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MICHIGAN HOMES FOR VETERANS 
BOARD MANUAL 

 
BOARD OF MANAGERS OPERATING POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

         
 
Member Assessments            BP-016 
 
Reviewed: 10/14/2015 
 
PURPOSE: Act 152, Public Act of 1885, as amended, requires the Board of 
Managers of the Michigan Homes for Veterans to annually determine the per 
diem expense of maintenance for members in the Home and shall require any 
member who has adequate means of support or sufficient property or income to 
pay to the Board of Managers in full the cost of care.  The Board will annually 
determine the assessment rate for each level of care. 
 
 Administrative Rule R 32.76 governs required financial disclosure, Rule R 
32.77 governs financial responsibility, and Rule R 32.79 establishes exempt 
assets. 
 
 In its efforts to carry out this mandate, the Board has established 
guidelines in determining individual assessments, allowing for individual financial 
circumstances.  Assessment rates are determined based on ability to pay, the 
level of care required, and on dependent status. 
 
 There are three primary categories to be considered in the assessment 
determination process:  1. Members who are rated by the VA as 70-100% 
service-connected disabled or certain veterans who have service-connected 
disabilities who have a rating of total disability based on individual 
unemployability or in need of nursing home care for a VA adjudicated service-
connected disability, 2. Members without dependents and, 3. Members with 
dependents. 
 
 
PROCEDURES: 
 

I. Members who are rated by the VA as 70-100% service-connected 
disabled or certain veterans who have service-connected disabilities 
who have a rating of total disability based on individual employability or 
in need of nursing home care for a VA adjudicated service-connected 
disability. 

 
A. The U.S. Veterans Administration pays a higher per diem grant 

amount for those Members, covering the full cost of nursing care.  
The Homes are prohibited from charging these Members for 
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nursing care received in the Veterans Homes (This does not 
apply to Domiciliary Care). 

 
 B. These Members must provide their own personal use funds. 
 
 C. These Members may participate in the Michigan Homes for  
  Veterans Medical Escrow Fund (BP-012). 
 
 
II. Members Without Dependents 
 

A. Must pay the full per diem rate for the care level required if their  
assets are determined to be in excess of $2,000 (per Administrative 
Rule R32.79) or their income exceeds the per diem expense of 
maintenance, ensuring that the Board of Managers’ authorized monthly 
personal use stipend is allowed. 

 
B. The Board of Managers authorizes $100.00 a month for members for 

personal use who have monthly income in excess of $100.00 but are 
assessed an amount less than the per diem cost of care. 

 
C. The Board of Managers authorizes the Administrator or designee to 

approve as an allowable expense any medical insurance premium for 
Medicare or other medical insurance including the $25 charge for the 
MHVMEF (BP–012). 

 
D. For Members who are admitted for rehabilitation and expect to return 

home, The Board of Managers authorizes the Administrator or 
designee to approve, as allowable expenses, the minimum expenses 
necessary to maintain their prior domicile and ability to live 
independently. The Administrator or designee will verify with the 
Medical Director the prognosis and expected time frame for 
rehabilitation.  These expenses shall not extend beyond three months 
(90 days) without Board approval.  These expenses may include, but 
are not limited to, rent, utilities, mortgage payments, property taxes, 
loan payments and automobile expenses. 

 
E. Members whose assets exceed $2,000 or whose income is in excess 

of the per diem expense of maintenance rate and Board authorized 
stipend will provide their own personal use funds. 

 
F. Members without excessive assets and less than $100.00 in monthly 

income will utilize the extent of this income for personal use. 
 

G. Members with no assets or income will be authorized a $5.00 weekly       
stipend by the Board of Managers. 
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III. Members With Dependents 
 

The Board, recognizing the diverse economic circumstances associated 
with its membership having dependents, has established basic minimum 
allowances, allowing itself the right to utilize flexibility in establishing ability 
to pay by recognizing individual circumstances. 

