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Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Health Care Services
- Board of Acupuncture

*L PO Box 30670

' Lansing, Ml 48909

(517) 335-0918
ACUPUNCTURIST RE-REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS

www.michigan.gov/healthlicense
* Please read application instructions carefully and answer all questions completely.
Failure to do so may cause a delay in your application process.*

. You must complete and submit the application for registration with the appropriate fee, as well as arrange
for supporting documents to be sent to the Michigan Board of Acupuncture.

. Applicants for registration of a Michigan health professional license or registration that has been expired
more than 3 years are required to submit fingerprints and undergo a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
Fingerprints must be taken using the Customer ID number and instructions provided in the Application
Confirmation letter that will be sent when your license application and fee are processed. Do not have your
fingerprints taken prior to receiving your Customer ID number.

. Arrange for a verification and/or certification to be sent directly to the Michigan Board from any state or
province where you currently hold or have ever held a permanent license or registration. Copies of licenses
are not acceptable.

. Arrange for the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) to
provide official verification of your current certified diplomate status in Acupuncture or Oriental Medicine. The
official written verification must be submitted directly from NCCAOM. You may contact NCCAOM via their
website: www.nccaom.org. The NCCAOM verification form is included in this application packet.

Please Note:

An application submitted with the appropriate fee is valid for two years from the date it is received.
If an applicant fails to complete the requirements for licensure within the two year period following
the date of application, the application will become invalid.
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LARA/REL-400  (04/15) Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

FOR BOARD USE ONLY
License Number:

Issue Date:

Bureau of Health Care Services

Health Professions Licensing Division

PO Box 30670
Lansing, MI 48909

(517) 335-0918
www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE

| am applying for the following:

[ ] Acupuncturist Re-Registration Fee: $295.00 [ 71-5401-06 ]

Your check or money order drawn on a U.S. financial institution and made payable to the STATE OF MICHIGAN must accompany this
application. DO NOT SEND CASH. Fees are deposited upon receipt and can only be refunded under refund rules promulgated by the

Department.

1. Demographic Information

First Name: Middle Name: Last Name:

U.S. Social Security #: Birth Date:

Street Address: Apt/Bldg #:
City: State: Zip Code:
Country:

Phone Number:

Email Address:

[] Yes
Has your Michigan health professional license been lapsed more than three years? |:| No
Health Professional Permanent
ID/License Number: Expiration Date:
[] Yes
Have you ever been known under any other name? N
If yes, list name(s): D 0
[] Yes
Will documents be received in any other name? N
If yes, list name(s): [] No
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LARA/REL-400 (04/15)

Full Name:

2. Personal Data Questions

1. Have you ever been convicted of a felony? D Yes
O o
If yes, please explain
2. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for a maximum term of |:| Yes
2 years? |:| No
If yes, please explain
3. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor involving the illegal delivery, possession, or use of D Yes
alcohol or a controlled substance (including motor vehicle violations)? I:l N
0
If yes, please explain
4. Have you had 3 or more malpractice settlements, awards, or judgements in any consecutive |:| Yes
5 year period? D \
0
If yes, please explain
5. Have you had one or more malpractice settlements, awards, or judgements totaling $200,000 in any I:l Yes
consecutive 5 year period? |:| No
If yes, please explain
6. Have you ever been fined, denied, revoked, suspended, reprimanded, placed on probation,
otherwise disciplined, or the subject of a final adverse action by a licensure, registration, D Yes
disciplinary or certification board as a holder of or applicant for, a license or registration
regulated by this state, another state or territory of the United States, the United States |:| No

military, the federal government, or another country?

If yes, please explain

7. Have you ever been censured, or requested to withdraw from a health care facility's staff or had your

health care staff privileges involuntarily modified? ves

[]
|:|No

If yes, please explain

8. Have you ever been treated for substance abuse in the past 2 years? D

If yes, please explain

Note: If you answered "yes" to any of the questions in Section 2 (questions 1-8), you must provide a detailed explanation with
copies of all available official and/or court documents related to your explanation along with your application. If you do not
provide the explanation, your application will be deemed incomplete and processing will be delayed.
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LARA/REL-400 (04/15)

Full Name:

3. Professional Education

Address of Certificate/Diploma/Degree
Name of Institution Institution Graduation Date Granted

3. License(s) in Other State(s) and/or Province(s)

Do you hold or have you ever held a permanent health professional license, certification, or |:| Yes

registration in any state or province? If yes, list each state or province, the license or |:| No
registration number, the date issued and how the license was obtained

(either examination or endorsement). DO NOT LIST TEMPORARY/LIMITED LICENSES.

(Attach additional sheets if necessary.)

