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STATE OF MICHIGAN

GRETCHEN WHITMER DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS ORLENE HAWKS
GOVERNOR LANSING DIRECTOR

MICHIGAN BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS
RULES COMMITTEE WORK GROUP
MEETING MINUTES
SEPTEMBER 28, 2020

The Michigan Board of Barber Examiners, Rules Work Group, met on September 28,
2020. The meeting was held via Zoom.

CALL TO ORDER
De’Angelo Smith, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.
ATTENDANCE

Members Present: De’Angelo Smith, Chairperson
Jeffrey Jenson

Members Absent: None

Staff Present: Kimmy Catlin, Board Support, Board and Committees Section
Dena Marks, Policy Analyst, Board and Committees Section

Public Present: None
RULES DISCUSSION - A copy of the current rules is attached to this document.

Marks explained the timeline and process for rule promulgation. Marks informed the
Committee that the definitions have been updated.

Rule 40
Marks presented the proposed rule.

Smith requested that the student be required to complete safety and sanitation training
at the barber college.

Jenson disagreed with Smith.

Marks stated that a joint meeting will be held with the Cosmetology Rules Committee
Work Group to ensure there is an agreement on the proposed language.
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ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:25 a.m.

Prepared by:
Kimmy Catlin, Board Support
Bureau of Professional Licensing
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DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
DIRECTOR'S OFFICE
BARBERS -- GENERAL RULES
Filed with the secretary of state on

These rules take effect immediately upon filing with the secretary of state unless adopted
under section 33, 44, or 45a(6) of the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA
306, MCL 24.233, 24.244, or 24.245a. Rules adopted under these sections become
effective 7 days after filing with the secretary of state.

(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and regulatory
affairs by section sections 205, 308, 1110, and 1112 of the occupational code, 1980 PA
299, MCL 339.205, 339.308, 339.1110, and 339.1112, Executive Reorganization Order
Nos. 1991-9, 1996-2, 2003-1, and 2011-4, MCL 338.501, 445.2001, MEE 445.2011, and
MEL 445.2030.)

R 339.6031 of the Michigan Administrative Code is amended, and R 339.6002, R
339.6022, R 339.6023, and R 339.6040 are added, as follows:

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

R 339.6002 Definitions.
Rule 2. (1) As used in these rules:
(a) "Act" means the occupational code, 1980 PA 299, MCL 339.101 to 339.2677.
(b) “Department” means the department of licensing and regulatory affairs.
(2) Terms that are defined in the act have the same meaning when used in these
rules.

PART 2. LICENSES

R 339.6022 Licensure by endorsement; substantially equal requirements;
substituted experience; training obtained outside the United States.

Rule 22. (1) An individual who is licensed or registered as a barber in another
state, jurisdiction, or country may apply for a barber license by endorsement under
this rule.

(2) An applicant for licensure by endorsement, in addition to meeting all the
requirements under section 1108 of the act, MCL 339.1108, shall submit an
application on a form provided by the department, pay the required fee, and satisfy
all of the following requirements:

(a) Hold or have held in good standing a license or registration as a barber for at
least 1 of the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application.
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(b) Provide proof of any name change, if the name on the application does not
match the name shown on the submitted documents.

(c) Demonstrate that the licensure or registration requirements of the state,
jurisdiction, or country in which he or she is authorized to perform barber services
are substantially equal to the requirements for licensure under the act and these
rules.

(3) The requirements of another state, jurisdiction, or country are considered
substantially equal to the requirements for a barber license in this state if both of
the following conditions are satisfied:

(a) The state, jurisdiction, or country required an applicant to pass 1 or more
examinations that tested barber theory and practical application that are
substantially equal to the theory and practical application examinations for
licensure in Michigan.

(b) The state, jurisdiction, or country required an applicant to receive not less
than 1,800 hours of prelicensure training or not less than ___ years of prelicensure
training as an apprentice.

(4) If the applicant’s prelicensure training or apprenticeship does not satisfy the
requirements of subrule (3)(b) of this rule, pursuant to section 1108(3) of the act,
MCL 339.1108, the hours of prelicensure training required under the act and these
rules may be substituted with barber or barber apprentice experience at a ratio of
100 hours of training for each 3 months of barber or barber apprentice experience.
To receive credit, the applicant shall attest on a form provided by the department
that he or she worked as a barber or barber apprentice for a period of time equal to
the number of hours of training required for licensure.

(a) An applicant who received education, training, or experience outside the
United States shall have documentation provided directly to the department from
the educational institution, apprenticeship, or employer verifying his or her
education, training, and experience. Documentation that is provided in a language
other than English must include a copy in English that is translated and notarized
by an embassy or professional translation service.

