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State of Michigan 
Administrative Guide to State Government 

0820.01 Insurance Coverage of State-Owned and Leased Motor 
Vehicles 

 Issued: January 1, 1994 
 Revised: December 22, 2011 

PURPOSE 
To inform Executive Branch Departments and Sub-units of current insurance 
coverage in the Motor Vehicle Self-Insurance Program. 

APPLICATION 
Executive Branch Departments and Sub-units. 

CONTACT AGENCY 
Department of Technology, Management and Budget (DTMB) 
State Building Authority (SBA) 
320 S. Walnut Street 
Lewis Cass Building 
Lansing, MI 48913 
Telephone: 517-373-3808 
Fax: 517-335-1638 

SUMMARY 
State-owned and leased vehicles are covered by the state of Michigan’s self-
insurance fund.  The fund is governed by the established procedures of the DTMB, 
State Building Authority (SBA) pursuant to the Management and Budget Act, PA 431 
of 1984.  Below is a description of the self-insurance coverages. 

APPLICABLE FORMS 
None. 

PROCEDURES 

Motor Vehicle Liability 

The state of Michigan is self-insured for its automobile liability exposure.  This 
program is known as the Vehicle Self-Insurance Fund (the Fund). 

Coverage 

The Fund will pay those costs required by Michigan’s No-Fault law:  Personal 
Injury Protection (PIP), Property Protection Insurance (PPI), and Residual 
Liability. 

• PIP includes medical benefits, wage loss, and replacement services. 
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• PPI pays damage to other people’s property, such as buildings and 
fences that may have been caused by the state covered vehicle.  It 
also pays for damage done to another person’s properly parked car. 

• Residual Liability (bodily injury and property damage) includes 
payment when the state is sued as a result of an accident.  The 
circumstances under which the state can be sued are defined by 
Public Act 218 of 1956, as amended. 

Exclusions 

• The Fund will not provide for the defense, or pay damages on behalf of 
any state employees or agents driving state-owned vehicles who do 
intentional harm. 

• The Fund does not provide for the repair of state-owned or operated 
vehicles. 

• The Fund will not pay “property damage” to state-owned property caused 
by a state-covered vehicle.  The department at fault will be responsible for 
any such payment. 

• Rental vehicles from their parties (e.g., Avis, Hertz) are not covered by the 
Fund. 

• Vehicles assigned to colleges and universities through the state or Vehicle 
& Travel Services are not covered by the Fund. 

• Department of Natural Resources federal excess property vehicles loaned 
out to rural fire departments are not covered by the Fund. 

• Employee personal vehicles driven on state business are not covered by 
the Fund in any fashion. 

• Additionally, the Fund does not pay for any losses or damages not 
required under the Michigan No-Fault Act. 

Limits 

• Personal Injury Protection:  Unlimited per No-Fault Act. 

• Property Protection Insurance:  $1,000,000 per accident.  Losses in 
excess of $1,000,000 per accident are the responsibility of the at-fault 
department. 

• Residual Liability:  $1,000,000 per accident.  Losses in excess of 
$1,000,000 per accident are the responsibility of the at-fault department. 

o Allocated Loss Adjustment Expenses (ALAE) are not subject to the 
$1,000,000 limit.  ALAE are those expenses attributable to the 
defense or processing of a particular loss.  (Examples of ALAE are 
expert witnesses, medical payments, fees for obtaining reports, 
etc.) 
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Claims, Settlements and Judgments 

• Claims, settlements and judgments are paid from the Risk Management 
Revolving Fund, unless otherwise noted. 

• SBA works with the Attorney General’s Office in the event of litigation, 
providing approval of defense related expenses and has the authority to 
authorize all settlements. 

• All claims are administered by a third-party administrator. 

• All claims involving state-owned or leased vehicles should be reported to 
ASU Group at 1-800-968-3767. 

• All accidents involving state-owned or leased vehicles should be reported 
to Wheels, Inc. by calling 1-800-937-8149, regardless of fault or damage 
to the state-owned or leased vehicle.  Report all accidents even if there is 
no damage to the state-owned or leased vehicles. 

Miscellaneous 

• Certificates of self-insurance should be placed in all state-owned and 
leased vehicles.  The certificates may be obtained by calling Vehicle & 
Travel Services at 517-322-5000 or by writing to DTMB, Office of Support 
Services, Vehicle & Travel Services, 6951 Crowner Drive, P.O. Box 
30026, Lansing, MI 48909. 

• All other questions regarding the automobile liability self-insurance 
program should be directed to SBA at 517-373-3808. 

• Notification will be sent to all departments should any changes be 
contemplated in this insurance program. 

Rates 

• Rates are set yearly in conjunction with DTMB, Financial Services 
supported by a yearly actuarial study in order to ensure adequate loss 
reserved as required by law in order to maintain the state’s self-insurance 
status.  See Ad Guide procedure 0810.03. 

*** 
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