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CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
FOR MICHIGAN AUDIOLOGISTS

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended

This form is for information only

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process for every audiologist licensed to practice in
Michigan.

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules require every licensed audiologist to complete, during the 2-year period
prior to the date of renewal of the license, at least 20 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board.

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

The continuing education requirements apply to every audiologist renewing a Michigan license that held the license for the 2-year period
immediately preceding the date of the license renewal. The requirements apply whether or not the audiologist is actively engaged in the
practice of audiology; no one is exempt from this requirement.

Each audiologist is required to complete 20 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board.

Every audiologist who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing education. Those
documents should be retained for a period of 3 years after the renewal of the license.

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS along with the license renewal application. The Department of
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services will conduct an audit at the conclusion of the renewal period. Audiologists
are chosen for audit through an automated random selection process and will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the
completion of 20 hours of continuing education credit.

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED 20 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS.



An audiologist who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of
the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions: reprimand, probation, denial,
suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine.

Accredited sponsors are required to provide attendance certificates that indicate name of licensee, program dates and
number_of designated hours. Further_information about programs with accredited sponsorship _may be obtained by

contacting the accredited sponsor.

REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE

“Relicensure” means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within
60 days after the expiration date.

Audiologists applying for relicensure pursuant to R338.9 Rule 9. (1) — SUBMISSION OF 20 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION IN
PROGRAMS APPROVED BY THE BOARD THAT HAVE BEEN EARNED WITHIN THE 2-YEAR PERIOD IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING
THE DATE OF THE APPLICATION.

R 338.11 ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION
Rule 11 (1)  The Board shall consider any of the following as acceptable continuing education:

(a) For the purpose of this rule, “instruction” means education time, exclusive of coffee breaks; breakfast, luncheon, or dinner periods; or,
any other breaks in the program.

(b) One (1) continuing education clock hour shall be earned for each 50 to 60 minutes of participation at a continuing education program that
complies with the standards in R 338.12.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, accreditation information,
hours earned and the date on which the program was held.

(c) Three (3) continuing education clock hours shall be earned for each 50 to 60 minute presentation of a continuing education program given as a
regional, state, national, or international professional presentation. The presentation shall not be part of the licensee’s regular job description and
shall comply with the standards in R 338.12. Credit shall be earned for the same program only once in each renewal period. A maximum of nine
(9) continuing education clock hours shall be earned under this subrule.

If audited, the licensee must send in a copy of the presentation notice or advertisement showing the date and his/her name
listed as a presenter.

(d) Five (5) continuing education hours shall be earned for each semester credit earned for academic courses related to the practice of
audiology offered in an education program approved by the board under R 338.8.



If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the transcript showing credit hours of the academic courses related to audiology.

(e) Three (3) continuing education clock hours may be earned for each term or quarter credit earned for academic courses related to the
practice of audiology in an educational program approved by the board under R 338.8.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the transcript showing credit hours of the academic courses related to audiology.

(f) One continuing education clock hour may be granted for each 50-60 minutes of program attendance, without limitation, at a continuing
education program that has been granted approval by another state board of audiology.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, approving state board, hours
earned and the date on which the program was held.

(g) One (1) continuing education clock hour may be granted for each 60 minutes of program attendance, without limitation, at a continuing
education program approved by the board under R 338.12.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned and the date on
which the program was held and the name of the education program.

(h) A maximum of five (5) continuing education contact hours shall be earned for publication, in a peer-reviewed audiology journal or textbook, of
an article or chapter related to the practice of audiology.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the document published with evidence of publication from the publisher.

0] A maximum of five (5) continuing education clock hours shall be earned for each 50 to 60 minutes used in reading an audiology
professional journal and successfully completing an evaluation created for continuing education credit in audiology practice education.

If audited, the licensee must submit a signed statement describing materials read.

(i) A maximum of five (5) continuing education clock hours shall be earned for each 50 to 60 minutes of attendance at a program approved by the
board of medicine or the board of osteopathic medicine related to audiology practice.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned and the date on
which the program was held and the name of the education program and the accreditation of the sponsor through the
board of medicine or osteopathic medicine.

