STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES

Before the Director of the Department of Insurance and Financial Services
In the matter of:

Tonette Lashaii Garrett Enforcement Case No. 20-16094
Unlicensed

Respondent.

Issued and entered
On July 27, 2020
by Randall S. Gregg
Senior Deputy Director

FINAL ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST

1. On June 18, 2020, the Senior Deputy Director issued an Order to Cease and Desist (Order) pursuant
to Section 251 of the Michigan Insurance Code (Code), MCL 500.251, against Respondent Tonette
Lashaii Garrett. The copy of the Order is attached to this Final Order to Cease and Desist.

2. The Order contained allegations that Respondent violated MCL 500.1201a(1) and MCL 500.1208a(1)
of the Code.

3. On June 22, 2020, the Order was mailed to Respondent via first class and certified mail to the last
known address of record. The mail was not returned by the United States Postal Service.

4. The Order advised the Respondent of the opportunity to request a hearing on the Order, as provided
in Section 251 of the Code, MCL 500.251, not later than 30 days after the Order was delivered or
mailed to the Respondent.

5. Respondent failed to timely request a hearing, therefore the Order is FINAL and, as ordered:

1. The Respondent shall immediately CEASE and DESIST from all activities in violation of the Code
as described in the Statement of Findings.

2. A copy of this Order shall be immediately served upon Respondent. As to any Respondent, this
Order shall be effective upon the date of service.

3. The Director retains jurisdiction of the matters contained herein and the authority to issue such
further Orders as shall be deemed just, necessary, and appropriate.
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4. Pursuant to Section 251(6) of the Code, MCL 500.251(6), a person who violates or otherwise
fails to comply with an Order to Cease and Desist is subject to one or more of the following:

a. Payment of a civil fine of not more than $1,000.00 for each violation not to exceed an
aggregate civil fine of $30,000.00. However, if the person knew or reasonably should
have known the conduct was in violation of the cease and desist order, the person shall
be subject to a civil fine of not more than $25,000.00 for each violation not to exceed an
aggregate civil fine of $250,000.00.

b. Suspension or revocation of the person’s license or certificate of authority.

By

Randall S. Gregg
Senior Deputy Director
Department of Insurance and Financial Services



STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES

Before the Director of the Department of Insurance and Financial Services

In the matter of:

Tonette Lashaii Garrett Enforcement Case No. 20-16094
Unlicensed

Respondent.

Issued and entered
on June 18, 2020
by Randall S. Gregg
Senior Deputy Director

ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST WITH STATEMENT OF FINDINGS
AND NOTICE OF OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING

Pursuant to Section 251 of the Michigan Insurance Code (Code), MCL 500.251, and after reviewing evidence
of the conduct described in the attached Statement of Findings, and

WHEREAS, the Director of the Department of Insurance and Financial Services finds that immediate action
is necessary and appropriate in the public interest for the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare,
and consistent with the purposes fairly intended by public policy and provisions of the Code,

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT:

1.

Respondent shall immediately CEASE AND DESIST from all activities in violation of the Code as
described in the Statement of Findings.

A copy of this Order shall be immediately served upon Respondent. As to any
Respondent, this Order shall be effective upon the date of service.

Respondent will have 30 calendar days after the service of this Order to contest it by
requesting a hearing. Within 10 calendar days after receiving the request, the hearing
process shall commence. This Order shall remain in effect until further order of the
Director. Any request for a hearing should be addressed to the Department of Insurance and
Financial Services, Attention: Christy Capelin, Hearings Coordinator, P.O. Box 30220, Lansing, MI
48909-7720 or faxed to 517-284-8843.

Any such hearing held shall address the following issues:

a. The facts set forth in the Statement of Findings.
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b. The continuation of the Order to Cease and Desist.
C. Restitution to be paid by Respondent.

5. If a hearing is requested, an administrative law judge from the Michigan Office of Administrative
Hearings and Rules shall preside over any such hearing.

6. The Director retains jurisdiction of the matters contained herein and the authority to issue such further
Orders as shall be deemed just, necessary, and appropriate.

7. Pursuant to Section 251(6) of the Code, MCL 500.251(6), a person who violates or otherwise fails to
comply with an Order to Cease and Desist is subject to one or more of the following:

a. Payment of a civil fine of not more than $1,000 for each violation not to exceed an aggregate
civil fine of $30,000. However, if the person knew or reasonably should have known the
conduct was in violation of the cease and desist order, the person shall be subject to a civil
fine of not more than $25,000 for each violation not to exceed an aggregate civil fine of

$250,000.
b. Suspension or revocation of the person’s license or certificate of authority.
C. Complete restitution, in the form, amount, and within the period determined by the Director,

to all persons in Michigan damaged by the violation or failure to comply.

