

BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

Bureau of Professional Licensing Cosmetology FAQs

1. How can I contact the Board of Cosmetology, Licensing Division?

Email:	Questions	BPLHelp@michigan.gov
	Submit Documents	BPLData@michigan.gov
Phone:		(517) 241-9288
Mailing Address:		Bureau of Professional Licensing Board of Cosmetology PO Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909

2. What license types are available?

Cosmetologist: This is a full license granted to a qualified individual who performs or offers to perform 1 or more cosmetology services.

Electrologist: This is a license granted to a qualified individual who performs or offers to perform electrology.

Esthetician: This is a license granted to a qualified individual who performs or offers to perform skin care services.

Manicurist: This is a license granted to a qualified individual who performs or offers to perform manicuring services.

Natural Hair Culturist: This is a license granted to a qualified individual who is engaged in natural hair cultivation, but does not include an individual who is engaged in natural hair cultivation if that activity is performed as part of the practice of a recognized religion.

Cosmetology Instructor: This is a license granted to a qualified individual who teaches or offers to teach 1 or more cosmetology services in a school of cosmetology and holds an active cosmetologist license.

Limited Instructor: This is a license granted to a qualified individual who teaches or offers to teach 1 or more cosmetology services in a school of cosmetology, but does not have at least 3 years of practical experience of which at least 1 year must be in a cosmetology establishment in natural hair cultivation, hair care services, skin care services, and manicuring services.

Electrology Instructor: This is a license granted to a qualified individual who teaches or offers to teach electrology in a school of cosmetology and holds an active electrologist license.

Limited Specialist Instructor: This is a license granted to a qualified individual who teaches or offers to teach manicurist, natural hair culturist, or esthetician services in a school of cosmetology. The specialist instructor's license limits the instruction given by that individual to only the service in which he or she is licensed.

The license types above can be obtained by the following methods:

- **Examination:** You have never held a license in Michigan, or any other state and your education and training were completed in Michigan.
- ➤ **Reciprocity:** You are licensed to perform cosmetology services under the laws of another state, are applying based on qualifications acquired outside of the United States, or your education and training were completed in another state and you wish to become licensed in Michigan.
- ➤ **Relicensure:** If you have ever held a Michigan license, but your Michigan license has expired, you must apply for relicensure.

Apprentice Registration: This is a registration granted to an individual approved to participate in an apprenticeship program offered by a qualified licensed establishment.

Cosmetology Establishment: This license is granted to a person to operate a cosmetology establishment at a specific qualified establishment location to offer all cosmetology services.

Limited Cosmetology Establishment: This license is granted to a person that seeks to provide only 1 or more cosmetology services at a specific qualified establishment location.

Cosmetology School: This license is granted to a person to operate a school of cosmetology, at a specific qualified cosmetology school location.

Limited School of Cosmetology: This license is granted to the owner of a school that teaches only electrology.

3. How do I verify my Michigan Board of Cosmetology license?

Certified license verification requests must be obtained from the Michigan Board of Cosmetology. You must submit your request via the MiPLUS system. There is a \$15.00 fee for certification processing for each address you list. Please note, if you submit both a USPS mailing address and an email address for the same recipient, you will be charged \$30.00 since you have requested your certification to go to two different addresses. Normal processing time for verifications being sent by email is the same day, verifications being mailed are sent the next business day.

Please note, verification requests for school hours <u>cannot</u> be submitted via MiPLUS. If verification of school hours is needed, complete and mail the <u>Occupational Code License Verification Request</u> form to the address listed on the form along with the appropriate fee.

Licenses may also be verified online on the Bureau's License Verification website free of charge. You may need to confirm with the recipient if verifying a license on this website is acceptable or if a certified license verification is needed.

4. How long are Cosmetology license types valid?

Cosmetology license types are valid for 2 years. Cosmetology apprentice registrations do not expire and remain valid until notification of completion or termination is received by the Department, or the establishment license expires.

5. How will I know when I need to renew? Can I renew my license early?

You will be sent a renewal notification to both your mailing and email address on record approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of your license. You will not be able to renew before that time. Remember to notify the Department of any address change by submitting a MiPLUS modification. It is your responsibility as a licensed professional to renew your license on time. Failure to receive the renewal postcard, email notification, or to notify the Department of an address change does not exempt you from renewing your license on time.

You can renew online by logging into your MiPLUS account at www.michigan.gov/MiPLUS. You may pay your renewal fee by using a debit or credit card containing a Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover logo.

6. Is there a grace period for my renewal?

Yes, there is a 60-day grace period in which you may renew your license without having to go through the relicensure process. However, if you renew during the 60-day grace period, there is an additional \$20.00 late fee when you renew your license.

7. How do I file a complaint against an occupational professional?

Visit the Bureau of Professional Licensing's website at www.michigan.gov/bpl for information on how to File a Complaint Against an Occupational Licensee.

