STATE OF MICHIGAN

RICK SNYDER - DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES MAURA D. CORRIGAN
GOVERNOR LANSING DIRECTOR
June 24, 2013

The Honorable Bruce Caswell, Chair

Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on DHS
Michigan State Senate

Lansing, Michigan 48933

The Honorable Peter MacGregor, Chair
House Appropriations Subcommittee on DHS
Michigan House of Representatives

Lansing, Michigan 48933

Dear Senator Caswell and Representative MacGregor:

Section 222 of PA 200 of 2012, Atrticle X, requires the Department of Human Services to report
on the following:

“The department shall report no later than April 1 of the current fiscal year on each specific
policy change made to implement a public act affecting the department that took effect during the
prior calendar year to the house and senate appropriations subcommittees on the budget for the
department, the joint committee on administrative rules, and the senate and house fiscal
agencies.”

Those policy changes made during calendar year 2012 to implement a public act affecting the
department are attached. In addition, all DHS policy is available on the DHS website at
www.mfia.state.mi.us/olmweb/ex/html/,

If you have any questions about the attached material, please contact Judith Galant, policy
coordinator, at 241-7084.

Si celely,

AL o{ TV

Susan Kangas
Chief Financial Offi

Attachment

cc:  Senate and House Appropriations Subcommittees on DHS
Senate and House Fiscal Agencies
Joint Committee on Administrative Rules
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THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES SECTION 222
OF P.A. 200 OF 2012. ARTICLE X

AAB 2012-001
EFFECTIVE
SUBJECT

AAB 2012-002
EFFECTIVE
Subject

BPB 2012-004
EFFECTIVE
Subject(s)

THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMANS SERVICES 2012 POLICY CHANGES

This report was compiled based on policy bulletins published through-
out calendar year 2012 in order to implement a public act affecting the
department.

ADOPTION SUBSIDY

April 1, 2012.

Adoption Subsidy Manual (AAM) 631 Fostering Connections to Suc-
cess and Increasing Adoption Act of 2008,

AAM 631 is being added to allow DHS to extend title IV-E funded and
state-funded adoption assistance agreements up to age 21 for adop-
tees who were adopted on or after their 16th birthday, who have a sub-
sidy contract in place prior to finalization and who meet additional
criteria.

The policy defines youth as an individual who is at least 18 years of
age, but less than 21 years of age.

Reason: Public Act 225 of 2011.

August' 1, 2012.
Funding Source

A funding source change must occur for title-IV-E-funded cases during
the grace period. Title-IV-E-funded cases must be changed to state-
funding when the grace period begins, and must be changed back to
title IV-E funding when the youth re-establishes eligibility.

Grace Period
Youth are allowed up to three grace periods per fiscal year.
Reason. Public Act 225 of 2011.

BRIDGES

April 1, 2012,

1. Supplemental Security Income (SS1) repay agreements.
2. Disqualified persons.

STATE OF MICHIGAN
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THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES SECTION 222
OF P.A. 200 OF 2012. ARTICLE X

1) SSI REPAY
AGREEMENTS

2) Disqualified
Persons

BPB 2012-013
EFFECTIVE

Subject

ELIGIBILITY
CRITERIA

Definition

BEM 272, State-Funded Family Independence Program (FIP) and
State Disabhility Assistance (SDA) Repay Agreements

State-funded FIP has been added to this item. DHS requires repayment
agreements for individuals who received state-funded FIP. DHS
receives recoveries for a retroactive time frame when SSI benefits are
subsequently approved for the same period.

Reason: Public Act 63 of 2011.
Food Assistance Program (FAP)
BEM 212, Food Assistance Program Group Composition

Added terminology that a disqualified person is one who is ineligible for
FAP because the person refuses or fails to cooperate in meeting an eli-
gibility factor.

Individuals are now disqualified for drug-related felony, 2nd offense; see
BEM 203.

| Reason: Public Act 198 of 2011,

September 1, 2012,
Children’s Clothing Allowance (bulietin only).
FAMILY INDEPENDENCE PROGRAM (FIP)

The 2012 Fiscal Appropriation Act included funding for the children’s
clothing allowance. The allowance is intended to assist FIP families to
purchase clothing for their children.

The children’s clothing allowance for the 2012 fiscal year is $100 per
individual and is excluded as income for all programs.

. Child-Only FIP cases.

. Children ages 5-17; including children age 4 turning 5 or age 17
turning 18 at any point in September.

. Eligible for FIP during September 2012; including SSI eligible chil-
dren in the FIP eligibility determination group (EDG) for September
2012.

