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Words from Director Irvin j. poke, AIA
	 The Stille-DeRossett-Hale Single State Construction Code Act, 1972 PA 230, 
Section 14, MCL 125.1514 requires a local Construction Board of  Appeals to hear 
an appeal and file the decision with the local enforcing agency within 30-days of  the 
request.  If  this timeframe is not met, the appeal is considered denied for the purpose of  
filing an appeal to the Michigan Construction Code Commission (CCC) in accordance 
with MCL 125.1516.  Therefore, it is important for each enforcing agency to maintain 
a board of  appeals that can assemble timely and meet the statutory timeframe.  It is 
critical to note the decision must be filed in the 30 day period; however, the decision 
cannot be filed until after it is delivered to the requesting party.

	 It is imperative that the local appeal boards file a proper decision.  Meeting 
minutes do not comply with the requirements for a decision as prescribed in MCL 
125.1514.    Meeting minutes document who said what but do not necessarily provide 
clear statements of  findings and reasoning for the decision.  It is also imperative that 
a motion include a statement of  reason or support.  Otherwise, the decision could be 
considered arbitrary and capricious by the CCC and the Michigan Court of  Appeals.

	 A proper decision must identify the case and the parties involved, contain a statement 
of  the authority for the appeal, a statement of  the issue being decided, statements of  
findings and conclusions, and a clear statement of  the decision.  The petitioner for 
the appeal and the local enforcing agency should be named (e.g., petitioner v local 
enforcing agency).  The statement of  authority is a simple citation of  the statutory 
provision for the appeal which is 1972 PA 230, Section 14, MCL 125.1514.  The 
statement of  “Findings” should identify the pertinent points of  fact that are raised 
during the proceedings.  The statement of  “Conclusions” should be a discussion of  
the conclusions drawn from the facts.  The “Decision” should be a clear statement of  
the appeal being granted or denied and any conditions set forth by the board.

	 After the decision is drafted, it should be reviewed by the board and signed by 
a member of  the board of  appeals, preferably the chair.  The review process can be 
accomplished via email, and when all agree that the decision properly reflects the 
hearing, the chair can print, sign, and return it to the building department to be mailed 
or delivered to all parties.  It is a good practice to have a proof  of  service executed by 
the person that mails or delivers the decision.  After the decision is mailed or delivered 
to all parties, it is then filed with the enforcing agency.  This is critical, because the date 
it is filed with the enforcing agency starts the clock for an appeal to the CCC.  The 
petitioner has 10 business days from the date filed with the local enforcing agency 
to file an appeal to the CCC.  It is very helpful to the parties involved to include this 
statement regarding the filing deadline at the end of  the decision.

	 Questions should be directed to the Plan Review Division at (517) 241- 9328.  
Also decisions issued by the bureau’s boards and commissions can be reviewed on our 
website at www.michigan.gov/bcc.

Code Works!
www.michigan.gov/bcc

bcc oFFICES closed:

aUGUST 21

sEPTEMBER 4 & 7

nOVEMBER 11

ATTENTION READERS!

JOINT TRAINING EFFORT
The Code Officials Conference 
of  Michigan (COCM) and the 
Bureau of  Construction Codes 
are working on their first joint 
effort in providing educational 
and training programs which 
meet the requirements of  the 
Building Officials and Inspectors 
Registration Act (1986 PA 54).  

	 Classes will be offered for 
building, electrical, mechanical, 
and plumbing officials, 
inspectors, and plan reviewers, 
and it will be held January 26 
and January 27, 2010 in Lansing, 
MI.  Information regarding 
the training will be mailed in 
October 2009 or can be obtained 
by visiting COCM.org.

