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This Consumers Guide is a publication prepared by the Michigan Department of Insurance 
and Financial Services (DIFS).  You can view more publications by visiting the DIFS website 

at www.michigan.gov/difs 
 
 

Any insurance consumer who needs help with an insurance problem or question can call 
DIFS for assistance toll-free at 877-999-6442. 

 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/difs
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Automobile Insurance Eligibility 
Michigan law requires every vehicle owner to purchase automobile insurance and guarantees 
that automobile insurance will be available to all eligible Michigan citizens. An eligible person 
for automobile insurance is a person who is an owner 
or registrant of a car registered or to be registered in 
Michigan or has a valid Michigan driver’s license based 
on Michigan law 500.2103.  

There are circumstances when a company can refuse 
to insure you.  

Reasons for Denial 
You can be turned down for automobile insurance if: 

 You are not required by law to have insurance 
because you do not plan to live or drive in 
Michigan for 30 or more days. 

 Your driver’s license is suspended or revoked. 
 Within the past five years you have been convicted of trying to defraud an insurance 

company, or have been denied payment of a claim over $1,000 because there is 
evidence of fraud on your part. 

 Within the past three years you have been found guilty of a felony with a motor 
vehicle, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, failing to stop at the scene of 
an accident, or reckless driving. 

 The car you want to insure does not meet Michigan safety requirements. 
 Within the past two years your automobile insurance has been cancelled because of 

non-payment of premium. This can be waived if you pay the entire premium on the 
policy you are buying in advance. 

 The insurance you want to buy requires you to be a member of a group, club or 
organization and you do not join the organization. 

 Your driving record causes you to have more than the allowable number of insurance 
eligibility points (see the box below). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Michigan no-fault system was 
adopted in 1973 to increase the level 
of benefits paid to injured persons, 
make sure such payments are made 
promptly, and reduce the proportion 
of premium dollars paid out for legal 

and administrative costs. 

Insurance Eligibility Points 
Insurance companies assign insurance eligibility points for certain traffic violations. 

Insurance eligibility points are not the same as points on your official driving record. They are 
simply a guide to help the company decide whether you are eligible for automobile insurance. You can be 
turned down for automobile insurance if you have seven or more eligibility points from violations within the 
past three years. 

How insurance companies assign eligibility points: 
 Driving more than 15 mph over the speed limit (careless driving) - four points 
 Driving 11-15 mph over the speed limit – three points 
 Driving 15 mph or fewer over the speed limit on freeways that used to have a maximum speed limit of 

70 mph - two points 
 Other moving violations - two points 
 The first accident in which you are more than 50% at fault - three points 
 The second and all following accidents in which you are more than 50% at fault – four points 
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Company Underwriting Rules 
Insurance companies also use certain guidelines, called 
underwriting rules, to help decide whether they will 
insure you. Underwriting is a process in which an 
insurance company determines if the risk you present to 
the company meets the standards or guidelines it  has 
established for you to obtain or retain insurance 
coverage with the company. These rules may be 
different for each company, but each company must 
apply its rules in the same way to everyone. 

Group and Non-Group Policies 
Automobile insurance policies are sold either as a group policy or non-group policy. Each type 
of policy has its own rules, eligibility requirements, surcharges and discounts. 

Group Policies 
If you are an eligible person for automobile insurance under Michigan law, you could also 
be group eligible based on the insurance company’s underwriting rules. 

Group eligibility could be based on where you work or your association with a club or 
organization. 

Non-Group Policies 
A person that is not group eligible simply means that they are an eligible person for 
automobile insurance under Michigan law and insured without any kind of affiliation through 
work or membership to an association. A person in this category qualifies based on whether 
his or her characteristics are acceptable under a company’s underwriting rules. 

Underwriting rules for group and non-group rated policies must be filed with the Department 
of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS).  Your agent or insurance representative should be 
able to tell you which companies offer which policies. 

Ineligible Persons 
If you find you or a member of your household are not eligible for automobile insurance, you 
do have options.  If you are ineligible, you may want to ask your agent to apply to  the 
Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF) for you. The MAIPF was created to 
offer insurance to those persons who have difficulty finding insurance through the ordinary 
channels. Any licensed agent can help you apply for insurance through the MAIPF.  
Alternatively, you may also seek insurance from any number of companies that specialize in 
writing policies for high risk drivers. 

If a member of your household is ineligible for automobile insurance, many Michigan insurance 
companies allow for a “named driver exclusion.” Under a named driver exclusion, the named 
household member will be excluded from no-fault liability coverages, and Personal Injury 
Protection (PIP) benefits under the automobile insurance policy. If the named excluded person 
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drives the insured vehicle, there is no residual liability in effect and the owner of the vehicle 
and those legally responsible for the acts of the driver may be held personally liable for 
damages and injuries in the event of an accident. Any person that willingly and unlawfully 
operates or uses a motor vehicle or motorcycle with the knowledge of its unlawful use is also 
excluded from PIP coverage.  

DIFS has additional information available regarding automobile insurance.  Please visit our 
website at www.michigan.gov/difs or call us toll free at 877-999-6442. 
 

Driving Without Insurance 

If you own a car without no-fault insurance and have 
an accident:  

You can be sued and held personally liable. You may 
have to pay a lawyer and court costs. If you are hurt 
in an accident involving a vehicle you own that is not 
insured, you would not be paid for medical 
expenses, wage loss, loss of services or any other 

no-fault benefits. If you are convicted of driving your car, allowing someone else to drive your 
car, or if you drive another person’s car which you know does not have no-fault insurance you 
may be fined up to $500, put in jail for up to one year, or both.  

Mandatory No-Fault Automobile Insurance Coverages 
No-fault automobile insurance is required by Michigan law. Every car owner must buy certain 
basic coverages in order to register a motor vehicle in Michigan. It is against the law to drive, 
or let your car be driven, without no-fault insurance. The mandatory no-fault policy has three 
parts: 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
If you are hurt in an automobile accident, this part of your no-fault policy will pay all 
reasonably necessary medical expenses with no maximum limit. It will also pay, up to a 
maximum amount, for the wages you would have earned if you had not been hurt, for up to 
three years. 

In 2015, the maximum amount your policy will pay for wage loss is $5,392 per month. If you 
are killed in an accident, your policy will pay for your spouse and dependents up to the monthly 
amount for three years, based on what they would have received from your earnings and 
fringe benefits. 

