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Selling, possessing vehicles, parts
without I.D. numbers may violate law

Leave the original VIN on each cab
when replacing a truck cab. Do not
remove the VIN from the damaged cab
and place it on the replacement cab.

Dealers should be cautious when dealing.
with vehicles or vehicle parts that have no
identification numbers or which have
numbers that have been removed, altered,
hidden, destroyed or disguised. If the replacement cab is new without a

A vehicle or vehicle part that has a VIN, the owner of the vehicle must apply
number obscured, defaced, altered, etc., for a “replacement” VIN number through
should NOT be sold or offered for sale in the Department of State.
that condition. The vehicle or part must If the cab replacement is a used géth
have a replacement identification number its original VIN, leave the number on the
applied either by law enforcement or the part. The repaired truck will carry affdir-
Department of State. ent VIN than the one appearing on its title

In fact, simply possessing a vehicle or and registration.
part without its proper manufactursiserial ~ Also, if the truck being repaired qualifies
number or the engine or motor number is as a late model distressed vehicle (damaged
prima facie evidence of a violation of the more than 75 percent, but less than 91
law. And, law enforcement may confiscatepercent of its actual value), it must have a
the vehicle or part if it cannot be properly salvage title and be inspected and recerti-
identified. If vehicles or vehicle parts are fied before it can be driven. The new title
confiscated from a licensed vehicle dealewill show the vehicle is a “previously
the deal€'s license is subject to suspensiossued salvage title” (rebuilt) vehicle and
or revocation. should alert law enforcement to expect

No deale, auction, broker or salvage  different numbers.
pool should ever sell a vehicle or part that If the damage is more than 91 percent, a
does not have a proper identification scrap title must be obtained and the truck
numbe. The law prohibits the removal of cannot be rebuilt. If the vehicle needing a
any identifying number on a vehicle or partew cab does not qualify as a late model
Dealers and repair facilities who repai  distressed vehicle, the vehideoriginal
rebuild or reconstruct (assemble) vehiclestitle need not be changed.
must be careful to: “Late model” is defined as a vehicle
1. Leave all existing (original and re- weighing 8,000 pounds or less, manufac-
placement) numbers on the vehicle antlired in the current model year or the five
on all parts. model years immediately preceding the
Not remove, paint ovescratch out, current model yeaar, if over 8,00 pounds,
destrq, obliterate, etc., any original or a vehicle manufactured inglzurrent model
replacement numbers that appear on year or the 15 model years immediately
any vehicle or part of the vehicle. preceding the current model yea

Candice S. Mille Secretary of State e Michigan Departmehof State




Many gquestions
answered in
Dealer Manual

Answers to many
guestions asked by
dealers may be found in
the Dealer Manual.
Since March 1997 all
newly licensed dealers
have been given a copy
the Dealer Manual. A
copy was also mailed to
all licensed dealers in
April 1997.

This valuable referenc
book provides answers t
most commonly asked
guestions and contains
important information for
dealers about how to
operate and comply with
the Michigan Vehicle
Code. The manual is
divided into nine sec-
tions: licensing, record
keeping, title and regis-
tration, odometer disclo-
sure, salvage, brokers,
completing an RD-108,
sales tax and foreign
salvage vehicle dealers.

Keep the Dealer
Manual readily available
and refer to it when
guestions arise. If you
have a question that the
manual does not cover,
if you need additional
copies of the manual,
please contact BAR’s
Dealer Division by
telephone at 517/373-
9081.

ofafter delivery of the notice.

e Automotive Regulation, Lansing, Ml
D 48918-1200, and to any prior lienholder time of sale. (See definition of market value.)

Garage Keeper Lien Act amended

Public Act 236, effective July 3, 1998, installations (custom interiors, electronic
amends the Garage Keeper Lien Act. Thequipment or parts not essential to the
following amendments were enacted: normal operation of the vehicle).