CODE CHANGES
Please visit BCC’s website to 
monitor updates on code review 
processes.

http://cocm.org/
www.michigan.gov/bcc
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MECHANICAL DIVISION
cONTRACTOR LICENSE CLASSIFICATIONS, WHAT ARE THE DIFFERENCES?
By Tennison Barry, Chief
Mechanical Division
	 It has been brought to my attention that there is confusion 
regarding mechanical contractor license classifications and 
what work may be performed with each classification. This is 
an attempt to give you a simple method of  recognizing if  a 
contractor has the appropriate license classification to obtain 
a permit for a particular type of  work.  The first consideration 
is when the contractor applies for a permit he/she must have a 
license that is annotated with a classification that will allow for 
the installation of  equipment and/or appliances to be installed.  
One of  the following license classifications will apply: 

Hydronic Heating/Cooling /Process Piping 
HVAC Equipment 
Ductwork 
Refrigeration
Fire Suppression  
Specialty    

•
•
•
•
•
•

	 If  the contractor does not have one of  the classifications  
listed above which correspond to the work being performed, a 
permit shall not be issued.

	 Conversely, if  a contractor is servicing appliances or 
equipment, he/she must possess one of  the following license 
classifications:

Limited Heating Service
Unlimited Heating Service
Limited Refrigeration and A/C Service
Unlimited Refrigeration and A/C Service  

	 Hopefully, the information provided will assist local code 
officials and permit personnel understand who can obtain 
permits as well as who services appliances and equipment. 

	 If  you have any questions or need further clarification, 
contact the Mechanical Division at (517) 241-9325.

•
•
•
•

ELEVATOR SAFETY division
Elevator Safety Tests & Test Forms
By Cal Rogler, Chief
Elevator Safety Division
	 Most, if  not all, elevators are required to have safety tests 
performed within specific timeframes.

	 Category 1 safety tests are required every 12 months 
and include, “Operation Under Fire and Other Emergency 
Conditions” and “No Load Test for Governors, Safeties and 
Oil Buffers”. 

	 A “Hydraulic Rated Load Relief  Valve Test” is a Category 3 
test and is required every 36 months (three years) for hydraulic 
elevators.  A “Rated Load Safety Test for Governors, Safeties 
and Oil Buffers” is a Category 5 test and is required every 
60 months (five years) for electric powered elevators.  When 
doing a full load test, please check if  the “Firefighters Service” 
or “Standby Power” (Category 1) tests are also due and can be 
completed at that time.  Also, please keep in mind that testing 
the smoke sensor/s is an important part of  the test; as such 
please properly complete the appropriate sections of  the test 
reports.

	 For a test form to be accepted by the Elevator Safety 
Division it must be filled out completely and correctly.  The 
form must include the signature and license number of  the 
licensed elevator journeyperson performing the test.  Then, 
as stated at the top of  the test report form, the form must be 
returned to the Elevator Safety Division within 10 days of  the 
test.  Test forms submitted which are not filled out properly 
will be returned for correction and resubmittal.  

	 Safety tests are intended to help ensure that elevators 
are maintained in proper operating order.  To that end, if  an 
elevator fails to pass any portion of  a test, the problem should 
be repaired and the elevator retested.  Then, the test report 
should be submitted to the Elevator Safety Division.  

	 If  you have any questions or need assistance with accessing 
the website or the forms, please call the Elevator Safety Division 
at (517) 241-9337.
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BOILER DIVISION
Robert Aben, Chief
Boiler Division	
	 In July 2008, Governor Granholm signed into law an 
amendment to 1965 PA 290, The Boiler Act, which provides 
for the registration of  boiler operators and stationary engineers 
by the State of  Michigan. The amendment establishes criteria 
for qualifying an individual in one of  the following categories: 

Low Pressure Boiler Operator
High Pressure Boiler Operator
3rd, 2nd, or 1st Stationary Engineer

It also establishes criteria for qualification of  Apprenticeship 
Programs, Qualified Technical Education Programs, and 
Qualified Training Programs.

	 The application for registration or approval of  a training 
program is voluntary on the part of  the applicant. During the first 
year after the governor signed the legislation, the amendment 
provided for registration without examination if  the applicant 
holds a license in one of  the previously listed categories with the 
City of  Detroit or Dearborn, or only provide documentation 
acceptable to the Board of  Boiler Rules that shows five years 
experience in one of  the previously listed categories. After 
June 11, 2009, application for registration without examination 
ended and all future applicants are required to take a written 
examination.  Applicants for registration as stationary engineers 
must also submit to an oral examination.