Child-only cases are defined as cases in which there is not an eligible

adult on the case. These could include the following:

STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
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THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES SECTION 222

P OF P.A. 200 OF 2012. ARTICLE X
. Ineligible grantees (grandparents, aunts or uncles that are not
required to be a part of the case).
. Parent(s) receiving SS!.
J Unrelated guardians who are court appointed.
PAYMENTS Bridges will automatically issue supplements for the ciothing allowance

GDB 2012-001
EFFECTIVE
SUBJECT

to groups with qualifying children who are eligible for FIP payments in
Bridges as of the single deadline date for August 31, 2012. The chil-
dren’s clothing allowance supplement is deposited into the client's EBT
cash account.

The supplement amount will include $100 for each SSI eligible child
and eligible child ages 5-17. The supplement will be automatically
issued if the FIP EDG is active on August 31, 2012 for September ben-
efits. A supplement will be deposited into the client's EBT cash account
at the same time as the FIP payment is issued, but will appear on a
separate line. The supplement will be viewable in Bridges, View Bene-
fits, under Benefit issuance.

Any request for new case openings or member adds for September
2012 that are processed after the initial clothing aliowance monthly pay-
roll run for September will require an exception. Please contact applica-
tion support to request a supplement for the case.

Note: Once the funding for the children’s clothing allowance is
depleted, there will be no additional funds allocated, regardless of the
eligibility of the case.

A fetter from Department of Human Services Director Maura Corrigan is
mailed to eligible clothing allowance supplement households in August
(see attached). This letter advises eligible families of the allowance
coming in September to help with the cost of children's clothing.

For questions regarding this bulletin please contact the Employment
and Training Program policy mailbox: Policy-Employment@michi-
gan.gov. '

Reason: Public Act 63 of 2011.

GUARDIANSHIP

April 1, 2012
New ltem

GDM 716, Extension For Youth Entering Guardianship At Ages 16-17,
is being added to the Guardianship Manual to allow DHS to extend

STATE OF MICHIGAN
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THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES SECTION 222
OF P.A. 200 OF 2012. ARTICLE X

GDB 2012-002
EFFECTIVE
SUBJECT

1) Grace periods
and funding
source

2) Additional
subsection added

FOB 2012-006
EFFECTIVE
Subject

guardianship assistance beyond age 18 for youth who were 16 or older
when their guardianship assistance payment became effective. The
youth must have been eligible for guardianship assistance until his/her
18th birthday and meet specific criteria.

The policy defines youth as an individual who is at least 18 years old,
but less than 21 years old.

Reason: Public Act 255 of 2011 and Public Act 229 of 2011.

August 1, 2012,

1.  Grace periods and funding source.
2. Additional subsection added.

GDM 716, Extension For Youth Entering Guardianship at Ages 16-
17

Funding Source

A funding source change must occur for title-IV-E-funded cases during
the grace period. Title-IV-E-funded cases must be changed o state-
funding when the grace period begins, and must be changed back to
title IV-E funding when the youth re-establishes eligibility.

Grace Period

Youth are allowed up to three grace periods per ﬁs_cal year.
GDM 780, Administrative Hearings:

Notice requirements section was added.

Reason: Public Act 225 of 2011.

FOSTER CARE

April 1, 2012.

Young adult voluntary foster care.

STATE OF MICHIGAN
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THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES SECTION 222
OF P.A, 200 OF 2012, ARTICLE X

FOB 2012-017
EFFECTIVE
Subject

RemovalfVerhal
Approval Prior to
November 1, 2012

FOM 722-16, FOSTER CARE — YOUNG ADULT VOLUNTARY FOS-
TER CARE

FOM 902-21, YOUNG ADULT VOLUNTARY FOSTER CARE (YAVFC)
FUNDING AND PAYMENTS

The Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of
2008 (PL 110-351) includes an option for states to extend foster care
maintenance payments for 18-21-year-olds who meet eligibility require-
ments.

To implement this option Michigan passed the Young Adult Voluntary
Foster Care Act (2011 PA 225-230). By enacting this legislation, youth
age 18-21 are now able to receive foster care services in two ways:

1. Youth who enter foster care prior to age 18 may continue to stay
under court and/or DHS supervision up to age 20 pursuant to MCL
712A.2a. These services are provided under court jurisdiction and
not considered voluntary.

Example: Former Michigan Children's Institute (MC1) wards up to
20 years old can continue to receive foster care services to age 20
under the former MCI program; see FOM 722-15, Foster Care -
Case Closing and FOM 901-8, Fund Sources,

Example: Temporary court wards who were title IV-E eligible prior
to age 18, but are expected to complete graduation requirements
before age 19, may remain title [V-E eligible under the current
FOM 902, Funding Determinations and Title [V-E Eligibility.

2. Youth who were in state-supervised foster care at the age of 18 or
older may voluntarily elect to receive foster care services through
DHS following the termination of court jurisdiction until age 21.
Because these services are provided without court jurisdiction
they are considered voluntary. Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care
(YAVFC) is the program that the Department of Human Services is
utilizing to implement this option.

Reason: Public Act 225 of 2011.

November 1, 2012.
Consent for the Removalf\Verbal Approval Prior to November 1, 2012.

