Genesee County Association of Fire Chief's Michigan Fire Service Instructor I Course



The **Michigan Fire Instructor-I** program's goal is to create a "**superior fire instructor**" statewide. The program utilized the NFPA 1041 standard for Professional Qualifications for Fire Service Instructors as it's guide. All sections of this program comply with the NFPA 1041 standard for Instructor I. This is a five (5) day course. Attendance at each class session is mandatory. A large amount of information will be missed and can't be made up.

Prior to the first day of class, you are required to read Chapters 1-8 in the Jones & Bartlett Fire and Emergency Services Instructor, 3th Edition.

Minimum Requirements for INSTRUCTOR I Probationary Applicant:

- Must be a member, or have been a member, within the last five years of an organized Michigan fire department.
- Must possess Fire Fighter I and II certification.
- Must have a minimum of three (3) years firefighting experience at the time of application and be certified at the level/course they wish to instruct. (Minimum Fire Fighter II or at least one (1) of the wild land specialty/subject matter expert courses.)

Cost - FREE.

Students must purchase the Jones & Bartlett Instructor 3th Edition Manual They can be purchased through the Michigan State Firemen's Association (MSFA) by calling 810-635-9513.

Registration is required by filling out pages below. The student will be registered in SMOKE if their application is approved. The student will be notified on or before June 1, 2020 if they have been approved.

Registration is limited 16 students. Application deadline is June 1, 2020. DON'T WAIT!

Michigan Fire Service Instructor I:

PROCEDURE FOR APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR I COURSE ATTENDANCE

All applications are to be submitted to the Course Manager. There are sixteen (16) course position openings. Only GCAFC member department's personnel are eligible to apply, unless 16 applications are **NOT** received by the due date listed below. The student will be responsible to purchase the Jones & Bartlett Fire and Emergency Services Instructor 3rd Edition Manual.

All applicants must meet the following requirements (pursuant to Michigan Bureau of Fire Services) and shall also be subjected to the MBFS application approval process.

- 1. Must be a current member with 5 years tenure on an organized Michigan fire department.
- 2. Must be Firefighter II certified. Attach certificate.
- 3. Must have at least 3 years fire suppression experience.
- 4. Must be registered in SMOKE with all current personal information that is applicable.

NAME:	
ADDRESS:	
TELEPHONE NUMBERS:	
TELEF HOME NOMBERS.	
EMAIL:	
BEST TIMES TO BE CONTACTED:	
WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT FIRE DEPARTMENT RANK:	
WHAT IS TOUR CORRENT FIRE DEFARTIMENT RAIN.	
WHAT TIMES ARE YOU AVAILABLE TO INSTRUCT:	

Applications must be submitted to Course Manager: Edward Blight <u>eblight@mundytwp-mi.gov</u> no later than Monday June 1, 2020. All the applications will be evaluated for compliance of minimum requirements. Applicants will be contacted shortly thereafter to indicate acceptance or rejection. **FAX:810-655-5215. Cell: 810-577-5453**

GENESEE COUNTY ASSOCIATION OF FIRE CHIEF'S (GCAFC) 2020 Instructor I Class **Registration Form**

Michigan Fire Service Instructor I

Will be held at Mundy Township FD Station #2, 4011 W. Hill Rd., Swartz Creek 48473 On the following dates:

Friday, July 24, 08:00-17:00 Saturday, July 25, 0800-1700 Sunday, July 26, 0800-1700

Saturday, August 8, 0800-1700 Sunday, August 9, 0800-1700

This class is funded by the Genesee County Training Committee for qualified students that their departments are members of the Genesee County Association of Fire Chief's. The cost of the Jones & Bartlett Instructor I course book is the responsibility of the student/department.

Attendance to all class dates is required to obtain certification. A maximum of sixteen (16) students are allowed to attend. Registration deadline is June1, 2020. This class is not available for non-GCAFC membership department personnel **unless** the maximum number is not filled. Each student will be registered by the Course Manager once their application is approved. If less than 16 apply for this course, it will be opened up to out-county departments on June 24, 2020 to attempt to fill the minimum attendance requirement.

How to apply: Along with this registration form,

For additional class information, contact Ed Blight, 810-577-5453.

E mail or mail the registration to Course Manager Edward Blight (information is listed below) so it is received BEFORE the deadline listed above. eblight@mundytwp-mi.gov

Name:	Department:	
SMOKE Personal ID #	NFIRS:	
Home Address:		
City, zip:	Home telephone no:	
Date of Birth: Email:		
Emergency Contact Person:	Phone:	
All class registration forms must be approved and signed by the Fire Chief.		
Fire Chief Signature	Contact Phone Number	
Mail or email completed registration forms to: Course Manager Edward Blight 4011 W. Hill Rd. Swartz Creek, MI		
48473		

Registration – PRINT | EGIRI Y or TYPE!

Telephone: 810-577-5453

an allaciment to congine