You may also be entitled up to $20 per day in replacement services. This is to pay for services 
you are no longer able to provide for yourself or your family because you are injured, such as 
housekeeping and yard work. 

You may coordinate PIP coverage with your health or disability policy (except Medicaid, 
Medicare or a Medicare supplemental policy) to reduce your PIP premium. The health or  

Play it safe: Don’t drive without 
insurance. Be sure to keep your 

certificate of no-fault insurance in 
your car. 

http://www.michigan.gov/difs
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disability plan then becomes the primary payer for medical or wage loss expenses, and the 
automobile policy would cover remaining medical or wage loss expenses. Not all health plans 
will pay for medical expenses resulting from an automobile accident. Check with your health 
insurer to verify if they will cover injuries as a primary provider for automobile accidents. 

Property Protection Insurance (PPI) 
Your policy will pay up to $1 million for damage your car does in Michigan to other people’s 
property, such as buildings and fences. This coverage will also pay for damage your car does 
to other people’s properly parked vehicles. 

Residual Liability Insurance — Bodily Injury and Property Damage 
(BI/PD) 
The no-fault law protects insured persons from being sued as the result of an automobile 
accident, except in certain special situations. These are some of the circumstances under 
which you could be sued: 

• If you cause an accident in Michigan in which someone is killed or seriously injured. 
• If you are involved in an accident in Michigan with a non-resident who is an occupant 

of a motor vehicle not registered in Michigan. 
• If you are involved in an accident in a state other than Michigan. 

The residual liability portion of your no-fault policy will pay up to your coverage limit amounts 
if you are found legally responsible for damages in these situations. 

The minimum required BI/PD coverage limits are: 

• Up to $20,000 for a person who is hurt or killed in an accident. 
• Up to $40,000 for each accident if several people are hurt or killed. 
• Up to $10,000 for property damage in another state. 

These limits are often described as 20/40/10. Courts sometimes award more than these 
amounts. If this happens, you 
would be responsible for paying 
the amount not covered by your 
policy. To protect themselves, 
many people buy extra liability 
insurance. 
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Optional Automobile Insurance Coverages 
There are some optional insurance coverages you may wish to consider. Michigan law does 
not require that these coverages be 
purchased. 

Your no-fault insurance does not pay 
for repairs to your car if it is damaged 
in an accident. If your car is properly 
parked and hit by another car, the 
other driver’s insurance will pay for 
your repairs. Except for this situation, 
the only kinds of automobile insurance 
that pay for repairs to your car are 
collision and comprehensive coverage. 

Collision Insurance 
This coverage pays for repairs to your car when it is damaged in an automobile accident. 
Collision insurance is usually sold with a deductible. A deductible is the amount you agree to 
pay toward the cost of repairs before the insurance company steps in and pays the rest. The 
larger the deductible amount, the lower the cost of your collision insurance. There are three 
basic kinds of collision insurance to choose from: broad form, standard, and limited. 

• Broad Form collision pays for damages regardless of fault, with a deductible that applies 
only if you are substantially at fault. 

• Standard collision pays for damages regardless of fault, with a deductible that always 
applies. 

• Limited collision pays only if you are not substantially at fault, and may or may not have 
a deductible. 

Comprehensive Insurance 
This coverage pays for your car if it is stolen or for repairs if it is damaged by a falling object, 

fire, flood, vandalism, or collision with an 
animal. 

Uninsured and Underinsured 
Motorists Coverage 
These coverages will pay if an uninsured or 
underinsured motorist seriously injures you 
or a member of your household. If you are 
awarded a settlement from the at-fault 
driver and they have insufficient or no 
liability coverage, your uninsured or 
underinsured coverage will apply. 

Uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage is usually sold with limits of $20,000 per 
person and $40,000 per accident (20/40). This coverage will not pay for damage to your 
vehicle. 
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Limited Property Damage or “Mini-Tort” Coverage 
Under Michigan’s no-fault law, a driver can only be sued under certain circumstances, as 

described on the previous page(s).   

The limited property damage liability or “mini-tort” 
provision of the no-fault law creates another 
situation in which you can be sued. If you are 50% 
or more at fault in an accident, and damages to the 
other driver’s car are not completely covered by his 
or her insurance, you may be sued and may have 
to pay up to $1,000 in damages. 

For example, if you have standard collision 
insurance with a $500 deductible, and you are involved in an accident for which you are less 
than 50% at fault, you can sue the other driver to recover your deductible. 

Additional Higher Liability Limits 
You may purchase higher limits than the standard 20/40/10 as outlined on page 7. It is 
possible your liability could be more than these amounts. If so, you would be responsible for 
paying the amount not covered by your insurance policy. To protect themselves, many people 
buy extra liability insurance. 

Auto Rental 
Auto rental reimbursement provides transportation protection to you when your vehicle is 
damaged due to a covered loss such as an accident, vandalism, or theft of your vehicle. This 
is a temporary service that provides a replacement vehicle while an insured vehicle is being 
repaired or possibly replaced if an insured vehicle is stolen or totaled in an accident. Some 
companies will offer a rental vehicle for mechanical repairs while a vehicle is under warranty. 
Consult your agent regarding various options of coverage that may be available. 

Roadside Service 
Most insurance companies offer emergency 
roadside service.  The coverage name may vary 
from company to company but these plans can 
provide assistance with roadside problems. Most 
will cover the costs of services such as fixing a flat 
tire, getting your keys out of your locked car, 
running out of gas, jump starting your vehicle, or 
having your car towed. 

 

You must tell your agent if you want 
collision or comprehensive coverage 
since they are additional coverage, 

and are not included in a basic  
no-fault policy. 
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Determining Your Premium 
Your premium is determined using the characteristics of your household members and 
vehicles, such as the age of the drivers, 
make and model of the vehicles, miles 
driven, driver record and where you live.  
In addition to the required coverage, a 
person can choose optional automobile 
coverages that will increase the cost of 
the policy (see page 8).  Insurance 
companies determine premiums in 
different ways, so it is important to shop 
and compare.  Below are some items that 
affect the cost of your policy. 

Deductibles 
Some coverages in your policy have deductibles which require you to pay before your 
insurance company pays on a covered loss.  The higher the deductible amount, the lower your 
premium.  Insurance companies offer varying deductible amounts.  Some examples are 
Physical Damage Deductibles and Personal Injury Protection Deductibles. 

