STATE OF MICHIGAN

RICK SNYDER DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES NICK LYON
GOVERNOR LLANSING INTERIM DIRECTOR

February 24, 2015

Ms. Debra Poole

The Child Development Center
610 Columbus

Grand Haven, Ml 49417

Re: License DC700304611

Dear Ms. Poole:

On or about December 9, 2014, you were certified mailed a copy of the Department of Human
Service’s Notice of Intent to Revoke your license to operate a child care center. In accordance with
that Notice, and because you did not exercise your right of appeal, your license has been revoked
effective February 21, 2015. 1t is further understood that you will not be receiving children for
care now, or in the future, unless you are legally licensed to do so.

Sincerely,
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;J/;TE;y”HQprick, mmrector
. Child Care Licensing Division
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

Enclosure.
JH:kam

cc:  Yolanda Sims, Licensing Supervisor
Tarah Kline, Licensing Consultant

Certified Mail- Return Receipt Reguested.

~ Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing
201 North Washington Square, Victor Building, 4'"™ Floor « P.O. BOX 30037 « LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909
www.michigan.gov/dhs ¢ (517) 284-9740
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%
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES ﬁg ‘ g
— BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING %awrﬁ
RICK SNYDER ) MALIRA D, CORRIGAN
GOVERNOR DIRECTOR

December 16, 2014

Debra Poole
610 Columbus
Grand Haven, Ml 49417

License # DC700304611
SIR# 2014D1073014

Dear Ms. Poole:

Enclosed is a copy of a NOTICE OF INTENT TO REVOKE YOUR LICENSE to operate
a child care center, alleging that you have violated the Child Care Organizations Act.
Your options are as follows:

1) You may appeal the Notice of Intent and attend a pre-hearing compliance
conference. A Notice of Compliance Conference, which provides the date,
time, location, and guidelines of the conference, is enclosed.

2) You may appeal the Notice of Intent, waive the compliance conference, and
proceed directly to an administrative law hearing.

3) You may choose not to appeal the Notice of Intent.

If you choose to appeal the Notice of Intent, the Department must receive your :
WRITTEN APPEAL within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice. If the Department
does not receive your written appeal within 30 days of your receipt of this Notice, you
will have WAIVED YOUR RIGHT to an administrative law hearing and the proposed
action will be final.

Sincerely,

(J/M%.W r‘\»fi.jﬂ N"‘”‘“"T""‘

Je‘g\{y Hendnck Director
*.Child Care Licensing Division

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

F’\,

Enclosures

Cc: Yolanda Sims, Area Manager

QCAL 12/03 P.O. BOX 30850 « LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909-8150
vawemichigan.gov « {517) 284-9700




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of Licensé #: DC700304611
SIR#: 2014D1073014

Debra Poole

NOTICE OF INTENT 7O
REVOKE LICENSE

The Michigan Department of Human Services, by Jerry Hendrick, 'Director, Child
Care Licensing Division, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, provides notice of the
intent to revoke the license of Licensee, Debra Poole, to operate a child care center
pursuant to the authority of the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as
amended, MCL 722.111 et seq., for the following reasons:
1. On or about November 8, 2009, Licensee was issued a license to operate a child
care center, with a current licensed capacity of 54, at 610 Columbus, Grand
- Haven, Ml 49417,
2. On multiple occasions between May and September of 2014, the Licensee used
inappropriate methods of verbal and ;Shysica[ discipline towards children in care.
This is a repeat violation. In September and October of 2014, Ms. Kiine
interviewed the Licensee’s assistant caregivers and parents of children in care

regarding the Licensee’s conduct at the child care center. Muitiple parents and




caregivers reported that the Licensee’s temperament was unsuitable to assure

the welfare of children, as evidenced by the following:

a.

On multiple occasions, the Licensee yelled at children in care for making
age-appropriate noises. On one occasion, Caregiver 3 observed the
Lic’ensee yell at a 6-month-old infant because the child was babbling.

