
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MICHIGAN REGISTERED DENTAL 

HYGIENISTS AND DENTAL ASSISTANTS 
Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended  

This form is for information only  

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process for every dental hygienist and dental 
assistant licensed to practice in Michigan.  

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules requires every dental hygienist and dental assistant that is renewing 
a license who has been licensed for the 3-year period immediately preceding the expiration date of the license to possess current 
certification in basic or advanced cardiac life support and to have completed not less than 36 hours of continuing education approved 
by the board during the 3-year period immediately preceding the application for renewal, including at least 1 continuing education 
credit in pain and symptom management in each renewal period.  A minimum of 12 hours of the 36 hours required must be directly 
related to clinical issues such as delivery of care, materials used in delivery of care, and pharmacology.  In addition, a minimum of 12 
hours of the required 36 hours of approved continuing education must be completed by attending live courses or programs that provide 
for direct interaction between faculty and participants, including, but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, workshops, 
and provision of volunteer clinical services. These courses, with the exception of the volunteer clinical services, may be counted toward 
the required courses in clinical issues such as delivery of care, materials used in delivery of care, and pharmacology. 

Pursuant to this requirement, the Board of Dentistry has promulgated rules to establish specific criteria for the Board’s approval of 
continuing education courses and programs. 

  

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL  

The continuing education requirements apply to every dental hygienist and dental assistant renewing a Michigan license that held the 
license for the 3-year period immediately preceding the date of the license renewal.  The requirements apply whether or not the dental 
hygienist or dental assistant is actively engaged in the practice as a dental hygienist or a dental assistant.  No one is exempt from this 
requirement.  

Each dental hygienist and dental assistant is required to possess current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life support and to 
have completed not less than 36 hours of continuing education approved by the board during the 3-year period immediately preceding 
the application for renewal, including at least 1 continuing education credit in pain and symptom management in each renewal period.  
A minimum of 12 hours of the 36 hours required must be directly related to clinical issues such as delivery of care, materials used in 
delivery of care, and pharmacology.  In addition, a minimum of 12 hours of the required 36 hours of approved continuing education 



must be completed by attending live courses or programs that provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants, including, 
but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, workshops, and provision of volunteer clinical services. These courses, with 
the exception of the volunteer clinical services, may be counted toward the required courses in clinical issues such as delivery of care, 
materials used in delivery of care, and pharmacology. 
 
Continuing education credits in pain and symptom management may include, but are not limited to, courses in behavior management, 
psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interactions. 
 
Applicants holding both a registered dental hygienist license and a registered dental assistants license shall have completed not less 
than a total of 36 hours board approved continuing education. The 36 hours shall include not less than 12 hours devoted to registered 
dental hygienist functions and not less than 12 hours devoted to registered dental assistants functions. 
 
Every licensee who is renewing his/her license shall maintain evidence of complying with the requirements of this rule for a period of 
4 years from the date of the submission for renewal. 

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS along with the license renewal application. The Department of 
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, will conduct an audit at the conclusion of each renewal period. 
Dental hygienists and dental assistants chosen for audit through an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to 
submit documented evidence of the completion of continuing education credit. 
 
DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS. 
A dental hygienist or dental assistant who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when 
requested, is in violation of the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions: 
reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine. 
 
Accredited sponsors are required to provide attendance certificates that indicate name of licensee, program dates and 
number of designated hours.  Further information about programs with accredited sponsorship may be obtained by 
contacting the accredited sponsor.  “Contact hour” is the same as one 50-60 minute or (1) credit hour.  

 

 

 

 



REQUIREMENTS FOR RELICENSURE  

“Relicensure” means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license 
within 60 days after the expiration date.  

ALL RELICENSURE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE COMPLETED, IN THE 2-YEAR PERIOD IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING THE 
APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE, not less than 36 hours of continuing education approved by the board, including at least 1 hour 
of continuing education credit in pain and symptom management and possess current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life 
support.  A minimum of 12 hours of the 36 hours required must be directly related to clinical issues such as delivery of care, materials 
used in delivery of care, and pharmacology.  In addition, a minimum of 12 hours of the required 36 hours of approved continuing 
education must be completed by attending live courses or programs that provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants, 
including, but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, workshops, and provision of volunteer clinical services. These 
courses, with the exception of the volunteer clinical services, may be counted toward the required courses in clinical issues such as 
delivery of care, materials used in delivery of care, and pharmacology. 

