, the
affidavit should not be mailed to the Central Paternity Registry but should be mailed along with the corrected applicatiJ'l to
add the father to the address listed on the application. A birth record can be changed to reflect the father listed on the affidavit if
no other man is recorded on the record as the child’s father. Should a conflict exist, a court determination of paternity may
become necessary.

There is a fee for each birth record change, as is noted in the payment section of the correction application. An application to
correct a birth certificate is available from the office of the county clerk, the State Vital Records office recorded message
(517) 335-8656, or can be downloaded from the Michigan Department of Community Health website at:
www.michigan.gov/documents/add dad 6589 7.pdf

To file the affidavit and request a copy and/or to change the birth record, mail the completed affidavit, the required fee and, for a
birth record change, a completed Application to Add a Father on a Michigan Birth Record (form DCH-0848) to:

Vital Records Changes

P.O. Box 30721

Lansing, Ml 48909

To simply file the affidavit to establish patemnity and not request a copy or a change to the birth record, mail to:
Central Patemity Registry
Vital Records and Health Statistics Section
Michigan Department of Community Health
P.O. Box 30691
Lansing, MI 48909 [}S
(Completion of this form is voluntary.)

ALTERATION OF THIS FORM OR THE MAKING OF FALSE STATEMENTS WITH THE AFFIDAVIT FOR THE PURPOSES OF
DECEPTION IS A CRIME. [MCL 333.2894‘

DCH-0682 (Rev 10/2013) By authority of Act 305 of 1996 as amended.
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AFFIDAVIT of PARENTAGE (AOP) SAMPLE FORM

For use with DCH-0682
Please read pages 1 and 2 of the AOP thoroughly before completing it.

T STATE OF MICHIGAN

‘ﬂ&f DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH
¢ =) Division for Vital Records and Health Statistics
: State File Number
Se— AFFIDAVIT OF PARENTAGE
We affirm under penality of perjury that we are the natural parents of:
Bradly | witliam Baby
Fe=t) Viddie) (=3
who was bom in Sparrow Hospital Lansing Ingham Mi on 050172014
(Hospital Name. City, County, State) [Datte of Birth)

and that we sign this affidavit to establish the patemity for this child. We hereby consent that the name of the natural
father may be included on the certificate of birth for the child.

We wish the child's name to be recorded as:

Bradly | witliam Baby
Frst) (Miodle) ast)
In signing this form, we understand that:
{a) This is a legal document. I
(b) Completion of the affidavit is voluntary.

(c) The mother has initial custody of the child, without prejudice to the determination of either parent’s custodial nghts, until otherwise determined by the
court or agreed upon by the parties in writing and acknowiedged by the court. This grant of initial custody 10 the mother shall not, by itself, affect the
rights of ether parent in a proceeding to seek a court order for custody or parenting tfime.

(d) Efther parent may assent a claim in court for parenting time or custody

(e) Both parents have a right to notice and a hearing regarding the adoption of the child.

(f) Both parents have the responsibility to support the child and to comply with a court or administrative order for the child's support.

(g) By signing this affidavit, we waive the following.

{i.) The right to blood or genetic tests to determine if the man is the biclogical father of the child.
(ii.) Any right to a court appointed attorney. including the Prosecuting Attorney. o represent either party in a court action to determine if the man
is the biological father of the child.
(#i.) The right to a trial to determine if the man is the biclogical father of the child.

{h} In order to revoke the Affidavit of Parentage, an individual must file a claim as provided under the Revocation of Paternity Act (Michigan Compiled
Law [MCL] 722.1437).

Further, the mother states that she was not married when this child was born or conceived; or that this child, though bom

or conceived during a marriage, is not an issue of that marriage as determined by a court of law.

FATHER MOTHER

Name David Daddy Name Maria Mommy
[Father's Name — Printed) [Mother's Name — Prnted)
555 Elm Street 123 Wood Road
Curent Address Number and Street Name Current Address. Number and Street Name
Lansing Mi 48910 Lansing Mi 48911
Cay State P Code City Sate ZIP Code
Date of Birth 06/01/1980 Date of Birth July 1, 1982
State or Country of Birth Michigan State or Country of Birth Michigan
Social Security Number 999-99-9599 Social Security Number 999-95-9999
To the best of my knowledge, the above information is true To the best of my knowledge, the above information is true
(Signature of Father) (Signature of Mother)

Subscribed and swom o before me this. a3y of . 20 . Subscribed and swom tobeforeme this _ dayof -
Notary Public in and for County. Michigan Notary Public in and for County, Michigan.
Acting in the County of . Acting in the County of
Notary Public’s Signature Notary Pubic’s Signature
Notary Public’s Name — Printed or Typed Notary Pubiic’s Name — Printed or Typed
My commission expires My commission expires

DCH-0682 (Rev 10/2013) By authority of Act 305 of 1996 as amended.