Randall S. Gregg
Senior Deputy Director

Dated: June 18, 2020
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Before the Director of the Department of Insurance and Financial Services

In the matter of:

Tonette Lashaii Garrett Enforcement Case No. 20-16094
Unlicensed
Respondent.
/
STATEMENT OF FINDINGS

1. Pursuant to Section 251(1) of the Code, MCL 500.251(1), the Director is empowered to issue a cease
and desist order if the Director finds any of the following:

(a) A person is conducting transactions of insurance for which a certificate
of authority is required by this act without having obtained a certificate of
authority.

(b) A person is acting as an insurance agent, solicitor, adjuster, or counselor
without a license as required by this act.

(c) A person is engaged in an act or practice in the business of insurance
for which authority from or notification to the commissioner is required by
this act and the person has not received authority or given notification.

(d) A person authorized to engage in the business of insurance under this
act is engaged in conduct that presents an immediate danger to public
health, safety, or welfare. MCL 500.251(1).

2. Under Section 1201a(1) of the Code, it is a violation for a person to sell, solicit, or
negotiate insurance in this state for any line of insurance without first obtaining a
license or qualification for that line. MCL 500.1201a(1).

a. “‘Negotiate” means the act of conferring directly with or offering advice directly to a purchaser
or prospective purchaser of a particular contract of insurance concerning any of the
substantive benefits, terms, or conditions of the contract, provided that the person engaged
in that act either sells insurance or obtains insurance from insurers for purchasers. MCL
500.1201(m).

b. ‘Sell” means to exchange a contract of insurance by any means, for money or its
equivalent, on behalf of an insurance company. MCL 500.1201(n).

C. “Solicit” means attempting to sell insurance or asking or urging a person to apply for a
particular kind of insurance from a particular company. MCL 500.1201(o).
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3.

10.

1.

12.

13.

14.

Under Section 1208a of the Code, an insurance producer shall not act as an agent of an insurer
unless the insurance producer becomes an appointed agent of that insurer. MCL 500.1208a(1).

DIFS Staff received information about possible unlicensed activity by Tonette Lashaii Garrett
(Respondent). A review of DIFS’ records revealed that Respondent is not licensed under the Code.

After an investigation, DIFS Staff concluded that Respondent has engaged in activities regulated by
the Code, without the requisite license, and has violated the insurance laws of this state.

Respondent maintains a Facebook profile under her name “Tonette Lashaii Garrett.” The photograph
posted on the “Tonette Lashaii Garrett” Facebook profile appears to match the photograph of
Respondent’s state-issued ID.

Respondent posted an advertisement for fraudulent automobile insurance on Facebook using her
Facebook profile, as follows:

a. “Who need car insurance?? | got it legit for $150.. Serious people only.”

DIFS’ investigation found that Respondent sold Progressive insurance policy # - to a
customer. On or about May 6, 2020, Michigan Department of State (MDOS) sent the customer a
cancellation notice after she tried to use this policy as proof of insurance due to MDOS’ inability to
verify the policy. MDOS stated that the same Progressive policy number had been used 12 different
times by Michigan drivers.

DIFS’ investigation found that on or about March 16, 2020, MDOS sent Respondent a cancellation
notice because MDOS was unable to verify her Progressive policy # . MDOS confirmed
with Progressive that the policy was fraudulent. That policy number was for a different named insured
and vehicle located in a different state.

By soliciting insurance as an unlicensed producer, Respondent violated Section 1201a(1) of the
Code, MCL 500.1201a(1).

By attempting to divert funds from the public in exchange for fraudulent insurance policies,
Respondent violated Section 4503(g)(i) of the Code, MCL 500.4503(g)(i).

By providing MDOS with a fraudulent certificate of insurance, Respondent violated Section 3101a(5)
of the Code, MCL 500.3101a(5).

Based on the aforementioned findings, Respondent is engaged in an act or practice in the business
of insurance for which authority from or notification to the Director is required by the Code, and
Respondent has not received authority nor given notification.

Respondent is subject to sanctions under Sections 150, 1239(2)(e), and 1244 of the Code, MCL
500.150, 500.1239(2)(e), and 500.1244. Furthermore, if the above facts are found to be true,
Respondent’s violation of Sections 3101a(5) and 4503(g)(i) of the Code may also be considered a
misdemeanor under Section 3101a(5) of the Code, MCL 500.3101a(5) and a felony under Section
4511 of the Code, MCL 500.4511.