Permanent License/ Number of Years Expiration How Obtained
State/Country Registration Number Date of Issue Licensed Date (Exam or Endorsement)

4. CERTIFICATION

| understand that it is the policy of this agency to secure a criminal conviction history as part of the pre-licensure screening
process. | authorize this agency to use the information provided in this application to obtain a criminal conviction history file
search from the Central Records Division of the Michigan Department of State Police, law enforcement, or judicial record-

keeping organization.

| further consent to the release of information to this agency regarding any disciplinary investigations conducted by a similar
licensure, registration, or specialty certification board of this or any other state, of the United States military, of the federal
government, or of another country.

The statements in this application are true and correct. | have not withheld information that might affect the decision to be
made on this application. In signing this application, | am aware that a false statement or dishonest answer may be grounds
for denial of my application or revocation of my license and that such misrepresentation is punishable by law.

Signature of Applicant Date

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin,
color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you
may make your needs known to this agency.
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Mational Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM®)

Please submit this for to hawe NC " forward your exam results andior certification verification to your

State Licensing Board.

Exam Results and Certification Verification Form
(as required for State Licensure Application)

« MCCA

» NCCAOM® processes requests once all state required information is completed. Please check the state
reguirements on NCCAOM®™s website under Site Map.
» |tis your responsibility to contact your state for information on current licensure requirements, including the
reguirements for a CHT Cerificate.
» The processing fee covers all required exams andfor certification verification sent to one statelagency.
« Standard ssing ime is 7-10 business days.
will hold your request for § months. I you have not met the state requirements within this time frame
your reguest will be shredded and you must resubmit this fomm.

Personal Information

Payment Information

Mame: Candidate |D {Optonal):
Address;
Tigr: State: Ep
Phone: Fax
Emai (Reguired): Birth Date:
Please send this report to:
StatelAgency Name (Required):
Address;
Tigr: State: Ep
Fee Schedule _
m Curmrent Candidate for Certification
A canididate for cenification Is @n Indhvidal who has aoplied for ceriification In the |ast 4 years bat has nod yet besn certified.
O Certified Diplomate $35
A ceriified Dipiomaie 5 an individual wha holds: active stabus with MCCACM®,
O Inactive Diplomate
An Inaciive Diplomate Is an Individual who has applied for and cumently holds Inactive siabus.
O Lapsed Diplomate
A |apsed Diglomate Is an Individual whose NCCAOM® cariification 16 explred for up o 3 years.
O

A non Dipiomate Is: (1) an Individual who has taken NCCAOM® examinations administered frough 3 state lieensing board
for the purposes of lcensre but has never applied for NCCAOM® cerffication {2) an Individual whose NCCAOM®

caniification Is red for 3 o maore or (3] an individual whose apolication for certification nas L

_F‘ayment 'I-'ype{'l'_‘-henl: Onel:
] Check or Money Onder [ MasterCard Ovisa
*Maka checkimoney order payable to NCCAOM®
Credit Card Mumber: Expration Late:
Card Hodders Mame: Billing Zip Code:
Card Holders Signature:
NCCcAOM®
Submit this form with payment to: TE South Laura Street, Suite 1290

Jacksonville, FL 32202

(804 582-5001

IF PAYING WITH CREDIT CARD, YOU MAY FAX THIS FORM TO




Please print out the Application (Pages 4-6), The NCCAOM Verification form (page 7, if applicable). Sign and
date your application, and submit the application along with any supporting documentation and with your check or
money order made payable to the "State of Michigan" to:

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Health Care Services
Board of Acupuncture
PO Box 30670
Lansing, Ml 48909

Complete the personal information section of the NCCAOM verification form and send it to NCCOM.
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APPLICATION CHECKLIST

(J Application Fee: Submit a check or money order drawn on a U.S. financial institution and made payable to
the STATE OF MICHIGAN.

(J 1. Demographic Information: Social Security Number: Please list only a United States Social Security
number.

Name: List your full name: first, middle and last name. If your name changes after you apply, you must submit a
name change to the Bureau of Health Care Services in writing along with legal documentation within 30 days.

Birth Date: Provide the month, day and year of your birth.

Address: List the address we should use to send any information about your license. Be sure to include the city,
state, zip code, and country. This will be your permanent address with the Bureau of Health Care Services. If
your address changes, you must notify us in writing within 30 days.

Phone: Enter a telephone number where you can be reached in case we have questions about your application.

E-mail: Enter your e-mail address. E-mail is a quick way our office can communicate with you about your
application.

Other Name(s): Indicate whether you have been known by any other names.
(J 2. Personal Data Questions: All applicants must answer the same personal data questions. If you answer
"yes" to any questions in this section, you must submit a detailed explanation with your application. If you do not

provide this information, your application will be deemed incomplete and processing will be delayed.

(3 3. Professional Education: List your current or completed professional school. Indicate degree/certificate/
diploma earned. List graduation and/or anticipated graduation date.

(3 4. License in Other State(s) and/or Province(s): List all states/provinces where you have held an
acupuncturist license or registration. Indicate method of licensure - examination or endorsement.