	 Proposed rules have been drafted for the implementation 
of  the new legislation by a committee of  representatives from 
the industry. The committee members represented the City of  
Detroit, City of  Saginaw, Boiler Insurance Companies, Henry 

•
•
•

Ford Community College, International Union of  Operating 
Engineers Local 547, DTE Energy, CMS Energy, Bronson 
Hospital, National Institute for Uniform Licensing of  Power 
Engineers, and Decorative Panels Inc. This diverse group 
of  individuals volunteered their time and efforts attending 
meetings to develop a detailed set of  rules that will make the 
State of  Michigan’s operator registration program one of  the 
premier programs across the country. If  an individual is able 
to complete the qualification criteria necessary to receive a 
registration with the State of  Michigan, then it is a good bet 
the individual is well qualified for the category of  registration 
they have been evaluated for.

	 The Boiler Act 1965 PA 290 with the amended legislation 
can be reviewed from the Michigan Legislature’s website at 
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-act-290-of-1965.

	 The proposed rules have not yet been approved.  I 
encourage those interested in following the progress 
of  approval to monitor the bureau’s website at 
www.michigan.gov/bcc.

	 I want to take this opportunity to publicly thank all those 
who participated on the committee and volunteered many 
hours in meetings on their own time to develop this rule set.

	 As a closing note, the State of  Michigan has received more 
than 1,000 applications for registration from boiler operators 
or stationary engineers.

	 Questions can be emailed to abenr@michigan.gov or 
directed to the Boiler Division at (517) 241-9334.

Registration of Boiler Operators and Stationary Engineers

Todd Cordill, Chief
Plan Review Division
	 Soon after the August 1, 2008 effective date of  the 
Michigan building, residential, and rehabilitation codes I wrote 
an article in this publication regarding plan review submittals 
for previously approved premanufactured units.

	 Due to the downturn in the market for new and existing 
one- and two-family dwellings since the publication of  my 
previous article, the schedule for updating premanufactured 
building system approvals has been suspended until further 
notice.  At the time that updates will be required, notice will 
be sent to manufacturers and in-plant inspection agencies and 

will be posted on the bureau website explaining the required 
update process and schedule.   In the meantime, building 
systems approved by the bureau in 1995 to the present can be 
manufactured with the caveat that each unit will be built in the 
factory in compliance with code requirements within the current 
Michigan residential, building, electrical, mechanical, and 
plumbing codes.  Local enforcing agencies should remember 
that in-plant inspections done by either the bureau or third 
party inspection agencies (approved by the Construction Code 
Commission) are performed to verify compliance with current 
code requirements before labels are affixed to units.

	 Questions can be directed to (517) 241-6321.

NEW INFORMATION REGARDING PREMANUFACTURED UNIT UPDATES
Plan review Division

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-act-290-of-1965
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office of land survey and 
remonumentation
New Approaches to building Communities
By Keith Lambert, Director
Office of  Land Survey & Remonumentation
	 Condominium projects can be developed for residential, 
office, industrial, business, recreational, time-share, or any 
other type of  use.  This article specifically addresses “site 
condominium” projects which are residential condominium 
developments; however, it may also apply to other types of  
condominium projects.

	 The term site condominium is a commonly used term that 
is not defined in the Condominium Act, 1978 PA 59, MCL 
559.101 et seq.  However, this term is addressed and defined in 
the Office of  the Attorney General (OAG) Opinion No. 6577 
as a single family detached residential condominium project 
that meets all the requirements specified in the Condominium 
Act and its Administrative Rules.  Stanley Building Company, et al v 
City of  St. Clair Shores, et al; Michigan Court of  Appeals Docket No. 
245168 also addressed a site condominium.