Physical Damage Deductibles 
Increasing your deductibles on the physical damage coverage (e.g. comprehensive and 
collision) can make a significant difference in the cost of your policy. 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Deductibles 
Your automobile insurance company may impose a deductible on any claim you submit 
for PIP benefits following an automobile accident. This means that you will be 
responsible for paying for any expenses, up to this deductible limit, before the 
automobile insurance company will pay for any of your injuries. It is important for you 
to know if your automobile policy requires a deductible and the amount. If this 
information is not listed in your policy declarations page, ask your agent or insurance 
company to confirm whether there is a deductible and, if so, ask for the deductible 
amount. 

Coordination With Other Health Insurance or Disability Coverage  
Your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) premium may be reduced if you have other health or 
disability coverage.  Ask your agent about the option to coordinate health or disability 
coverage with your automobile insurance PIP coverage. You may coordinate PIP coverage with 
any other health or disability policy you have (except Medicaid, Medicare or a Medicare 
Supplemental policy) to reduce your PIP premium. When you coordinate coverage, your 
health/disability policy becomes the primary payer for any PIP claims related to your 
automobile accident. Your automobile insurance coverage pays for reasonable expenses not 
covered by the health/disability policy. Before you agree to coordinate your health/disability 
income and automobile policies, you should first verify that your health and/or disability 
income insurance policy will provide benefits for injuries related to automobile accidents. Some 
health benefit plans restrict coverage for injuries related to automobile accidents if the injured 
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person is also covered by an automobile insurance policy. Coordination of health/disability and 
automobile insurance benefits applies only to the policyholder, spouse and dependents 
covered under the policies. 

Work Loss Waiver for Senior Citizens and Retirees 
If you are a senior citizen, aged 65 or older, the law requires a company to offer you a reduced 
premium if you drive your vehicle less than 3,000 miles per year. A retired person aged 60 or 
over, who does not have income from work, must also be offered the option to waive coverage 
for work loss that is paid under the PIP coverage. A person may waive coverage for himself or 
herself and an eligible spouse and receive a reduced premium for PIP coverage.  Work loss 
coverage may not be eliminated completely from the no-fault policy since it still applies to 
other persons who may be injured in the vehicle or by the policyholder’s vehicle. 

Discounts 
Your premium may be reduced by various discounts offered by insurance companies. See the 
insert of this guide for more information on discounts. 

Surcharges 
If you have one or more traffic violations or accidents, your insurance company may attach 
an additional charge to your policy. What triggers the surcharge and the amount will vary from 
company to company. Ask your agent or insurance company to confirm the amount of any 
surcharges that may be assessed to your policy. 
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Other Premium Charges 
Automobile insurers in Michigan are required to participate in and fund certain organizations 

that support our no-fault system. Like other insurer 
expenses, the cost of funding these organizations is 
passed on to automobile insurance buyers. Unlike 
other expenses, however, these often appear as a 
separate charge listed on your declarations page. 
There are many different descriptions for these 
charges, such as “state mandated charges,” 
“statutory assessments,” “programs required by 
state law,” or something similar. The total charge 

might be made up of the cost of one or more of these funds. However, by far the largest 
portion of these charges is attributable to the Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association 
(MCCA).  

Michigan is the only state that provides unlimited personal injury protection benefits through 
its automobile insurance system. When faced with the possibility of large losses, insurers 
generally purchase what is known as reinsurance. Reinsurance helps insurers avoid potential 
financial difficulty by spreading the cost of these losses. A few years after the passage of 
Michigan’s no-fault law, insurers found themselves unable to purchase reinsurance for the 
unlimited exposure they faced through our no-fault system.  The MCCA was created by the 
legislature as a means of spreading catastrophic losses across the entire automobile insurance 
market.  The MCCA serves as a reinsurance mechanism for automobile insurers by reimbursing 
them for costs that exceed a certain amount per claim. 

Although created by statute, the MCCA is a private, nonprofit association. All of its dealings 
are with insurance companies, not the public. Injured persons receive all of their no-fault 
benefits from their insurer. 

New MCCA assessment begins July 1 of every year. The MCCA determines the amount needed 
to cover the lifetime claims of all people who will be catastrophically injured in an automobile 
accident over the coming year.  It then assesses each insurer its share of this amount based 
on the number of vehicles it insures.  It is this per vehicle assessment that may appear as a 
separate item on your declarations page. Although the per-car amount assessed each insurer 
is the same, a company may include administrative and other miscellaneous costs in the 
amount it passes through to its policyholders.  Therefore, each company’s charge for this 
assessment may be different. 

Discounts 
One way of saving money on your automobile insurance premium is through discounts. The 
inserted page is a list of the most common discounts offered in Michigan by insurance 
companies providing information for this guide. This list of discounts is not a comprehensive 
list and you may find that several automobile insurance companies offer discounts that are 
not listed in this guide. 

The Michigan Catastrophic Claims 
Association (MCCA) was established 
in 1978. The MCCA pays for claims 
paid by an insurer that exceeds a 

certain amount. 
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Companies are constantly refining their discount programs, which means the discount 
categories and discount amounts may change. Therefore, be sure to ask for a list of discounts 
that a company offers when you are shopping for automobile insurance coverage. For 
example, many insurers offer discounts for safety features like anti-lock brakes, air bags and 
anti-theft devices. 

While some discounts may be applied to your total premium, others will typically only be 
applied to certain portions of your premium. For instance, if your vehicle qualifies for an anti-
theft discount, the discount would be applied to your comprehensive premium. If you do not 
carry comprehensive coverage on your vehicle, you would not qualify for this discount. Each 
company chooses the discounts it will offer and to which coverages the discounts will be 
applied. The company must then offer these discounts to all individuals who qualify. The 
company may also set a maximum policy discount regardless of the number of discounts for 
which you qualify. 

Remember, the discount comparisons in this guide are designed to be used as a starting point 
when shopping for automobile insurance. It is important to realize that only the insurance 
company or one of its representatives, such as an insurance agent, will be able to provide you 
with an accurate premium quote based on your own personal characteristics, including any 
and all company offered discounts. 
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Calculation of Annual Premiums 
Below is a chart providing an example of how discounts and surcharges may affect your final 
premium. This chart is only an example offered at base rates which are discounted or 
surcharged based on a variety of factors such as driving records and credit-based insurance 
scores. 

To find out about discounts your insurance company offers, contact your agent. Dollar 
amounts and eligible discounts may vary.  

