
  
  

 

 
 
 
Fishing License Requirements and Special Provisions: 

 You must purchase a license if you are 17 years of age or older. 

 If you are under 17, you may fish without a license, but you are required to observe all fishing 
rules and regulations. 

 When fishing, you must carry your license and the identification used to purchase that license and exhibit both upon 
demand of a Michigan Conservation Officer, a Tribal Conservation Officer or any law enforcement officer. 

 Your fishing license is valid from March 1 of a given year through March 31 of the following year. 
 

To purchase a fishing license you must have: 

 A valid Michigan Driver License; or 

 A valid Michigan ID Card (issued by the Secretary of State) with additional proof of Michigan residency, such as a 
Michigan voter registration card; or 

 A DNR Sportcard (issued by any license dealer for $1.00) which is required for all non-residents. If the information on 
your DNR Sportcard from a previous year is still accurate, you may continue to use it. 

 Your license can be purchased at one of over 1500 licensed dealers statewide (for example any sporting goods 
store). 

 

To qualify for a resident fishing license, you must: 

 Be a person who resides in a settled or permanent home or domicile within the boundaries of this state with the 
intention of remaining in this state, or 

 Be a full-time student at a Michigan college or university, or 

 Serve full-time in the U.S. Military and be either officially stationed in Michigan or maintain residency in Michigan. 
 

Hook-and-Line Fishing:  
Fish taken must be hooked in the mouth. Fish not hooked in the mouth must be returned to the water immediately. No 
more than 3 lines per person (including tip-ups) nor more than 6 hooks or lures may be used. All hooks attached to an 
artificial bait or “night crawler harness” are counted as 1 hook. Hooks must be baited or attached to an artificial bait. Any 
number of hooks may be used on 1 line for taking smelt in recognized smelt waters (visit www.michigan.gov/fishing). All 
tip-ups and other similar devices must be marked with the name and address of the owner in legible English, either 
directly on the object or securely fastened to it by a plate or tag. All lines must be under immediate control. Hook and size 
regulations exist on certain streams (see Exceptions to General Regulations by County, pages 34-38). 
 
Free Fishing Weekend 
Get outside and go fishing!  Enjoy these Free Fishing Weekends every year where no fishing license is required.   
2014 dates; June 7-8 and February 14-15. www.michigan.gov/freefishing 
 
Weekly Fishing Report 
Each week discover the latest fishing hot spots and tips used to catch specific species all throughout Michigan. Access 
the weekly report either by phone at 1-855-777-0908 or online at www.michigan.gov/fishingreport.  

 
  

http://www.michigan.gov/fishing
http://www.eregulations.com/michigan/fishing/exceptions-to-general-regulations-by-county/
http://www.michigan.gov/freefishing
http://www.michigan.gov/fishingreport


License Types & Fees 
License Type Cost 
DNR Sportcard .............................................................................................................................................................. $1.00 
 
Resident 
24 hr. (Good for all species for a designated 24-hour period) .................................................................................... $10.00 
72 hr. (Good for all species for a designated 72-hour period) .................................................................................... $30.00 
Annual (Good for all species) ...................................................................................................................................... $26.00 
Senior (65 or older) ..................................................................................................................................................... $11.00 
 
Nonresident 
24 hr. (Good for all species for a designated 24-hour period) .................................................................................... $10.00 
72 hr. (Good for all species for a designated 72-hour period) .................................................................................... $30.00 
Annual (Good for all species) ...................................................................................................................................... $76.00 
 
Specialty Items and Tags 
Lake Sturgeon Fishing Tag (Required to fish for Lake Sturgeon) ................................................................................ $0.00 
Muskellunge Harvest Tag (Required to harvest a Muskellunge) .................................................................................. $0.00 
 
Lost Licenses 
You may purchase a replacement license at any license dealer. You must provide the identification number used to 
purchase the original license................................................................................................... Same cost as original license 
 
 
 

Species and Season Dates 
 

2014-2015 Fishing Seasons 
This provides general hook-and-line fishing seasons/dates for the species listed. There are many other fishing regulations 
associated with these species and seasons. Please refer to the rest of the 2014 Michigan Fishing Guide for regulations 
concerning size limits, possession limits, and other restrictions. 
 