	 According to OAG No. 6577 and MCL 559.110, the 
provisions of  the Land Division Act, 1967 PA 288, MCL 

560.101 et seq, do not control any condominium project.  
Therefore a condominium project must be terminated properly 
before the subdivision platting process can begin.  Depending 
on the ownership of  a condominium project, either Sections 
50 or 51 of  the Condominium Act, 1978 PA 59, will apply 
regarding the requirements for terminating a condominium.

	 Section 50 states, if  there is no co-owner other than the 
developer, the developer, with the consent of  any interested 
mortgagee, may unilaterally terminate the condominium project 
or amend the master deed.   A termination or amendment 
under this section shall become effective upon the recordation 
thereof  if  executed by the developer.  [MCL 559.150]

	 Section 51 (1) – (4) specifics:
(1)	 If  there is a co-owner other than the developer, then the 
condominium project shall be terminated only by the agreement 
of  the developer and unaffiliated co-owners of  condominium 
units to which 4/5 of  the votes in the association of  co-owners 
appertain, or a larger majority as the condominium documents 
may specify.

Foam Sheathing and Moisture Condensation
building division
By Larry Lehman, Chief
Building Division
	 This office has received a significant number of  questions 
about the possibility of  trapping moisture in exterior walls if  
foam is applied as a sheathing material on the exterior surface 
of  an insulated exterior wall. A typical question being; “If  I put 
foam on my wall, will it trap moisture”?  Actually, the opposite 
is the case when compared to other types of  sheathing materials 
used. The warmer you keep the cavity the less potential for 
vapor to turn to moisture. Dew point calculations indicate 
continuous foam sheathing always improves the wall thermal 
performance. 

	 When we do dew point calculations with 2” X 6” walls, the 
calculations indicate it takes thicker foam because the exterior 
wall is further from the warm interior wall. We often use the 
example of  a glass of  ice water - in the summer, condensation 

occurs on the glass, and if  you add a cozy, it warms that surface 
so it does not sweat.
  
	 The other benefits of  continuous foam sheathing are:

1. It insulates the framing members where cavity insulation 
cannot insulate.
2. Continuous foam sheathing reduces air infiltration. When 
the foam is brought down over the band joist, it helps insulate 
one of  the weakest parts of  the wall.
3. It has passed AC-71, so it can be the water resistive 
barrier when you install in accordance with manufacturer’s 
specifications and tape or seal the joints. 
4. Reduces moisture potential (condensation).

	 Questions regarding this article may be directed to the 
Building Division at (517) 241-9317.
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(2)	 If  none of  the condominium units in the condominium 
project are restricted exclusively to residential use, then the 
condominium documents may specify voting majorities less 
than the minimums specified by subsection (1).
(3)	 Agreement of  the required majority of  co-owners to 
termination of  the condominium shall be evidenced by their 
execution of  the termination agreement or of  ratifications 
thereof, and the termination shall become effective only when 
the agreement is so evidenced of  record.
(4)	 Upon recordation of  an instrument terminating 
a condominium project the property constituting the 
condominium project shall be owned by the co-owners as 
tenants in common in proportion to their respective undivided 
interests in the common elements immediately before 
recordation.  As long as tenancy in common lasts, each co-
owner or the heirs, successors, or assigns thereof  shall have an 
exclusive right of  occupancy of  that portion of  the property 
which formerly constituted the condominium unit.”

	 Please be mindful that the condominium’s master deed 
may require additional provisions for the termination of  the 
condominium project.

	 After termination and depending on the circumstances 
regarding the former condominium project, either an assessor’s 
plat or a proprietor’s plat or a combination of  both plats may 
be performed on the land once occupied by the condominium.  
In determining if  an assessor’s plat is applicable to all or a 
portion of  the land, the assessor or supervisor must report 
to the municipality the existing conditions of  the land which 
qualify an assessor’s plat to be ordered according to either 
Sections 201, 201a or 201b of  the Land Division Act, 1967 
PA 288.  The governing body of  the municipality must adopt 
a resolution ordering an assessor’s plat to be made based upon 
the report.  The municipality has the option of  covering the 
costs of  the assessor’s plat or creating an assessment district 

for each parcel of  land to be included in the plat.   The 
costs of  an assessor’s plat should be offset somewhat since 
monumentation and drawings should be prevalent for the 
former condominium.  Sections 202-210 of  the Land Division 
Act (LDA) would then need to be followed before submission 
to the Office of  Land Survey and Remonumentation (OLSR) 
for its review and approval.

