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 Consumer Counselor  
Financial Information for Michigan Consumers 

 

Things to Be Aware of When Obtaining a Motor Vehicle Loan 
 

Shopping for the right vehicle loan? The 
Department of Insurance and Financial 
Services (DIFS) is happy to provide helpful 
information when searching for that perfect new 
vehicle and/or loan. 

 
When obtaining a vehicle loan you will sign a 
contract generally called a Retail Installment 
Contract. The contract must include Truth-in- 
Lending disclosures showing your payment 
schedule, finance charges, and annual 
percentage rate. You should never sign a 
contract that is incomplete or contains blanks. 
In addition, you are entitled to receive an exact 
copy of the contract, signed by both the buyer 
and the seller. If the dealer sells or assigns your 
contract to another party, the new party is 
required to give you written notice of where and 
when to make your payments. The contract 
also must state the allowable late fees, in the 
event of a late payment. By law, the late charge 
cannot exceed $15.00 or 5% of the late 
payment, whichever is greater. 

 
Fees 
Documentary Preparation Fee 
The Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Act (ACT) 
allows an Installment Seller (dealer) to charge a 
documentary preparation fee (commonly 
referred to as the “Doc Prep Fee”) for 
completing the paperwork that is required when 
you purchase a new or used vehicle that will be 
secured by a finance agreement (auto loan). 
The Doc Prep Fee charged by a dealer should 
not exceed 5% of the cash price of the vehicle 
or the maximum amount permitted by DIFS, 
whichever is less. 

The ACT allows for the maximum amount of the 
fee to be adjusted every 2 years. The Director 
of DIFS is responsible for reviewing this fee and 
will issue a new bulletin when the fee is 
adjusted. On January 13, 2023, the Director 
approved the current Doc Prep Fee of 5% of 
the cash price of the motor vehicle or $260.00, 
whichever is less. 

 
Other Fees 
When you purchase a motor vehicle you may 
also be charged fees payable to the State of 
Michigan, a public official and/or notarization for 
filing or recording a lien on the certificate of title, 
and for satisfying and releasing the lien or 
encumbrance. These fees may include a 
license fee, title fee, registration transfer fee, 
sales tax, temporary registration fee, etc. For 
these fees the dealer is only allowed to charge 
you the actual fee incurred. Application fees 
and GPS location device fees are not permitted 
charges. 

 
Finance Charges 
Typically, the finance charges on car loans are 
calculated by using the simple interest method. 
Simple interest payments are determined by 
multiplying the daily interest rate by the number 
of days between payments. Therefore, when 
you make a payment on a simple interest loan it 
is first applied to all of the accrued interest and 
the remainder is applied toward the principal. 
Each month’s interest is paid in full so it never 
accrues. If a simple interest loan is paid off 
early, there should not be any interest refund 
due to you from the finance company, as 
interest is not paid in advance. Michigan law 
limits the allowable finance charge to 25 
percent for vehicle loans. 
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Insurance 
When you finance a car, the lender typically has 
requirements about insurance coverage for the 
vehicle in order to protect their interest in the 
property. For instance, the lender can require 
full insurance coverage on the vehicle over the 
course of the loan. 

Credit Life and Credit Disability Insurance are 
optional insurance products that you can 
purchase when buying a new vehicle. A Credit 
Life policy would pay off all or some of your 
loan in the event of your death and a Credit 
Disability policy would make payments on the 
loan if you were to become ill or injured and 
cannot work. These optional insurance policies 
can be expensive and, if financed as part of the 
loan, they will increase your loan amount. If you 
pay the loan off early or you decide you want to 
cancel a Credit Life or Credit Disability policy, 
you may be able to receive a pro-rated refund 
for these policies. You should contact the 
dealer and/or the sales finance company to 
request the cancellation and inquire on any 
refunds you may be due. 

 
GAP Waiver 
A Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP) waiver is 
between the dealer/lender and the customer, 
which allows the lender to forgive all or part of 
the remaining debt in the event of a covered 
loss. With a GAP waiver, the lender agrees to 
extinguish the borrower’s financial contractual 
obligation under terms of the loan. 

 
GAP Insurance 
A GAP insurance policy is between the 
customer and an insurance company. GAP 
insurance generally covers the difference 
between what is owed on the vehicle and the 
actual cash value. Dealers often offer this 
insurance to their customers at the time of the 
purchase; however, you can also contact your 
insurance agent to see if a GAP policy can be 
added to your auto policy. If GAP is purchased 
through the auto dealer it is usually paid up 
front. For that reason, you may be eligible for a 

refund if you sell, refinance, or pay your loan off 
early. Refunds are issued by the dealer so you 
will need to contact the dealer to inquire about 
the refund. 
Spot Delivery 
The practice of “spot delivery” occurs when the 
buyer and dealer sign the installment sales 
contract and the buyer takes delivery of the 
vehicle “on the spot,” prior to the seller 
obtaining financing from a lender. The dealer 
then may require the buyer to return the vehicle 
or sign a new contract if they are unable to 
obtain financing. 

 
It is the position of DIFS that once a motor 
vehicle loan is closed and the buyer takes 
possession of the vehicle, the dealer cannot 
rescind the contract or request the return of the 
vehicle for any reason. Dealers are required to 
ensure all conditions related to the closing of an 
automobile purchase be met prior to the 
borrower’s execution of the contract. If the 
dealer is unable to secure financing, the dealer 
must accept payments from the borrower until 
they can secure financing on the borrower’s 
behalf. New loan documents should not need to 
be resigned nor should any terms of the 
contract change from the original terms. 

 
In the event that a dealer requires you to return 
a vehicle, or sign a new contract, please feel 
free to call DIFS at 877-999-6442 for 
assistance. 

 
About DIFS 
The mission of the Michigan Department of 
Insurance and Financial Services is to ensure 
access to safe and secure insurance and 
financial services fundamental for the 
opportunity, security and success of Michigan 
residents, while fostering economic growth and 
sustainability in both industries. In addition, the 
Department provides consumer protection, 
outreach, and financial literacy and education 
services to Michigan citizens. For more 
information please contact DIFS at 877-999- 
6442 or visit www.michigan.gov/DIFS 

http://www.michigan.gov/DIFS
http://www.michigan.gov/DIFS

	Fees
	Finance Charges
	Insurance
	GAP Waiver
	GAP Insurance
	Spot Delivery
	About DIFS