Black or blue ink is preferred.
Please print carefully and exactly using uppercase and lowercase letters appropriately.
There can be no mistakes, write overs, erasures, or €roSs-outs.

Parents should NOT SIGN LINES 8 OR 9 until they are in the presence of a notary. Parent(s)
must provide proper identification.
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PUBLIC HEALTH CODE (EXCERPT)
Act 368 of 1978

Michigan Compiled Law 333.21532 Acknowledgment of parentage. Sec. 21532.

(1) A hospital shall provide to an unmarried mother of a live child born in that hospital
an acknowledgment of parentage form that can be completed by the child's mother and
father to acknowledge paternity of the child as provided in the acknowledgment of
parentage act. The hospital shall provide to the parents the information developed as
required by subsection (2) on the purpose and completion of the form and on the rights
and responsibilities of the parents. Execution of an acknowledgment of parentage as
provided in the acknowledgment of parentage act establishes the child's legal paternity.
The hospital shall forward a completed acknowledgment of parentage to the state
register for recording.

(2) The department shall develop and distribute free of charge to hospitals the
acknowledgment of parentage form, the information on the purpose and completion of
the form, and the information on the rights and responsibilities of the parents. The
hospital shall provide assistance and training to hospital staff assigned responsibility
for obtaining the forms, as appropriate. The acknowledgment of parentage form and
information shall clearly state that completion of the form is voluntary on the part of the
mother and father, and shall include all of the notices as provided in section 7 of the
acknowledgment of parentage act. The hospital shall provide each parent with a copy
of the completed form.

(3) A hospital is immune from civil or criminal liability for providing the form required by
this section, the information developed as required by this section, or otherwise fulfilling
its duties under this section.

History: Add. 1993, Act 116, Eff. Jan. 21, 1993;-- Am. 1996, Act 6, Eff. June 1, 1996 ;-
- Am. 1996, Act 307, Eff. June 1, 1997
Popular Name: Act 368
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OFFICE OF CHILD SUPPORT
PUBLICATION ORDER LIST

The following publications are available to the public free of charge. Anyone requesting these publications must complete the “Requester

Information” section below, indicate the quantity requested in the shaded area of the table, and send the request to:

Grand Tower Suite 1207
P.O. Box 30037
Lansing, Ml 48909

Call: 517-373-7837

Michigan Department of Human Services
Forms & Mail Management

Requester Information:

Organization Date

Name

Mailing Address Linel

Mailing Address Line2

City, State, Zip

Order Publication Title

Quantity Number
Pub-738 “You Are Special” COLORING BOOK call 517-373-9202 to order
Pub-748 “Understanding Child Support A Handbook for Parents”
Pub-748-SP “Understanding Child Support: A Handbook for Parents” (Spanish Version)
Pub-780 “What Every Parent Should Know About Establishing Paternity”
Pub-780-SP “What Every Parent Should Know About Establishing Paternity” (Spanish Version)
Pub-806 “Fatherhood: Taking Responsibility for Your Child”
Pub-849 “Kids need to know their DAD.” Establish paternity POSTER
Pub-850 “Your Child...Is about to become a parent.”
Pub 865 “DNA - Paternity Testing Questions and Answers”
Pub 865-SP “DNA - Paternity Testing Questions and Answers” (Spanish Version)
FIA 4821 Spanish Language Worksheet (Affidavit of Parentage form DCH-0682-SP)
_____ “The Power of Two: Voluntarily Acknowledging Paternity” DVD call 517-373-9202

to order
“The Power of Two: Voluntarily Acknowledging Paternity” (Spanish Version) DVD
call 517-373-9202 to order
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Paternity Acknowledgment Information

Where can unmarried parents voluntarily acknowledge paternity?