	 In the event a proprietor’s plat is desired for all or a portion 
of  the former condominium, preliminary plat approvals 
and final plat approvals according to the LDA are necessary.  
Preliminary plat approvals must be granted according to 
Sections 113-120 of  the LDA.   Final plat approvals must be 
granted according to Sections 142-169 of  the LDA before 
submission to the OLSR for its review and approval.  Again, 
since site condominiums are typically treated and designed 
as subdivision plats, the approval process should go rather 
quickly, and additional/revised monumentation and drawings 
should allow costs to be minimal for this conversion process. 

	 Unit owners within site condominiums sometimes believe 
that they have separate ownership in the land within the 
condominium project, but in fact, that separate ownership lies 
only within the airspace which the unit occupies.  The land 
within the condominium project is owned jointly by all the 
unit owners whereas this interest is undivided.  Converting a 
site condominium into a subdivision plat allows previous unit 
owners to own the separate interest in the land (lots) which 
they desire.  Since tight lending practices have affected the 
condominium developers, current and potential unit owners 
and municipalities, following the above mentioned procedures 
may enhance these neighborhoods and build communities all 
interested parties desire to effectuate.  

	 Questions can be directed to OLSR at (517) 241-6321.	

office of land survey and 
remonumentation (Con’t)

	 	
	 2009 HIGGINS LAKE  TRAINING

	 As a result of  several requests, the Bureau of  Construction Codes will resume state sponsored seminars at the 
MacMullan Conference Center at Higgins Lake this fall.  The dates for the Inspector Training Programs at the conference 
center are as follows:

	 Electrical         Oct 13 – 15, 2009
	 Building          Dec 17-19, 2009 (Corrected Date:  Nov 17-19, 2009)

	 If  you are interested in attending any bureau sponsored training or for additional information, please consult our 
website at www.michigan.gov/bcc.
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Electrical division

By Dan O’Donnell, Chief
Electrical Division
	 The Electrical Division began enforcement of  electrical 
apprentice jobsite ratios on April 1, 2009, in accordance with 
Section 338.883e (3) and (4) of  The Electrical Administrative 
Act, PA 217 of  1956.  All electrical contractors currently 
licensed with the State of  Michigan along with all registered 
electrical inspectors throughout the state were notified by mail 
that the jobsite ratios for electrical apprentices is now being 
enforced.  The notice was very similar to the one that was sent 
out with license renewals last November. 

	 Electrical apprentice registration renewal applications 
were recently mailed to all electrical apprentices currently 
registered with the State of  Michigan.  Included with the 
renewal application was a notice similar to the one mailed with 
the license renewals last November.  The notice highlighted 
jobsite ratios and the requirement for electrical apprentices to 

participate in a training program approved by the Electrical 
Administrative Board.  The Electrical Division, the Electrical 
Administrative Board, and the U.S. Department of  Labor Office 
of  Apprenticeship continue to work together to establish the 
criteria by which electrical apprentice training programs will be 
approved.  The bureau anticipates the education requirements 
set forth in the act to be in place by the next apprentice 
registration cycle in June 2010.  All currently registered 
electrical apprentices will be notified in early 2010 of  available 
approved training programs.  It will be the responsibility of  
the individual apprentice and the electrical contractors that 
employ them to make sure that each apprentice is enrolled in 
an approved program.