On multiple occasions, Caregiver 2 observed the Licensee yell at children
out of frustration. Caregiver-Z indicated that the Licensee did not have
age-appropriate expectations for children in care. The Licensee regularly
expected 18-month-old children to sit quietly and listen to a story for long
periods of time. The Licensee yelled at the foddlers when they did not
comply with story time.

On multiple occasions, the Licensee yelled at Caregiver 3 while in the
presence of children.

On one occasion, the Licensee yelled at children in Caregiver 4's
classroom because the children were laughing too much.

On at ieast one occasion, the Licensee yelled at Caregiver 4 for holding
infants too much and for comforting children when they were crying in their
cribs. The Licensee instructed caregivers to allow children less than one
year of age to “cry it out” and wait 30 minutes before corhforting the infants
during nap time. |

On more than one occasion, Caregiver 4 observed the Licensee mock
young children While they were crying. The Licensee responded to the

children’s cries by making a “wah...wah...” noise at the children.




. On multiple occasions, Caregiver 7 observed the Licensee single out
children who she thought were naughty and yelled at these children more
often than others. Caregiver 7 disclosed that she ended her employment
at the child care center after a shortrperiod of time because the Licensee
constantly yelled at the staff and the children.

.- On muitiple occasions, Caregiver 5 ohserved the Licensee expect infants
to quietly participate in structured play for an entire day. When the infants
were not quiet or became distracted, the Licensee yelled at them.

On one occasion in September or October of 2014, Caregiver 6 observed
the Licensee forcefully place Child G (Female, Age 2) onto the toilet
because the child was taking too long to use the bathroom.

Parent A, Parent, B, Parent E and Grandparent P have each observed the
Licensee yelling at caregivers while children were in care.

. On muitiple occasions, the Licensee yelled at Child H (Male, Age 11).
Child H previously reported to Parent H that he was fearful of the
Licensee.

On one occasion in September 2014, Parent O arrived at the child care
center to pick up Child O (Male. Age 1). When Child O saw his mother he
puckered his lips and made a playful, spitting gesture at her. When Parent
O mimicked Child O's gesture, the Licensee became upset and stated,
“We do not do that here.”

. On more than one occasion, Caregiver 1 observed the Licensee yell at

children to calm down when they were crying. On at least one occasion,




the Licensee forcefully grabAbed a crying child by the arm and pulled them
into her office.

. On one occasion, Child N (Male, Age 3) was displaying behaviors of
separation anxiety from his family and was crying in his classroom. At that
time, Caregiver 1 observed the Licensee pull Child N out in to the hallway.
Child N was made to stand in the hallway alone until he stopped crying.

. On one occasion, Caregiver 1 obsefved the Licensee place Child L
(Female, Age 3) in a timeout during outdoor playtime. The Licensee made
Child L stand facing a wall. When Child L turned around or talked, the
Licensee started Child L’s time in timeout over again. On another
occasion, Caregiver 6 observed the Licensee place Child W (Male, Age 4)
in a timeout facing the wall. When Child W turned around or talked, the
Licensee yelled at Child W and started his time over again.

. On at least two occasions, Parent Q observed children crying while
standing in a timeout on the playground. The Licensee forced the children
to touch their noses to a cement wall while in the timeout. During these
incidents, the Licensee yelled at the children when they turned their |
heads. On October 28, 2014, the Licensee admitied to Ms. Kline that she
regularly makes children face a wall during a timeout. The Licensee
further stated that she pauses a child’s time if they turn away from the wall
during a tinﬁeout. The Licensee reported that she restarts the timer once

the child resumes facing the wall.




g. On one occasion, Céregiver 1 observed the Licensee grab Child L by the
arm and force the child run laps around neighboring houses during
outdoor play time.

r. On one occasion, Caregiver 4 observed the Licensee place Child U (Male,
Age 4) in a corner 1o sleep because the child was talking during naptime.
The Licensee then placed a crib over the top portion of Child U’s body and
placed another crib adjacent to the first crib to prevent the child from
sitting up or moving.

