
 

 

STATE OF MICHIGAN 
 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

 
* * * * * 

 

In the matter of 
The Provisions of Administrative Rule R 436.1047 ) 
Regarding Placing A License Into Escrow ) 
During Coronavirus State-of-Emergency ) 
 ) 
 

 At the March 31, 2020 meeting of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission 

(Commission) in Lansing, Michigan. 

 

PRESENT: Pat Gagliardi, Chair 
Dennis Olshove, Commissioner  

     Geralyn A. Lasher, Commissioner 
 

ADMINSTRATIVE ORDER NO. 2020-11 
THE PROVISIONS OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULE R 436.1047 REGARDING PLACING A 

LICENSE INTO ESCROW DURING THE CORONAVIRUS STATE OF EMERGENCY 

 

Article IV, Section 40, of the Michigan Constitution (1963), permits the legislature 

to establish a Liquor Control Commission, which shall exercise complete control of the 

alcoholic beverage traffic within this state, including the retail sales thereof, subject to 

statutory limitations.  MCL 436.1201(2) provides the Commission with the sole right, 

power, and duty to control the alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in other alcoholic liquor 

within this state, including the manufacture, importation, possession, transportation and 

sale thereof. 

Based on the ongoing emergency posed by the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), 

Governor Whitmer issued Executive Order 2020-9 on March 16, 2020, directing all places 

of public accommodation to close, including “bars, taverns, brew pubs, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, tasting rooms, special licensees, clubs, and other 

places of public accommodation offering alcoholic beverages for on-premises 

consumption.”  On March 22, 2020, that order was rescinded and replaced with Executive 
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Order 2020-20, which extended the closing of places of public accommodation for on-

premises consumption until April 13, 2020. Executive Order 2020-20 also directs the 

Commission to “issue orders and directives and take other actions pursuant to law as 

necessary to implement this order.”  The Governor subsequently issued Executive Order 

2020-21, “direct[ing] residents to remain at home or in their place of residence to the 

maximum extent feasible.” 

 Due to the ongoing emergency, which has closed places of public accommodation 

to the public and directed residents to stay home as much as feasible, the Commission 

finds that many licensees may not be able to continue active operation of their licensed 

businesses for extended periods during the state of emergency.  Under Mich Admin 

Code, R 436.1047, a licensee that ceases active operation for more than 30 days must 

place its license into escrow with the Commission. 

 Due to the extraordinary circumstances created by the state of emergency, and to 

fully implement Executive Order 2020-20, the Commission finds that the phrase “ceases 

active operation” in administrative rule R 436.1047 does not apply to licensees that have 

closed because of the current Executive Orders.  Thus, the Commission finds that any 

licensee that does not actively operate for more than 30 days because of Executive 

Orders related to COVID-19 is not required to place its license into escrow.  A licensee 

that is closed due to the COVID-19 emergency, but does not place its license into escrow 

pursuant to this order, must still maintain active proof of financial responsibility (liquor 

liability insurance), as required in MCL 436.1803.  

 

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

A. The phrase “ceases active operation” in administrative rule R 436.1047 does 

not apply to licensees that have closed because of Executive Orders 2020-5, 

2020-9, and 2020-20, and 2020-21 or any subsequent Executive Order placing 

the same requirements on places of public accommodation or Michigan 

residents.  Therefore, such licensees are not required to place their licenses 

into escrow if they have been closed for more than 30 days. 

B. A licensee closed for more than 30 days because of Executive Orders 2020-5, 

2020-9, 2020-20, or 2020-21 or any subsequent Executive Order placing the 
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same requirements on places of public accommodation or Michigan residents 

must maintain active proof of financial responsibility (liquor liability insurance), 

as required in MCL 436.1803, if it does not place its license into escrow. 

C. This order is effective immediately and will remain effective until 30 days 

following the expiration of the previously mentioned Executive Orders or any 

subsequent Executive Order placing the same requirements on places of public 

accommodation or Michigan residents, whichever is later.   

 

 MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 
 

  

 Pat Gagliardi, Chairman 
 

 

 
 Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 

 
 

 
 Geralyn A. Lasher, Commissioner 
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