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May 21, 2009 
            
 
To: Registered Michigan Prelicensing Education Providers and Insurers 
 
From: Sonya W. Dungey 
 Director of Insurance Licensing 
 
Subject: Legislative Changes Affecting Prelicensure Education Effective July 16, 2009 
 
 
The purpose of this communication is to advise Michigan registered prelicensing education (PE) 
providers and insurers of the amendments to Sections 500.1204 (2) and 500.1204a of the 
Insurance Code, 1956 PA 218, MCL 500.1204 and 500.1204a. 
 
Public Act 575 of 2008 provides for the following changes in the instruction that a registered 
insurance agent program of study must provide and will become effective July 16, 2009.   
 

 Twenty (20) hours of instruction for Life insurance producers; 14 hours on the principles 
of life insurance and 6 hours on professional ethics and the requirements of the insurance 
laws of Michigan 

 
 Twenty (20) hours of instruction for Health insurance producers; 14 hours on the 

principles of health insurance and 6 hours on professional ethics and the requirements of 
the insurance laws of Michigan 

 
 Twenty (20) hours of instruction for Property insurance producers and solicitors; 14 

hours on the principles of property insurance and 6 hours on professional ethics and the 
requirements of the insurance laws of Michigan 

 
 Twenty (20) hours of instruction for Casualty insurance producers and solicitors; 14 

hours on the principles of liability insurance and 6 hours on professional ethics and the 
requirements of the insurance laws of Michigan 

 
 Twenty (20) hours of instruction for Personal Lines producers; 14 hours on the principles 

of property and liability insurance and 6 hours on professional ethics and the 
requirements of the insurance laws of Michigan 
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 Forty (40) hours of instruction for a combined program of study for Life and Health 
insurance producers; 34 hours on the principles of life and health insurance and 6 hours 
on professional ethics and the requirements of the insurance laws of Michigan 

 
 Forty (40) hours of instruction for a combined program of study for Property and 

Casualty producers and solicitors – a program of study completed under this subsection 
satisfies the program of study requirements for Personal Lines producers and solicitors; 
34 hours of the principles of property and liability insurance and 6 hours on professional 
ethics and the requirements of the insurance laws of Michigan 

 
Public Act 576 of 2008 provides for the following changes that will become effective July 16, 
2009: 
 

 The examination for an insurance producer’s license will require an applicant to have 
completed a course of study within 12 months, rather than 6 months, before applying for 
examination. 

 
 Allow the program of study requirements to be waived for people who’ve obtained 

various types of designations, in addition to those currently listed, such as:  Chartered 
Property and Casualty Underwriter (CPCU), Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU), 
Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC), Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI), Chartered 
Financial Consultant (ChFC), Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS), Certified 
Financial Planner (CFP), Fellow Life Management Institute (FLMI), Life Underwriting 
Training Council Fellow (LUTCF), Registered Health Underwriter (RHU), Registered 
Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC), Health Insurance Associate (HIA) and Associate 
in Risk Management (ARM). 

 
What This Means to Candidates 
 

 Candidates with PE completion certificates that have course completion dates prior to 
July 16, 2009 must pass their respective examination by January 15, 2010.  If the 
examination is not passed by January 15, 2010, a new PE program of study must be 
completed and passed and a new PE completion certificate issued. 

 
 Candidates with PE completion certificates that have course completion dates of July 16, 

2009 and after will have a 12-month expiration date from the date of course completion.  
The respective examination must be passed by the expiration date on the completion 
certificate, otherwise a new PE program of study must be completed and passed and a 
new PE completion certificate issued. 
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What This Means to PE Providers 
 

 The Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation (OFIR) highly recommends that 
providers send a notification regarding the PE certificate changes to affected candidates 
that completed self-study or online PE programs of study. 

 
 OFIR highly recommends that providers inform future PE candidates of the PE certificate 

changes for all classroom and self-study or online PE courses. 
 

 OFIR highly recommends that the Life/Accident & Health and or Property/Casualty 
combo classroom programs of study be implemented at the beginning of the week of July 
13, 2009. 

 
 An updated FIS 0409 (Application for Insurance Prelicensing Education Provider/Course 

Approval) is available on our website. 
 

 All PE providers are required to submit a new FIS 0409 and a new timed outline for all 
PE classroom courses that are currently approved, if they wish to use the course after July 
16, 2009.  Upon receipt and approval of the FIS 0409 and the new time outline, OFIR 
will issue a new course ID number to be used after July 16, 2009.  OFIR anticipates a 
short turn-around time for courses that are currently approved but require approval of the 
new timed outline.  Please note, when submitting the new timed outline, course approval 
will be delayed if you are also submitting changes to the course content.  OFIR does not 
anticipate changes with currently approved self-study or online PE courses other than 
assigning new course ID numbers and sending each provider new registration certificates. 

 
Additional details will be available under Spotlight on the OFIR Licensing website or you may 
contact our office toll-free at 877-999-6442.   