	 If  you have any questions you may contact the Electrical 
Division at (517) 241-9320.  Enjoy your summer and THINK 
SAFETY FIRST!!    

electrical apprentice requirements

office of Local Government
and Consumer Services
MOBILE HOME CERTIFICATES OF MANUFACTURED HOME OWNERSHIP 

(mOBILE home titles)

By Bill DeTemple, Departmental Analyst
Office of  Local Government & Consumer Services (OLGCS)
	 The Mobile Home Commission Act, Act 96 of  1987, 
Section 30 (3) requires that “after December 31, 1978, a mobile 
home shall not be sold or transferred except by transfer of  the 
certificate of  title for the mobile home pursuant to this act.”

	 Section 30c (6) requires that “if  the transferee of  a 
mobile home is a mobile home dealer who holds the mobile 
home for resale, the dealer shall not be required to forward 
the certificate of  title to the department, but the dealer shall 
retain possession of  the assigned certificate of  title.  Upon 
transfer of  the dealer’s title or interest to another person, 
the dealer shall execute and acknowledge an assignment and 
warranty of  title upon the certificate of  title and deliver it to 
the person to whom the transfer is made if  the person is a 
licensed dealer; otherwise application for a new title shall 
be made by the transferor as provided in section 30a (1).”

	 Section 30a (1) requires that “an owner of  a mobile 
home which is subject to the certificate of  title provisions 
of  this act shall make application to the department for 
the issuance of  a certificate of  title for the mobile home 
upon the appropriate form furnished by the department.”  
Manufactured Housing General Rule 402 (2) requires that 
“if  a retailer that is selling or brokering the home, except 
to another retailer that will be holding the home for resale, 
the retailer or its authorized representative shall prepare and 
file an application for a certificate of  manufactured home 
ownership, which shall include any lien held against the 
home.”  Manufactured Housing General Rule 302 (1) requires 
“an application for a certificate of  manufactured home 
ownership be filed on a form prescribed by the department 
with the department or its authorized representative 
within 30 days after the closing of  the sale transaction.

	 Questions can be directed to OLGCS at (517) 241-9347.
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APPRENTICES REQUIRED TO TAKE JOURNEY EXAM &

PENALTIES FOR NOT TAKING CODE UPDATE CLASS

Plumbing Division

By Robert Konyndyk, Chief
Plumbing Division
	 This article will clarify two State Plumbing Act 
requirements:  (1) apprentices are required to take the journey 
examination following five years of  registration; (2) the penalty 
for not taking the code update class for journey and master 
plumbers.

	Apprentices are required to take the journey examination 
following five years of  registration

	 The State Plumbing Act, 2002 PA 733, Section 27 (2) 
states “an apprentice registration is invalid after 5 years from 
the date of  initial registration unless the registered apprentice 
applies for and takes the examination for journey license.”  
Section 27 (3) allows the board to grant an extension following 
an appeal.  Individuals not taking the examination for journey 
license exceeding the five year timeframe will not have a valid 
registration. They cannot renew their registration and would 
not be allowed to re-register in seeking another apprentice 
registration designated through a different identification 
number.

	 The law does not mandate the apprentice pass the 
journey examination, only take it.  This is a fair requirement 
as individuals’ examination abilities may vary.  The five year 
apprentice test enforcement mandate begins November 
1, 2010.  The apprentice registration will be invalid after an 
individual has exceeded five years past the November 1, 2010 
renewal cut off  date or filed an appeal.  If  the applicant applies 
for registration renewal on the sixth year (April 2011), the 
renewal will be denied since they are past the 5 year allowance.  
The applicant will be mailed an explanation letter instructing 
them that they must take the examination, and a hold will then 
be placed on the renewal.  Former registrants having their 
registration placed on hold cannot renew their registration nor 
will they be allowed to re-register in seeking another apprentice 
registration designated through a different identification 
number.  Individuals receiving an explanation letter will also be 
informed of  the appeal process.  Examples regarding a lack of  
timely conformance would include a learning disability.  This 
is a fair requirement as individuals’ examination abilities have 
many variable considerations.  Individuals who have taken 
the examination following the actions stated above and not 

•

passed or granted an extension will be allowed to renew as 
an apprentice.  The State Plumbing Board’s goal is to see 
qualified properly trained apprentices advance through the 
licensing areas.

