Residential Builder or Maintenance & Alteration Contractor License or Relicense Application
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Construction Codes/ Licensing Division
P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909
517-241-9316
lara-bcc-licensing@michigan.gov

Authority: 1980 PA 299, MCL 338.3434a LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are
Penalty: Failure to provide information may result in denial of your request. | available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Note: A veteran providing satisfactory proof of separation from the armed forces of the United States under “honorable” or “general under
honorable conditions” is exempt from the initial license fee. For consideration, please attach a copy of either a DD-214, and/or DD-215 to your
application.

General Instructions:
» Mail completed application, required documents, and license fee to the address listed above. O Veteran exemption
* Copy of operator’s/driver’s license or state personal identification card (New applicants only)
¢ Non-Michigan residents must submit a Consent to Service of Process.
| have the ability and will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner. If | had a judgement of guilt in a criminal proceeding or a civil
action against me, | am rehabilitated or the substance of my former offense is not reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which
| am seeking a license.
O Yes O No

Do you have any unsatisfied penalties and conditions imposed by disciplinary action in this state or any other jurisdiction? (relicensure only)
O Yes O No

***** Any documentation submitted with your application becomes property of the State of Michigan and will not be returned.

Applicant Information

NAME (First, Middle, Last) DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
BUSINESS ADDRESS (Not a PO Box) CITY STATE ZIP CODE
PERMANENT I.D. NUMBER TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include Area Code) E-MAIL ADDRESS

DBA (if none leave blank)

CHECK THE LICENSE TYPE | | FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

O Individual Residential Builder $19500 | (2101-01=$165.00) [ LICENSE NUMBER ISSUE DATE
(2101-15 = $ 30.00)

O New Individual Residential Builder Fee Waived

Armed Forces Veteran (see required additional documents)

O Individual Residential Builder Relicensure $185.00 | (2101-06 =$170.00)
(2101-15 = $ 15.00)

O Individual Maintenance & Alteration Contractor $195.00 (2103-01 f $165.00)

(You must check one or more trade(s) below) (2103-15 = § 30.00)

O Carpentry (A) O House Wrecking (R)

O Concrete (B) O Screens & Storm Sash (N)

O Excavation (D) O Gutters (O)

O Roofing (M) 0O Tile & Marble (P)

O Masonry (I) O Swimming Pools (S)

O Basement Waterproofing (T) O Siding (K)
O Insulation Work (G)

O New Maintenance & Alteration Contractor Fee Waived
Armed Forces Veteran

(You must check one or more trade(s) above)

(see required additional documents)

(2103-06 = $170.00)

O Individual Maintenance & Alteration Contractor Relicensure $185.00 (2103-15 = $ 15.00)

Make your check or money order in U.S. Currency payable to: STATE OF MICHIGAN

FEES ARE AUTHORIZED BY THE STATE LICENSE FEE ACT, 1979 PA 152, AND ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.
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Have you completed the required 60 hours of approved prelicensure education consisting of at least 6 hours of courses in each of the following areas
of competency:

1) Business management, estimating, and job costing, 2) Design and building science, 3) Contracts, liability, and risk management, 4) Marketing and
sales, 5) Project management and scheduling, 6) the current Michigan residential code and Construction safety standards promulgated under the Michi-
gan occupational safety and health act, 1974 PA 154, MCL 408.1001 to 408.10947?

Yes[J No[Od

If requesting a prelicensure education waiver you will also need to submit:

» An affidavit signed by a commanding officer, supervisor, or military superior with direct knowledge of the service you have, entry-level experience in
or basic knowledge of each of the areas of prelicensure competencies.

OR

» If you meet the requirements of the armed forces exemption, but do not have entry-level experience in or basic knowledge of each of the areas of
prelicensure competencies, you may provide an affidavit signed by a commanding officer, supervisor, or military superior with direct knowledge of your
service that states in which of those areas of competency you have entry-level experience or basic knowledge. (The department may in its discretion
grant the applicant credit toward the 60-hour prelicensure education requirement based on that experience or knowledge.)

Have you served in the Armed Forces?

Yes[] No [

If you answered yes to the question above, while serving in the armed forces were you engaged in the erection, construction, replacement, repair, altera-
tion, or demolition of buildings or other structures?

Yes [] No[]

Certification

| certify that the statements in this document are true and complete. | understand that any omitted statement, misrepresentation, or fraud may be cause
for denial of my application, disciplinary action, or may be punishable by law. | agree the Department is required by law to obtain my social security
number pursuant to MCL 338.3434a.

SIGNATURE DATE
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