

### Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) Constitution Hall - 525 W. Allegan, Lansing, MI 48933 Mailing address: P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, MI 48909

Toll-Free: 866-813-0011 - www.michigan.gov/lcc

### Importation of Alcoholic Beverages Into Michigan for Personal Consumption (LCC-156) Instructions

Section 203 of the Michigan Liquor Control Code requires persons who wish to bring any type of alcoholic beverages in to the State of Michigan for personal consumption to obtain prior written approval of the Commission with the following exceptions:

- 1. A person of legal age who has been outside the U.S. territorial limits for at least 48 hours and has not brought alcoholic liquor into this state during the past 30 days, may bring up to **one liter** in to the state without prior approval (MCL 436.1203(7)).
- 2. A person of legal age may bring up to **312 ounces** of alcoholic liquor that contains less than 21% alcohol by volume (about 24 12 ounce containers of beer or 12 750 ml containers of wine) from another state without prior approval (MCL 436.1203(8)).

#### **Description of Taxes on Alcoholic Beverages**

**Beer Tax** The tax on beer is \$6.30 per barrel; pro-rated to .0015877 cents per ounce.

**Wine Tax** The tax on wine is based on the percent of alcohol in the product as follows:

• Wine which is 16% alcohol or less is taxed at 13.5 cents per liter.

• Wine which is over 16% alcohol is taxed at 20 cents per liter.

Distilled Spirits A 12% specific tax rate is applied to distilled spirits based on the dollar value of alcoholic beverages.

**Use Tax** After the value of the products has been calculated and the amount of any taxes added, a total value is

determined. The use tax of 6% is applied to the total value, including the beer, wine, and distilled spirit

taxes.

The Commission and/or local law enforcement officials may seize any illegally imported alcoholic beverages and impound the vehicle used to transport the items.

For more information, please call 517-284-6332.



# Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) Constitution Hall - 525 W. Allegan, Lansing, MI 48933

Mailing address: P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, MI 48909 Toll-Free: 866-813-0011 - www.michigan.gov/lcc

No.	
	(MLCC Use Only)

## Importation of Alcoholic Beverages Into Michigan for Personal Consumption (LCC-156)

Applicant Name:							
Address:			City, State & Zip Code:				
Phone:	Fax number:				Email:		
Mail release to (if different than applica	nt):						
Name:							
Address:			City, State & Zip Code:				
Type of Importation (Check one)							
☐ Imported into the State of Michig	an (Reported	to the MLC	C by Cust	oms during	g baggage che	eck.)	
Request to import alcoholic beve	rages from a f	oreign cour	ntry. Nar	me of forei	gn country:		
Request to import alcoholic beverages from another state.				Name of state:			
Describe Alcoholic Beverages Imported	or To Be Imp	orted			'		
			ontainer Size	Container Per Case		Total Volume	Dollar Value of Alcoholic Beverages
				1	A. Total D	ollar Value:	
Tax Calculations	Total Volu					¬	Leave Blank - MLCC Use Only (Fee Codes Below)
Beer Tax	<b>(:</b>		6.30 per l			4022	(i ee codes below)
			0.135 per Liter =			4024	
Wine Tax (More Than 16% Alcohol by Content):			0.20 per			4024	
Distilled Spirits Tax (dollar value):			X 12%			4026	
B. Total				Taxes:			
C. Use Tax [Dollar Value (A) + Total Alcohol Taxes (B)]:			X 69	% =		4054	
D. Tota	Payment Du	I <b>e</b> [Total Alcoho	l Taxes (B) +	Use Tax (C)]:		Make check	payable to <b>State of Michigan</b>
certify that the information contained in this formation is a violation of the Liquor Control Co			e best of r	my knowledge	e and belief. I als	o understand tha	t providing <b>false</b> or <b>fraudulent</b>
Print Name of Applicant			Signature of Applicant				Date
		CERTIFICA	ATE OF F	RELEASE			
This release expires ninety (90) days fro	m:		Approv	ed by:			