The garage keeper must send a notice of The garage keeper may apply to the
the intent to file a lien by certified mail to Michigan Department of State, Bureau of
the owner of the vehicle. The notice mustDriver and Vehicle Records, Out-of-State
include an itemized statement showing thdResident Services Unit, Lansing, Ml 48918
amount due and the date the amount wasfor a certificate to file a garage keeper lien.
due. The notice must be accompanied by alf the garage keeper bids for and pur-
demand for payment not more than 45 dayhases the vehicle at the public sale or if
the garage keeper indirectly acquires

On the same day the garage keeper semdgership of the vehicle (e.g., lack of other
the notice to the owner, an exact duplicatéids), the proceeds of the sale will be
of the notice must be sent both to the considered to be the greater of the follow-
Michigan Department of State, Bureau of ing: the amount paid by the garage keeper
or the market value of the vehicle at the

noted on the vehicle’s title. The Bureau of Proceeds of the sale other than what the
Automotive Regulation may block the liengarage keeper is legally entitled to recover
if the vehicle owner disputes the repairs. must be disbursed to prior lienholders or the

Unless agreed to in writing, garage vehicle owner. If the owner of the vehicle
keepers cannot charge storage fees for doesn’t claim the money within two years
longer than 120 days after the last repair iafter the date of the sale, the money will
performed. escheat to the state.

The formula for calculating the maxi- The act requires the garage keeper to
mum amount the prior lienholder has to pagive all lienholders and the prior owner 30
the garage to recover the vehicle has business days notice before the sale takes
changed. If the repaired vehicle has a place.
market value of more than $3,000, the Dealers and repair facilities are urged to
amount of the lien will be not more than 2&eep copies of any documents they use to
percent of the market value of the repaireg@ut customers on notice that storage fees
vehicle or $5,000, whichever is less. If thavill be charged if the customer fails to pick
market value of the repaired vehicle is  up a vehicle.
$3,000 or less, the amount of the lien will Dealers and repair facilities who have
be $600. The amount payable to the garageestions about the garage keeper lien
keeper will not exceed the market value ofpplication process may call the Out-of-
the vehicle. State Resident Services Unit at 517/322-

“Market value” is defined as the value as473.
determined by the issue of the national autolnformation regarding lien holders will
dealers association official used car guidebe provided by the Department of Stafen
in effect at the time the garage keeper  application for lien. Payment of a $10 fee
performs the first labor or first furnishes is required. To obtain an application for
supplies for which the garage keeper claintien, contact: Michigan Department of
a lien under the act. State, Bureau of Driver and VehidRecords,

Garage keepers cannot file a liento  Out-of-State Resident Services Unit,
recover labor or materials for custom Lansing, MI 48918.



Dealer licenserenewals due Nwo. 1

The 1999 dealer license renewal forms ordered. There are no additional service
were mailed in early October and were duees for regular blue dealer plates.
back to the Department of State by Novem- There is one minor change to the renew
ber 1, 1998. The November 1 deadline form this yea Items 15 and 16 have been
insures that the department has sufficient reversed because many dealers missed th
time to process the renewal before the  line for the dealer license renewal fee whe
license expires on December 31. calculating their fees.

Effective this yeg the department will Many dealers wait until renewal time to
no longer tab dealer plates every other yearake changes to their license, e.g., addin
but will instead issue new plates each or deleting partners or officers, changing
Februay. As you complete your renewal the business name or address, adding or
form, simply calculate how many dealer deleting franchises, etc. These changes ¢
plates you are eligible for or need to delay processing the renewal. Please reag
conduct business, and purchase them. Astae renewal instructions carefully as they
reminde, when ordering Great Lakes contain information to assist you in making
Splendor dealer plates there is an addi- your changes and may help avoid unnece
tional $5.00 service fee for each plate  sary delg

Changes implemented to RD-108 forms

Effective immediatsl, RD-108 forns will  The Dealer Advisory Committee legisla-
have two fewer parts. The Department oftive package will become law by the end ¢
State has notified printers that thaylanger this year with an implementation date of
need to include two of the copies routinelydanuary 1, 1999. The advisory committeg
kept by the Department of State (parts 3 recommended that the finance informatior
and 5, the second white copy and itue  be deleted from the RD-108, as the infor-
copy). Since the departmentwmissues laser mation is duplicated on the installment
printed tabs and registration documents, sales contract.
extra copies of the RD-108 are longer Dealers should keep these expected
needed to update registration records. changes in mind when ordering supplies o

Dealers should be aware that RD-108s the RD-108 form.
will change significantly in early 1999.

