
MORTUARY SCIENCE LICENSE 
APPLICATION CHECKLIST AND LICENSEE INFORMATION 

 
How to use the checklist:  Use this checklist as a guide when making application for a Mortuary Science license.  
Checking off the items as they are complete should prove helpful to ensure that all license requirements are 
submitted or addressed. 
 
After the license application and required documents are submitted, retain this form for future reference 
concerning information on various requirements for the Mortuary Science license. 
 
Visit the Department’s Mortuary Science web page for important updates, forms, and publications at 
www.michigan.gov/mortuaryscience or call the Department at 517-373-8376.   
 
Documents should be mailed to the Department at P.O. Box 30018 Lansing, MI 48909.   
 

LICENSING CHECKLIST ITEMS ACTION REQUIRED ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
□ Complete License Prerequisites  1. Complete educational requirements.  

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/M
ortuary_Science_license_education_require
ments_336110_7.pdf  Submit official 
transcripts to the Department as proof of 
completion.  
 
2. Complete the Resident Trainee 
requirements.  
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/M
ortuary_Science_Resident_Trainee_336111_
7.pdf  Ensure all Embalming and Resident 
Trainee reports have been submitted and 
meet the time and services requirements 
(see Embalming and Resident Trainee 
Report BCS/LMS-600). 
 
3. Pass the National Exams (see 
http://www.theconferenceonline.org). 
 
 
 

An applicant for a Mortuary 
Science License is required 
to have completed, under the 
instruction and personal 
supervision of a mortuary 
science licensee, one year of 
resident training, 25 
embalmings and a variety of 
practical applications 
associated with funeral 
service.  
http://www.michigan.gov/doc
uments/dleg/Mortuary_Scienc
e_Resident_Trainee_336111_
7.pdf  
 



 

□ Submit Mortuary Science License 
Application (BCS/LMS-060) and 
license fee 
 

If the Mortuary Science Licensee applicant 
has: 
 

1. been convicted of a felony, the Request 
for Conviction History form (BCS/LCE-020) 
must be completed and submitted to the 
Department with the application. 

 
2. had disciplinary action taken against 
any license, registration, or permit, the 
Request for Disciplinary Action form 
(BCS/LCE-021) must be completed and 
submitted to the Department with the 
application. 

 

1. Application review may 
take approximately 30 days.   
 
2. The Department will 
contact the applicant 
regarding any incomplete 
application items. 

 
3. Upon approval of the 
application, an Authorization 
to Test Letter (ATT) including 
instructions on how to 
register for the Michigan 
exam will be sent to the 
applicant’s home address on 
file with the Department.   
LARA - Funeral Directors, 
(Mortuary Science) 

□ Register for the Michigan Board 
Exam with PSI Services, LLC. 

1. Two business days after the receipt of the 
Authorization to Test Letter (ATT) from the 
Department the applicant may register for 
the exam with PSI Services, LLC.  The exam 
fee is $50.  To register, pay for and schedule 
an examination, contact PSI at 800-733-9267 
or visit their online scheduling service at 
www.psiexams.com    
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



 
□ License Issuance 
 

 
 

1.  Upon completion of the 
examination, applicants will 
receive a score report at the 
test site. When the 
examination is passed, the 
State of Michigan will be 
electronically notified.  If all 
other license requirements 
have been met, the license 
will be issued and mailed to 
the applicant. 
 
2. The Funeral Establishment 
license and Mortuary Science 
and/or Resident Trainee 
license of each individual 
affiliated with a Funeral 
Establishment must be 
conspicuously displayed in 
the establishment building in 
a place accessible to the 
public.   
 

□ Reactivate License  1. If the Mortuary Science license has lapsed 
for more than 60 days a Relicensure 
Application must be submitted to reactivate 
the license. 
 
2. The Mortuary Science Relicensure 
Application (BCS/LMS-800) must be filled 
out completely and mailed with the fee to the 
Department.   
 
 
 

1. Application review may 
take approximately 30 days.   
 
2. The Department will 
contact the applicant 
regarding any incomplete 
application items. 
 
3.  A person with a lapsed or 
expired license and seeks 
relicensure more than 3 years 
from the expiration date shall 
meet current educational 
requirements and pass the 



current written examination. 
  

□ Renew the Mortuary Science 
License 

1. The Mortuary Science License expires on 
October 31st of every odd-numbered year.   
 
2. The renewal form will be sent to the home 
address that is on file with the Department 
approximately 60 days prior to the date of 
renewal.   
 
3. The license may be renewed online with a 
credit card or by mail with a check or money 
order.   
 
4. The renewal fee is $80.  
  

The new license will be 
mailed to the applicant’s 
home address on file with the 
Department.  

 


