BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED.

MICHIGAN MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY LICENSING GUIDE

ELIGIBILITY FOR MARRIAGE AND FAMILTY THERAPIST (MET) LICENSE BY
EXAMINATION (first license)

e Graduate from an educational program that is accredited by the Commission on
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Education (COAMFTE), OR 1) Graduate with a
master's or doctoral degree from a regionally accredited institution that includes a) three
courses (at least 6 semester or 9 quarter hours) in family studies; b) three courses (at
least 6 semester or 9 quarter hours) in family therapy methodology; c) three courses (at
least 6 semester or 9 quarter hours) in human development, personality theory, or
psychopathology; d) at least 2 semester or 3 quarter hours in ethics, law and standards
of professional practice; e) at least 2 semester or 3 quarter hours in research; and f) an
eight-month supervised practicum experience that includes at least 300 direct client
contact hours (Item “f” does not apply to those with a doctoral degree from a COAMFTE-
accredited program.)

e Complete at least 1,000 hours direct client contact that is obtained post-degree and
supervised by a licensed MFT. If the hours are completed in Michigan, an educational
limited license should be held while accruing the experience. This requirement does not
apply to those with a doctoral degree from a COAMFTE-accredited program.

e Arrange for submission of verification of licensure in any state where licensed, even if
the license is no longer active.

e Submit the MFT by Examination application found
at http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417 27529 27538---,00.html
with the $85.85 fee.

e A fingerprint report and criminal background check are required if not previously taken
for a Michigan health care license. Fingerprints must be taken using the instructions and
ID numbers that are sent to the applicant after the license application and fee are
received.

e Pass the National Marital and Family Therapy Examination that is conducted by the
Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB).

ELIGIBILITY FOR MFT LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT (currently licensed in
another state)

e Arrange for submission of verification of licensure in any state where licensed, even if
the license is no longer active.

e  Submit the MFT by Endorsement application found
at http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417 27529 27538---,00.html
with the $85.85 fee.

e Afingerprint report and criminal background check are required. Fingerprints must be
taken using the instructions and ID numbers that are sent to the applicant after
the license application and fee are received.

e |If licensed in another state for less than five years, must meet the education, experience
and examination requirements listed above for License by Examination.

Updated 1/8/2016

Page 1 of 2



http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417_27529_27538---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417_27529_27538---,00.html

BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED.

ELIGIBILITY FOR AN EDUCATIONAL LIMITED MFT LICENSE

e Meet the same educational requirements listed under License by Examination.

o Complete at least 300 direct client contact hours in supervised clinical marriage and
family therapy experience in conjunction with educational program. This requirement
does not apply to those with a doctoral degree from a COAMFTE-accredited program.

e Submit the Educational Limited MFT application found
at http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417 27529 27538---,00.html
with the $85.85 fee.

e A fingerprint report and criminal background check are required. Fingerprints must be
taken using the instructions and ID numbers that are sent to the applicant after the
license application and fee are received.
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