(k) A maximum of two (2) continuing education hours shall be earned for participation on a state or national committee, council, or board of a state
or national audiology association, deemed acceptable by the board of audiology.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter from the committee, council, or board including the committee
dates and amount of participation.



R 338.12 CONTINUING AUDIOLOGY EDUCATION PROGRAMS; METHODS OF APPROVAL.

Rule 12 (1). The board shall consider as board-approved continuing education, the successful completion of a course or courses offered by a
sponsor approved by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Continuing Education Board (ASHA CEB).

(2) The board shall consider as board-approved continuing education, the successful completion of a course or courses offered by a program
approved by the American Academy of Audiology.

(3) A course or program may be reviewed and approved by the board.
(4) Courses or programs that need to be reviewed and pre-approved by the board or its designee shall submit the following:
(2) Course content related to current issue in audiology practice.
(b) An outline of the course or program provided with time allotted for each section of the program.
(c) Documentation of qualifications of presenters.
(d) The method for delivering the course or program or course described.
(e) Documentation that defined measurements of pre-knowledge and post-knowledge or skill improvement are included.
(f) Documentation that participant attendance at program or course is monitored.
(g) Documentation that records of a course or program are maintained and include the number of participants in attendance, the date of the
program, the program’s location, the credentials of the presenters, rosters of the individuals who attended, and the continuing education time
awarded to each participant.
(h) Documentation that a participant shall receive a certificate or written evidence of attendance at a program that indicates a participant’s

name, the date of the program, the location of program, the sponsor or program approval number, and the hours of continuing education
awarded.



RENEWAL PROCEDURES

Audiologist licenses expire every 2 years on December 31. Submission of the renewal application certifies that the requirements are met. If the
renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal application should not be submitted. Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace
period after completion of continuing education requirements, with the renewal fee and the additional $20.00 late fee. If a licensee would like to apply for a
waiver of education requirements, an application should be made after the licensee receives the renewal application in early November but before
the license expires on December 31. Licensees who have not been granted waivers should allow their licenses to expire. Application for relicensure
may be made upon completion of the 20-hour requirement within the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of the application for
relicensure if the license has been expired for no more than 3 years.

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS

The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Audiology to waive the continuing education requirements for a license renewal
applicant if, upon written application, the Board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required Board-approved courses or programs
was due to the licensee’s disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the
licensee which the Board considers good and sufficient. Pursuant to this authority, the Board has promulgated guidelines that set forth the
policy that the Board will follow in granting a waiver. The guidelines provide for the following:

DISABILITY: The licensee’s disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee’s physician shall attest on the application that
the disability no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs and engaging in the practice of audiology without
limitation.

MILITARY SERVICE: The licensee shall have been practicing audiology while in active service of the United States, shall have been
licensed at the time of induction or entering into service, and shall have requested that his or her license be placed in military status to
continue in effect without payment of the license renewal fee pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public Health Code.

ABSENCE FROM THE CONTINENTAL UNITED STATES: The licensee shall establish that Board-approved educational programs were
not available within a reasonable distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee shall provide evidence of attendance at
educational programs, if any, that substantially meet the requirements for approval by the Board.

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE’'S CONTROL: For circumstances, other than disability, military service, or absence
from the continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence that the circumstances were good and sufficient for a
waiver of the requirements.

If the Board finds that any of the conditions for waiving the requirements have been met, the number of hours waived shall be proportional
to the length of time the licensee was temporarily disabled, in active military service, outside the continental United States, or involved in
circumstances beyond the licensee’s control. The Board will not waive the requirements prospectively, nor will the requirements be waived
for a licensee whose circumstances changed in time to reasonably allow the licensee to complete all or part of the requirements before
license renewal.



To summarize:

* Al Michigan licensed audiologists must complete 20 hours of Board approved continuing education.

*  Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been met.
*  Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code.

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age,
national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the
American’s with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.