AT BIRTHING HOSPITALS:

e Both parents can sign an Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) form in the hospital at birth, and the father’'s name
may be added to the birth record FREE of charge up until the hospital files the birth certificate.
e Paternity can be established at a later date for no charge, but in Michigan a fee is required to_add a father

on a Michigan birth record (see below for father information).
e BOTH PARENTS MUST HAVE VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION.

AT A DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES (DHS) OFFICE:

e Contact the DHS Local Office.
¢ You do not need to be on public assistance to seek help.
¢ BOTH PARENTS MUST HAVE VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION.

AT A REGISTRAR’S OFFICE:

o Request assistance from the local Registrar’s office in the county of the child’s birth.

e BOTH PARENTS MUST HAVE VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION.

PARENTS CAN COMPLETE THE AOP ON THEIR OWN:

Follow the AOP instructions (see page 16 of this guide).

Obtain the Affidavit of Parentage Form DCH-0682 from the MDCH website.

Obtain notarization of both signatures (valid photo identification is required).
File the AOP by mailing it to the correct address listed on the AOP instruction page (see page 16).

Parents must pay fees and complete additional MDCH forms when adding the father’'s name or correcting

information on the birth certificate after the hospital has filed the child’s initial birth certificate.

ACTION MDCH FORM NUMBER and PURPOSE FEE
Change father’'s name Form DCH-0847, used only to update an existing name. YES
Add father’'s name Form DCH-0848, used only to add a father, not replace/update a father. YES
Remove father’'s name Form DCH-0849, used when the father listed on the birth certificate is YES
Replace father’'s name determined by the court not to be the father or is the incorrect father.

Call 1-866-540-0008 to request a child support application, or for genetic testing (DNA) questions or

general child support information.
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Child Support Services

Can parents apply for child support services for their child(ren) if they currently receive, or
have received in the past, public assistance?

If parents or their children currently receive public assistance, they do not need to apply for child
support, services are automatically provided to individuals receiving public assistance and a Child
Support Specialist is assigned. However, if parents do not get a call or letter from the Office of
Child Support within three months of case opening, or they would like to discuss their case with
the assigned Child Support Specialist, they should call 1-866-540-0008.

If parents or their children have received public assistance in the past and the child support
case was not opened, or is closed, parents can apply for child support services by completing
a Child Support Services Application/Referral form.

If a parent has a child support order but wants to apply for child support services for another
child. How do they apply?

If a parent is on public assistance, they will automatically be referred to a Support Specialist when
they add another child to their public assistance case. The parent will receive a call from the Support
Specialist who will assist in adding the child to their child support case. If the parent does not get a
call or letter from the Office of Child Support within three months of adding a child to their
public assistance case, please call 1-866-540-0008.

Parents may apply for child support services by completing a Child Support Services
Application/Referral form.

Who do parents call if they need help with the child support application or have questions?

For assistance, or application process questions, contact the Office of Child Support toll-free at 1-866-
540-0008. Child Support Services Application/Referral form
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RICK SNY

STATE OF MICHIGAN
DER DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES MAURA D. CORRIGAN

GOVERNOR LANSING DIRECTOR

Assistant Warden/Jail Administrator,

The Michigan Prison Wardens and County Sheriffs have approved the enclosed procedure for
processing the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) forms sent to you by Michigan’s birthing hospitals.
The hospital should have enclosed the following: the AOP form, “What Every Parent Should Know

About

Establishing Paternity - DHS Pub-780,” and a self-addressed stamped envelope (SASE).

Please follow these guidelines when in receipt of the above materials:

Present the alleged father/inmate with the Affidavit of Parentage (AOP) form.

Present the alleged father/inmate with the pamphlet, “What Every Parent Should Know
About Establishing Paternity - DHS Pub-780.”

Make sure the inmate reads the pamphlet and knows his rights and responsibilities if he
signs the AOP.

Have a notary witness the inmate’s signature when he decides to sign the form.

Send the AOP back to the hospital in the SASE provided.

If the inmate refuses to sign the AOP, send the unsigned AOP back to the hospital in the
SASE and indicate that the prisoner refused to sign the form.

Should you have any questions or need additional information, please contact Ellen Wood at (517)
373-0275 or DHS-OCS-PEP@michigan.gov .