 

 

Premium Calculation: The Effects of Discounts and Surcharges 
 

$223.00 Liability Coverage (BI/PD) 
$9.00   Property Protection Insurance Coverage (PPI) 

$384.00   Personal Injury Protection Coverage (PIP) 
$616.00    Total Mandatory Coverages 

  

$461.00    Collision Coverage 
$47.00    Comprehensive Coverage 

$508.00    Total Optional Coverages 
  

$616.00    Total Mandatory Coverages 
$508.00    Total Optional Coverages 

$1124.00 Total Annual Base Rate Premium 
  

$-224.80    -(20% credit score discount applies to all coverages = $1124 x 20%) 
$-38.40    -(10% air bag discount to PIP only = $384 x 10%) 
$-4.70    -(10% anti-theft discount to Comprehensive only = $47 x 10%) 

$-11.15    -(5% anti-lock brake discount to BI/PD = $223 x 5%) 
$-23.05    -(5% anti-lock brakes discount to Collision only = $461 x 5%) 

$-302.10    Total Discount from Annual Base Rate Premium 
  

+ $169.50    (15% surcharge to base rate for traffic violation points = $1130 x 15%) 
$169.50    Total Surcharge 

 

$991.40   Total Premium 
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Understanding Your Auto Insurance Policy 
Your insurance policy is a contract between you and your insurance company. It spells out 
exactly what the company agrees to do in exchange for the premium that you pay. The 
contract is divided into two sections: a declarations page and the policy itself. 

The declarations page lists basic details of the agreement. It is important that you review this 
page to make sure all of the information is correct and all of the coverages you requested are 
included. An example of a declarations page follows on the next page. Your declarations page 
may have a different format; however, the basic information on the page will be the same, 
although it may be stated differently. 

 

Section 1 Name of the insurance company, policy number and policy  
period. 

Section 2 Names of the policyholders (named insureds) and description  
of the vehicles insured. 

Section 3 Coverage provided including limits of liability and deductibles 
purchased and the premium charged. 

Section 4 Policy discounts, credits, surcharges and other items that  
either reduce or increase your insurance premium. 

Section 5 List of forms that are a part of the policy. 
 

The second part of your insurance contract is the policy itself. The policy contains the insuring 
agreement, definitions, how, when and where coverage applies, conditions if the vehicle is 
financed, general conditions and exceptions, and endorsements of the policy. 

It is important that you review your policy provisions. 
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*Mandatory Coverage/The items with an *listed under the header “Liability Coverage Part-Limit” are required.  
Michigan No-Fault Coverages. (BI and PD, Property Protection Coverage, and Personal Injury Protection) 
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Decide on Physical Damage Coverage 
If you have an older car, or one in poor condition, you may not want to pay for physical 
damage coverage. Call a bank or finance company to find out the price you would get for your 
car on a straight sale. From that price, subtract the deductible you would have to pay if you 
had a loss. Then subtract the cost of the insurance for one year. The amount you come up 
with is the most you would actually net if your car was totaled. Here’s an example.  

 

  $2,000 

 - $1,000 

  $1,000 

 -    $250 

     $750 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

The most you can 
collect for a collision 
loss is $1,000 

But remember, you paid 
$250 for a year of collision 
coverage 

In this example, the most you 
would collect from your 
insurer for a collision loss is 
$750 

Actual cash value 
of your car 
($2,000) 

Minus the $1,000 
deductible you must pay 
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Shop Around 
This guide provides basic information you need to know to be an informed consumer when 
shopping for automobile insurance. There are a number of ways for you to shop: you can use 
the phone book, use referrals from family and friends, or go on-line to find a company, agency 
or agent. If you choose to shop through an agent, keep in mind some agents, called 
independent agents, represent a number of companies while others only represent one 
company. Each agent will be able to provide you with a quote for insurance coverage. 

No matter which manner you choose to shop, anyone selling insurance in Michigan must be 
licensed through DIFS.  If you have questions about a company, agency or agent, please call 
DIFS at 877-999-6442 or visit our website at www.michigan.gov/difs to search a list of 
companies, agencies, or agents that are licensed to sell insurance in Michigan. 

It is important to do your homework in advance when shopping for automobile insurance. You 
should ensure you’re dealing with an authorized company and a licensed agency and agent; 
make sure you have the make, model and the vehicle identification number (VIN) of the 
vehicle you wish to insure; and know the types and limits of coverage you need. DIFS cannot 
recommend or suggest specific companies, agencies or agents, but we can help make the 
shopping and comparisons easier. On the following pages are worksheets that have been 
designed to help with that process. 

Finally, DIFS wants to know if you have a problem with an agent, agency or insurance company 
during the process of shopping for coverage.  If you are told that the company is no longer 
writing in your area or you are not eligible for a policy with the company and no explanation 
of ineligibility is provided, please contact our office toll free at 877-999-6442.  The Department 
of Insurance and Financial Services, Office of Consumer Services, has staff available to answer 
your insurance questions. 

 

Contact Us 
877-999-6442 | difs-info@michigan.gov | @MIDIFS 

 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/difs
mailto:difs-info@michigan.gov
https://twitter.com/MIDIFS
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Insurance Company Websites 
We surveyed regulated insurance companies to determine if their website would allow 
consumers to obtain a premium quote for automobile insurance. The following list of company 
website addresses is being provided as an additional shopping tool when you shop for 
automobile insurance: 

Company Website / Phone Number 

21st  Century Centennial Ins. Co. - 21st  Century 
Premier Insurance Co.  

www.21st.com 

Allstate Ins Co. - Allstate Property & Casualty  www.allstate.com 

Ameriprise Auto & Home Ins www.ameriprise.com 

Amica Mutual Ins Co www.amica.com 

Automobile Club Group Ins. Co.  www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance 

Automobile Club Insurance Assn www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance  

Bankers Standard Insurance 

Bristol West Preferred 

Central Mutual Ins. Co. 

800-444-6161 

www.bristolwest.com 

www.central-insurance.com 

Cincinnati Ins Co www.cinfin.com 

Citizens Insurance Co of America  www.hanover.com 

Citizens Insurance Co of Midwest www.hanover.com 

Electric Insurance Co.  800-227-2757 

Encompass Indemnity Co.  

