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What is the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact? 
 
In 2018, the Governor signed into law Public Act 524 of 2018 and Public Act 563 of 2018 which made Michigan a 
member of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact.  The compact allows physicians (both MDs and DOs) who 
are licensed in other compact member states the ability to get licensed easier in the State of Michigan based on 
having a compact license.  It also allows Michigan physicians to get licensed in other compact member states.  
 
 
How does a Michigan licensed physician get a compact license? 
 
For a  currently licensed physician in the state of Michigan, the first step is to apply for a compact license at the 
Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission (IMLCC) website:  www.imlcc.org 
 
Click on “Apply Now” tab on their website.  The list of qualifications includes: 
 

• Holding a full, unrestricted medical license in a Compact Member State that is available to serve as a 
State of Principal Licensure (SPL). Michigan is one of those states. 

• Maintaining your SPL status at all times.  You may re-designate your SPL after receiving your original 
Letter of Qualification. 

• Graduation from an accredited medical school, or a school listed in the International Medical Education 
Directory. 

• Successful completion of ACGME or AOA accredited graduate medical education. 
• Passing each part of the USMLE, COMLEX-USA, or equivalent in no more than three attempts. 
• Holding a current specialty certification or time-unlimited certification by an ABMS or AOABOS board. 

 
Further, an applicant: 
 

• Must not have any history of disciplinary actions toward your medical license. 
• Must not have any criminal history. 
• Must not have any history of controlled substance actions toward your license. 
• Must not currently be under investigation. 

 
Follow the online instructions and provide the required information.  The application fee is $700. 
 

http://www.imlcc.org/
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The application will be sent to the state of Michigan to verify the information.  A notice to submit fingerprints 
for an FBI criminal background check will be sent to the applicant. 
 
The applicant will be notified if additional information is needed or that the applicant does not qualify for 
compact licensure. 
 
A letter of Qualification (LOQ) will be issued and the IMLCC will be notified if all requirements are met. 
 
 
How does a physician apply for licensure in other states? 
 
When a physician receives LOQ from the IMLCC, a link will be included that allows access to the 
physician’s account.  The physician can select the member boards from whom they wish to obtain 
licensure.  The physician can apply for and pay the appropriate fees for licensure in other states 
through the IMLCC website. 
 
Once the member state receives the application, it is reviewed and processed.  The member state will 
issue an unrestricted license and the physician will be notified via email. 
 
 
How does a physician use the compact to get licensed in Michigan? 
 
If a physician is already a compact member, apply for a Michigan license by clicking the “Apply Here” section of 
the IMLCC website.  The fee for the 3-year Michigan License is $360.55 plus a $100 application fee and is 
collected through the IMLCC website. 
 
Michigan will receive the application and the Letter of Qualification from the IMLCC.  The application will be 
reviewed and processed.  If approved, Michigan will issue an unrestricted license and the physician 
notified via email.  A list of requirements to maintain and renew the Michigan license will be sent to 
the licensee. 
 
A physician with a State of Principal Licensure (SPL) in another state is required to comply with the 
Michigan laws and Administrative Rules which can be found here: 
 
Board of Medicine Administrative Rules 
Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery Administrative Rules 
Public Health Code 
 
 
 
 
 

https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/1951_2019-054LR_AdminCode.pdf
https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/1972_2019-076LR_AdminCode.pdf
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-368-1978-15-171.
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How does a physician renew a Michigan compact license if the SPL is in another state? 
 
If the SPL is not Michigan, renew your Michigan compact license through the IMLCC website under the 
“Renewals” tab.   
 
The same renewal requirements for all other Michigan physicians apply: 

Human Trafficking 
A licensed Medical Doctor (MD) or Osteopathic Physician (DO) seeking renewal must have completed 
training in identifying victims of human trafficking that meets the standards in Administrative Rule 
338.2413 (MD) or Administrative Rule 338.120 (DO) prior to renewing their license.  The training must 
only be completed one time. 
 
Continuing Education 
At time of renewal for a Medical Doctor (MD) license, the following continuing education requirements 
need to be met: 
 

• 150 hours of continuing medical education in courses or programs approved by the board of 
which a minimum 75 hours of the required 150 hours earned in courses or programs designated 
as Category 1 programs.  

• A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education earned in the area of medical ethics.  
• A minimum of 3 hours of continuing education earned in the area of pain and symptom 

management.  
• See the Board of Medicine Administrative Rules for the complete requirements. 

 
At time of renewal for an Osteopathic Physician (DO) license, the following continuing education 
requirements need to be met: 

 
• 150 hours of continuing education in activities approved by the board of which a minimum of 60 

hours of the required 150 hours earned through Category 1 programs.  
• A minimum of 3 hours of continuing education earned in the area of pain and symptom 

management 
• See the Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery Administrative Rules for the complete 

requirements. 
 
 

Prescribing Controlled Substances in Michigan. 
 
An unrestricted physicians license in Michigan does not include a Controlled Substance License.   
A controlled substance license is required for every person who manufactures, distributes, prescribes, or 
dispenses any controlled substance in Michigan, as described in Article 7 of Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended. 
In addition, a separate controlled substance license is required for each business location from which you 
manufacture, distribute, or dispense controlled substances. If you only prescribe (and do not dispense) 
controlled substances, you can do this at multiple locations with a single controlled substance license. All 
practitioners who dispense controlled substances in Schedules 2-5 must report this prescription data to the 

https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/1951_2019-054LR_AdminCode.pdf
https://stateofmichigan-my.sharepoint.com/personal/debanob1_michigan_gov/Documents/Board%20of%20Osteopathic%20Medicine%20and%20Surgery%20Administrative%20Rules
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Michigan Automated Prescription System (MAPS) as required by Michigan law MCL 333.7333a and Board of 
Pharmacy Rules 338.3162d. The controlled substance license expires on the same date as the professional 
license. 
 
Additional information on Michigan Controlled Substance Licenses is available here: 
Michigan Controlled Substance Licensing Guide 
 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-333-7333a
https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/1953_2019-057LR_AdminCode.pdf
https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/1953_2019-057LR_AdminCode.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/CS_Individual_Final_660972_7.pdf