Largemouth & Smallmouth Bass 
Catch-and-immediate-release on Lower Peninsula waters, including Great Lakes: Apr. 26 – May 23 
Catch-and-immediate-release on Lake St. Clair & St. Clair & Detroit Rivers: Apr. 26 – Jun. 20 
Catch-and-immediate-release on Upper Peninsula waters, including Great Lakes: May 15 – May 24  
Catch-and-keep on all waters, including Great Lakes: May 24 – Dec. 31 
Catch-and-keep on Lake St. Clair & St. Clair & Detroit Rivers: Jun. 21 – Dec. 31 
 
Muskellunge 
Lower Peninsula Great Lakes: Open All Year 
Lower Peninsula inland waters: Apr. 26 – Mar. 15 
Upper Peninsula Great Lakes, inland waters & St. Marys River: May 15 – Mar. 15 
Lake St. Clair & St. Clair & Detroit Rivers: Jun. 7 – Dec. 15 
 
Northern Pike & Walleye 
Lower Peninsula Great Lakes, Lake St. Clair & St. Clair & Detroit Rivers: Open All Year 
Lower Peninsula inland waters: Apr. 26 – Mar. 15 
Upper Peninsula Great Lakes, inland waters & St. Marys River: May 15 – Mar. 15 
 
Salmon & Trout 
Great Lakes, Lake St. Clair, St. Marys River, St. Clair & Detroit Rivers: Open All Year 
(Inland) Type 3 & 4 streams and Type B, C, E & F lakes: Open All Year 
(Inland) Type 1 & 2 streams and Type A & D lakes: Apr. 26 – Sep. 30 
Gear Restricted streams:  Please see Inland Trout & Salmon Regulations for information concerning seasons on these 
streams. 
 
Channel Catfish, Flathead Catfish, Cisco (Lake Herring), Lake Whitefish, Smelt, Sunfishes, White Bass, Yellow 
Perch & Other Species:  Waters open for fishing Open All Year 
  



 

General Hook & Line Regulations 
 

This provides general statewide regulations for the species listed. However, there are many waters in the state that have 
fishing regulations which differ from those in this table. Please refer to the Fishing Guide. 
 

Species (Note 1) Minimum Size 
(inches) 

Daily Possession Limit Seasons 

Largemouth bass  
Smallmouth bass 
(Note 2) 

14″ 

These fish identified 
above have a daily 

possession limit of 5 
total in any combination 

but no more than 2 
northern pike. 

3rd. Sat. in Jun. – Dec. 31: L. St. Clair, St. Clair R., 
Detroit R. 
 
Sat. before Memorial Day – Dec. 31: All other waters 
including Great Lakes (except those listed in Note 2) 

Walleye 
(Note 3) 

15” May 15 – Mar. 15: Upper Peninsula Great Lakes and 
inland waters, and St. Marys R.  
Last Sat. in Apr. – Mar. 15: Lower Peninsula inland 
waters  
Open All Year: Lower Peninsula Great Lakes, L. St. 
Clair, St. Clair R. and Detroit R. 

Northern pike 24”  

Flathead catfish 15” Open all year 

Channel Catfish 12” Daily possession limit: 
10 

Open all year 

Yellow perch No size limit Daily possession limit: 
50  

Open all year 

Sunfishes No size limit Daily possession limit: 
25 in any combination of 
the listed species. 

Open all year 

White bass No size limit Daily possession limit: 
25 on the Great Lakes, 
L. St. Clair, St. Mary’s 
river, St. Clair River, and 
Detroit River; 10 on 
inland waters 

Open all year 

Lake whitefish 
Cisco (lake 
herring) 

No size limit 12 in any combination  
Open all year 

Smelt No size limit Daily possession limit: 2 
gallons 

Open all year 

All others No size limit No possession limit Open all year 

 

For regulations on Muskellunge and Lake Sturgeon: please refer to the full Fishing Guide. 



Know Your Fish: Common Fish Species 

 

Smallmouth Bass, Micropterus dolomieu 

 

 

 
Largemouth Bass, Micropterus salmoides 

 
 

 
Rock Bass, Ambloplites rupestris 

 
 

 
Yellow Perch, Perca flavescens 

 
 

 
Bluegill, Lepomis macrochirus 

 

 

 
Lake Trout, Salvelinus namaycush 

 
 

 
 
Brook Trout, Salvelinus fontinalis 

 
 

 
Walleye, Sander vitreus 

 
 

 
Northern Pike, Esox lucius 

 
 

 
Muskellunge, Esox masquinongy 

 
 
 
Channel Catfish, Ictalurus punctatus

 

 


