
 

   
 

Becoming an Outdoors-Woman  

HUNTER SAFETY CLASS 
Saturday, August 15, 2009 

Capital Area Sportsmen’s League 
7534 Old River Trail, Lansing, MI 48917 

You are invited to attend a hunter safety class geared especially to women 18 and older.  We will 
gather at 9:00 a.m. at Capital Area Sportsmen’s League.  The workshop cost is $10.00 and will be 
geared to classroom and hands-on instruction with firearms and archery equipment.  Please bring 
a sack lunch and something to drink.  We will finish around 4 p.m. on Saturday.  Please get your 
registration (attached) in early to be assured a spot in this class.  
 
A home study workbook will be sent to you after your registration is received.  Please plan to read 
through it, and we will go over the most important points in class.  After completion of the 
classroom instruction, the field exercise we have planned for you, and successful testing, you will 
be issued a hunter safety certificate. 
 
If you have questions, please contact Jane Gordon gordonja@michigan.gov 517-641-4903 
 

IMPORTANT 

• You must take hunter safety if you were born after January 1, 1960.  
• A hunter safety certificate or previous hunting license is required to purchase any 

Michigan hunting license.  
• Hunters anticipating an out-of-state hunting trip need to obtain a certificate prior to their 

trip; most states require hunters to carry their certificate when hunting and need it to 
purchase a license. 

This hunter safety course is NOT the equivalent of a specific gun safety course and does NOT 
meet the requirements for concealed weapons permits.  Visit the Michigan State Police Web 
site for information on concealed weapons’ permits. 

 
Please DO NOT bring a firearm or bow to this class – equipment will be provided for your use. 

mailto:gordonja@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,1607,7-123-1591_3503_4654---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,1607,7-123-1591_3503_4654---,00.html
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Michigan Department of Natural Resources 

HUNTER SAFETY CLASS 2009 

REGISTRATION 
This information is required by authority of the Michigan  

Department of Natural Resources for participation consideration. 

   

 

• REGISTER EARLY! 

• FIRST REGISTERED – FIRST ENROLLED! 

   
 WHERE -  CAPTIAL AREA SPORTSMEN’S LEAGUE 

    7534 OLD RIVER TRAIL 
    LANSING, MI 48917 

    TELEPHONE 517-676-2290 

  

WHEN - SATURDAY, AUGUST 15, 2009  

   ARRIVE:  9:00 a.m.   

   DEPART: 4:00 p.m. 

 

  
REGISTRATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED BY TELEPHONE, FAX OR AT WORKSHOP! 

Print or type.  Use separate Registration for each registrant; photocopy for additional registrants.   
Name Are you 18 years of age or older? 

No       Yes 
Telephone 

(          ) 
Address Email 

City, State, ZIP Do you have special accommodation needs (If yes, please state.) 
No  Yes 

 

• Workshop cost is $10 and includes all instruction, ammunition, and clay targets. 

• Please bring a sack lunch and beverage. 

• Classes will be held outside; dress appropriately for the weather.  WORKSHOP WILL GO RAIN OR SHINE. 

• Cancellation deadline is August 5, 2009. 

 
CERTIFICATION 

I certify that all the information I have provided is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge, I have read and 
understand the information contained herein; I recognize and understand that the program involves some risks and I take 
responsibility for all action or injury that may result from participation, and I release the State of Michigan, and its agents 
and instructors, from any and all liability for any such injuries. 

    
 Signature  Date 

FOR DNR USE ONLY 
INDEX - 28310 PCA - 97300 AOBJ - 9175 Make check or money order payable to “State of Michigan” and 

send with completed and signed Registration to: 

CASHIER’S OFFICE 
MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
PO BOX 30028 
LANSING MI  48909 

PR5043 (Rev. 05/072009)

 

 