(b) If the educational, apprenticeship, or work experience records are
unavailable from the country in which an applicant received his or her education,
training, or experience, he or she may not substitute experience for any of the hours
of prelicensure training concerning safety and sanitation, or laws, rules, or
regulations. To receive credit for other required prelicensure training hours, the
applicant shall provide both of the following:

(i) A notarized affidavit stating the total number of years of education,
apprenticeship, or barber experience he or she has completed. The affidavit shall
include the name of each school he or she attended and the degree or training he or
she received, including the courses taken and grades received, and if applicable, the
names of each former employer or apprenticeship supervisor.

(ii) A notarized statement from a government official of the country in which
the records are unavailable attesting to the unavailability of his or her records.

(5) Each state, jurisdiction, or country in which the applicant holds or has ever
held a license or registration as a barber shall verify that the applicant’s license or



registration is currently in good standing or was in good standing just prior to its
lapse.

R 339.6023 Relicensure requirements.

Rule 23. (1) An applicant whose license has lapsed for less than 3 years after the
expiration date of the last license may be relicensed under section 411(3) of the act,
MCL 339.411, after submitting a completed application on a form provided by the
department and the required fee.

(2) An applicant whose license has lapsed for 3 or more years after the expiration
date of the last license may be relicensed under section 411(4) of the act, MCL
339.411, after submitting a completed application on a form provided by the
department, the required fee, and satisfying either of the following requirements:

(a) Pass the examination required for licensure pursuant to section 1108(1)(d) of
the act, MCL 339.1108.

(b) Establish that he or she has an active barber license in good standing in
another state.

PART 3. SANITATION

R 339.6031 Premises.

Rule 31. (1) All premises used by a licensee must be maintained in a clean, safe, and

sanitary condition. The premises must be free from all of the following:

(a) Dust.

(b) Mold.

(c) Mildew.

(d) Insects.

(e) Rodents.

(f) Vermin.

(g) Other sources of contamination or potential causes of health or safety hazards or
nuisances.

(2) Floors, walls, ceilings, fixtures, furnishings, and work surfaces must be kept clean.
Open windows and doors must be screened to prevent the entry of insects. Waste
containers must be kept closed with a lid or hinged-door and emptied when full and at
least once every 24 hours. Waste containers must be cleaned and disinfected at least once
every 24 hours unless lined with a plastic bag that is disposed of each time the waste
container is emptied.

(3) Equipment and supplies for barbering use must be stored separately from storage for
any other purpose. Soiled or used towels or rubbish must not be allowed to accumulate on
the premises or in adjacent areas. Used towel and rubbish storage must not be adjacent to
storage for clean supplies. Covered containers or cabinets must be provided for clean
supplies that are not wrapped for sanitation.

(4) Toilet facilities must be furnished on the premises unless public toilet facilities are
reasonably available.

(5) Licensed premises must have stationary washbasins located within the licensed

premises. Effeetive180-days-afterthe promuleation-of thisrale-washbasins Washbasins

used to satisfy the sanitation requirements of these rules must not be in a restroom or out



of view of the work area where services are performed. Each basin must be connected to
a pressurized water system with hot and cold running water and with adequate provision
for drainage and disposal of waste into a public disposal system or septic tank.

(6) Licensed premises must be in compliance with all regulations of the political
subdivision in which they are located and with state and federal building codes, health
regulations, and fire safety regulations.

PART 4. BARBER COLLEGES

R 339.6040 Substitution of hours for credits earned in Michigan-licensed
cosmetology school; prohibition on safety and sanitation hours; substantially similar
criteria and determination; notice to department.

Rule 40. (1) Pursuant to section 1110(6) of the act, MCL 339.1110, a barber
college may allow a student who is a Michigan-licensed cosmetologist to substitute
up to 1,000 hours of substantially similar instruction obtained from a Michigan-
licensed cosmetology school for hours of instruction required by the barber college.

(2) The barber college shall not permit hours of prelicensure cosmetology training
concerning safety and sanitation to be substituted in the barber student’s
curriculum.

(3) In determining if an hour of instruction earned from a Michigan-licensed
cosmetology school is substantially similar and may be substituted for required
instruction in the barber student’s curriculum, the barber college may consider all
of the following:

(a) The student’s cosmetology school transcript.

(b) The student’s scores on examinations.

(¢) The cosmetology school’s course descriptions.

(d) The student’s performance on an examination conducted by the barber
college that tests the student’s theory and practical knowledge.

(4) The barber college shall determine the number of substantially similar
instruction hours that will be substituted for hours of required instruction in the
student’s barber college curriculum before the student begins his or her barber
college program.

(5) The barber college shall notify the department of the number of substantially
similar hours it permitted the student to substitute in the student’s barber college
curriculum.



