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CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS  

FOR MICHIGAN NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS   
Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended  

This form is for information only. 

This brochure has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process to Nursing Home Administrators licensed 
to practice in Michigan.  

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL  
 
TRAINING ON IDENTIFYING VICTIMS OF HUMAN TRAFFICKING: 
 
The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules require Nursing Home Administrators to complete training in identifying 
victims of human trafficking that meets the requirements in Administrative Rule 339.14012.  Please note this is a one-time training 
that is separate from continuing education.  Beginning with the October 2018 renewal cycle, and all renewal cycles thereafter, licensees 
must have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking.  Beginning March 17, 2021 an applicant for initial licensure 
as a Nursing Home Administrator must complete training on identifying victims of human trafficking as a requirement for licensure. 
 
CONTINUING EDUCATION: 
 
The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules require Nursing Home Administrators to complete continuing education 
as follows: 
 

• An applicant for license renewal who has been licensed for the entire 2-year period immediately preceding the expiration date 
of the license must have earned not less than 36 hours of board-approved continuing education that were earned within the 2 
years immediately preceding the application for renewal.   
 

• An applicant for license renewal must complete in each renewal period 2 approved continuing education hours in pain and 
symptom management.  
  

• A minimum of 1 approved continuing education hour shall be earned in state specific laws and regulations pertaining to licensed 
nursing home and nursing care facilities. 

 
• Subjects qualifying for continuing education credit include the following:  (a) Behavioral science; (b) Economics, finance, 

marketing or management; (c) Geriatrics, gerontology, or aging; (d) Health care, patient care, or elder abuse and neglect 



identification; (e) Pharmacology and toxicology; (f) Human resources; (g) State and federal laws and regulations regarding the 
nursing home industry; (h) Communications or information technology; and (i) Pain and symptom management.   
 

• A maximum of 20 approved continuing education hours may be earned through online or electronic media, such as videos, 
internet web-based seminars, video conference, online continuing education programs, or through any other media that do not 
permit live interaction between the presenter and the licensee.  (If audited, a licensee must submit documentation verifying 
successful completion of the program.) 
 

• One continuing education credit hour shall be earned for each 50 to 60 minutes of participation in a continuation program that 
has been approved by the board. 
 
 

The following is considered board-approved continuing education: 
 

• If a continuing education course covers a qualifying subject noted above, the following continuing education courses are 
approved by the board:   

o A course approved by the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Board (NAB). 
o A course offered as part of the curriculum of a college or University that meets the accreditation standards of the Council 

of Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). 
o A course approved by the Michigan Board of Nursing Home Administrators. 

 
 

RENEWAL PROCEDURES 
 

Nursing Home Administrator licenses expire every 2 years on October 31.  Submission of an application for renewal shall constitute 
the applicant’s certification that the continuing education requirements have been met. 
 
DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS to our office unless requested.  The Department of Licensing and 
Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, will conduct an audit at the conclusion of each renewal period.  Nursing Home 
Administrators chosen for audit through an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented 
evidence of the completion of continuing education activities.  
 
DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF THE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS HAVE NOT BEEN MET.   A Nursing 
Home Administrator who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in 
violation of the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions:  reprimand, 
probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine.  
 
Licenses can be renewed approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license after completion of continuing education 
requirements by submitting the renewal application with the renewal fee.  Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace period 
after completion of continuing education requirements; a $20 late fee will be applied in addition to the renewal payment. 



 
If the license is not renewed prior to the end of the 60-day grace period, the license will lapse and reflect the October 31 expiration 
date.  The applicant will then have to apply for relicensure in order to resume practice in Michigan.  “Relicensure” means the granting 
of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after the expiration date. 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS  
 
The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Nursing Home Administrators to waive the continuing education requirements 
for a license renewal applicant if, upon written application, the Board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-
approved courses or programs was due to the licensee’s disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a 
circumstance beyond the control of the licensee which the Board considers good and sufficient. 
 
A written request for a waiver must be submitted by mail to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional 
Licensing, Attn:  Board of Nursing Home Administrators, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI  48909 or by email to BPLHelp@michigan.gov and 
must include supporting documentation for the reason for the waiver.  A waiver cannot be requested after an application for renewal 
has been submitted.  The Board cannot prospectively waive continuing education requirements.  
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