8. Where can I find a copy of the statute and administrative rules pertaining to Cosmetology?

You can access the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing (BPL) statute and administrative rules and proposed revisions on the BPL website at www.michigan.gov/bpl by selecting Laws, Rules, and Other Resources.

9. How can I change my name or address?

Name and address changes must be completed through your MiPLUS account by submitting a modification. You are required to upload supporting documentation such as a driver's license, marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order for all name changes.

When updating your name and/or address in MiPLUS you can also request to have a license mailed to you with the updated information. There is a \$10.00 fee per license to have it mailed. An email copy can be requested free of charge.

10. What happens if my establishment or school location or ownership changes?

Establishment and school licenses are issued to a specific address and owner; therefore, you must submit a new application and all other required documentation (i.e. floor plan) to obtain a new license for the new establishment or school location or owner. An address or ownership change of a licensed establishment or school voids the license and a new application for licensure is required for the new location or ownership.

11. What happens if my license expires?

A person that fails to renew their license on or before the expiration date, their license will lapse on the day after the expiration date. If your license is not renewed before the expiration date, you are permitted to renew the license within the 60-day grace period after your expiration date.

When your license lapses, you can no longer practice your profession nor can you identify yourself as a licensed individual.

It is your responsibility to make sure your license is current and valid. We send renewal information to the last address on record 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license. If we have incorrect contact information and you do not receive the renewal reminder, you are still responsible for making sure your license has been renewed timely.

12. How long will you keep my licensure application on file?

Your application and fee are valid for one year. If you fail to meet the licensure requirements within that time period, your application and fees are no longer valid.

13. If I'm licensed in more than one state do you need verification from all states I have ever held a license in?

Yes, we need verification from all states where you have ever held a license (active or inactive).

14. How long does it take to process my application for licensure? Once processed, how long before I receive my license?

Applications are reviewed in the date order received. Processing time typically varies from 6 to 8 weeks from the date your application is received. Once all the required information is submitted and accepted your license will be issued. If all licensure requirements are not met upon application review, you will receive an email requesting any outstanding items needed to complete your application. Once you are approved for licensure, it takes approximately 7 to 10 business days to receive the license by mail. Immediately upon license issuance a PDF of the license will also be sent to the email address provided on the application.

15. Can I renew my license for a shortened period if I do not need the license for the full license cycle?

No. When you renew your license, it can only be renewed for the full license cycle.

16. How can I request a reprint of my license?

You can request a reprint of your license by logging into your MiPLUS account where you will select "Modification" from your records list. There is a \$10.00 fee per license to have it mailed. An email copy can be requested free of charge.

17. Can I work in a licensed barbershop with my cosmetology license?

No. Cosmetology services can only be rendered in premises licensed by the department as a cosmetology establishment or school of cosmetology.

18. How can I contact PSI to get more information regarding my exam, registering for my exam, or to schedule my exam?

The testing vendor, PSI can be reached by telephone at 855-579-4635. You can visit their website at www.psiexams.com for information on registering and scheduling your exam. You can also download the Candidate Information Bulletin from the PSI website which contains valuable detailed examination information.

19. Can I have a translator when I take my state board examination?

Effective September 1, 2018 this service is no longer offered. PSI will continue to offer the word-to-word translation dictionary, request for a reader, or a request for a reader along with additional time. Please contact PSI at 855-579-4635 for additional information or visit their website at www.psiexams.com.

20. I have been approved by the Michigan Board of Cosmetology to test and my exam registration form was sent to PSI. Why am I not being allowed to schedule my exam with PSI?

If this is a first-time registration, the exam registration form must be mailed or faxed to PSI and allow **2 weeks** for processing of the initial application by PSI. PSI will not allow you to schedule your exam until their application processing is complete even though you have received approval by the Michigan Board of Cosmetology to test.

21. What content will be covered on my examination? Are there study materials available?

The Candidate Information Bulletins (CIB) on PSI's website contains an exam content outline. The Board of Cosmetology does not offer or endorse any specific study materials, but you are encouraged to utilize the CIB and other resources available to you on the <u>PSI website</u>.

22. Do I need a Cosmetologist license to render microblading services?

Microblading is not governed under the rules and regulations of Cosmetology. Please contact the Michigan Department of Health & Human Services for information regarding microblading at 517-335-8165 or email bodyart@michigan.gov.

23. If an apprenticeship is terminated who should report it?

The cosmetology establishment conducting the apprenticeship must report the termination of any apprentice to the Department by uploading the Certification of Termination of an Apprenticeship Training Program form along with any outstanding timesheets to their MiPLUS account.

If the apprentice is choosing to terminate the apprenticeship, the apprentice can also notify our office by emailing bplhelp@michigan.gov.