Encompass Property and Casualty Co. 
www.encompassinsurance.com 

Esurance  www.esurance.com 

Farm Bureau Mutual Ins www.farmbureauinsurance-mi.com 

Farmers Insurance Exchange 800-FARMERS 

Federal Insurance Company www.Chubb.com 

Great Northern Insurance Co.  www.Chubb.com 

Hartford Underwriters Insurance  800-824-8822 

Kemper Select www.kemperselect.com 
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Company Website / Phone Number 

Liberty Mutual Fire Ins. Co. www.libertymutual.com  

LM General Insurance Co. www.libertymutual.com 

LM Insurance Corp www.Libertymutual.com 

MemberSelect Insurance Co. www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance 

Mercury National Insurance Co www.mercuryinsurance.com 

Metropolitan General Property & Casualty www.autoquote.metlife.com 

Michigan Insurance Company www.michiganinsurance.com  

National General Insurance Company  800-526-0332 

Pacific Indemnity Insurance www.Chubb.com 

Pharmacists Mutual Insurance www.phmic.com 

Progressive Marathon Ins Co www.progressive.com 

Progressive MI Ins Co www.progressiveagent.com  

Safeco Insurance Co of America www.safeco.com  

Standard Fire (Travelers) www.travelers.com  

State Auto Mutual Insurance www.stateauto.com 

State Farm Fire & Casualty Co www.statefarm.com 

State Farm Mutual Automobile www.statefarm.com  

Titan Indemnity Co www.titan.com 

Titan Insurance Co www.titan.com 

The Travelers Indemnity Co. of America www.travelers.com  

United Services Auto Assn. 800-531-8722 

USAA Casualty Indemnity Co 800-531-8722 

Vigilant Insurance Co  www.Chubb.com 

Westfield Insurance Co www.westfieldgrp.com 

Wolverine Mutual Insurance Co. 
www.wolverinemutual.com/get-a-
quote 
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http://www.libertymutual.com/
http://www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance/
http://www.mercuryinsurance.com/
http://www.autoquote.metlife.com/
http://www.michiganinsurance.com/
http://www.progressive.com/
http://www.progressiveagent.com/
http://www.safeco.com/
http://www.travelers.com/
http://www.statefarm.com/
http://www.titan.com/
http://www.travelers.com/
http://www.wolverinemutual.com/get-a-quote
http://www.wolverinemutual.com/get-a-quote
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Glossary of Common Automobile Insurance Terms 
Agent – A state-licensed professional who represents an insurance company in selling and 
servicing policies. Only insurance agents are allowed to sell and service insurance policies 
and only in the states in which they are licensed. 

Application – A form you fill out with information about you that an insurance company 
will use to decide whether to issue you a policy and how much to charge. 

Binder – An acknowledgement that the insurance for which you applied is in force, 
whether or not you have paid for or received a policy. It is a temporary or preliminary 
agreement which provides coverage until a permanent policy can be written or delivered. 

Bodily Injury (BI) – This insurance coverage protects an insured from financial loss 
when they are held legally responsible for an automobile accident causing serious injury 
such as permanent disfigurement or death to someone else.  The coverage pays for pain and 
suffering caused to other individuals in the event of an automobile accident caused by the 
insured or their insured vehicle. (This is a mandatory coverage) 

Cancellation – The termination of insurance coverage during the policy period.  An 
insurer can cancel your personal automobile insurance policy for nonpayment of premium 
provided it gives you 10 days’ written notice. The company is required to give you 30 days’ 
written notice if it is cancelling your policy for any other reason. 

Claim – A policyholder’s request for reimbursement from an insurance company, under an 
automobile insurance policy for a covered loss. 

Collision Coverage – This covers physical damage to your car when your car hits or is 
hit by another vehicle or collides with another object, moveable or fixed, such as a tree, 
guard rail, or building. It pays to fix your vehicle minus your deductible. This is not required 
by Michigan law but it may be by a lien holder of a loan or lease. 

Comprehensive Coverage – Also referred to as “Other than Collision” - Covers your 
vehicle against physical damage and loss from causes other than collision, such as fire, 
theft, vandalism or collision with an animal. 

Contract –Contract refers to an insurance policy. A policy is considered to be a contract 
between the insurance company and the policyholder. 

Credit-Based Insurance Score(s) – This score is a rating based in whole or in part 
on a consumer’s credit information. An insurance score is not the same as a credit score. 
Using a mathematical formula, a consumer’s credit characteristics are put through a scoring 
model that assigns weights to various factors to determine an “insurance score.” The 
resulting score is indicative of the likelihood the consumer will file a claim, not his/her ability 
to pay the premium. The scoring models are developed by modeling firms, such as Fair 
Isaac and ChoicePointe, or by individual insurers. 

Declarations Page – Often referred to as the “dec page.” This page shows the name 
and address of the policyholder, the effective date of coverage, a description of the covered 
vehicle(s), the amount of the premium, as well as the amount and types of coverage. 

Deductible – The deductible is the amount you agree to pay on each loss before your 
insurance company pays.  The larger your deductible, the lower your premium. 
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Endorsement – A written form attached to a policy altering the terms, conditions, or 
coverage under the policy.  This is sometimes called a “rider.” 

Exclusion(s) – Certain losses and conditions listed in the policy which are not covered. 

Expiration Date – The date on which the insurance policy expires.  

Insured – The person(s) entitled to covered benefits in case of a loss.  

Insurer – The insurance company that insures your vehicle. 

Liability Insurance (Coverage) –It is the portion of your no-fault policy that covers 
bodily injury and property damage. It is coverage that pays for losses to other people and 
their property caused by negligence of the insured. Liability insurance policies cover both 
legal costs and any legal payouts for which the insured would be responsible if found legally 
liable. 

Liability Limits – The maximum amount your liability policy will pay.  Your policy must 
pay at least $20,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $40,000 per accident, and 
$10,000 for property damage per accident.  This basic coverage is called “20/40/10” 
coverage. 

Loss – The dollar amount associated with a claim. 

Mini-Tort - The limited property damage liability or “mini-tort” provision. Under Michigan 
Law if you are 50% or more at fault in an accident and damages to the other driver’s car are 
not completely covered by insurance, you may be sued for up to $1000 in damages. 

Named Driver Exclusion – An endorsement that provides that an automobile policy 
does not cover no-fault liability when a specifically named person is the driver. 

Non-renewal - A decision by an insurance company not to renew a policy. 

Policy – The written contract of insurance. 

Policy Period – The period a policy is in force, from the beginning or effective date to the 
expiration date. 

Premiums – Premiums are the financial cost of obtaining insurance coverage, paid as a 
lump sum or in installments during the duration of the policy. Most automobile premiums are 
calculated and computed for either a six- or a twelve- month policy period. Premiums can be 
billed annually, bi-annually, quarterly, or monthly depending on the payment plans offered 
by the company. 

Property Damage (PD) – Required coverage in Michigan, it provides you $10,000  in 
loss protection if your car damages someone else’s property (such as light poles, fences, 
another vehicle, etc.) in another state. It also provides you with legal defense if another 
party files a lawsuit against you. 

Property Protection Insurance (PPI) – A mandatory no-fault coverage that pays 
up to $1 million for damage your car does in Michigan to other people’s property, such as 
buildings, trees, light poles, and fences. It will also pay for damage your car does to another 
person’s properly parked vehicle. 
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Personal Injury Protection (PIP) - A mandatory no-fault coverage that pays for all 
reasonably necessary medical expenses. It will also pay for up to three years of wages you 
would have earned if you had not been hurt, up to a specified maximum amount. It will 
provide for daily expenses not exceeding $20 per day for reasonable, ordinary, necessary, 
and routine services for three years to perform household duties such as cooking, cleaning, 
laundry, bathing, etc. 

Quote – An estimate of the cost of insurance, based on information supplied to the 
insurance company by the applicant. 

Reinstatement – The process by which an insurance company puts a policy back in 
force after it lapsed because of nonpayment of renewal premiums. 

Rental Reimbursement Coverage – An optional coverage that pays a set daily 
amount for car rental if your car is being repaired because of damage covered by your 
automobile insurance policy. 

Surcharge – An additional charge added to your premium based on certain 
characteristics, such as at-fault accidents or moving violations. 

Towing and Labor Coverage – Pays for towing charges when your car cannot be 
driven.  It also pays for labor charges, such as changing a flat tire, at the place where your 
car broke down. 

Underwriter – The person who reviews an application for insurance and decides if the 
applicant is acceptable and at what premium rate. 

Underwriting – The process of selecting and classifying applicants and assessing the 
appropriate premium for the risk chosen based upon their insurability. 

Uninsured Motorist/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury – These are both 
optional coverages available from insurers for purchase.  Insureds are compensated for 
bodily injury and excess wage loss in the event that you or a member of your family is 
seriously injured and is unable to recover damages from the at-fault driver who was 
uninsured or whose liability insurance coverage was less than the actual damages incurred.  
To recover under an uninsured motorist policy, the claimant must show that the other driver 
was uninsured and legally at fault. 
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Shopping for Automobile Insurance 

Worksheet – Section I 
Use this “Coverage Collection Worksheet” to review whether your current coverages meet 
your needs. You can see how the various options may ultimately impact your total premium. 

  May Cost Less May Cost More 
 Coverage Options Standard Options 

 
M

A
N

D
A

TO
R

Y
 

Personal Injury 
Protection 
(PIP) including 
work loss and 
replacement 
services (See 
page 3) 

You may choose to 
coordinate your health 
insurance policy and/or 
disability policy with your 
automobile insurance. This 
makes your health insurance 
primary and your auto 
insurance excess. 

Unlimited medical 
benefits; maximum 
work loss amount per 
month 
$5,189; and up to $20 per 
day in 
replacement 
services. 

You must purchase 
uncoordinated or primary 
coverage if you have no 
other health insurance or 
disability coverage that 
will coordinate or if you 
have Medicare coverage 
– ask your agent. 

Property 
Protection 
Insurance 
(See page 3) 

No options. Up to $1 million for 
damage your car does to 
other people’s property 
in Michigan. 

No options. 

Residual 
Liability 
Insurance – 
Bodily Injury 
and Property 
Damage (See 
explanation 
on page 4) 

No options. -Up to $20,000 for a 
person who is hurt 
or killed in an 
accident. 
-Up to $40,000 for each 
accident if several 
people are hurt or killed. 
-Up to $10,000 for 
property damage 
in another state. 

You can purchase higher 
limits than the standard 
20/40/10 to protect 
your assets if you are at 
fault and sued by 
others. 

 
O

P
TI

O
N

A
L 

THESE OPTIONAL COVERAGES WILL IMPACT YOUR TOTAL PREMIUM 
Collision/ 
Comprehensive 
(See page 5) 

You may purchase a higher 
deductible - $1,000, $1,500, 
or 
$2,000 if your insurer offers 
such limits; or purchase 
standard or limited collision 
instead of broad collision. You 
may also elect to not 
purchase collision or 
comprehensive but you will 
not have coverage for 
damage to your vehicle. 
 

Optional coverage You may purchase a lower 
deductible of $50, $100, 
$150, $200 or $250 if your 
insurer offers such limits. 

Uninsured/ 
Underinsured 
Motorist (See 
page 5) 

You may purchase lower 
coverage limits or elect to 
not purchase this optional 
coverage. 

Optional coverage You may purchase higher 
coverage limits. 

Automobile 
Rental 
Reimbursement 

You may purchase a lower 
daily limit or not purchase 
this optional coverage. 

Optional coverage You can purchase a higher 
daily limit. 

Roadside 
Service 

You may purchase a lower 
coverage limit or not 
purchase this optional 
coverage. 

Optional coverage You can purchase a higher 
coverage limit. 
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Shopping for Automobile Insurance  

Worksheet – Section II 
This worksheet provides a place to record information an insurer will need in order to 
accurately quote you a premium. It is important to be consistent when sharing information 
with each insurer; this allows you to compare premiums on a consistent basis. 

Vehicles to be insured: 
 
Make/Model Year Vehicle identification 

number (VIN) 
Principal 

owner 
Principal 
operator 

Occasional 
operator 

      
      
      
      

 

Drivers to be insured on the Policy should include all licensed drivers and any new 
driver(s) with a learners permit: 
 

Name License number Age Miles to work 
    
    
    
    

 

Accidents or moving violations or convictions of each driver during the past three 
years: 
 

 

 

Remember: Check the discounts for which you may be eligible: 

 Anti-theft devices 

 Multiple vehicle policy 

 Anti-lock brakes 

 Good student 

 Group rated discounts 

 Ask the company what additional discounts they offer that would 
apply to you. 
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Shopping for Automobile Insurance 

Worksheet – Section III 
Use this chart to compare the quotes you receive from insurers and to explore your options. 
Review your current policy to verify your coverage limits and deductibles and whether your 
current Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and work loss coverages are Excess (Coordinated) 
or Primary (Uncoordinated). Make sure you use the same limits of coverage, deductibles and 
PIP selections from company to company to ensure an accurate comparison. 