 
A. All dependents of veterans must submit a statement of joint and 

several income and assets, unless the full per diem cost of care will be 
paid by the veteran and/or dependents. 
 

B.  Where total monthly income equals $700 or less, no charge will be 
assessed except where total assets, jointly or severally, exceed 
$25,000, in which case the full per diem cost of care will be assessed 
until such assets (excluding homestead and other exempt assets as 
listed in R 32.79) are decreased to $25,000.  The $25,000 exemption 
is normally reserved for dependent spouses.  Special Board approval 
must be obtained for situations where a dependent spouse does not 
exist. 

 
C.  Where assets (excluding homestead) do not exceed $25,000 and total 

monthly income does not exceed $700, no charge will be levied. 
 

D.  If total monthly income exceeds $700, any excess up to the full cost of 
care will represent the member’s assessment unless the dependent 
applies for an allowance greater than $700.  If application is made, a 
dependent allowance work sheet will be completed and the need for an 
amount in excess of $ 700 will be documented.  For certain categories 
of expense, standard allowable ranges will be recognized with minimal 
documentation. For an expense category allowance greater than the 
range, need shall be documented. 

 
E.  The sponsoring dependent will be required to provide from his/her 

retained funds a monthly spending allowance of $100 for the veteran.  
This amount shall be allowed in addition to the standard $700 
allowance.  It will be the dependent/wife’s responsibility to make these 
funds available to the veterans as needs arise. 

 
F.  A schedule of allowable ranges for dependent monthly allowance 

categories follows: 
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MICHIGAN HOMES FOR VETERANS 
Dependent Allowance Work Sheet 

 
  Food       (0 - $300) 
  Clothing      (0 - $ 75) 
  Personal      (0 - $100) 
  Telephone      (0 - $ 45) 
  Electricity      (0 - $100) 
  TV Service (cable/dish)    (0 - $ 45) 
  Snow Removal/Garbage Pickup   (actual up to $50) 

Water/Sewage     (actual) 
  Heat       (actual up to $150) 
  Taxes       (actual) 
  Home Insurance     (actual) 
  Automobile (one vehicle only)   (actual up to $400) 
  Automobile Expense    (0 - $200) 
  Automobile Insurance    (actual) 
  Health Insurance (including MHVMEF)  (actual) 
  Life Insurance     (actual) 
  Rent/Mortgage Payments    (actual) 
  Un-reimbursed Medical Expenses  (actual) 
  Other Debts and Expenses   (actual) 
   

G. Debts or other payments must be legal obligations of the member or 
dependent to be considered on the work sheet. 

 
H.  The Homes’ Board of Managers reserves the right to review individual 

circumstance and allow or disallow expenses not considered essential 
or considered excessive.  (Revolving charge accounts, extremely high 
life insurance premiums, pet insurance, entertainment expenses, are 
examples of expenses subject to this policy provision.)  All expenses in 
Section F of this policy are additionally subject to the excessiveness 
test. 

 
I. Allowances may also vary from schedule in cases where there are 

multiple dependents. 
 

J.  The Homes’ Board of Managers may recognize a member’s dependent 
allowance as justifiable regardless of its effect on other resources; and 
assess the member in accordance with State Statute as expressed in 
Public Act 152 of 1885 as amended.  In allowing this, all new 
assessments (admissions and reassessments) will be reviewed and 
approved by the Board of Managers at regularly scheduled Board 
meetings. 
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K.  Married couples, when both residing at the Home, will be assessed 

identically to members without dependents, with the exception that the 
asset exemption will remain the same as members with dependents. 

 
IV.       All Members: 

 
A. All members must apply for and pursue pensions and/or benefits as 

they become eligible. 
 
B. Circumstances occasionally arise when the implementation of these 

provisions prove detrimental to both the member and the Home.  
Recommendations from the Administrators explaining the unusual 
circumstances will be reviewed and exemptions allowed when 
appropriate. 

 
This policy supersedes all previous policies as it relates to Member 
Assessments. 