3. On one occasion, during the last week of July 2014, the Licensee took child care
children on a field trip to the Coast Guard Festival in Grand Haven, Michigan.
During the field trip, Child M (Male, Age 2) began to exhibit behavioral problems.
The Licensee became upset and yelled at Child M. The Licensee then left the
field trip with Child M and fransported the child to her residence. The Licensee
failed to obtain permission from Child M’s parents to take Child M home with her.l
Parent M was unaware that the Licensee took Child M to her residence until an
assistant caregiver informed Parent M of the incident several days later.

4. On more than one occasion during September 2014, the Licensee failed to
maintain the rule-required, caregiver-to-child ratio of one caregiver per four
infants and toddlers. On these occasions, the Licensee was providing care to five

“infants with one additional caregiver. The Licensee left the room if oﬁe child fell
asleep, leaving one staff person as thé sole caregiver for five children.

5. Oﬁ’ September 24, 2014, the Licensee had a surgical procedure compieted at a

local hospital. Following the procedure, the Licensee sent several text messages




to Caregiver 1.

6. On September 24, 2014, 'Caregiver 1 was working at the child care center when

she received the text messages from the Licensee.

7. On Octobér 22, 2014, Ms. Kline reviewed child information cards at the
Licensee’s child care center. 22 of the 29 child information cards reviewed were
missing information including allergies; parental contact information; children’s
addresses-and physician information. |

8. The Licensee lacks responsible character and suitability to assure the care,
supetvision, and protection of cinildyen, as demonstrated by her licensing histo.ry
and repeated noncompliance with child care licensing rules. The Licensee ha_s
heen cited for ihappropriate methods of discipline during two previous special

investigations, including the following:




a. On August 2, 2014, Licensing Consultant Lindsay Sichta initiated a special
investigation of the Licensee’s child care center (SIR #2012D1074011).
Ms. Sichta cited the Licensee for the following three rule violations:

i. On multiple occasions, the Licensee grabbed the wrists of children
in care in order to place them in a timeout, in violation of R
400.5107(1) and (2)(a).

ii. On multiple occasions, the Licensee placed her hand over
children’s mouths to quiet them, in violation of R 400.5107(1).

iii. On more than one occasion, the Licensee withheld lunch from
infants and toddlers when the children were fussy, in violation of R
400.5107(2)(b). On another occasion, the Licensee withheld lunch
from a 20-month-old child because the toddler refused to use sign
language for the word “please.”

b. On September 25, 2012, the Licensee submitted a written corrective
action plan to address the rule violations cited during Ms. Sichta's special
investigation. In this corrective action plan, the Licensee stated that she
implemented new policies with staff regarding the discipline of children in
care.

c. On January 28, 2014, Licensing Consultant Debra Purdom initiated a
special investigation of the Licensee’s child care center (SIR

#2014D1093005). Ms. Purdom cited the Licensee for the following rule

violations:




i. OnJanuary 21, 2014, the Licensee velled at a group of two-year-
old children in care. The Licensee made the children quietly ahd did
not allow them to move for approximately 20 minutes. As the
Licensee yelled at the toddlers, several of them became upset and
began to cry, in violation of R 400.8125. At one point during the
incident, the Licensee stated to a child, “i don’t care what you want. -
You need to sit down.” This conduct is also a violation of R
400.5107(1).

ii. On multiple occasions, the Licensee interacted with children in a
negative manner. The Licensee also treated several children
unfairly based on her own negative personal feelings towards the
child, in violation of R 400.8125.

iii. On January 30, 2014, the Licensee failed to maintain the rule-
required, caregiver-to-child ratio of one caregiver per four children,
in violation of R 400.8182(8).

d. On May 11, 2014, the Licensee submitted a written corrective action plan
to address the rule violations cited during Ms. Purdom’s special
investigation. In this corrective action plan, the Licensee stated, in part,
“Ms. Poole will make sure that she doesn’t interact with children in a
negative manner. This will be achieved by a conscious choice by Ms.
Poole. This emphasis will be implemented immediately.” The Licensee
also stated that she would attend counseling and reduce her work hours to

decrease her stress level.




e. Due to the severity of the rule violations cited during Ms. Purdom’s special
investigation the Licensee was issued a first provisional‘ license on May
13, 2014. The Licensee’s child care center license remains at a first
provisional status.