(J 5. Certification: You must sign and date your application for it to be valid. By signing the application you are
indicating that you have read and understood the certification section.
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TOP THINGS APPLICANTS SHOULD KNOW

. NOTE: If you have ever been licensed in another state and you have a current disciplinary sanction on that
license (even if the license is inactive), you are not eligible for licensure in Michigan according to the Public
Health Code, PA 368, as amended, Section 333.16174 (2). Sanctions include probation, limitation,
suspension, revocation, or fine. Upon resolution of the sanction and verification that the license is active
with no disciplinary action in effect, you can proceed with the filing of an application for a Michigan license or
registration.

. Read the entire application before submitting it and DO NOT send the checklist to the Board of Acupuncture
office.

. Applications and mail are processed as quickly as possible in date-received order.

. Please allow time to process your application before you call or email our office to check on the status.
Applications may take up to 2 weeks to reach our office. Applications with fees are first processed through our
central mailroom then through our payment processing office.

. Mail, including mail sent overnight, is first received by our central mailroom prior to reaching the Board.
. Supporting documentation will not be accepted if faxed into our office.

. SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS: If you require special testing accommodations because of a disability, you
must submit a letter that indicates what your disability is and what type of accommodations you are
requesting. We also require that you send us a letter from a licensed health care provider that clearly states
your diagnosis and includes copies of all supporting test findings and/or evaluations. In addition, you should
send us documentation from your educational program that describes the accommodations provided to you
during your education. These documents need to be submitted with your application, if not earlier, to:
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services, Board of Acupuncture,

ATTN: ADA Request, PO Box 30670, Lansing, Ml 48909.

. REFUND POLICY: If you wish to withdraw your application, you must notify the Board of Acupuncture
in writing to request a partial refund.

. If your name and/or address changes please notify the Board of Acupuncture in writing within 30 days.

To change a name or address, you can download the Data Change/Duplicate License Request Form from our
website at www.michigan.gov/healthlicense and fax it to (517) 335-2044 ATTN: Applications Section or mail the
form to: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services, Board of Acupuncture,

Applications Section, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI 48909. Telephone calls are NOT accepted for these changes.
After your license is issued, you can change your address online at www.michigan.gov/elicense.
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GLOSSARY/DEFINITION OF TERMS

ENDORSEMENT Application made by an individual who holds an active
license in another state with licensure requirements
substantially equivalent to Michigan requirements.

EXAMINATION Application made by an individual who must take and pass
an examination in order to become licensed in Michigan.

LAPSED LICENSE A lapsed license is a license that is no longer active. A
license becomes inactive when it is not renewed upon the
expiration date printed on the license.

RECIPROCITY Process by which an individual could possibly become
licensed in Michigan through a reciprocity agreement with
another state board. Michigan does not have a reciprocity
agreement with any other state.

REINSTATEMENT The process in which a disciplinary, suspended or revoked
license has not lapsed is reactivated by the Board.

RELICENSURE The application process in which a licensee must apply to
reactivate a lapsed or lapsed suspended license.

RENEWAL Process to maintain active licensure status at the end of each
renewal cycle.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q. How long will it take to process my application?

Applications and mail are processed as quickly as possible in date-received order. Applications with fees
are first processed through our central mailroom then through our payment processing office.

Q. What do | do if | forgot to include my payment with my application?

Please submit the fee along with a copy of your application and a letter indicating that you failed to
submit the required payment with your previous application. Mail to: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs,
Bureau of Health Care Services, Board of Acupuncture, PO Box 30670, Lansing, Ml 489009.

Q. How do I check on the status of my application?

Within approximately three weeks of mailing your application to our office, you should receive an

Application Confirmation letter containing your customer number. You may use your customer number
to check the status of your application at www.michigan.gov/appstatus.

Q. If I have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor will it stop me from being licensed?

We ask that you submit your application, fee and information regarding the occurrence. The Board will
review your file and make a decision at that time. Please keep in mind that we do take into consideration
the type of conviction, the age that you were when the incident occurred and the time that has elapsed
since the conviction.

Q. How long is my license valid?

The initial license is good for a partial licensure cycle and will expire on the upcoming September 30
renewal date. Each subsequent license will cover a full two-year cycle.
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WEBSITES:

WEBSITES AND LINKS

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Bureau of Health Care Services
Health Professions Licensing Division
Michigan Board of Acupuncture Rules
Michigan Public Health Code
Application Status

Verify a Health Professional License

Renewal Website

www.michigan.gov/lara

www.michigan.gov/bhcs

www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

www.michigan.gov/healthlicense

www.michigan.gov/appstatus

www.michigan.gov/verifylicense

www.michigan.gov/elicense

LINKS:
National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) WWW.nccaom.org
Identogo www.identogo.com
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