 

ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION; LIMITATIONS 
 

If audited, the licensee must submit an official transcript showing credit hours of the academic courses completed.  

(a) Successful completion of a course or courses offered for credit in a dental school or a hospital-based dental specialty program, 
a dental hygiene school or dental assisting school approved by the board. Ten hours of continuing education shall be credited 
for each quarter credit earned and 15 hours shall be credited for each semester credit earned, without limitation. 
 

If audited, the licensee must submit a letter from program director.  

(b) Attendance at a continuing education program offered by a dental school or hospital-based dental specialty program, a dental 
hygiene school, or a dental assisting school approved by the board. One hour of continuing education shall be credited for each 
hour of program attendance, without limitation. 

 
If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned, sponsor 
name and the date on which the program was held.  

(c) Attendance at a continuing education program approved by the board.  One hour of continuing education shall be credited for 
each hour of program attendance, without limitation. 

  
 
 
 



If audited, the licensee must submit a letter from the program sponsor verifying the presentation including the date.  

(d) Development and presentation of a table clinic demonstration or a continuing education lecture offered in conjunction with the 
presentation of continuing education programs approved by the board.  One hour of continuing education shall be credited for 
each hour devoted to the development and initial presentation of a table clinic demonstration or a continuing education lecture, 
with a maximum of 10 hours of continuing education credited for the development and presentation of the same table clinic 
demonstration or lecture. 
  

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the document published with evidence of publication; i.e., publication 
acceptance letter.  

(e) Twelve hours of continuing education shall be credited for the initial publication of an article or articles related to the practice 
of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental assisting in the journal of an accredited school of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental 
assistant, or in a state or state component association of dentists, dental specialists, dental hygienists, or dental assistants. 
    

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the document published with evidence of publication; i.e., publication 
acceptance letter.  

(f) Twenty-five hours of continuing education shall be credited for the initial publication of an article or articles related to the 
practice of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental assisting in a textbook or in the journal of a national association of dentists, 
dental specialists, dental hygienists, or dental assistants. 
    

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned, sponsor’s 
accreditation and the date on which the program was taken.  

(g) A maximum of eighteen hours of continuing education may be earned for participation in board-approved continuing education 
activities offered online, through electronic media, or both. 
 

If audited, the licensee must submit a signed statement describing materials read or viewed.   

(h) Reading articles and viewing or listening to media, other than online programs, devoted to dental, dental hygiene, or dental 
assisting education.  One hour of continuing education shall be credited for each hour of participation with a maximum of 10 hours 
credited under this category. 

 
 
 
 
 



If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of current license that was renewed in another state, proof of continuing 
education requirements that were met to renew that license, proof of practicing and residing in said state.  

(i) Renewal of a license held in another state that requires continuing education for license renewal that is substantially equivalent 
to that required in Michigan’s rules if the applicant resides and practices in another state.  For a registered dental hygienist or 
registered dental assistant, 36 hours of continuing education shall be credited for evidence of current licensure in another state. 
 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of current certification.   

(j) A registered dental assistant, meeting the requirements of recertification by the Dental Assisting National Board, thirty-six 
hours of continuing educations shall be credited for evidence of current certification, other than emeritus certification.  

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned, sponsor’s 
accreditation and the date on which the program was held.  

(k) Attendance at a continuing education program which has been granted approval by another state board of dentistry. One 
continuing education hour may be granted for each hour of program attendance. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned, sponsor’s 
accreditation and the date on which the program was held. 

(l) Attendance at dental related programs which are documented by the licensee as relevant to health care and advancement of 
the licensee's dental education.  The board shall deny a request for approval if the continuing education request does not meet 
the criteria used by the board for approval of continuing education sponsors. Six hours of continuing education credited. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned, sponsors 
accreditation and the date on which the program was held.  

(m) A maximum of 18 credit hours per renewal period for a may be earned for attendance at programs related to specific dental 
specialty topics approved for category 1 continuing education by the boards of medicine or osteopathic medicine.   

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned, sponsor’s 
accreditation and the date on which the program was held.  

