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Memorandum 
 
DATE: October 22, 2009 
 
TO: Mortgage Industry and Interested Parties 
 
SUBJECT: Discontinuance of Michigan Loan Officer Registration Examination; and, 

Clarification of Michigan Pre-registration Education Requirement 
 
Effective today, October 22, 2009, the Michigan loan officer registration examination 
administered through Pearson VUE has been discontinued and will no longer be available.  Any 
individual who has scheduled a new loan officer registration examination or a retake of the 
examination and paid the examination fee for an examination to occur on or after October 22, 
2009, will not be able to take the Michigan examination and will be provided a full refund from 
Pearson VUE.  
 
Please be advised that the discontinuance of the Michigan examination administered by Pearson 
VUE does not mean that an examination is not required to obtain a Michigan loan officer 
registration.  The discontinuance of the Michigan examination is due to the availability of the 
Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) approved loan originator National test and the 
NMLS approved loan originator Michigan test.  These two tests have replaced the Michigan 
examination.  Taking and passing the NMLS National and the NMLS Michigan tests each with a 
minimum score of at least 75% will qualify an individual for the Michigan loan officer 
registration, and beginning July 31, 2010, the Michigan loan originator license. 
 
Please be further advised that the 24-hour, live instruction, in-Michigan loan officer pre-
registration education course is still statutorily required through July 30, 2010, pursuant to the 
Mortgage Brokers, Lenders, and Servicers Licensing Act, 1987 PA 173, et seq., as amended.  
Beginning July 31, 2010, only a 20-hour loan originator pre-licensing course will be required 
through the NMLS; however, the current NMLS approved 20-hour pre-licensing course does not, 
in and of itself, meet the current loan officer pre-registration education requirement. 
 
Loan officer pre-registration education providers are encouraged to obtain approval from the 
NMLS to be a provider of loan officer/originator education; however, even if an education 
provider is approved by the NMLS, it is still required to provide a 24-hour, live instruction, in-
Michigan course to meet loan officer pre-registration education requirements. 
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For information regarding NMLS Testing and Education, including the following topics: 

• Test Availability Schedule and Content Outlines 
• MLO Testing Handbook 
• Find a Test Center 
• Quick Guide: Enrolling in a Course 
• List of NMLS Approved Course Providers 
• List of State Specific Education Requirements 
 

go to www.stateregulatoryregistry.com/nmls  and select Professional Requirements, then select 
either Testing or Education.  If you have questions regarding NMLS Testing and Education, 
please contact the NMLS Call Center at 240.386.4444. 
 
If you have any questions concerning the contents of this correspondence, please call toll free 
877.999.6442 and request to speak with Melissa Brown or Olivia Addo of the Consumer Finance 
Licensing Unit. 
 
Sincerely, 
 

 
 
Mark W. Weigold, Director 
Consumer Finance Section 
  
mww\h:c drive data\1st MTG\test-education memo 
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State of Michigan 
Examination 

New Loan Officer/Originator  
 

  
Prior to: 

October 22, 2009 

Beginning on:  
October 22, 2009 –  

July 30, 2010 

 
Beginning on: 
July 31, 2010 

License/Registration Loan Officer 
Registration 

Loan Officer Registration Loan Originator License 

Type Michigan Exam NMLS Exams: 
1. Loan Originator National Test 
2. Loan Originator Michigan Test 

NMLS Exams: 
1. Loan Originator National Test 
2. Loan Originator Michigan Test 

Examination 
Approval: Exam 
and content 

State of Michigan NMLS NMLS 

Exam or exams One exam Two separate exams Two separate exams 

Content Combined 
Michigan and 
Federal Law 

NMLS Michigan state exam which 
includes  Michigan Law; NMLS National 
exam which includes Federal Law 

NMLS Michigan state exam which 
includes  Michigan Law; NMLS 
National exam which includes Federal 
Law 

Test Provider Pearson VUE - 
Michigan 
approved vendor 

Pearson VUE and Prometric –  
NMLS approved vendors  

Pearson VUE and Prometric –  
NMLS approved vendors 

Website to register 
for exam 

State of Michigan 
– Pearson VUE 

NMLS   
www.stateregulatoryregistry.com/nmls
Pearson VUE: 
www.pearsonvue.com/nmls
 Prometric: 
www.prometric.com/nmls

NMLS:  
www.stateregulatoryregistry.com/nmls
 Pearson VUE:  
 www.pearsonvue.com/nmls
Prometric: 
www.prometric.com/nmls

www.stateregulatoryregistry.com/nmls
www.stateregulatoryregistry.com/nmls
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State of Michigan 
Education 

New Loan Officer/Originator   
 

  
Prior to: 

October 22, 2009 

Beginning on: 
October 22, 2009 – 

July 30, 2010 

 
Beginning on: 
July 31, 2010 

License/Registration Loan Officer 
Registration 

Loan Officer 
Registration 

Loan Originator 
License 

Type Michigan Michigan (*NMLS 
course may be 
acceptable, but it 
must meet the 
requirements set 
below) 

NMLS 

Minimum Hours 24 24 20 

Instructor Live Live Live or via live led 
media 

Class Location In the state of 
Michigan 

In the state of 
Michigan 

Restricted only by 
means of the 
instructor 

Note:   
The Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation encourages loan officer pre-registration 
education providers to obtain NMLS approval of their 20 + 4 hours (4 hours of Michigan 
specific content) program to satisfy both the loan officer registration and loan originator 
license requirements. 

 


