
Form D FAQs 

Does Michigan require a first date of sale? 
 
YES 
 
Does Michigan require the name of the salesperson? 
 
YES 
 
Does Michigan require a termination date to be set forth in the original filing? 
 
NO 
 
Does Michigan require an additional letter of termination upon completion of the 
offering? 
 
NO 
 
Does Michigan require an acknowledgement as to the dollar amount of offering sold in 
your state? 
 
NO 
 
Does Michigan require a statement of amount sold in all the 50 states and territories? 
 
NO 
 
What is the current filing fee? 
 
$100 
 
How do I make the check payable? 
 
STATE OF MICHIGAN 
 
Where do I mail the form? 
 
WITH CHECK:  
OFIR/SECURITIES, PO BOX 30165, LANSING, MI 48909-7724 (Postal Service) 
OFIR/SECURITIES, 7150 HARRIS DR, DIMONDALE, MI 48821 (Courier 
Delivery) 
 
OTHER CORRESPONDENCE: 
OFIR-SECURITIES, PO BOX 30701, LANSING, MI 48909-8201 (Postal Service) 
OFIR-SECURITIES, 525 W ALLEGAN ST, 1st FLOOR, LANSING, MI 48933-
1502 (Courier Delivery) 
 



Form D FAQs 

Does Michigan have any other special items or additional items that you require to be 
filed? 
 
NO 
 
Does Michigan accept electronic filings? 
 
NO 
 
Does Michigan require a termination date and letter at the termination of the offering? 
 
NO 
 
Is there a dollar requirement to be exempt from the State of Michigan for Regulation D? 
 
NO 
 
Will Michigan accept a late Form D? What are the consequences if Form D is filed late? 
 
YES. THERE IS A LATE FILING FEE. 
 
Does Michigan require amendments to be filed? 
 
NO. HOWEVER, COURTESY AMENDMENTS WILL BE FILED WITH THE 
ORIGINAL PAPERWORK AND THE DATEBASE UPDATED. 
 
Where can I obtain Form D? 
 
www.sec.gov/about/forms/formd.pdf 
 
ALSO AT www.michigan.gov/ofir UNDER Forms - Securities – Form D 
 
When is Form D due? 
 
15 DAYS AFTER THE FIRST SALE IN MICHIGAN 
 
Is Form U-2 (Uniform Consent to Service of Process) required? 
 
NO 
 
Do you accept a copy of Form D as filed electronically with the SEC? 
 
YES 
 
 
 

http://www.sec.gov/about/forms/formd.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/ofir


Form D FAQs 

 
Do I have to file a new Form D for the same offering annually? 
 
NO 
 
Should I use Rule 504 or 505 instead of Rule 506? 
 
Michigan does recognize Rules 504 and 505 filings, and they can be filed pursuant to 
Section 304 of the Act (MCL 451.2304).  Rule 504 and 505 filing cannot be done with 
a Reg D form. 
 
 
 
Late fee 
 
“The issuer of the security shall confirm in writing the date of the first sale to Michigan 
residents and pay to the administrator the greater of the following amounts: 
             

 $500; or 
 one-tenth of one percent of the dollar value of the securities that were sold to 

Michigan residents before the date on which the Form D is filed, not to exceed 
$5,000.” 

 