(n) A maximum of 12 volunteer credit hours per renewal period may be earned for providing volunteer clinical dental hygiene or 
assistant services within Michigan at a board-approved program. 
 



STANDARDS AND REQUIREMENTS 

(1) The board adopts by reference the standards criteria of the national sponsor approval program of the Academy of General Dentistry 
for approval of continuing education sponsoring organization, institutions and individuals. Approval of a sponsor by the Academy of 
General Dentistry committee on national sponsor approvals, or by any constituent academy, shall constitute prima facie evidence 
that the sponsor meets the standards and criteria adopted by the board.  

(2) The board adopts by reference the standards criteria of the National Sponsor Approval Program of the American Dental Association 
Continuing Education Recognition Program (ADA CERP) for approval of continuing education sponsoring organization. Approval of 
a sponsor by the ADA CERP, or by any constituent group, shall constitute prima facie evidence that the sponsor meets the standards 
and criteria adopted by the board.   

(3) The board approves and adopts by reference the requirements for recertification established by the Dental Assisting National Board.  

(4) The board shall consider any continuing education program that is offered by a sponsor that applies to the board and demonstrates 
it substantially meets the standards and criteria adopted by the board as a continuing education program approved by the board.   

(5) The board adopts by reference the standards for certification in basic and advanced cardiac life support set forth by the American 
Heart Association.  

(6) The board may approve a state, regional or national dental organization as an acceptable provider of continuing education courses 
if the organization presents standards, criteria, and course monitoring procedures for its courses that are acceptable to the board.   

Completion of the required continuing education activities must be independently verified by an official source other 
than the licensee.  

RENEWAL PROCEDURES  

Dentistry licenses are renewed every 3 years by August 31.  Submission of the renewal application form certifies that the requirements 
are met.  If the renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal application should not be submitted.  Licenses can be 
renewed during the sixty-day grace period after completion of continuing education requirements, with the renewal fee and the 
additional $20.00 late fee.  If a waiver is necessary, an application should be made after the licensee receives the renewal application 
in early June, but before the license expires on August 31. Licensees who have not been granted waivers should allow their licenses 
to expire.  Application for relicensure may be made upon completion of the continuing education requirement within the 2-year period 
immediately preceding the date of the application for relicensure. 



 

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS  

The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Dentistry to waive the continuing education requirements for a license renewal 
applicant if, upon written application, the Board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-approved courses or 
programs was due to the licensee’s disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond 
the control of the licensee which the board considers good and sufficient.  Pursuant to this authority, the Board has promulgated 
guidelines that set forth the policy the Board will follow in granting a waiver.  The guidelines provide for the following:  

DISABILITY:  The licensee’s disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee’s physician shall attest on the application 
that the disability no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs and engaging in the practice of Dentistry 
without limitation.  

MILITARY SERVICE:  The licensee shall have been practicing Dentistry while in active service of the United States, shall have been 
licensed at the time of induction or entering into service, and shall have requested that his or her license be placed in military status 
to continue in effect without payment of the license renewal fee pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public Health Code.  

ABSENCE FROM THE UNITED STATES:  The licensee shall establish that board-approved educational programs were not available 
within a reasonable distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee shall provide evidence of attendance at educational 
programs that substantially meet the requirements for approval by the Board.  

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE’S CONTROL:  For circumstances, other than disability, military service, or absence 
from the continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence that the circumstances were good and sufficient for 
a waiver of the requirements.  

If the Board finds that any of the conditions for waiving the requirements have been met, the number of hours waived shall be 
proportional to the length of time the licensee was temporarily disabled, in active military service, outside the continental United States, 
or involved in circumstances beyond the licensee’s control.  The Board will not waive the requirements prospectively, nor will the 
requirements be waived for a licensee whose circumstances changed in time to reasonably allow the licensee to complete all or part 
of the requirements before license renewal.  

 

 



To summarize:  

* All Michigan licensed dental hygienists and dental assistants must possess current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life 
support in addition to the following requirements: 

 36 hours of continuing education with at least 12 of those hours relating to clinical issues. 

 Continuing education must be earned within the 3-year period immediately preceding the date of application for renewal.  

* Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been met. 
 
* Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, 
age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs.  If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under 
the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs know to this agency.  
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