
 

 

PART 6 - FEES  Includes one certified copy or no-find letter 

PART 5 - INFORMATION NEEDED TO SEARCH FOR RECORD                                           
 

If the exact date of divorce is unknown, please indicate the year you want 
searched.  If you need additional years searched, please see the payment box 
for fee information. 
 
The State of Michigan will only have the record of divorce.  If you need the actual 
divorce judgment, you will need to contact the court that finalized the divorce.                                                                                      

APPLICATION FOR AUTHENTICATED/APOSTILLED COPY—MICHIGAN DIVORCE RECORD 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

PART 1 - APPLICANT’S INFORMATION 

For Accounting Use Only 

  
Applicant’s Name:               
 
Mailing Address:       City:       State:    Zip:    

 
Daytime Phone w/area code:       Other Phone w/area code:      
By signing this application, I understand that I am agreeing to pay for a search of the State of Michigan Vital Records with the 
information that I provided. This does not guarantee that a record will be found. 
 

 
 
 

 ► Applicant’s Signature:         Date:       
 

 

Is your request complete? 

INFORMATION ABOUT AUTHENTICATED CERTIFICATES:  Authenticated (exemplified or containing an apostille) records 
are typically required by foreign governments for an adoption, work visas, marriage in a foreign country, or establishing 
residency.  You must specify which country requires the document.  Applying the apostille at the Secretary of State’s 
Office of the Great Seal takes an additional 2-3 weeks after processing is complete at Vital Records.   

PART 3 - PURPOSE FOR REQUESTING THE RECORD  

 Date of Divorce or Annulment 
 
 
 
 

  

(mm/dd/yyyy) 

Full Name 
(at time of divorce 
or annulment) 

 Male 
 
 Female First Middle Last 

Full Name 
(at time of divorce 
or annulment) 

 Male 
 
 Female First Middle Last 

County where 
divorce or annul-
ment was granted 

 

Base Fee: 
Includes One Year Search  $42.00 

 
$   42.00 

Additional Copies (Each)           x $26.00 $ 

Additional Years Search , # yrs           x $12.00 
(when exact year unknown) 
Years you want searched:        

 
$ 

Expedited “RUSH” Service (additional) $25.00 $ 

Payment to “State of Michigan” TOTAL $ 

PART 4 - SPECIFY COUNTRY OF USE  

PART 2 - CERTIFICATION OF INFORMATION PROVIDED 



 

DCH-0569-DIV-AUTH (Rev. 7-19) By Authority of MCL 333.2882(1)(c), MCL 333.2883(2) and MCL 333.2891(1-4) 

PROCESSING TIMES FOR MAIL REQUESTS 

REGULAR SEARCH:  The processing time for a regular 

request will be approximately 5 weeks, depending on the 

volume of requests received. 

 
EXPEDITED (RUSH) SEARCH:  The processing time for a 

“rush” request will be approximately 2 weeks, depending on 
the volume of requests received.  

 
APOSTILLES:  Applying the apostille at the Secretary of 

State’s Office of the Great Seal for any request takes an 

additional 2-3 weeks after processing in Vital Records is 

completed.  If you request just a certified copy from the Vital 

Records office, you can go in person (five blocks) and have 

the apostille applied same-day. 

 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:  If you find that the processing 

times listed do not meet your needs, please call our Eligibility 

Unit at 517-335-8666 and speak with a customer service 

representative.  They may be able to offer additional help to 

meet your individual situation. 

APPLYING IN PERSON 

LOCATION:  

South Grand Building, 1st Floor 

333 S Grand Avenue 

Lansing MI 48933 (corner of Grand & Kalamazoo)  

 

LOBBY HOURS:  8:00 am - 5:00 pm M-F except for 

recognized state holidays. 

 

DIRECTIONS: Visit our website at: 

www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or call 517-335-8666. 

 
SAME DAY SERVICE:  Orders at our counter must be 
placed by 3:00 pm in order to receive same-day service. 
Additional “rush” fee of $12.00 is required for same-day 
service and you must allow up to a 2 hour waiting period 
for the order to be processed.  Genealogy requests may 
take longer. 
 
PAYMENT: A money order, credit card or cash can be 
used at our front counter.  A personal check can also be 
used if NOT same-day service.   Make checks and money 
orders payable to “State of Michigan”. 
 

www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords 

517-335-8666 

MAIL APPLICATION TO 

REGULAR MAIL TO:  RUSH MAIL TO:                      

Vital Records Requests  Vital Records RUSH              

PO Box 30721    PO Box 30721 

Lansing MI 48909  Lansing MI 48909                                                 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
does not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, 
religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic 
information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, 
political beliefs or disability. 

REQUESTING A MICHIGAN DIVORCE RECORD 
 
The Michigan Vital Records office has records of divorces that occurred in Michigan and were filed with the state since 1897.  
Occasionally, some records were not filed with the state. 
 
Divorce records are not restricted documents in Michigan.  Anyone can request that a search be conducted if the application is 
completed and signed, and submitted with the required fee paid. 