9. The Licensee also holds a license to operate a children’s foster home (License
#CF700299808). The Bureau of Children and Aduit Licensing (BCAL) issued the
Licensee's foster home license on July 14, 2009. Due to the violations found
regarding the Licensee’s suitability to meet the needs of children, BCAL issued a
Noftice of Intent to Revoke the Licensee’s foster home license on December 16,

2014,

COUNT I
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 6 and 8 above,
evidences a violation of:
R 400.8110 Licensee.

(1) The licensee shall do all of the following:
(b) Be suitable to meet the needs of children.




COUNT 1
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 through 4 above,
evidences a violation of;
R 400.8125 Staff and Volunteers.

(1) All staff and volunteers shall provide appropriate care and
supervision of children at all times.

[NOTE: This is a repeat violation as referenced in paragraph 8(c) of this Notice.]

COUNT I
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 and 3 above,
evidences a violation of:

R 400.8140 Discipline.

(1) Positive methods of discipline that encourage self-control,
self-direction, self-esteem, and cooperation shall be used.

[NOTE: This is a repeat violation as referenced in paragraphs 8(a) and 8(c) of this
Notice.]

COUNT IV
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraphs 2 and 3 above,
evidences a violation of:

R 400.8140 Discipline,

(2) All of the following means of punishment shall be prohibited:
(a) Hitting, spanking, shaking, biting, pinching, or inflicting
other forms of corporal punishment.
(b) Restricting a child’s movement by binding or tying him
or her.

10




(¢) Inflicting mental or emotional punishment, such as
humiliating, shaming, or threatening a child.

{e) Excluding a child from outdoor play or other gross
motor activities.

(f) Excluding a child from daily learning experiences.

(g) Confining a child in an enclosed area, such as a closet,
locked room, box, or similar cubicle.

[NOTE: This is a repeat violation as referenced in paragraphsS(a) and 8(c} of this
Notice.]
COUNT V
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 4 above, evidences a
violation of:
R 400.8182 Ratio and group size requirements.
(3) In each room or well-defined space, the maximum group size
and ratio of caregivers to children, including children related to a
staff member or the licensee, shall be the following:
(a) For infants and toddlers, there shall be 1 caregiver for 4

children and a maximum group size of 12.

[NOTE: This is a repeat violation as referenced in paragraph 8(c) of this Notice.]

COUNT VI
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 3 abdve, evidences a
violation of;

R 400.8149 Parent permission for transportation.

(2) Parent’s written permission for any transportation not
considered routine shall be obtained before each trip.

11




COUNT VII
The conduct of the Licensee, as set forth in paragraph 7 above, evidences a
violation of:

R 400.8143 Children's records.

(1) At the time of the child’s initial attendance, the center shall
obtain a child information card, using a form provided by the
department or a comparable substitute, completed and signed
by the parent, and the center shall keep it on file and accessible
in the center.

NOTICE IS GIVEN that, Licensee is offered the opportunity to show compliance
with all lawful requirements for retention of the license. If Licensee éppeals the Notice
of Intent and compliance is not shown, formal proceedings will be commenced pursuant
to the Child Care Organizations Act, 1973 PA 116, as amended, MCL 722.111 et seq.,
rules promulgated thereunder, and the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 306, as
amended; MCL 24.201 et seq. Should formal proceedings commence, you have the
right to attorney representation at your own expense.