Enclosure

Once again, thank you,

Erin Frisch,
Director, Office of Child Support
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BIRTH CERTIFICATE/AFFIDAVIT OF PARENTAGE SCRIPT
(From PHNS at Bay Regional Medical Center)

1. Introduce yourself to the mother.
“Hello, my name is , from the Medical Records Department. Do you have a
minute? | want to ask you some questions and verify some information for your baby’s birth
certificate.” “l apologize, however, in order to maintain confidentiality you may wish to have

your visitors step out of the room. “(Visitors may remain in the room if the mother chooses.)

2. Interview the mother and ask all the pertinent questions to complete your paperwork. If the

mother is single, or has been divorced for over 10 months, then continue with the following:

e “Do you want the father's name to appear on the child’s birth certificate?”
e “In order to add the father’'s name to the birth certificate, both parents need to complete an
Affidavit of Parentage. Itis not a DNA test, but is paperwork that you both sign stating

that he is the father.” NOTE: Before signing, rights and responsibilities must be explained,
“What Every Parent Should Know About Establishing Paternity - DHS Pub-780"provided,

and video “The Power of Two” shown, etc.

e “Would you like to complete that today if the father is available?”

NOTE: If the father is not available, then you will go on to the next script.

If the father is unavailable to sign the Affidavit of Parentage, advise the mother of the following:

e “What we are going to do today is complete the birth certificate with just the mother's name
and the child’s name on it.”
e “We will schedule an appointment for you and the baby'’s father to return to the hospital to

complete the Affidavit of Parentage.”

e “If you can’t schedule your appointment today, then | can give you this reminder to call

within 5 days of your discharge to complete the Affidavit of Parentage.”

e “When you come in for the appointment, you will both need to bring picture identification.”
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AFFIDAVIT OF PARENTAGE/PATERNITY APPOINTMENT VERBIAGE
(From PHNS at Bay Regional Medical Center)

You have 5 days from the day you were discharged from the hospital
to call and schedule to sign the Affidavit of Paternity form. Call and
ask to speak to the birth certificate clerk at (XXX) XXX-XXXX between
8:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Your appointment date and time is:
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CS-1786

Rev 5/2004
HIPAA DISCLOSURE AUTHORIZATION FORM
FULL NAME
| hereby authorize to use disclose my
(Discloser)
protected health information related to
(Type of information)
To for the following purpose:

(Recipient)

e | understand that | may inspect or copy the protected health information described by this authorization.

e | understand that, at any time, this authorization may be revoked, when the office that received this authorization received
a written revocation, although that revocation will not be effective as to the disclosure of records whose release | have
previously authorized, or where other action has been taken in reliance on an authorization | have signed. | understand
that my health care and the payment for my health care will not be affected if | refuse to sign this form.

e | understand that information used or disclosed, pursuant to this authorization, could be subject to redisclosure by the
recipient and, if so, may not be subject to federal or state law protecting its confidentiality.

Date Signature of Individual or Representative

Authority or Relationship to Individual, if Represented

EXPIRATION DATE: This authorization will expire on

If no date or event is stated, the expiration date will be six years from the date of this authorization.

COPY PROVIDED: The subject of this authorization shall receive a copy of this authorization, when signed.

Appendix J

June 2012 Page 25



Department Of Human Services
Office of Child Support

Are You Unmarried and
Expecting a Child?

Establish Paternity for Your
Child at the Hospital

Both parents need to sign the Affidavit of Parentage.
(Available from medical records or birthing center staff at the hospital)

Both parents need to bring picture identification.
(Driver’s license and/or Michigan State I.D. are examples of picture identification)

The hospital notary public will notarize the signatures.

e Remember: Adding the father to the birth record is EREE when an Affidavit of Parentage is
completed at the time of birth at the hospital.

e After the child leaves the hospital, the local Department of Human Services office can assist with
the paternity establishment process.
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gstablish Paternity For Your Chilg

What's Needed:

1. Both parents must sign the Affidavit of Parentage
form.
e Either at the hospital following birth, or
e Atthelocal Department of Human Services
Office.

2. Both parents must provide picture identification.

. g ; i
| J; , 4

Benefits for your child:

e Michigan I.D. or Driver’s License are examples
of identification.

3. A notary must notarize the signatures.
1. Identity for your Child — A legal father and mother!

Paternity Questions, Call: 2. Financial Support — Eligibility for benefits through
both parents, such as:

1 (866) 540-0008

Inheritance

Social Security
Medical Insurance
Veteran’s Benefits

3. Medical history of both parents
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