INRE: POWELL'S TAVERN, L.L.C.

STATE OF MICHIGAN

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS

LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

D/B/A POWELL’'S PUB PLACE: ZOOM PLATFORM

625 N HURON ST

COMPLAINT NO. CV-508896

YPSILANTI, M| 48197 BUSINESS ID NO. 132717

WASHTENAW COUNTY

CLASSC SDM SS (AM & PM)

/

CHARGES — THE LICENSEE OR THE LICENSEE’S AGENT, CLERK, OR EMPLOYEE:

)

)

On December 30, 2020, a hearing was held virtually on the zoom platform in the above-entitled
case before a duly authorized agent of the Commission, Administrative Law Judge

On December 8, 2020, Powell’'s Tavern, L.L.C., and/or employees of the licensee
engaged in an illegal occupation or illegal act upon the licensed premises, contrary to
Rule 436.1011(1), specifically: allowing indoor gatherings at a food service
establishment, contrary to sections 2(a)(2) and 3(b)(1) of the Michigan Department of
Health and Human Services Gatherings and Face Mask Order dated November 15,
2020.

On December 8, 2020, Powell’'s Tavern, L.L.C., and/or employees of the licensee
engaged in an illegal occupation or illegal act upon the licensed premises, contrary to
Rule 436.1011(1), specifically: allowing persons to participate in indoor gatherings at
the licensed premises without requiring them to wear face masks, contrary to section
7(c) of the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services Gatherings and Face
Mask Order dated November 15, 2020.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Michael J. St. John.

Petitioner, Michigan Liquor Control Commission (Petitioner, Commission, or MLCC), was
represented by Daniel Felder, Assistant Attorney General.

(Respondent or Licensee) was represented by John Shea, attorney at law.

HEARING: DECEMBER 30, 2020

ADDBAR-1 OD-SERV-2 DANCE

The Respondent Licensee
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EXHIBIT

The Petitioner offered the following exhibit which was admitted without objection:
1. Commission File
Respondent did not offer any exhibits.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on the exhibit admitted at the hearing, the following facts are found:

1. On December 8, 2020, the Licensee allowed indoor dining and had patrons indoors not
wearing masks in violation of the November 15, 2020 DHHS Emergency Order (which
was extended on December 7, 2020).

2. The Licensee was out of town and had turned over operations of the licensed
establishment to an employee who allowed indoor dining. The staff were wearing masks.

3. The Licensee has subsequently closed to indoor dining and committed to following all
executive orders and extensions. The Licensee has also retrained staff about the
importance of following all Orders.

4. The Licensee acknowledged each of the two violations and agreed that a $300 fine for
each violation for a total fine of $600 was appropriate.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The facts of this case are not disputed, and the Licensee acknowledged the charges. The
Licensee allowed indoor dining to occur on December 8, 2020 and the Commission therefore
established each of the charges by a preponderance of the evidence. The Licensee no longer
allows this conduct to occur in the licensed establishment.

ORDER
With the issuance of this Order, the summary suspension is dissolved.

In determining penalty, the Administrative Law Judge considered the Licensee’s total record,
which shows one previous violation (2003 sale to a minor) and five previous violations for
dishonored payments (one in 2007, one in 2010, and three in 2016) since being licensed on
January 31, 2002 at the above-named location under the current ownership. The Administrative
Law Judge also considers the Licensee’s acknowledgement of the mistake made, the safety
measures that were in place (outdoor dining and requiring staff to wear masks), and the
corrective actions taken to prevent future instances of indoor dining.
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In consideration of the Licensee’s acknowledgement of the mistake, as a penalty, the
Administrative Law Judge Orders a $300 fine for each of the two counts for a total fine of $600
but no further suspension of the license. The Licensee may resume alcohol sales upon receipt
of this Order.

Further, if the fine is not paid within forty-five (45) days from the mailing date of this Order, the
Administrative Law Judge Orders a suspension of thirty (30) continuous days, with this
suspension to run consecutively and not concurrently with any other suspension Ordered by the
Commission.

The Licensee is warned that further fines, suspensions, or a revocation of the Licensee’s liquor
license could result if the Licensee resumes operation in violation of the law or violates the Order
of the Commission.

MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

W) Jrbl—

Michael J. St. J6hn, Administrative Law Judge

Date Signed: December 30, 2020

Date Mailed: December 30, 2020

Daniel Felder

Assistant Attorney General
25680 W. 8 Mile Rd.
Southfield, M1 48033

John Shea

Attorney at Law

120 N. Fourth Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
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