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Bureau of Professional Licensing 

Athletic Trainer FAQs 

1. How long are Athletic Trainer licenses valid?  Can I renew my license early?  
How will I know when I need to renew? 

Your initial Athletic Trainer license is good for 3 years.  All subsequent AT renewals 
will also be valid for 3 years.  

 You will be mailed and emailed a renewal notification postcard to your mailing and 
email addresses on record approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of your 
license. Remember to notify the Department of any address change by submitting a 
MiPLUS modification.  It is your responsibility as a licensed health professional to 
renew your license on time.  Failure to receive the renewal postcard or email 
notification, or to notify to Department of an address change does not exempt 
you from renewing your license on time.

 You can renew online by logging into your MiPLUS account at 
http://www.michigan.gov/MiPLUS.  You may pay your renewal fee by using a debit 
or credit card containing a Discover, MasterCard, American Express, or Visa logo.   

2. Can I provide Athletic Training in Michigan with only BOC certification? 

Michigan law requires a license to practice athletic training. BOC certification does 
not satisfy this requirement. 

3. Can I apply for my Athletic Trainer license before I get my BOC certification? 

Yes, but the license will not be issued until proof of BOC certification is received. 

4. Do I have to send in proof of completing the continuing education (CE) 
requirements with my renewal application?

An applicant for renewal is not required to submit proof of completion of their CE hours. 
However, an applicant for renewal shall retain documentation of meeting the 
requirements for a period of 4 years from the date of applying for license renewal.  If 
selected for audit, a licensee is required to submit copies of their documentation 
confirming the completion of the CE requirements. 

5. Am I required to maintain BOC certification to renew my license? 

BOC certification is not a requirement for license renewal.  However, some employers 
require BOC certification for employment.  Licensees are encouraged to confirm their 
employer’s requirements. 

http://www.michigan.gov/MiPLUS
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Please note: Current BOC certification is required for relicensure. 

6. Do I have to take CE to maintain my BOC certification? Can I use that CE for 
my license renewal? 

The 75 CE hours required to maintain BOC certification may be used toward the 75 
CE hours required to renew a Michigan license.  A licensee is required to complete 
75 CE hours during the 3-year license cycle with a minimum of three hours of CE 
relating to pain and symptom management.  Additionally, a licensee must possess 
current certification in emergency cardiac care.

7. When do I have to meet the requirements for the completion of training in 
identifying victims of human trafficking? 

Beginning with the 2019 renewal cycle, and all renewal cycles thereafter, licensees 
must have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking that meet the 
standards established in Administrative Rule 338.1303 to renew their license. 

Beginning on April 22, 2021, individuals seeking initial licensure must have 
completed human trafficking training prior to obtaining a license as an Athletic Trainer. 

Licensees, or individuals seeking licensure, must complete the training in identifying 
victims of human trafficking only one time. The Department may select an audit 
sample and request documentation of proof of completion of the training. 

8. Does my training on Identifying Victims of Human Trafficking count towards my 
CE hours?  

No. However, if the training also satisfies the Board’s requirements for CE, then the 
training may be applied toward your CE requirement. 

9. There have been changes to the Public Health Code and Administrative Rules 
that require licensees and individuals seeking licensure to complete implicit 
bias training. When does this take effect?  

Beginning June 1, 2022, completion of 2 hours of implicit bias training within the 5 
years immediately preceding issuance of the license or registration is required. 
For initial renewals completed after June 1, 2022, completion of one hour of implicit 
bias training is required for each year of licensure since June 1, 2021. Once the initial 
renewal is completed, then 1 hour of implicit bias training will be required for each year 
of the current license cycle going forward. Please note, this training must be 
completed for each renewal cycle prior to the renewal being completed. 

The Board conducts a random audit after each renewal period. At that time, a 
percentage of all licensees renewing will be randomly selected and notified by mail 
that they must submit evidence of having obtained their implicit bias training. If you 
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are selected in an audit, then you will be required to submit a copy of your implicit bias 
training documentation. (Please retain your original.) 

10. Does my Implicit Bias Training count towards my CE hours?  

If otherwise permitted by the code and rules, this training may be used to satisfy other 
training or continuing education requirements.    

11. Are Athletic Trainers from other states coming into Michigan with their teams 
required to obtain a license?

An out-of-state athletic trainer coming into Michigan with his or her team does not have 
to obtain a license if the athletic trainer will be in the state for an event that uses the 
services of athletic trainers and is in Michigan not more than 30 consecutive days. The 
out-of-state athletic trainer must either be BOC certified or licensed as an athletic 
trainer in another state. 

12. How do I file a complaint against a health care professional?

Information on how to File an Allegation Against a Health Care Licensee can be 
located on the Bureau of Professional Licensing’s website at www.michigan.gov/bpl. 

13. Where can I find a copy of the administrative rules pertaining to Athletic 
Trainers?

 You may view the current Administrative Rules on the Bureau of Professional 
Licensing’s website at www.michigan.gov/bplrules.  

http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600_73836---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
http://www.michigan.gov/bplrules

