Michigan Department of Natural Resources - Forest Resources Division

COMMERCIAL FOREST SUMMARY
(Parts 511 of Act 451, P.A. 1994, as amended)

Commercial Forest (CF) program provides a property tax incentive to private landowners to retain and manage
forestland for long-term timber production. It is a voluntary program; participating landowners may withdraw from
the program at any time. The CF program is administered by the Michigan Department of Natural Resources
(DNR).

Benefit to the Landowner

e Landowners do not pay ad valorem general
property taxes. Instead, landowners pay a

Timber Management
e Land must meet site productivity requirements.
e Newly planted trees must have survived through

specific tax. The CF specific rate for 2017-2021 is
$1.30 per acre annually. The specific rate
increases 5 cents every 5 years.

The State of Michigan makes an annual payment
to the County Treasurer equal to the specific rate
on behalf of the landowner.

General Information

Listed land must be devoted to commercial forest
management.

A minimum of 40 contiguous forested acres must
be available for listing.

The landowner must have a forest management
plan written by a registered forester or natural
resources professional. The plan must describe
how the listed land will be managed and include a
schedule of treatments, such as reforestation and
timber harvesting.

Cutting, harvesting, and the removal of forest
products are allowed, if prescribed in the
landowner’s forest management plan and upon
prior written notice to the DNR.

Deposits of oil and gas may be removed upon
application to and approval by the DNR.

While exploration of minerals is permitted, an
owner must withdraw that portion of forestland
affected by removal of any commercial mineral.

Sand and gravel may be removed from CF land
under limited circumstances after application to
and approval by the DNR.

Listed land must be open to the public for fishing,
hunting, and trapping (foot access).
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two growing seasons before the planted land can
be considered for listing.

Landowners must notify the DNR in writing 30
days prior to any cutting, harvesting, or removal
of forest products on listed land.

All  timber management, tree cutting, and
reforestation on listed lands must be done
according to the written forest management plan
in effect for those lands. A violation of the plan is
also a violation of the CF statute (Part 511,
Commercial Forests, of the Natural Resources
and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451,
as amended).

Some Restrictions/Limitations
e Listed

land cannot be used for agriculture,
mineral extraction, grazing, industry, developed
recreation, residences, resorts, commercial
purposes, or developmental purposes.

e Land managed for Christmas trees is not eligible.
Other Information
e If the landowner’'s CF specific tax is not paid on

listed lands each year, those lands may be sold
at tax sale and the DNR may remove the land
from the program.

Any document that transfers title to CF land must
state that the land is subject to the CF statute.

When title transfers occur on CF land, the County
Equalization Office is responsible for notifying the
DNR within 30 days of being notified of the
ownership change.

A landowner who has acquired land that is listed
in the CF program is responsible for being in
compliance with the CF statute, or for
withdrawing the land from the CF program.
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COMMERCIAL FOREST SUMMARY

How to Apply

Application forms are available from the DNR and at:
www.michigan.gov/commercialforest

Landowners should discuss their land with a DNR
Forester before applying to list the land.

A complete application must be postmarked no
later than April 1, to be considered for listing the
following tax year. A non-refundable application
fee must be submitted with the list application form.
The fee for listing 200 acres or less is $200. The fee
for listing 201 acres or more is $1.00 per acre or
fraction of an acre, up to a maximum of $1,000.

Landowners must provide a written forest
management plan and certify such a plan exists
and is in effect.

Landowners must certify to ownership of timber
rights.

Landowners must provide a copy of the recorded
deed or recorded land contract evidencing
ownership of the land to be listed.

A complete application includes:
o Application Form
o Application Fee
o Forest Management Plan
o Forest Management Plan Certification
o Recorded Deed

How to Withdraw

Withdrawal application forms are available from the
DNR and at: www.michigan.gov/commercialforest

A withdrawal application fee must be submitted
with the application form. The fee for withdrawing
200 acres or less is $200. The fee for withdrawing
201 acres or more is $1.00 per acre, up to a
maximum of $1,000.

A copy of the recorded deed or recorded land
contract, evidencing ownership of the land to be
withdrawn, must also be included.

A withdrawal penalty will be assessed. Using the
formula in the CF statute, the DNR will calculate
the withdrawal penalty and instruct the landowner
to pay the withdrawal penalty to the township
treasurer, after receipt and processing of the
application.
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Violations of the Statute

Violations of the CF statute may be misdemeanors or
felonies subject to a fine and/or imprisonment.
Harvesting, cutting, or removing forest products in
violation of the CF statute, and having a value of
more than $2,500.00, is a felony subject to a fine

and/or imprisonment.

Information and Forms

All requests for applications or information should be

directed to:

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
FOREST RESOURCES DIVISION
COMMERCIAL FOREST

P.O. BOX 30452

LANSING, MI 48909-9845

TELEPHONE 517-284-5849

Disclaimer

The information in this document is a brief summary.
The CF statute, applications, and forms are available
upon request and on the DNR’s website at
www.michigan.gov/commercialforest
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