LICENSEE IS NOTIFIED that pursuant to MCL 722.121(2) of the Child Care
Organizations Act, Licensee has 30 days from the date of receipt of the Notice of Intent
to file a writtenrappeal of the proposed action. The appeal shall be addressed to
K‘eily Maltby, Departmental Analyst, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, Michigan
Department of Human Services. Your written appeal must include your name and

license number, and must be submitted using one of the following methods:

12




e Maii your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing, P.O.
Box 30650, Lansing, MI 48909. You should obtain some type of delivery
confirmation to verify’ delivery; |

» Fax your written appeal to the Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing at
(617) 284-9709. You should keep a copy of your fax confirmation as proof of
submittal; or

¢ Email your written appeal to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov. You should keep a

copy of the sent email as proof of submittal.

LICENSEE IS FURTHER NOTIFIED that failure to file a written appeal of this

action within 30 days will result in revocation of the license.

T

i
;
/ }

JerryHendtick, Director

Child Care Licensing Division
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

o

DATED: (f e e

This is the last and final page of a NOTICE OF INTENT in the matter of Debra Poole, DC700304611,
consisting of 13 pages, this page included.

KMM




STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of License #: DC700304611
SIR#: 2014D1073014

Debra Poole

NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE CONFERENCE

Date: Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Time: 1p.m.to 3 p.m.

Location: BCAL Grand Rapids office, 350 Ottawa, NW, Unit #15, 7th floor, BCAL Kent
East conference room, Grand Rapids, Ml 49503

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, MCL 24.292(1), you are afforded the
opportunity to attend an informal compliance conference. The purpose of the
compliance conference is to allow you to show that you were in compliance with the
Child Care Organizations Act and the licensing rules promulgated thereunder. You
have the right, at your expense, to have an attorney represent you at the compliance
conference. You may also bring one support person to the compliance conference.

To enable a thorough discussion of the Notice of Intent at the compliance conference,
please bring any documents, pictures, etc. that you would like the Department to
consider. You may also submit documents to the Department prior to the compliance
conference by emailing them to DAUappeals@Michigan.gov.

If you are unable to attend the compliance conference at the scheduled date and time,
you may request, in writing, that the Department change the date and/or time. The
Department will make all reasonable attempts to accommodate your request, but will
not reschedule the compliance conference to a date more than 10 days after the
scheduled date. [f you promptly notify the Department of your inability to attend the
compliance conference as scheduled, the Department may be able to schedule the
compliance conference to a date earlier than originally scheduled.

If you are unable to show that you were in compliance with the Child Care
Organizations Act and licensing rules, and a resolution cannot be reached, the




Depariment will forward the matter to the Michigan Administrative Hearing System for
the scheduling of a formal administrative hearing. The Michigan Administrative Hearing
System will subsequently notify you of the date, time, and location of the administrative
hearing.

All Department meetings and hearings are conducted in compliance with the Americans
with Disabilities Act in buildings that accommodate mobility-impaired individuals and
have accessible parking. If you require additional accommodations to participate in the
compliance conference, please notify the Department at least one week in advance to
make the necessary arrangements.

Please direct all written communications regarding the compliance conference or
administrative hearing, including your license number, to the individual listed below:

Kelly Maltby, Departmental Analyst
Disciplinary Action Unit

Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing
Michigan Department of Human Services
Victor Office Center

201 North Washington Square, 4" Floor
P.0O. Box 30650

Lansing, Mi 48909-8150
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STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
BUREAU OF CHILDREN AND ADULT LICENSING

In the matter of | License # DC700304611
' SIR# 2014D1073014 _ .

Debra Poole

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of a Notice of Intent to revoke the license in the
above matter was served upon the following persons by mailing the same to them at
their address of record by certified mail on January 6, 2015.

Debra Poole
610 Columbus
Grand Haven Mi 49417

A,

Krlstlne Man[on(Secretary
Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing




