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ORDER REQUIRING WORKER’S COMPENSATION INSURANCE FILINGS 

 
On March 10, 2020, Governor Whitmer issued Executive Order 2020-04, which declared a state of 

emergency across the State of Michigan due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Since then, the virus has spread 

across Michigan, bringing deaths in the thousands, confirmed cases in the tens of thousands, and deep 

disruption to this state’s economy, homes, and educational, civic, social, and religious institutions. On April 

1, 2020, in response to the widespread and severe health, economic, and social harms posed by the 

COVID19 pandemic, Governor Whitmer issued Executive Order 2020-33 which expanded Executive Order 

2020-4 and declared both a state of emergency and a state of disaster across the state of Michigan under 

section 1 of article 5 of the Michigan Constitution of 1963, the Emergency Management Act, and the 

Emergency Powers of the Governor Act of 1945. On May 22, 2020, finding that COVID-19 continues to 

create emergency and disaster conditions across the State of Michigan, Governor Whitmer issued 

Executive Order 2020-99 and Executive Order 2020-100 to continue the emergency declaration under the 

Emergency Powers of the Governor Act and to issue new emergency and disaster declarations under the 

Emergency Management Act through June 19, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. 

The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in significant impacts to Michigan employers, and has 

resulted in significant reductions in worker’s compensation claims activity. Some worker’s compensation 



Order No. 2020-11-M 
Page 2 of 3 
 
insurers, recognizing that their loss exposures have been greatly reduced, have already filed plans to 

provide an adjustment, credit, or endorsement to their customers as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

This order requires all insurers authorized to write worker’s compensation insurance in Michigan 

who have not already submitted a filing, or who have not yet implemented an adjustment, credit, or 

endorsement, to submit one of the following filings no later than June 26, 2020: 1) a plan to offer an 

adjustment, credit, or endorsement to their employer customers; or 2) an explanation of why an adjustment, 

credit, or endorsement is not warranted at this time. Both types of filings must be accompanied by detailed 

actuarial support.  

The Director has authority under MCL 500.249 to initiate proceedings to ascertain compliance with 

the provision of the insurance laws of this state. These filings are required to ascertain compliance with the 

following sections of the Insurance Code: MCL 500.2236, MCL 500.2403, and MCL 500.2408. 

Insurers are reminded that Section 2236 of the Insurance Code, MCL 500.2236, requires that 

filings must be submitted 30 days prior to the effective date. However, Section 2408 of the Insurance Code, 

MCL 500.2408, allows insurers to include a written request in the filing memorandum for an effective date 

prior to the expiration of the 30-day period. DIFS will expedite its review of these filings. Upon approval, 

DIFS will advise insurers of the earliest possible effective date. If insurers forms are exempt from filing in 

accordance with MCL 500.2236(8)(3), MCL 500.2406(4) requires that filings be submitted no later than the 

date the filing is effective.  

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that all insurers authorized to write worker’s compensation 

insurance in Michigan who have not already submitted a filing regarding an adjustment, credit, or 

endorsement, and who have not yet implemented an adjustment, credit, or endorsement, must submit a 

filing in SERFF to obtain approval of their plan to implement adjustments, credits, or endorsements; or, 

alternatively, to explain why they are not issuing adjustments, credits, or endorsements. Both types of 
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filings must be submitted under the type “COVID-19 Refund/Premium Waiver” in SERFF, no later than 

June 26, 2020. 

FURTHER, IT IS ORDERED that insurers issuing an adjustment, credit, or endorsement must 

attach a filing memorandum that includes the following:  

• Timeframe during which the adjustment, credit, or endorsement will apply. 

• If applicable, how any payment will be issued to policyholders. 

• A communication plan for the adjustment, credit, or endorsement to policyholders. 

FURTHER, IT IS ORDERED that all insurers, whether or not they plan to issue adjustments, 

credits, or endorsements, must attach the actuarial support that they relied on to determine the amount of 

the adjustment, credit, or endorsement; or, alternatively, to determine that an adjustment, credit, or 

endorsement is not warranted. 

FURTHER, IT IS ORDERED that insurers issuing adjustments, credits, or endorsements must 

attach copies of any notices that will to be sent to policyholders, whether in hard copy or electronically. 

LASTLY, IT IS ORDERED that nothing in this order shall be interpreted to absolve insurers of their 

obligation to review requests from policyholders for adjustments, credits, or endorsements necessitated by 

changed circumstances such as change in duties or other alterations in risk. 

 Any violation of this order will result in appropriate administrative action. 

        
 
/s/ 
________________________________ 

       Anita G. Fox 
       Director  
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