	What is the penalty for not taking the code update class 
for journey and master plumbers?

	 The State Plumbing Act, 2002 PA 733, Section 23 (2) 
and 25 (2) require licensed journey and master plumbers to 
successfully complete a code update class within 12 months 
of  an updated code implementation in order to renew their 
license.  The Bureau has repeatedly informed licensees of  
this requirement.  In order for journey and master plumbers 
to renew their license in 2010, the training needed to be 
completed by July 31, 2009.  Penalties for non compliance 
are that an individual not having a current license shall not be 
engaged in plumbing and will be subject to the prosecution 
requirements of  the act.

	 A license not renewed within a three year timeframe 
becomes void and the individual would have to reexamine.  
Another concern is individuals who wait past the deadline and 
then complete an update class would incur additional expenses 
by being penalized by paying a late fee reinstatement plus the 
annual renewal/prorated fee for each year.  Another issue is 
that a journey plumber not renewing their license has a lapse 
in licensing.  The act in Section 23 (1) (d) requires a journey 
applicant for the master plumber’s examination to have two 
years experience as a licensed journey plumber immediately 
preceding the examination deadline.  That journey plumber 
aspiring to become a licensed master plumber would have to 
wait an additional two years after renewing their license to 
examine.

	 The major issue again is of  course individuals not being 
licensed are subject to the penalties of  the act, Sections 47 
Sanctions, Items (a) through (g) and Section 49 Misdemeanors 
having penalties not to exceed $5,000 or imprisonment for 
not more than 90 days.

	 Questions on these matters can be directed to Robert 
Konyndyk, Plumbing Division (517) 241-9330.

•
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Meeting	 Date	 Time	 Location
Barrier Free Design Board	 Sept 11, Nov 13 	 9:30 am	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
Board of  Boiler Rules	 Sept 15	 9:30 am	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
Construction Code Commission	 Sept 2, Nov 4	 9:30 am	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
Electrical Administrative Board	 Oct 2	 9:30 am	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
Elevator Safety Board	 Aug 28, Nov 6	 9:30 am	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
Manufactured Housing Commission	 Aug 19, Oct 14	 10:00 am	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
Board of  Mechanical Rules	 Sept 16, Nov 12	 9:00 am 	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
State Boundary Commission	 Sept 17, Oct 15, Nov 12	 1:30 pm	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
State Plumbing Board	 Sept 22, Oct 27	 10:00 am	 Okemos – Conf  Room 3
	 	 	

Board and Commission Meetings

Telephone Numbers:
Administration (517) 241-9302
Office of  Administrative Services ( 517) 335-2972
Office of  Management Services (517) 241-9313
Boiler Division (517) 241-9334
Building Division (517) 241-9317
Electrical Division (517) 241-9320
Elevator Safety Division (517) 241-9337
Mechanical Division (517) 241-9325
Office of  Local Government & Consumer Services (517) 241-9347
Office of  Land Survey & Remonumentation (517) 241-6321
	 (includes State Boundary Commission)
Plan Review Division (517) 241-9328
Plumbing Division (517) 241-9330

Facsimile Numbers:
Administration & Office of  Administrative Services (517) 241-9570
Office of  Management Services & Plumbing Div. (517) 373-8547
Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plan Review Div., OLGCS
(517) 241-9308
Office of  Land Survey & Remonumentation, Boiler & Elevator  
Safety Divisions (517) 241-6301

Mailing Addresses:
P.O. Box 30254 (Codes:  general correspondence)
P.O. Box 30255 (Codes:  permits, licenses, and other documents	
   containing payment)
P.O. Box 30704 (Offiice of  Land Survey & Remonumentation)
Lansing, Michigan  48909

BCC Contact Information

By Dan O’Donnell, Chief
Electrical Division
	 The 2008 Michigan Electrical Code (MEC) Public Hearing 
was held June 11, 2009 at the Bureau of  Construction Codes 
(BCC) in Okemos, Michigan.  The hearing went very well and 
there were no objections during public comment regarding the 
proposed 2008 MEC.   The code will now move forward in 
the legislative process and the bureau is hopeful that the 2008 
MEC will be adopted by year’s end.  Once the 2008 MEC has 

been filed with the Secretary of  State, the bureau will begin 
accepting applications for 2008 code update classes.    The new 
application forms for the code update classes will be available 
on our website once we are able to begin the approval process.  
A code update class on the 2008 MEC will not be required for 
the 2010 license renewals.