Pursuant to PSM 715-2, Removal and Placement of Children, DHS staff
may not take any child into custody without a written order authorizing
the specific action.

STATE OF MICHIGAN
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PROTECTIVE

THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES SECTION 222
OF P.A. 200 OF 2012, ARTICLE X

PSB 2012-005
EFFECTIVE
Subject

COURT-ORDERED
REMOVAL OF
CHILDREN FROM
HOME

Prior to November 1, 2012, in the event a judge or referee gave verbal
approval/consent for removal and placement of a child, that verbal
approval/consent would not jeopardize the child's potential title IV-E eli-
gibility if all the following conditions were met:

. The verbal consent occurred during non-working hours (such as
nights, weekends, or holidays) and emergencies.

. The first written order following the verbal consent must reference
the date of the removal. The order must have been obtained
within 24 hours or on the next business day following weekends’
and holidays.

. The first written order contained the findings of fact, on which the
verbal consent was based, and includes the contrary to the wel-
fare finding. ‘

Reason: Public Act 163 of 2012.

CHILDREN’S PROTECTIVE SERVICES (CPS)

August 1, 2012.

CPS removal of children.

PSM 715-2

When it is necessary to remove a child from hisfher home, a petition or
affidavit of facts must be submitted (electronically or otherwise) to the
Family Division of Circuit Court. Local DHS staff must receive (electron-
ically or otherwise) a written court order authorizing removal and place-
ment or authorizing the department to arrange for placement.
Document why it is contrary to the welfare of the child to remain in the
home and what reasonable efforts were made to prevent removal.

Law enforcement agencies may remove a child with or without a court
order based upon their own statutory requirements. CPS cannot receive
custody of a child from law enforcement or remove a child from his/her
home or arrange emergency placement without a written court order
(communicated electronically or otherwise) authorizing the specific
action (even if requested by law enforcement). When DHS is contacted
by law enforcement seeking the assistance of CPS in the removal of a
child, CPS must immediately contact the designated judge or referee.

STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
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THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES SECTION 222
OF P.A. 200 OF 2012. ARTICLE X

Emergency
Orders

COURT DECISIONS

Emergency removal and placement (sometimes referred to as ex parte
orders) must only occur after hours and when the child is either at sub-
stantial risk of harm or his/her surroundings present an imminent risk of
harm. In all other situations, a preliminary hearing must be the venue for
the court to make a determination regarding preliminary jurisdiction
and/or placement.

A judge or referee may issue a written ex parte order upon receipt
(electronically or otherwise) of a petition or affidavit of facts and the

. court finds all of the following:

. There is reasonable cause to believe that the child is at substantial
risk of harm or is in a surroundings that present an imminent risk of
harm and immediate removal is necessary to protect the child’s
health and safety.

. The circumstances warrant an ex parte order pending the prelimi-
nary hearing.

. Consistent with the circumstances, reasonable efforts were made
to prevent or eliminate the need for removal of the chiid.

. No remedy other than protectiVe custody is reasonably available to
protect the child.

. Continuing to reside in the home is contrary to the child’s welfare.

" The ex parte order shall be supported by written findings of fact.

Reason: Public Act 163 of 2012.
PSM 715-3

At a preliminary hearing, the court may order placement of a child in
foster care if the court finds all of the following:

. Custody of the child with the parent presents a substantial risk of
harm to the child’s life, physical health or mental well-being.

. No provision or service or other arrangement except removal of
the child is reasonably available to adequately safeguard the child
from risk as described above.

. Continuing the child’s residence in the home is contrary to the
child’s welfare. '

. Consistent with the circumstances, reasonable efforts were made
to prevent or eliminate the need for removal of the child.

. Conditions of child custody away from the parent are adequate to
safeguard the child's health and welfare.

STATE OF MICHIGAN
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8

THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES SECTION 222
OF P.A. 200 OF 2012. ARTICLE X

JJB 2012-001
EFFECTIVE
Subject

ERB 2012-004
EFFECTIVE
Subject

Reason: Public Act 163 of 2012.

JUVENILE JUSTICE FIELD SERVICES

April 1, 2012.

New Item: YOUNG ADULT VOLUNTARY FOSTER CARE FOR JUVE-
NILE JUSTICE

Youth who are dual wards at the time they become 18 years old may be
eligible for young adult voluntary foster care.

Reason: Public Act PA 225 of 2011.

STATE EMERGENCY RELIEF

‘October 15, 2012.

ERM 208

Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) Income
Limits.

ERM 208, Budget Procedures, has been updated to reflect the new
Energy/LIHEAP income limits.

The revised LIHEAP income limits are as follows:
Group Size Income Limit

$1,397
1,892
2,387
2,882
3,377
3,872

DG PO N -

For each additional family member, add $495 per month.

Reason: Public Act 615 of 2013.

f
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