Annual Premiums 
Coverage Company A Company B Company C Company D 

Liability (See page 6 for details about these coverages) 

 

M
A

N
D

A
T

O
R

Y
 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
including work loss and replacement 
services 

    

Property Protection Insurance (PPI) - 
$1,000,000 required 

    

Residual Liability Insurance is both 
Bodily Injury and Property Damage 

    

Collision (See page 8 for definitions) 

 

O
P

T
IO

N
A

L
 

Broad Form     
$ Deductible     
$ Deductible     
Standard     
$ Deductible     
$ Deductible     

Limited     
$ Deductible     
$ Deductible     
Comprehensive     
$ Deductible     
$ Deductible     

Uninsured/ 
Underinsured Motorist 

    

Automobile Rental Coverage     

Roadside Service     
Discounts Offered by Company – 
List each discount for which you may 
qualify for and the amount of that 
reduction. 
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Department of Insurance and Financial Services 
P.O. Box 30220 
Lansing, MI  48909-7720 
Toll-Free 877-999-6442 
 
 
 



Insurance Company Websites 
Companies Insurance Company Websites 
21st Century Centennial Ins. & 21st Century Premier Ins  Co.  www.21st.com 

AIG www.aig.com 
Allstate Fire & Casualty  www.allstate.com 
Allstate Ins Co. - Allstate Property & Casualty  www.allstate.com 

Amica Mutual Ins Co www.amica.com 

Automobile Club Group Ins. Co.  www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance/ 
Automobile Club Insurance Assn www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance/  
Central Mutual Ins. Co. www.central-insurance.com 

Cincinnati Ins Co www.cinfin.com 

Citizens Insurance Co of America  www.hanover.com 
Citizens Insurance Co of Midwest www.hanover.com 
Encompass Indemnity Co.  www.encompassinsurance.com 

Encompass Property and Casualty Co. www.encompassinsurance.com 
Farm Bureau General –Farm Bureau Mutual Ins www.farmbureauinsurance-mi.com 
Federal Insurance Company www.Chubb.com 
Great Northern Insurance Co.  www.Chubb.com 
Hartford Underwriters Ins. www.thehartford.com 
IDS Property & Casualty www.ameriprise.com/autohome 

Kemper Select www.kemperselect.com 

Liberty Mutual Fire Ins. Co. www.libertymutual.com 

LM General Insurance Co. www.libertymutual.com 
LM Insurance Corp www.libertymutual.com 
MemberSelect Insurance Co. www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance/ 

Pacific Indemnity Insurance www.Chubb.com 
Pharmacists Mutual Insurance www.phmic.com 
Progressive Marathon Ins Co www.progressive.com 

Progressive MI Ins Co www.progressiveagent.com  

Safeco Insurance Co of Illinois www.safeco.com  

Standard Fire (Travelers) www.travelers.com  

State Farm Fire & Casualty  www.statefarm.com  
State Farm Mutual Auto Ins. www.statefarm.com  

Titan Indemnity Co & Titan Insurance Co www.titan.com 

The Travelers Indemnity Co. of America www.travelers.com  

Trumbull www.thehartford.com 
United States Auto Assn www.usaa.com 
USAA Casualty Insurance  www.usaa.com  
Vigilant Insurance Co  www.Chubb.com 
Wolverine Mutual Insurance Co. www.wolverinemutual.com 

 

May 2016 

http://www.21st.com/
http://www.aig.com/
http://www.allstate.com/
http://www.allstate.com/
http://www.amica.com/
http://www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance/
http://www.central-insurance.com/
http://www.cinfin.com/
http://www.encompassinsurance.com/
http://www.encompassinsurance.com/
http://www.thehartford.com/
http://www.ameriprise.com/autohome
http://www.kemperselect.com/
https://www.libertymutual.com/
https://www.libertymutual.com/
https://www.libertymutual.com/
http://www.michigan.aaa.com/insurance/
http://www.progressive.com/
http://www.progressiveagent.com/
http://www.safeco.com/
http://www.travelers.com/
http://www.statefarm.com/
http://www.statefarm.com/
http://www.titan.com/
http://www.travelers.com/
http://www.usaa.com/
http://www.usaa.com/
http://www.wolverinemutual.com/get-a-quote


 2016 Auto Buyers Discount Chart

Company Air Bags

Anti         

Lock      

Brakes

Anti    

Theft

Multi       

Vehicle

Multi         

Policy

Credit       

Based 

Insurance  

Score

Student       

Away at    

School

Good       

Student 

Claim               

or Ticket      

Free

21st CenturyCentennial 20-30% 5% 5% 20-30%   0 – 60% 0-20% 0-16.2%

21st Century Premier 20-30% 5% 5% 20-30% 0 – 60%  0-20% 0-16.2%

AIG Property Casualty Co. 20-30  3%  5-15%  16%  8% 

Allied Property & Casualty 20-30% 5% 12-29% 5-34% 0-61% 10% 0-34% 15%

Allstate Fire & Casualty 20-30% 10% 5% 0-35% 5-26% 0-77% 10% 10% 0-38%

Allstate Insurance Co. 20-30% 10% 5% 0-30% 5-10% 0-68% 10% 10% 0-32%

Allstate Property & Casualty 

Insurance

20-30% 10% 5% 0-28% 5-20% 0-73% 10% 10% 0-38%

AMCO Insurance 20-30% 5% 14-29% 5-34% 0-61% 10% 2-30% 15%

American Bankers 5-15% 3-15% 3%

American Select Ins.  20-30% 5% 5-15% 0-20% 5-10% 10-25% 7%

Amica Mutual 20-40% 5-25% 5-25% 4-10% 10% 10%

Auto Club Group Ins 10, 14% 3,5, 17 20or25% 14% 13-59% 10%

Auto Club 10, 14% 3,5, 17 20or25% 14% 13-59% 10%

Auto Owners 20-35% 5% 5-10% 6-33% 5-12% 0-6509% 25% 5-10%

Bankers Standard Ins 20-30% 5% 5-15% 20% 10% 0-68%  3-5% 

Bristol West Preferred Ins 2-23% 5-20% 10% 0-7%

Central Mutual Ins. 20-30% 5-15% 7-50% 10-25%  9-69%  8-11%

Cincinnati Insurance Co. 5-15% 0-73% 0-57 22-93% 7-15%

Citizens of America 20% 5% 5-25% 19% 13% 1-55%

Citizens of Midwest 1.1-23.8% 0-26.1% 68.3-97.1 10%

Electric Insurance Co. 20-30% 5% 5-15% 10% 1-10%

Encompass Indemnity 30% 5% 5 or 15% 0-40%  0-25% 0-80% 20% 12% 10%

Encompass Property 

Casualty

30% 5% 5 or 15% 0-43%  0-25%  0-60%  20% 12%

Esurance Insurance 10-30% 10% 1-15% 5% 3-62% 10% 10-20%

Esurance Property & 

Casualty

10-30% 10% 1-15% 5% 3-62% 10% 10-20%

Everest National Ins Co 1% 1%

Discounts apply to certain coverages only.  An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount.