Dealers may sell scrap-titled vehicles “for parts only”

When a Michigan scrap title is issued tovehicle is being sold “for parts ol
a vehicle, the vehicle identification numbebDealers may sell scrap-titled vehicles in th
is effectively “killed” and cannot be used manner provided they immediately forwart
again to title or register the vehicle. Scrapthe title to the Department of State for
titles also have assignment limitations. Theancellation. In no circumstances should t
first assignment can only be made to a  scrap title be given to the purchase
properly licensed Class C, used vehicle Sending the title immediately to the
parts dealer; Class R, automotive recyclerlepartment for cancellation will help insur
Class H, foreign salvage vehicle dealer; othe vehicle is not rebuilt in another state
ClassF, scrap metal processdhe second, and the scrap title converted to a rebuilt o
and final, assignment on the scrap title caneconstructed title. The word “scrapped” g
only be made to a scrap metal processo “junked” should be written on the face of

Some parts dealers, including recyclersthe title and the title mailed to the Michi-
and foreign salvage vehicle dealers, sell gan Department of State, Bureau of Drive
scrap-titled vehicles on a bill of sale with aandVehicle Records, Conversion Unit,

Dealer training
registration
chvailable on
dnternet

M 1t is now even more
convenient for dealers tg
enroll in a dealer training
%ourse. Dealers are now
able to register for
training courses using th
AYorld wide web. In

l addition to telephoning,
faxing, or mailing enroll-
' ment information, dealer
"may now register througk
the web at:
WwWw.S0S.State.mi.us/bar/
dealerfeqinfo.html.

If you prefer to use a
{nore traditional method

o register for class, you
may telephone 517/373-
6993, fax your registra-
tion form to 517/373-
7419, or mail your
completed registration
form to the Michigan
Department of State,
Bureau of Automotive
Regulation, Lansing, Ml
48918-1260.

The fall dealer training
flyer was recently mailed
to all currently licensed
idealers. If you would
llike to request additiona
copies of the training
hityer, please telephone
517/373-6993, or you
can view the training
eschedule at the web site
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disclosure statement that the scrap-titled Lansing, M| 48918.
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Problem
identified in
calculating
plate fees

Several dealers using
the new plate fee calcula
tion disk have identified
a glitch in the way the
software calculates fees
for company-owned
pickups and vans.

Plates for these vehicle
expire on February 28
each year. Although the
fees shouldhot be
prorated, the software
does prorate the fees for
company-owned pickups
and vans. Other comme
cial vehicles, e.g., stake
trucks, calculate correctly

To overcome the
proration glitch, dealers

the date of delivery each
time a plate fee is calcus-
lated for company-owne
pickups and vans.
Entering “02/28” will
insure the proper 12-
month fee is generated.

can enter February 28 as

Temporary registrations are for customers only

All dealers are reminded they have 15 ing titles, temporary registration plates and
days from the date of vehicle delivery to markers. Dealers should never alter the
process the application for title (RD-108) date on a temporary registration to extend
and secure registration plates for their retdfie registration period. Likewise, dealers
customers. Customers who purchase newshould never sell or give temporary registra-
registration plates receive a BFS-4 tenapp tions to other dealers or friends to use.

1- registration form which can be used to drivEemporary registrations are not to be used
the vehicle until the new plate is received.on vehicles belonging to the dealership to

Dealers are also reminded of the legal transport the vehicles to auction, to body
consequences for using or issuing temporasiyops, or between dealership locations.
registrations improperly. The Michigan ~ Temporary registrations (BFS-4) are only to
Vehicle Code (Section 257.257) states thdie used on customers’ vehicles who have

s it is a felony to alter, forge, falsify, hold or current no-fault insurance and are waiting
use counterfeit or false documents, includfor a new registration plate.

Document fees clarified for certain transactions

In the Spring 1998 issue of the Dealer Retail Installment Sales Act (RISA) if they
Newsletter, an article stated that, “accordare purchased for “personal, family or
r_ing to the Financial Institutions Bureau of household use and not for commercial,
the Department of Consumer and Industryagricultural or business use.” The RISA also
Services, documentary fees cannot be  states that “goods do not include a motor
charged for motorcycle, trailer and fifth- vehicle.” Therefore, depending on their
wheel trailer transactions.” intended use, motorcycle, trailer and fifth-
Although the statement is accurate, it wheel trailer sales transactions generally
warrants further explanation. Motorcyclesfall under RISA and are subject to a 2%
trailers and fifth-wheel trailers are not processing fee that is permitted under the
y motor vehicles as defined under the MotorCredit Reform Act.
Vehicle Sales Finance Act (MVSFA). The department apologizes for any
Therefore, transactions of these types of confusion the previous Dealer Newsletter
vehicles are not subject to the $40 docu- may have caused. Dealers with questions
mentary fee permitted under the MVSFA. about charging processing fees should
These types of vehicles may fall under consult with their attorney.
the definition ofgoodsaccording to the

NSP-1065 (10/98); 8,500; $807.50; $0.095.

Printed under authority of P.A. 300 of 1949.