	 Questions should be directed to the Electrical Division at 
(517) 241-9320.

2008 MICHIGAN ELECTRICAL CODE MOVING FORWARD
Electrical division

Providing for 

Michigan’s Safety 

in the Built Environment
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DLEG is an equal opportunity e m p l o y e r / p r o g r a m .  
Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available upon request to 

Examination	 Date	 Location	 Deadline
Boiler Installer and Repairer	 Sept 9, 10	 Okemos	 Aug 14
	 Dec 2, 3	 Okemos	 Nov 6

Boiler National Board	 Sept 2, 3	 Mercantile	 Aug 14
	 Dec 2, 3	 Okemos	 Nov 6

Electrical/Fire Alarm/Sign Contractor	 Sept 24	 Okemos	 Aug 25	
	 Nov 10	 Okemos	 Oct 13
	 	 	 		
Fire Alarm Spec. Tech./Sign Spec.	 Nov 18	 Okemos	 Oct 20

Electrician - Journeyman	 Aug 18, 19	 Okemos	 July 21
	 Nov 3, 4	 Okemos	 Oct 6
	
Electrician - Master	 Aug 20	 Okemos	 July 22
	 Nov 5	 Okemos	 Oct 7
	
Elevator Journeyperson	 Sept 8	 Okemos	 Aug 18
	 Nov 24	 Okemos	 Nov 3

Elevator Contractor/Cert. of  Comp.	 Aug 28	 Okemos	 Aug 7
	 Nov 6	 Okemos	 Oct 16

Mechanical Contractor	 Sept 29	 Lansing	 Sept 1
	 Dec 8	 Lansing	 Nov 5

Plumbing - Contractor	 Sept 30	 East Lansing
	 Dec 9	 East Lansing

Plumbing - Master and Journey 	 Sept 23	 East Lansing
	 Dec 16	 East Lansing
	

Dates and times are subject to change.  Visit the BCC website for updates.

License Examination Dates
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Bcc Online Services
Manufactured Home Affidavit of  Affixture 
Online Lookup
Online License Search
Disciplinary Action Report
Easy Access to Permit & License Verification
Statewide Search for Subdivision Plats
Statewide Search for Remonumentation Data
County Remonumentation Data Entry
Building System Approval Reports
Online Code Training Series

Bcc quick links
Online Permitting
Online License Renewals
Codes & Standards Order Form
Statewide Jurisdiction List
Local School Construction Enforcement List
Product Approvals

DELEG is an equal opportunity employer/program.  Auxiliary aids, services and other 
reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Civil Service website
State Job Postings

http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-10575_17409---,00.html
http://www7.dleg.state.mi.us/mhaoa/
http://www7.dleg.state.mi.us/bcclicense/
http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-10575_17394_17567---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_permit_manager_265680_7.pdf
http://www.dleg.state.mi.us/platmaps/sr_subs.asp
http://www.dleg.state.mi.us/remon/
http://www2.dleg.state.mi.us/forms/frmservlet?config=REMON
http://www.cis.state.mi.us/dms/home-bcc.asp
http://www.michigancodes.com/
http://www.velocityhall.com/velohall/index.cfm?STATE=MICHIGAN
https://www.velocityhall.com/accela/velohall/index.cfm?CITY=MICHIGANLICENSES&STATE=MICHIGAN
http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-10575-177484--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_statewide_jurisdiction_list_241251_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_assistance_to_local_enforcing_agencies_241153_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-10575-135835--,00.html
http://web1mdcs.state.mi.us/vacancyweb/VacancyInq.asp