 2016 Auto Buyers Discount Chart

Company Air Bags Anti         

Lock      

Brakes

Anti    

Theft

Multi       

Vehicle

Multi         

Policy

Credit       

Based 

Insurance  

Score

Student       

Away at    

School

Good       

Student 

Claim               

or Ticket      

Free

Farm Bureau General  20-30% 5% 5-20% 14-21% 10-20% 1-59% 2-48% 5-32%

Farm Bureau Mutual Ins.  20-30% 5% 5-20% 14-21% 10-20%  1-59% 2-48% 5-32%

Farmers Insurance 

Exchange

5-34.7% 5-34.7% 10% 10%

Federal Insurance Co.  20% 5% 5, 15% 10%  6% 7%

Frankenmuth Mutual Ins. 5-7.5% 5-25% 10% 0-74% 20% 0-21%

Fremont Ins. 20-35% 5% 5-20% 20% 20% 28-56%  11-27% 10% 3-9%

Grange Insurance 0-10% 0-8% 0-35% 15-25% 0-68% 0-13% 6-24% 9-16%

Great Northern Insurance 

Co. 

20% 5% 5 or 15% 10% 6% 7%

Harleysville Lake States 5% 5% 5% 25%  10 or 15%  12-56%  12-51%  10% 10% 

Hartford Underwriters 

Insurance Co.

10, 20% 5, 15% 0-35% 3, 5% 0-20% 23% 4-10%

Hastings Mutual Ins. 15% 5% 5-15% 10-15% 10-15% 3-15%

Home-Owners Insurance 

Co 

20-35% 5% 5-10% 6-33% 5-16% 0-6509% 25% 5-10%

IDS Property Casualty 3-20% 0-3% 0-10% 0-28.8% 4-25% 0-77.2% 0-30% 0-20% 0-15% 

Integon National Ins. 10% 5-10% 0-64% 8-10% 8-10%

Kemper Select 2-30% 5-15% 5or10% 10-25% 10% 6%

LM General 20% 5-7% 9-25% 5-9% 1-5% 1-96% 1-22% 1-22%

LM Insurance 20% 5-7% 9-25% 5-9% 1-5% 1-96% 1-22% 1-22%

Liberty Mutual Fire 20-30% 10% 5-25% 5-17% 2% 1 – 90%  25% 5% 

MemberSelect 5%  5% 10-15% 0-67% 0-35.4% 10-87.8% 10% 10% 15-53%

Metropolitan Property & 

Casualty 

20-40% 5% 5-20% 5-15%

MIC General Ins. 10% 10-20% 0-74%

Michigan Insurance Co 5% 5% 5-20% 25% 18% 9-42% 25% 18% 5-20%

National General Insurance  10% 10-20% 0-74%

Nationwide Mutual Fire 20-30% 5% 18-23% 5-20% 0-62% 10% 1-34% 15%

Northern Mutual 15-25% 5-15% 20% 15% 12-53% 30% 15%

Discounts apply to certain coverages only.  An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount.



 2016 Auto Buyers Discount Chart

Company Air Bags Anti         

Lock      

Brakes

Anti    

Theft

Multi       

Vehicle

Multi         

Policy

Credit       

Based 

Insurance  

Score

Student       

Away at    

School

Good       

Student 

Claim               

or Ticket      

Free

Pacific Indemnity Ins. 20% 5% 5 or 15% 10% 6% 7%

Pharmacists Mutual Ins. 20-30% 5% 5-15% 20% 15-25% 0-66% 30%

Pioneer State 5% 5% 5-20% 10% 20-56% 25% 12% 5-10%

Progressive Marathon 10% 5% 3-22% 7% 0-74% 1-10% 10% 0-16%

Progressive Michigan  10% 5% 6-35% 8% 0-74% 1-10% 10% 0-21%

Safeco Ins of Illinois 3% 12-36%  5-14%  0-73% 8-20% 0-16%  5%

SECURA Insurance 10% 12% 5% 0-60% 17% 0-20% 5%

SECURA Supreme 10% 12% 5% 0-60% 17% 0-20% 5%

Standard Fire Insurance Co 30% 5-20% 5 or 25% 10%  20%

State Auto Mutual Ins 20-30% 5% 5-25% 15% 10-15% 5-77% 10% 3-12%

State Farm Fire & Casualty 

Co.

0-15% 0-20% 5-10% 4-30% 0-86% 0-61%

State Farm Mutual 

Automobile

0-15%  0-20% 5-10% 4-30% 5-22% 0-86% 0-61% 0-19% 10-25%

Titan Indemnity 0-18% 0-31% 0-70% 2-20% 5-20%

Titan Insurance 5% 20%

The Travelers Indemnity 30% 5-20% 5 or 25%  10% 20%

Trumbull Insurance 10, 20% 5, 15% 0-35% 3, 5% 0-20% 23% 4-10%

United Services Auto Assn 10-15% 15-20% 2-13% 2.8 13.2 2.8-57.4 2-25% 1-10% 17%

USAA Casualty Indemnity 10-15% 15-20 2-13% 3.5-15.4 3.5-66% 2-25% 1-10% 17%

Vigilant Insurance Co 20% 5% 5 or 15% 10% 6% 7%

Westfield Ins. 20-30% 5% 5-15%  0-20% 5-20% 10-25% 7%

Wolverine Mutual 5-15% 5%  10-25% 20% 5-55% 8%  5-10%

Discounts apply to certain coverages only.  An insurance company may apply a maximum total discount amount.
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