STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES

Bulletin 2019-07-INS

tract

Issued and entered this 17th day of April 2019 by Anita G. Fox Director

This bulletin supersedes Bulletin 2018-22-INS, dated November 20, 2018.

The Director has approved a new residential public adjuster contract. The effective date of the new contract is May 15, 2019. All licensed public adjusters must begin using the new contract on that date; and must file the new contract with DIFS no later than June 30, 2019.

Any questions regarding this bulletin should be directed to:

Department of Insurance and Financial Services
Office of Insurance Licensing and Market Conduct
530 West Allegan Street, 8th Floor
P.O. Box 30220
Lansing, Michigan 48909-7720
Toll-Free: 877-999-6442

/s/		
Anita G. Fox		
Director		

Ind	ividual Adjuster / Adj	usting Firm Name:			
	eet Address:		City: mber:	State:	ZIP Code:
Pho	one Number:	Fax Nu	mber:	Website:	
		RESIDEN	TIAL PUBLIC ADJUST	ING CONTRACT	
Thi	s Contract constitutes	the entire agreement he	[Rev. 03-2019]	all not be modified with	out the written agreement of both
			applicable Michigan law.	in not be modified with	out the written agreement of both
1.	Terms: Insured(s)				
	Loss Location:				
		[address]		[city]	[zip code]
	Date/Time of Loss:	On or about: Month _	Day	, Year	Time a.m./p.m.
	Insurer(s):				
	Public Adjuster:				
2.		Insured(s) hires Adjuste following types of covera		ation, presentation and a	djusting of insurance claim with
	□ Building	□ Living Expenses	□ Debris Removal		g/Temporary Repairs
	□ Contents□ Loss of Use	□ Other Structures□ Personal Property	☐ Landscaping/Trees/S☐ Fire Department Sei		Furs/Antiques/Guns/Collectibles
3.	other information the documentation to Ad Payment: Insured(s by Insurer(s) related Adjuster in accordant of amounts paid in settlement of the loss	at may be needed to addjuster that may be needed a) agrees to pay and assigned to coverage(s) authorizance with an attached alterest thement of the loss by s' includes all payments	just the claim. Insured(s) to prepare the claim. ns to Adjuster % noted under the Scope of Cornative fee agreement. He the Insurer(s) related to the second	of to exceed 10% of amo Contract. In the alternat owever, the total amount coverage(s) authorized u	y of the insurance policy and any ith, and provide information and unts paid in settlement of the loss ive, Insured(s) may agree to pay of such fee shall not exceed 10% nder the Scope of Contract. ["In of the claims, including payments unteresolution.]
4.	Authorizations: By	signing this Contract, In	nsured(s) authorizes and	instructs Insurer(s) to pa	y assigned proceeds directly and nelude the Adjuster as a payee.
5.	(MHSSA) withi	n 3 business days		ontract was solicite	ome Solicitation Sales Acted or entered into at the contract.
			THIS CONTRACT AND HAVING RECEIVED A		AGREE TO ITS TERMS EEMENT.
Bv·			By:		
- ,	Licensed Adjuster f	For the Insured Pho	one 23.	Insured	Phone
			By:		71
				Insured	Phone
Dat	e:	Time:	Date:		Time:

THIS FORM IS APPROVED BY THE DIRECTOR OF THE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES FOR THE STATE OF MICHIGAN.

NOTICE: An adjuster for the insured may not be employed by, own stock in, be an officer or director of, or in any other manner be connected with a fire repair contractor. MCL 500.1224.

CANCELLATION RIGHTS UNDER MICHIGAN INSURANCE CODE: If you, the insured, signed this Contract within 48 hours of the conclusion of the loss to be adjusted under this Contract, you may cancel at your option at any time during the 10 days after you signed. To compute this time, the day of signing or first day is excluded and the 10th day is included. If the last or 10th day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the period is extended to include the next day, which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. To exercise this option to void or cancel this Contract, date and sign the Notice of Cancellation below and deliver it to the Adjuster or to his/her place of business within 10 days of signing the Contract.

Notice of Cancellation under Michigan Insurance Code					
Date of Loss:	Date Contract was Signed:				
until the adjuster has contracted in writing, or representative. A contract which is executed we option of the insured for 10 days after executions.	6(4), provides: "An adjuster for an insured shall not provide his or her services to a client on a form approved by the commissioner, with the insured or his or her authorized within 48 hours after conclusion of the loss-producing occurrence shall be voidable at the ation of the contract. The written contract shall constitute the agreement between the y of the contract shall be given to the insured when the contract is executed."				
As provided by the M	lichigan Insurance Code, I hereby void (cancel) this contract.				
[date of cancellation]	[signature of insured]				
this Contract under MHSSA at any time price compute this time, the day of signing or first of day" means Monday though Friday and does Martin Luther King's birthday, Washington's Thanksgiving day, and Christmas day. See the Adjuster is prohibited from demanding payment the Contract before the end of the 3 – business	A, regardless of when you signed this Contract in relation to your loss. You may cancel or to midnight of the third business day after the date you signed the Contract. To day is excluded, the last day is included and you count only business days. A "business not include Saturday or Sunday, or the following business holidays: New Year's day, birthday, Memorial day, Independence day, Labor day, Columbus day, Veteran's day, he below notice of cancellation form for an explanation of this right. Additionally, the not of sending anyone to your home seeking payment of any variety from you pursuant to day period in which you can cancel the transaction. Ce of Cancellation under the MHSSA				
date. If you cancel, any property trade negotiable instrument executed by you seller of your cancellation notice, and you cancel, you must make available when you received, any goods deliver with the instructions of the seller regrisk. If you do make the goods availathe date of your notice of cancella obligation. If you fail to make the goseller and fail to do so then you remain To cancel this transaction, mail or dewritten notice, or send a telegram to company) at their address not later to	hout any penalty or obligation, within 3 business days from the above led in, any payments made by you under the contract or sale, and any ou will be returned within 10 business days following receipt by the any security interest arising out of the transaction will be cancelled. It is to the seller at your residence, in substantially as good condition as red to you under this contract or sale; or you may if you wish, comply garding the return shipment of the goods at the seller's expense and ble to the seller and the seller does not pick them up within 20 days of tion, you may retain or dispose of the goods without any further boods available to the seller or if you agree to return the goods to the in liable for performance of all obligations under the contract. The eliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other in liable for performance of all obligations under the contract. The eliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other in liable for performance of all obligations under the contract. The eliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other in liable for performance of all obligations under the contract. The eliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other in liable for performance of all obligations under the contract.				
res provides					

[signature of insured]

[date of cancellation]